DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Shi reference:
Applicant argues Shi does not “comparing, by a server, a second model, representing a second probability distribution of a second plurality of feature appearing in a second stream, to a first model, representing a first probability distribution of a first plurality of features appearing in a first stream”. Additionally, Shi’s comparison and similarity determined is not based on a “difference being greater than or equal to a threshold”.
Upon further review of the reference, and in light of the applicant’s arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: Shi teaches a second model, which is a probability distribution (statistic histogram), as evidenced in figure 11. The probability distribution is a probability of plurality of features. Shi teaches such features as a plurality of characters as shown in figure 10. And the so-called “second stream” is a string of characters in figure 10 when inputting for processing. Shi also teaches another probability distribution in figure 9 as the claimed “first model”, which presents a first plurality of features. Such features are shown in figure 3-6 in Shi as string of characters. And Shi in paragraphs [0087]-[0089] teaches judging the similarity between two document images based on distribution as shown in figures 9 and 11, which represents the characters in figure 3 and 10, based on a preset distance similarity to determine if the similarity is low or high. The examiner notes in determining whether the similarity is high or low, a preset data/value or distance similarity is inherently included as a reference. In summary, Shi teaches all features in independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al (“Shi” hereinafter, CN 104636708A, a copy of translation is attached herein).
As per claim 1, Shi discloses a method (abstract) comprising: comparing, by a server (a comparison system), a second model, representing a second probability distribution (figure 11) of a second plurality of features (a plurality of characters in figure 10) appearing in a second stream (figure 10, a string of characters), to a first model (figure 9), representing a first probability distribution of a first plurality of features (figures 3-6, a plurality of characters) appearing in a first stream (figure 3: a string of characters); determining, based on the comparing the second model to the first model, a difference between the second stream and the first stream; and cause, based on the difference being greater than or equal to a threshold, indication that the second stream differs from the first stream (paragraphs [0087]-[0089]: Step 24, judges the similarity between two document images, figure 3 and figure 10, based on distributions as shown in figures 9 and 11 in accordance within a preset distance similarity).
As per claim 2, Shi discloses building, based on the first plurality of features appearing in the first stream, the first model (as explained above, Shi in figures 3-9 teaches each character is the claimed “feature”, and the string of characters is the claimed “stream”).
As per claim 3, Shi discloses determining, based on first data in the first stream, a first numeric representation; determining, based on second data in the second stream, a second numeric representation; determining, based on identifying one or more features that appear in both the first numeric representation and the second numeric representation, the first plurality of features appearing in the first stream; and generating, based on how often each of the first plurality of features appear in both the first numeric representation and the second numeric representation, the first model (as shown in figures 3-9, the two-value distribution characteristic for each block the claimed “numeric representation”, and character pixel value is the claimed “feature”, and histogram in the distribution is the claimed “how often”).
As per claim 4, Shi teaches building, based on a second stream, the second model (see figures 10-11).
As per claim 8, Shi teaches the input source may be a person or machine feeder. Also see figures 3 and 10 for a plurality character images.
As per claim 9, see explanation in claim 1, the examiner notes, Shi’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a processor and a memory.
As per claim 12, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 8.
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 8.
As per claim 16, see paragraphs [0002] & [0010] for similarity distance judgment.
As per claim 17, see explanation in claim 1, the examiner notes Shi’s system is a computer-like system, which inherently includes a non-transitory computer readable medium.
As per claim 18, see explanation in claim 3.
As per claim 19, see explanation in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 10-11, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of common knowledge in the art.
As per claim 5, Shi teaches a document image comparison method and system to determine if two document images are similar (abstract). However, Shi does not explicitly teach creating a program application to notify the user when the two document images are different. Nonetheless, it is well-known in the art that such automated notification function exists, ie. messaging, email, and popup notification. At the time of the invention, one would be motivated to modify Shi to incorporate such notification function into Shi’s system to add a notification function to the user when two documents don’t match.
For claims 6-7, Shi’s system is to be implemented in the field of banking as evidenced in figure 3 “cashier check” and figure 10 “transfer check”/ “account-payee check”. As explained above, once the user is notified that two bank documents don’t match, it would cause the user to recognize the mistake and input a corrected document for banking, Although, Shi does not explicitly teach the system is an ATM machine, it is understood in the art that Shi’s system is capable of being implemented on an ATM machine to confirm the check documents to be deposited are the correct ones. One would be motivated to do so because it would extend the use of Shi’s system to additional fields, such as ATM.
As per claim 10, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 11, see explanation in claim 6.
As per claim 14, see explanation in claim 7.
As per claim 20, see explanation in claim 6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,457. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All limitations in claims 1-20 are encompassed in claims 1-24 of ‘457 patent.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667