Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 10, 15, 16, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0275703) (“Liu”).
For claims 1, 10, 19, and 20; Liu discloses: receiving downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI is used to indicate activation or deactivation of uplink feedback, wherein a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) used for scrambling the DCI is used to indicate activation or deactivation of uplink feedback, wherein, when the RNTI used for scrambling the DCI is a first RNTI, the DCI is used to indicate activation of uplink feedback; or, when the RNTI used for scrambling the DCI is a second RNTI, the DCI is used to indicate deactivation of uplink feedback (paragraph 124-125: the UE may determine that the feedback information is disabled based on a dedicated RNTI that was used by the base station to scramble a CRC portion of the scheduling DCI. That is, a first one or more RNTI(s) may be set aside or otherwise associated with data transmissions using non-rateless coding when feedback information is enabled and a second one or more RNTI(s) may be set aside or otherwise associated with data transmissions using rateless coding when feedback information is disabled. The base station selecting a particular or dedicated RNTI to scramble the CRC portion of the scheduling DCI may carry or otherwise convey the indication that the data transmission that uses rateless coding is configured without feedback information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Xing et al. (US 2022/0200744) (“Xing”).
For claim 6 and 15; Liu discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Liu does not expressly disclose, but Xing from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a format of the DCI is used to indicate activation or deactivation of uplink feedback (paragraph 184: different DCI formats are defined for the situation where the HARQ mechanism is to be activated and the situation where the HARQ mechanism is to be deactivated). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Xing in the feedback configuration as described by Liu. The motivation is to improve dynamic feedback.
For claim 7 and 16; Liu discloses the subject matter in claim 6 as described above in the office action.
Liu does not expressly disclose, but Xing from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein when the format of the DCI is a first format, the DCI is used to indicate activation of uplink feedback; or, when the format of the DCI is a second format, the DCI is used to indicate deactivation of uplink feedback (paragraph 184: different DCI formats are defined for the situation where the HARQ mechanism is to be activated and the situation where the HARQ mechanism is to be deactivated). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Xing in the feedback configuration as described by Liu. The motivation is to improve dynamic feedback.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pelletier et al. (US 2023/0027089); Pelletier discloses plurality of HARQ layers may be activated or deactivated by received downlink control information (DCI). In addition, the WTRU may transmit HARQ feedback to the node on the radio access network. In the method, the non-unicast downlink transmission method may be a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466