DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 13, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (US 2015/0226400 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (US 9,222,664 B2), Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) and Lu et al. (US 2016/0252775 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wada et al. teaches a display apparatus (100; figure 1, para.[0058], [0059], [0092]), comprising: a liquid crystal panel (liquid crystal panel 2; figure 1; paragraph [0092]) ; and a backlight unit (BLU) (backlight unit 1; fig 1, [0093]) configured to provide light to the liquid crystal panel (2; figure 1), wherein the BLU comprises: a substrate (printed circuit board 12); a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (111a; figure 2A) on the substrate and configured to emit the light, the plurality of LEDs (111a) being spaced apart from each other at a first interval along a first direction (vertical direction; see figure 1) on the substrate, the plurality of LEDs (111a) being spaced apart from each other at the first interval along a second direction (horizontal direction; see at least figure 1) on the substrate, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 1), the plurality of LEDs (111a) being spaced apart from each other at a second interval along a third direction on the substrate (see at least figure 1), the second interval being greater than the first interval (see at least figure 1), and the third direction being diagonal to the first direction and to the second direction (see 111a in at least figure 1);
a plurality of refractive covers (lens 112; paragraph [0111]), each refractive cover (112) disposed on a corresponding LED (111a) of the plurality of LEDs ; and
a plurality of reflectors (118) on the substrate (12) disposed between the plurality of LEDs (111a) and configured to reflect the light emitted from the plurality of LEDs (111a).
Wada et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of reflectors being spaced apart from the plurality of LEDs at half of the second interval along the third direction on the substrate.
Zheng et al. teaches a backlight and display device comprising a plurality of lighting devices (1; figure 8) spaced apart and a plurality of reflectors (2; figure 8) spaced apart from the LEDs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to position the reflectors of Wada et al. to be spaced apart as taught by Zheng et al. to achieve a more uniform optical effect (column 5, lines 64-66).
Zheng et al., however, does not explicitly teach the plurality of reflectors being spaced apart from the plurality of LEDs at half of the second interval along the third direction on the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the arrangement of the LEDs and reflectors of Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. as an obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of reflectors is formed by a plurality of protrusions that are protruding from the substrate and portions of a reflector sheet, disposed on the substrate and the plurality of protrusions, that are deformed by the plurality of protrusions and at least partially cover outer surfaces of the plurality of protrusions.
Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) teaches a reflection sheet 105 comprising a plurality of portions (153) formed by a plurality of protrusions (107; figure 8) that are protruding from a substrate (105) and portions of a reflecting sheet 105 is disposed on the substrate 108 that are deformed by the plurality of protrusions (107; see at figure 8 ) and at least partially cover outer surfaces of the plurality of protrusions (107; figure 8)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. to include a plurality of reflectors deformed by a plurality of protrusions as taught by Isono et al. so that the luminance of dark regions of the display panel can be increased and the luminance of the light radiated to the display panel can be made to be substantially uniform with the luminance being kept high (column 8, lines 29-39 of Isono et al.).
Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. and Isono et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of cutouts being shaped to correspond to respective edges of the plurality of protrusions; and a plurality of protrusion covers formed by the plurality of cutouts and disposed to cover the plurality of protrusions, each of the plurality of protrusion covers having one surface in contact with an outer surface of a corresponding protrusion and an opposite surface on which a reflective surface is formed.
Lu et al. teaches wherein the reflector sheet comprises: a plurality of cutouts (202) formed to correspond to each of the plurality of protrusions (30), the plurality of cutouts (202) being shaped to correspond to respective edges of the plurality of protrusions (30); and a plurality of protrusion covers (see figure 6) formed by the plurality of cutouts (202) and disposed to cover the plurality of protrusions (30), each of the plurality of protrusion covers (see figure 6) having one surface in contact with an outer surface of a corresponding protrusion (30) and an opposite surface on which a reflective surface (see figure 6 where reflective sheet 20 has a plurality of cutouts that correspond to the protrusions 30) is formed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. and Isono et al. to include a plurality of cutouts respectively corresponding to a plurality of protrusions as taught by Lu et al. to alleviate the interference in reflection effect of light ray so a good display quality can be achieved (see abstract of Lu et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the [plurality of reflectors] are provided in a shape of at least one of a frustum of a cone, a frustum of a polygonal pyramid, a cone, and a polygonal pyramid. However, Isono et al. teaches the bulging sections 153 in reflection sheet 105 are dome shaped (see column 9, lines 62-65 where dome shape is disclosed) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited frustum of a cone, frustum of a polygonal pyramid, a cone, and a polygonal pyramid through routine experimentation and optimization. Applicant has not disclosed that the shape is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another shape. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 7, Wada et al. further teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches in the embodiment of figure 15 wherein:
a reflector sheet (115 and 116 combined; figure 15) disposed on the substrate is mounted to substrate (2),
the reflector sheet (116; figure 15) comprises:
the plurality of protrusion covers (1132); a plurality of through holes (see figure 15 where 116 comprises through holes) corresponding respectively to the plurality of LEDs (111a; figure 15); and the plurality of cutouts (see 115 in at least figure 15) formed by a portion of the reflector sheet (115; see at least figure 15) incised such that at least one region of the reflector sheet forms the plurality of protrusion covers (1132), and each of the plurality of LEDs (111a) passes through the corresponding through hole of the plurality of through holes (see at least figure 15 where through holes in reflective sheet 116 correspond to LEDs (111a) .
Regarding claim 13, Wada et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of LEDs (111a LED chip; paragraph [0105]) are mounted on the substrate (12; printed circuit board) in a chip on board (COB) method (paragraph [0103]-[0105] discloses bonding of LED chip 11a which is mounted to the printed circuit board 12).
Regarding claim 14, Wada et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of refractive covers (112, lens; see figure 10b where multiple lenses 112 are shown; see paragraph [0120] where portion 1123 of lens 112 refracts emitting light) have been formed by a transparent material (transparent lens 112 made, for example, of silicon resin or acrylic resin; paragraph [0107]) in a liquid state that has been dispensed at a plurality of points and cured, and the transparent material in the liquid state has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of air (see paragraph [0117] where the refractive index of air is 1 and the refractive index of the silicon resin is 1.43).
Regard claim 15, Wada et al. teaches a display apparatus, comprising:
a liquid crystal panel (liquid crystal panel 2; figure 1; paragraph [0092]); and
a backlight unit (BLU) (backlight unit 1; figure 1; paragraph [0093]) configured to provide light to the liquid crystal panel (2; figure 1),
wherein the BLU (1; figure 1) comprises:
a substrate (12; figure 1);
a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (111b; see figure 1 and see figure 2A where light source 111b is shown ) on the substrate (12) and configured to emit the light, the plurality of LEDs (111b) being spaced apart from each other at a first interval along a first direction (vertical direction; see at least figure 1) on the substrate (12; see figure 1 where LEDs are space apart in a left to right direction), the plurality of LEDs (111b) being spaced apart from each other at the first interval along a second direction (horizontal direction; see at least figure 1) on the substrate (12; see figure 1 where LED units are space from a top to bottom position), the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 1 where a first direction is defined as a left to right direction and a second direction is defined as a top to bottom direction), the plurality of LEDs (111a) being spaced apart from each other at a second interval along a third direction on the substrate (see at least figure 1), the second interval being greater than the first interval (see at least figure 1), and the third direction being diagonal to the first direction and to the second direction (see at least figure 1);
a plurality of refractive covers (lens 112; see paragraph [0120] where curved portion 1123 refracts light), each refractive cover (112) disposed on a corresponding LED (111b) of the plurality of LEDs,
a plurality of reflectors (118; figure 2A; see paragraph [0116]) on the substrate (12) disposed between the plurality of LEDs (111b) and configured to reflect the light emitted from the plurality of LEDs (111b).
Wada et al. does not explicitly teach the plurality of reflectors being spaced apart from the plurality of LEDs at half of the second interval along the third direction on the substrate.
Zheng et al. teaches a backlight and display device comprising a plurality of lighting devices (1; figure 8) spaced apart and a plurality of reflectors (2; figure 8) spaced apart from the LEDs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to position the reflectors of Wada et al. to be spaced apart as taught by Zheng et al. to achieve a more uniform optical effect (column 5, lines 64-66).
Zheng et al., however, does not explicitly teach the plurality of reflectors being spaced apart from the plurality of LEDs at half of the second interval along the third direction on the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the arrangement of the LEDs and reflectors of Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. as an obvious design choice to achieve a desired illumination output, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. does not explicitly teach Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of reflectors is formed by a plurality of protrusions that are protruding from the substrate and portions of a reflector sheet, disposed on the substrate and the plurality of protrusions, that are deformed by the plurality of protrusions and at least partially cover outer surfaces of the plurality of protrusions, wherein the plurality of reflectors comprises: the plurality of protrusions protruding from the substrate toward the liquid crystal panel, each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions having at least one side surface; and a plurality of protrusion covers respectively disposed on the at least one side surface of the plurality of protrusions to form at least one reflective surface on each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions, the plurality of protrusion covers provided as part of the reflector sheet.
Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) teaches a reflection sheet 105 comprising a plurality of portions (153) formed by a plurality of protrusions (107; figure 8) that are protruding from a substrate (108; figure 8) and portions of a reflecting sheet 105 is disposed on the substrate 108 that are deformed by the plurality of protrusions (107; see at figure 8 ) and at least partially cover outer surfaces of the plurality of protrusions (107; figure 8) and wherein the plurality of reflectors (bulging sections of reflecting sheet 105; figure 8) comprises: the plurality of protrusions (bulging sections of reflecting sheet 105; figure 8) protruding from the substrate toward the liquid crystal panel (column 4, lines 1-5), each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions (107; figure 8) having at least one side surface (see protrusions 107 in at least figure 8); and a plurality of protrusion covers (see bulging sections of reflecting sheet 105 which cover protrusions 107; figure 8) respectively disposed on the at least one side surface of the plurality of protrusions (107; figure 8) to form at least one reflective surface (see figure 8 where bulging portion 153 of reflecting sheet 105 covers the protrusion) on each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions (see 107 in at least figure 8), the plurality of protrusion covers provided as part of the reflector sheet (105; see at least figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. to include a plurality of reflectors deformed by a plurality of protrusions as taught by Isono et al. so that the luminance of dark regions of the display panel can be increased and the luminance of the light radiated to the display panel can be made to be substantially uniform with the luminance being kept high (column 8, lines 29-39 of Isono et al.).
Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. and Isono et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the reflector sheet comprises a plurality of cutouts respectively corresponding to the plurality of protrusions, each of the plurality of cutouts being shaped to correspond to an edge of a corresponding protrusion, and wherein respective portions of the reflector sheet formed by the plurality of cutouts are deformed to contact outer surfaces of the corresponding protrusion and to form reflective surfaces.
Lu et al. teaches wherein the reflector sheet (20) comprises a plurality of cutouts (202) respectively corresponding to the plurality of protrusions (30), each of the plurality of cutouts (202) being shaped to correspond to an edge of a corresponding protrusion (30; figure 6), and wherein respective portions of the reflector sheet (20) formed by the plurality of cutouts (202) are deformed to contact outer surfaces of the corresponding protrusion (30) and to form reflective surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al. and Isono et al. to include a plurality of cutouts respectively corresponding to a plurality of protrusions as taught by Lu et al. to alleviate the interference in reflection effect of light ray so a good display quality can be achieved (see abstract of Lu et al.).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (US 2015/0226400 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (US 9,222,664 B2), Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) and Lu et al. (US 2016/0252775 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 15, respectively, above and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0003384 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein: each of the plurality of reflectors is provided in a shape of a frustum of a square pyramid, and each side surface of the shape of the frustum of the square pyramid faces a corresponding adjacent LED of the plurality of LEDs.
Lin et al. teach a plurality of reflectors (142; figure 1; [0026] where protrusion 142 may be integrally formed with reflective sheet 140 and there would be reflective) is provided in a shape of a frustum of a square pyramid (see shape of 142 in figure 1; paragraph [0027] where shape of the protrusion 142 is a pyramid shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date the invention was made to modify the plurality of reflectors of Wada et al.to have the shape of a square pyramid as taught by Lin et al. to prevent occurrence of folds at the edges of the protrusion due to uneven heating (para. [0027]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (US 2015/0226400 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (US 9,222,664 B2), Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) and Lu et al. (US 2016/0252775 A1) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 2018/0080625 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one region of [the reflector sheet] is coated with phosphor and configured to convert a wavelength of light incident on the reflective surface of each of the plurality of protrusion covers.
Yamada et al. teach a reflector (diffuse reflectors 32; paragraph [0072]) coated with phosphor (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reflective sheet of Wada et al. to include phosphor as taught by Yamada et al. to achieve a uniform luminance distribution (para. [0085])
Regarding claim 9, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein the BLU further comprises:
a composite sheet disposed between [the substrate] and [the liquid crystal panel]; and an adhesive layer provided on a surface of the composite sheet and disposed between the composite sheet and [the substrate], and configured to bond the composite sheet to [the plurality of reflectors].
Yamada et al. teaches a composite sheet (31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 1) between a substrate (mounting board 11; figure 1; para. [0033]) and a liquid crystal panel (not shown but liquid crystal display disclosed in paragraph [0105]); and an adhesive layer (paragraph [0084] “bonding members” disclosed) provided on a surface of the composite sheet (31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 1) and disposed between the composite sheet and the substrate (mounting board 11; figure 1; para. [0033]), and configured to bond the composite sheet (31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 1) to a plurality of reflectors (15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Wada et al. to include a composite sheet and an adhesive layer as taught by Yamada et al. as the multiple layers of the optical sheet of Yamada et al. increases the luminance of the light emitting device and a effectively increases the luminance of the display panel (para. [0080]-0081] of Yamada et al.) and including the adhesive layer on a surface of the composite sheet so that the light emitting from the light source of one emission space can be less likely to enter an adjacent emission space (see para. [0084] of Yamada et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) and Yamada et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 9, and Yamada et al. further teaches wherein the composite sheet (30; figure 1) comprises:
the reflector sheet (37, reflective polarizing layer; figure 1 and para.[0081]) configured to selectively reflect incident light (paragraph [0081] discloses reflective polarizing layer 37 selectively passes the light..);
a diffuser sheet (33; diffusion plate; figure 1) configured to diffuse the incident light;
a light conversion sheet (wavelength conversion layer 34; paragraph [0061], figure 1) configured to convert a wavelength of the incident light; and a prism sheet comprising a prism pattern (prism array layers 35 and 36; paragraph [0080] discloses prism layers 35 and 36 include a plurality of prisms).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify display apparatus of Wada et al. to include a composite sheet as taught by Yamada et al. as an alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 11, Wada et al. modified by Yamada et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 9, and Wada et al. further teaches wherein the plurality of reflectors (15) support the composite sheet (30) such that an air gap is formed between the composite sheet and the substrate 12.
Regarding claim 12, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and Wada et al. further teaches wherein the BLU further comprises:
a diffuser plate (3; see figure 2A) disposed between the substrate (12) and the liquid crystal panel (2, liquid crystal panel; paragraph [0093]) and configured to diffuse incident light (paragraph [0095] teaches diffusion plate 2 diffuses light emitted from the backlight unit 1).
Wada et al. does not explicitly teach an optical sheet provided on a first surface of [the diffuser plate 3] and disposed between [the diffuser plate 3] and [the liquid crystal panel 2], the optical sheet comprising at least one of a light conversion sheet, a prism sheet, and a reflective polarizing sheet; and an adhesive layer provided on a second surface of the diffuser plate and configured to bond the diffuser plate to the plurality of reflectors.
Yamada et al. teach an optical sheet (34,35,36,37 combined; figure 2) provided on a first surface of a diffuser plate (33; paragraph [0067]; figure 1) and disposed between the diffuser plate (33) and a display (not shown but liquid crystal display is disclosed in para.[0105]) , the optical sheet (34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 2) comprising at least one of a light conversion sheet (34, wavelength conversion layer), a prism sheet (35 and 36; paragraph [0080]), and a reflective polarizing sheet (37; paragraph [0080]) and an adhesive layer (bonding members connected to half members 31; paragraph [0084]) provided on a second surface of the diffuser plate (33) and configured to bond the diffuser plate (33) to a plurality of reflectors (15; paragraph [0051] discloses bottom portion 15b reflects light from light source 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify display apparatus of Wada et al. to an optical sheet as taught by Yamada et al. as the multiple layers of the optical sheet of Yamada et al. increases the luminance of the light emitting device and a effectively increases the luminance of the display panel (para. [0080]-0081]).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (US 2015/0226400 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (US 9,222,664 B2), Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) and Lu et al. (US 2016/0252775 A1) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0003384 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein:
each of the [plurality of reflectors] is provided in a shape of a frustum of a square pyramid, and each side surface of the shape of the frustum of the square pyramid faces a corresponding adjacent LED of the plurality of LEDs.
Lin et al. teach a plurality of reflectors (142; figure 1; [0026] where protrusion 142 may be integrally formed with reflective sheet 140 and there would be reflective) is provided in a shape of a frustum of a square pyramid (see shape of 142 in figure 1; paragraph [0027] where shape of the protrusion 142 is a pyramid shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date the invention was made to modify the plurality of reflectors of Wada et al. to have the shape of a square pyramid as taught by Lin et al. as an alternative design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al. (US 2015/0226400 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (US 9,222,664 B2), Isono et al. (US 10,317,730 B2) and Lu et al. (US 2016/0252775 A1) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 2018/0080625 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 15, but do not explicitly teach wherein the BLU further comprises:
a composite sheet disposed between [the substrate] and [the liquid crystal panel]; and an adhesive layer provided on a surface of the composite sheet and disposed between the composite sheet and [the substrate], and configured to bond the composite sheet to [the plurality of reflectors].
Yamada et al. teaches a composite sheet (34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 1) between a substrate (mounting board 11; figure 1; para. [0033]) and a liquid crystal panel (not shown but liquid crystal display disclosed in paragraph [0105]); and an adhesive layer provided on a surface of the composite sheet and disposed between the composite sheet and the substrate, and configured to bond the composite sheet to a plurality of reflectors (15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify display apparatus of Wada et al. to include optical sheet as taught by Yamada et al. as the multiple layers of the optical sheet of Yamada et al. increases the luminance of the light emitting device and a effectively increases the luminance of the display panel (para. [0080]-0081]).
Regarding claim 19, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al., Lu et al. and Yamada et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 18, but Wada et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of reflectors support the composite sheet such that an air gap is formed between the composite sheet and the substrate.
Yamada et al. further teaches wherein the plurality of reflectors (15; see paragraph [0051] where light is reflected by portion 15b of 15; see figure 1) support the composite sheet (34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 1) such that an air gap is formed between the composite sheet and the substrate (see figure 1 where air gap is between the composite sheet (34,35,36,37 combined; figure 1) and the substrate (11; figure 1 and paragraph [0033], [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify display apparatus of Wada et al. to include optical sheet as taught by Yamada et al. as an alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output.
Regarding claim 20, Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 15, and Wada et al. further teaches wherein the BLU further comprises:
a diffuser plate (3) disposed between the substrate and the liquid crystal panel (2) and configured to diffuse incident light.
Wada et al. modified by Zheng et al., Isono et al. and Lu et al. but does not explicitly teach an optical sheet provided on a first surface of the [diffuser plate] and disposed between the [diffuser plate] and [the liquid crystal panel], the optical sheet comprising at least one of a light conversion sheet, a prism sheet, and a reflective polarizing sheet; and an adhesive layer provided on a second surface of the diffuser plate and configured to bond the diffuser plate to the plurality of reflectors.
Yamada et al. (US 2018/0080625 A1) teach an optical sheet (34,35,36,37 combined; figure 2) provided on a first surface of a diffuser plate (33; paragraph [0067]; figure 1) and disposed between the diffuser plate (33) and a display (not shown but liquid crystal display is disclosed in para.[0105]) , the optical sheet (34, 35, 36, 37 combined; figure 2) comprising at least one of a light conversion sheet (34, wavelength conversion layer), a prism sheet (35 and 36; paragraph [0080]), and a reflective polarizing sheet (37; paragraph [0080]) and an adhesive layer (bonding members connected to half members 31; paragraph [0084]) provided on a second surface of the diffuser plate (33) and configured to bond the diffuser plate (33) to a plurality of reflectors (15; paragraph [0051] discloses bottom portion 15b reflects light from light source 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify display apparatus of Wada et al. to include optical sheet as taught by Yamada et al. as the multiple layers of the optical sheet of Yamada et al. increases the luminance of the light emitting device and a effectively increases the luminance of the display panel (para. [0080]-0081])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claims 1 and 15. A new reference, Lu et al., teaches the newly recited limitation in claim 1 and 15. See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875