DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
As to the amended claims and remarks filed on 4/17/26, the previous 101 and 112 rejections are withdrawn.
Based on applicants remarks, the previous 112(f) interpretation has been modified.
Based on the amended claims and remarks, the previous 102 rejection is withdrawn.
Based on the claim amendments, the previous 103 rejection has been modified to address the claim amendments.
Claim Status
Claims 26-28, 30, 31, 33, 34, 36-45 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “evaluation device for evaluating” in claim 34.
The specification describes the evaluation device as #19 in [38, 66, 68] of the instant specification. Figures 1, 2 also show #19 as a black box as part of the detection devices. The evaluation device in [38] of the instant specification describes the evaluation device as part of an imaging device or being a processor or printed circuit board. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the evaluation device as part of a detection device/detector, or part of a computer/controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 28, it is unclear if “an objective” recited in limitations (c) and (d) is attempting to claim the same objective as recited in amended claim 1 or if this is an additional objective. The examiner believes they are the same objective, but requests further clarification and/or correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-28, 30, 31, 33, 34, 36-39, 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schondube et al (US 20210239589; hereinafter “Schondube”; already of record) in view of Wu et al (US 20200376488; hereinafter “Wu”; already of record).
As to claim 26, Schondube teaches a device (Schondube; Fig. 1-3) comprising:
an objective (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [99]);
a dispenser for receiving liquid sample, which has liquid and particles (Schondube teaches dispenser 2/6; [97-98], Fig. 1-2);
a first light source of a first type for emitting a first illumination light for illuminating a first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a first light source 18; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a first detection device for detecting a first optical measurement signal which emanates from the first region of the dispenser illuminated with the first illuminating light (Schondube teaches a first detection device 21/22 for fluorescence; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 54, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a second light source of a second type for emitting a second illumination light for illuminating a second region of the dispenser which comprises the first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a second light source 7; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 55, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]); and
a second detection device for detecting a second optical measurement signal which emanates from the second region of the dispenser illuminated with the second illuminating light (Schondube teaches a second detection device 14/16 for bright light; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]); and
the device has a filter element for filtering a part of the second optical measurement signal and the filter element is arranged in a beam path of the first and second measurement signals after an objective and before the point detector and/or the second detection device (Schondube teaches filters 9/11/27 after objective 12 and before the detectors; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches each filter 9/11 is in the beam path of the first and second measurement signals; Fig. 1-2, [108]. Schondube teaches that each filter 9/11 filters part of the second measurement signal, and Schondube teaches that the measurement signal 15 passes through first filter 9 and then deflects in filter 11 to the detector; [100]. Schondube also teaches that lights can be use used simultaneously [38], whereby only the respective measurement signals are passed to each respective detector. In other words, when the light is simultaneously used, then Figures 1 and 2 are performed at the same time whereby the filters filter the light to respective detectors at the same time. As seen in Figure 1, the measurement light is the dotted line which passes through 9 and 11 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by the detector 14/16 is only the measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed through to the other detector, thus the light is filtered to the proper detector. Similarly, in figure 2 the measurement light is the dotted light which passes through 9, 11, and 27 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by detector 21/22 is the only measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed to the other detector. The measurement signals are different signals as the first detector 21/22 is for fluorescent light and the second detector 14/16 is for bright light, and the light that passes through the filter to the respective detectors is only the light that is read by those detectors. Thus, the bright light is filtered to its respective detector and the fluorescent light is filtered to its respective detector. Further still, the schematic shown in the prior art of a filter is a filter cube where a filter cube, as known in the art of bright field and fluorescence microscopy, would include a mirror and both an excitation and emission filter).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “for…”, “configured to…”, etc…). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Although Schondube broadly teaches a detection devices for detecting light from cells/particles, and Schondube teaches that the first detection device detects fluorescence of the cells/particles, Schondube does not teach that the first detection device is a point detector. However, Wu teaches the analogous art of detecting fluorescence of cells/particles (Wu; [24, 25]) where the detection device is a point detector (Wu teaches that the optical detector can be a PMT; [14, 18, 140, 152]. A PMT is a point detector as evidenced by [12] of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first detection device for detecting fluorescence of cells/particles of Schondube to be a PMT point detection device as in Wu because Wu teaches that PMTs are commonly known detectors (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]), and also because Wu teaches that PMTs are known variants of cameras (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]).
As to claim 27, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the first region comprises a dispensing outlet; and/or b. the second region completely comprises the first region; and/or c. the second region is larger than the first region; and/or d. the first region comprises a dispensing region from which the liquid sample is dispensed from the dispenser during a dispensing process (Schondube teaches that the first region and second region are both regions from which the sample is dispensed; Fig. 1-2, [19, 72, 100, 101, 108, 109]).
As to claim 28, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the second region comprises a dispensing outlet; and/or b. the second region comprises at least a dispensing region from which the liquid sample is dispensed from the dispenser during a dispensing process; and/or c. the device has an objective that is arranged in such a way that its optical axis is transverse or perpendicular to an ejection direction of liquid sample from the dispenser; and/or d. the device has an objective that has a numerical aperture of 0.1 to 1.5 (Schondube teaches that the first region and second region are both regions from which the sample is dispensed; Fig. 1-2, [19, 72, 100, 101, 108, 109]. Schondube also teaches an objective transverse to the dispensing direction; Fig. 1-2, [99]).
As to claim 30, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 29 (see above), wherein a. the filter element has a first filter region through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate; or b. the filter element has a first filter region through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate, the first filter region being a perforation (Schondube teaches filters 9/11 through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 31, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 29 (see above), wherein the filter element has a second filter region which: a. the second measurement signal filters; and/or b. is designed such that the first measurement signal penetrates through the second filter region; and/or c. encloses the first filter region (Schondube teaches filters 9/11 through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches that filter 11 filters measurement signals such that they can either penetrate the filter or pass to the detector, and that filter 27 also filters the measurement signal).
As to claim 33, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the first illumination light is excitation light and/or the first measurement signal is a fluorescence signal; and/or b. the second illumination light is bright field light and/or the second measurement signal is a bright field signal (Schondube teaches a first detection device 21/22 for fluorescence; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]. Schondube teaches a second detection device 14/16 for bright light; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]).
As to claim 34, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device has at least one evaluation device for evaluating the first measurement signal and/or the second measurement signal (As best understood, Schondube teaches the detectors each having a readout evaluation device 30/31 as part of the detector which evaluate the signals; [48, 51, 69, 76, 84, 101, 102, 104, 106, 109, 115, 122, 123, 127, 130, 131, 132], Fig. 1-2. Schondube also teaches control device 28 and analysis device 17; [102, 106, 115, 122, 123, 127, 130, 131], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 36, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device comprises an actuator configured to actuate the dispenser for dispensing liquid sample (Schondube teaches dispenser 2/6 actuated by an actuator; [97-98], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 37, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device has a control device (Schondube teaches control device 28 and analysis device 17; [102, 106, 115, 122, 123, 127, 130, 131], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 38, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 37 (see above), wherein: a. the control device causes the first light source to be switched on before the second light source; and/or b. the control device causes an exposure time by the first illumination light to be longer than an exposure time by the second illumination light; and/or c. the control device causes the first light source to be switched on during a dispensing process or the control device causes the first light source to be switched on, regardless of whether the particle is moving in the first region; and/or d. the control device determines a specific receptacle depending on the evaluation result and causes the dispenser to dispense liquid sample into the specific receptacle (Schondube determines and dispenses to storage/receptacle location; [68, 69, 72, 83, 84, 120, 124, 131, 132]. Schondube also teaches that the first light source takes longer than the second light source; [42, 43]).
As to claim 39, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the first illumination light and the first measurement signal at least partially have a common beam path; and/or b. the second illuminating light and the second measurement signal at least partially have a common beam path; and/or c. the first and the second illuminating lights at least partially have a common beam path; and/or d. the first measurement signal and the second measurement signal at least partially have a common beam path (Schondube teaches that the first and second illuminating lights and measurement lights have partial common paths, with the common illuminating path from 9/12 and to dispenser 2 region 6 and the common measurement signal path from dispenser 2 region 6 to 9/12 to 11; Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 43, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device has a lens which is arranged in a beam path of the first optical measurement signal (Schondube teaches a lens 12 in the beam path; [86, 99, 100, 108], Fig 1-2).
As to claim 44, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 43 (see above), wherein: a. the lens collimates the first optical measurement signal or the lens collimates the first optical measurement signal and the lens and the first detection device are arranged in such a way that the first detection device is supplied with the collimated first optical measurement signal; and/or b. the first detection device is arranged in such a way that a distance between the first detection device and the lens corresponds to a distance of the focal length of the lens (Schondube teaches a lens 12 in the beam path which would collimate the signal; [32, 55, 86, 99, 100, 108], Fig 1-2).
As to claim 45, Schondube teaches a method for examining a liquid (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [109-132]) sample, comprising:
providing a device (Schondube; Fig. 1-3) comprising:
an objective (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [99]);
a dispenser for receiving liquid sample, which has liquid and particles (Schondube teaches dispenser 2/6; [97-98], Fig. 1-2);
a first light source of a first type for emitting a first illumination light for illuminating a first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a first light source 18; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a first detection device for detecting a first optical measurement signal which emanates from the first region of the dispenser illuminated with the first illuminating light (Schondube teaches a first detection device 21/22 for fluorescent light; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 54, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a second light source of a second type for emitting a second illumination light for illuminating a second region of the dispenser which comprises the first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a second light source 7; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 55, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]); and
a second detection device for detecting a second optical measurement signal which emanates from the second region of the dispenser illuminated with the second illuminating light (Schondube teaches a second detection device 14/16 for bright light; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]).; and
the device has a filter element for filtering a part of the second optical measurement signal and the filter element is arranged in a beam path of the first and second measurement signals after an objective and before the point detector and/or the second detection device (Schondube teaches filters 9/11/27 after objective 12 and before the detectors; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches each filter 9/11 is in the beam path of the first and second measurement signals; Fig. 1-2, [108]. Schondube teaches that each filter 9/11 filters part of the second measurement signal, and Schondube teaches that the measurement signal 15 passes through first filter 9 and then deflects in filter 11 to the detector; [100]. Schondube also teaches that lights can be use used simultaneously [38], whereby only the respective measurement signals are passed to each respective detector. In other words, when the light is simultaneously used, then Figures 1 and 2 are performed at the same time whereby the filters filter the light to respective detectors at the same time. As seen in Figure 1, the measurement light is the dotted line which passes through 9 and 11 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by the detector 14/16 is only the measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed through to the other detector, thus the light is filtered to the proper detector. Similarly, in figure 2 the measurement light is the dotted light which passes through 9, 11, and 27 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by detector 21/22 is the only measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed to the other detector. The measurement signals are different signals as the first detector 21/22 is for fluorescent light and the second detector 14/16 is for bright light, and the light that passes through the filter to the respective detectors is only the light that is read by those detectors. Thus, the bright light is filtered to its respective detector and the fluorescent light is filtered to its respective detector. Further still, the schematic shown in the prior art of a filter is a filter cube where a filter cube, as known in the art of bright field and fluorescence microscopy, would include a mirror and both an excitation and emission filter); and
using the device to examine a liquid sample (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [109-132]).
Although Schondube broadly teaches a detection devices for detecting light from cells/particles, and Schondube teaches that the first detection device detects fluorescence of the cells/particles, Schondube does not teach that the first detection device is a point detector. However, Wu teaches the analogous art of detecting fluorescence of cells/particles (Wu; [24, 25]) where the detection device is a point detector (Wu teaches that the optical detector can be a PMT; [14, 18, 140, 152]. A PMT is a point detector as evidenced by [12] of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first detection device for detecting fluorescence of cells/particles of Schondube to be a PMT point detection device as in Wu because Wu teaches that PMTs are commonly known detectors (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]), and also because Wu teaches that PMTs are known variants of cameras (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]).
Claims 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schondube et al (US 20210239589; hereinafter “Schondube”; already of record) in view of Wu et al (US 20200376488; hereinafter “Wu”; already of record) in view of Tovar et al (US 20160129443; hereinafter “Tovar”; already of record).
As to claim 40, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above).
Modified Schondube does not specifically teach wherein the device has a light guide. However, Tovar teaches the analogous art of detecting at a dispenser, where the signal is sent to the detector by a light guide (Tovar teaches waveguide 30b which sends measurement light to the detector 16/34; [110, 116], Fig. 1, 2, 4. See also [44, 46, 47]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the transmission of the signal to the detectors of modified Schondube to have used a waveguide to transmit the light as in Tovar because Tovar teaches that waveguides are well-known and preferred for use between the detection channel and photodetector (Tovar; [46, 110]) and that waveguides help provide good light transmission performance (Tovar; [47]).
As to claim 41, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 40 (see above), wherein: a. the light guide is arranged in a beam path of the first optical measurement signal; and/or b. the first optical measurement signal emerging from the light guide is fed to the first detection device; and/or c. the first region is imaged at an entrance of the light guide; and/or d. the light guide is designed in such a way that the first optical measurement signal exiting the light guide has a more uniform intensity distribution profile than the first optical measurement signal entering the light guide (The modification of the detection signals of Schondube to be transmitted via waveguide(s) as in Tovar has already been discussed above in claim 40. Tovar; [44, 46, 47, 110, 116]).
As to claim 42, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 40 (see above), wherein the light guide is a glass fiber and/or a liquid-filled light guide (The modification of the detection signals of Schondube to be transmitted via waveguide(s) as in Tovar has already been discussed above in claim 40. Tovar teaches glass fibers; [46, 109, 110]).
Claims 26-28, 30, 31, 33, 34, 36-39, 43-45 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schondube et al (US 20210239589; hereinafter “Schondube”; already of record) in view of Wu et al (US 20200376488; hereinafter “Wu”; already of record) in view of Homes et al (US 20160069919; hereinafter “Holmes”).
As to claim 26, Schondube teaches a device (Schondube; Fig. 1-3) comprising:
an objective (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [99]);
a dispenser for receiving liquid sample, which has liquid and particles (Schondube teaches dispenser 2/6; [97-98], Fig. 1-2);
a first light source of a first type for emitting a first illumination light for illuminating a first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a first light source 18; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a first detection device for detecting a first optical measurement signal which emanates from the first region of the dispenser illuminated with the first illuminating light (Schondube teaches a first detection device 21/22 for fluorescence; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 54, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a second light source of a second type for emitting a second illumination light for illuminating a second region of the dispenser which comprises the first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a second light source 7; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 55, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]); and
a second detection device for detecting a second optical measurement signal which emanates from the second region of the dispenser illuminated with the second illuminating light (Schondube teaches a second detection device 14/16 for bright light; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]); and
the device has a filter element for filtering a part of the second optical measurement signal and the filter element is arranged in a beam path of the first and second measurement signals after an objective and before the point detector and/or the second detection device (Schondube teaches filters 9/11/27 after objective 12 and before the detectors; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches each filter 9/11 is in the beam path of the first and second measurement signals; Fig. 1-2, [108]. Schondube teaches that each filter 9/11 filters part of the second measurement signal, and Schondube teaches that the measurement signal 15 passes through first filter 9 and then deflects in filter 11 to the detector; [100]. Schondube also teaches that lights can be use used simultaneously [38], whereby only the respective measurement signals are passed to each respective detector. In other words, when the light is simultaneously used, then Figures 1 and 2 are performed at the same time whereby the filters filter the light to respective detectors at the same time. As seen in Figure 1, the measurement light is the dotted line which passes through 9 and 11 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by the detector 14/16 is only the measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed through to the other detector, thus the light is filtered to the proper detector. Similarly, in figure 2 the measurement light is the dotted light which passes through 9, 11, and 27 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by detector 21/22 is the only measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed to the other detector. The measurement signals are different signals as the first detector 21/22 is for fluorescent light and the second detector 14/16 is for bright light, and the light that passes through the filter to the respective detectors is only the light that is read by those detectors. Thus, the bright light is filtered to its respective detector and the fluorescent light is filtered to its respective detector. Further still, the schematic shown in the prior art of a filter is a filter cube where a filter cube, as known in the art of bright field and fluorescence microscopy, would include a mirror and both an excitation and emission filter).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “for…”, “configured to…”, etc…). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Although Schondube broadly teaches a detection devices for detecting light from cells/particles, and Schondube teaches that the first detection device detects fluorescence of the cells/particles, Schondube does not teach that the first detection device is a point detector. However, Wu teaches the analogous art of detecting fluorescence of cells/particles (Wu; [24, 25]) where the detection device is a point detector (Wu teaches that the optical detector can be a PMT; [14, 18, 140, 152]. A PMT is a point detector as evidenced by [12] of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first detection device for detecting fluorescence of cells/particles of Schondube to be a PMT point detection device as in Wu because Wu teaches that PMTs are commonly known detectors (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]), and also because Wu teaches that PMTs are known variants of cameras (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]).
If it is deemed that modified Schondube does not specifically teach that the filter arranged after the objective and before the detectors filters the signal, then Holmes teaches the analogous art of a detector and sample where it is known to include an emissions filter between the sample and the detector (Holmes; [1390]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used in the filter of modified Schondube the filter disclosed in Holmes because Holmes teaches that this helps to ensure only the selected light reaches the respective detector (Holmes; [1390]).
As to claim 27, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the first region comprises a dispensing outlet; and/or b. the second region completely comprises the first region; and/or c. the second region is larger than the first region; and/or d. the first region comprises a dispensing region from which the liquid sample is dispensed from the dispenser during a dispensing process (Schondube teaches that the first region and second region are both regions from which the sample is dispensed; Fig. 1-2, [19, 72, 100, 101, 108, 109]).
As to claim 28, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the second region comprises a dispensing outlet; and/or b. the second region comprises at least a dispensing region from which the liquid sample is dispensed from the dispenser during a dispensing process; and/or c. the device has an objective that is arranged in such a way that its optical axis is transverse or perpendicular to an ejection direction of liquid sample from the dispenser; and/or d. the device has an objective that has a numerical aperture of 0.1 to 1.5 (Schondube teaches that the first region and second region are both regions from which the sample is dispensed; Fig. 1-2, [19, 72, 100, 101, 108, 109]. Schondube also teaches an objective transverse to the dispensing direction; Fig. 1-2, [99]).
As to claim 30, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 29 (see above), wherein a. the filter element has a first filter region through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate; or b. the filter element has a first filter region through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate, the first filter region being a perforation (Schondube teaches filters 9/11 through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 31, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 29 (see above), wherein the filter element has a second filter region which: a. the second measurement signal filters; and/or b. is designed such that the first measurement signal penetrates through the second filter region; and/or c. encloses the first filter region (Schondube teaches filters 9/11 through which the first and second measurement signals penetrate; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches that filter 11 filters measurement signals such that they can either penetrate the filter or pass to the detector, and that filter 27 also filters the measurement signal).
As to claim 33, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the first illumination light is excitation light and/or the first measurement signal is a fluorescence signal; and/or b. the second illumination light is bright field light and/or the second measurement signal is a bright field signal (Schondube teaches a first detection device 21/22 for fluorescence; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]. Schondube teaches a second detection device 14/16 for bright light; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]).
As to claim 34, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device has at least one evaluation device for evaluating the first measurement signal and/or the second measurement signal (As best understood, Schondube teaches the detectors each having a readout evaluation device 30/31 as part of the detector which evaluate the signals; [48, 51, 69, 76, 84, 101, 102, 104, 106, 109, 115, 122, 123, 127, 130, 131, 132], Fig. 1-2. Schondube also teaches control device 28 and analysis device 17; [102, 106, 115, 122, 123, 127, 130, 131], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 36, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device comprises an actuator configured to actuate the dispenser for dispensing liquid sample (Schondube teaches dispenser 2/6 actuated by an actuator; [97-98], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 37, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device has a control device (Schondube teaches control device 28 and analysis device 17; [102, 106, 115, 122, 123, 127, 130, 131], Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 38, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 37 (see above), wherein: a. the control device causes the first light source to be switched on before the second light source; and/or b. the control device causes an exposure time by the first illumination light to be longer than an exposure time by the second illumination light; and/or c. the control device causes the first light source to be switched on during a dispensing process or the control device causes the first light source to be switched on, regardless of whether the particle is moving in the first region; and/or d. the control device determines a specific receptacle depending on the evaluation result and causes the dispenser to dispense liquid sample into the specific receptacle (Schondube determines and dispenses to storage/receptacle location; [68, 69, 72, 83, 84, 120, 124, 131, 132]. Schondube also teaches that the first light source takes longer than the second light source; [42, 43]).
As to claim 39, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein: a. the first illumination light and the first measurement signal at least partially have a common beam path; and/or b. the second illuminating light and the second measurement signal at least partially have a common beam path; and/or c. the first and the second illuminating lights at least partially have a common beam path; and/or d. the first measurement signal and the second measurement signal at least partially have a common beam path (Schondube teaches that the first and second illuminating lights and measurement lights have partial common paths, with the common illuminating path from 9/12 and to dispenser 2 region 6 and the common measurement signal path from dispenser 2 region 6 to 9/12 to 11; Fig. 1-2).
As to claim 43, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the device has a lens which is arranged in a beam path of the first optical measurement signal (Schondube teaches a lens 12 in the beam path; [86, 99, 100, 108], Fig 1-2).
As to claim 44, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 43 (see above), wherein: a. the lens collimates the first optical measurement signal or the lens collimates the first optical measurement signal and the lens and the first detection device are arranged in such a way that the first detection device is supplied with the collimated first optical measurement signal; and/or b. the first detection device is arranged in such a way that a distance between the first detection device and the lens corresponds to a distance of the focal length of the lens (Schondube teaches a lens 12 in the beam path which would collimate the signal; [32, 55, 86, 99, 100, 108], Fig 1-2).
As to claim 45, Schondube teaches a method for examining a liquid (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [109-132]) sample, comprising:
providing a device (Schondube; Fig. 1-3) comprising:
an objective (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [99]);
a dispenser for receiving liquid sample, which has liquid and particles (Schondube teaches dispenser 2/6; [97-98], Fig. 1-2);
a first light source of a first type for emitting a first illumination light for illuminating a first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a first light source 18; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a first detection device for detecting a first optical measurement signal which emanates from the first region of the dispenser illuminated with the first illuminating light (Schondube teaches a first detection device 21/22 for fluorescent light; Fig. 1-2, [30, 31, 38, 39, 41, 54, 58, 103, 104, 109, 117, 123, 127]);
a second light source of a second type for emitting a second illumination light for illuminating a second region of the dispenser which comprises the first region of the dispenser (Schondube teaches a second light source 7; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 55, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]); and
a second detection device for detecting a second optical measurement signal which emanates from the second region of the dispenser illuminated with the second illuminating light (Schondube teaches a second detection device 14/16 for bright light; Fig. 1-2, [18, 24, 25, 31, 38, 39, 41, 47, 62, 75, 100, 113, 116]).; and
the device has a filter element for filtering a part of the second optical measurement signal and the filter element is arranged in a beam path of the first and second measurement signals after an objective and before the point detector and/or the second detection device (Schondube teaches filters 9/11/27 after objective 12 and before the detectors; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches each filter 9/11 is in the beam path of the first and second measurement signals; Fig. 1-2, [108]. Schondube teaches that each filter 9/11 filters part of the second measurement signal, and Schondube teaches that the measurement signal 15 passes through first filter 9 and then deflects in filter 11 to the detector; [100]. Schondube also teaches that lights can be use used simultaneously [38], whereby only the respective measurement signals are passed to each respective detector. In other words, when the light is simultaneously used, then Figures 1 and 2 are performed at the same time whereby the filters filter the light to respective detectors at the same time. As seen in Figure 1, the measurement light is the dotted line which passes through 9 and 11 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by the detector 14/16 is only the measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed through to the other detector, thus the light is filtered to the proper detector. Similarly, in figure 2 the measurement light is the dotted light which passes through 9, 11, and 27 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by detector 21/22 is the only measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed to the other detector. The measurement signals are different signals as the first detector 21/22 is for fluorescent light and the second detector 14/16 is for bright light, and the light that passes through the filter to the respective detectors is only the light that is read by those detectors. Thus, the bright light is filtered to its respective detector and the fluorescent light is filtered to its respective detector. Further still, the schematic shown in the prior art of a filter is a filter cube where a filter cube, as known in the art of bright field and fluorescence microscopy, would include a mirror and both an excitation and emission filter); and
using the device to examine a liquid sample (Schondube; Fig. 1-2, [109-132]).
Although Schondube broadly teaches a detection devices for detecting light from cells/particles, and Schondube teaches that the first detection device detects fluorescence of the cells/particles, Schondube does not teach that the first detection device is a point detector. However, Wu teaches the analogous art of detecting fluorescence of cells/particles (Wu; [24, 25]) where the detection device is a point detector (Wu teaches that the optical detector can be a PMT; [14, 18, 140, 152]. A PMT is a point detector as evidenced by [12] of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first detection device for detecting fluorescence of cells/particles of Schondube to be a PMT point detection device as in Wu because Wu teaches that PMTs are commonly known detectors (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]), and also because Wu teaches that PMTs are known variants of cameras (Wu; [14, 18, 140, 152]).
If it is deemed that modified Schondube does not specifically teach that the filter arranged after the objective and before the detectors filters the signal, then Holmes teaches the analogous art of a detector and sample where it is known to include an emissions filter between the sample and the detector (Holmes; [1390]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used in the filter of modified Schondube the filter disclosed in Holmes because Holmes teaches that this helps to ensure only the selected light reaches the respective detector (Holmes; [1390]).
Claims 40-42 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schondube et al (US 20210239589; hereinafter “Schondube”; already of record) in view of Wu et al (US 20200376488; hereinafter “Wu”; already of record) in view of Homes et al (US 20160069919; hereinafter “Holmes”) in view of Tovar et al (US 20160129443; hereinafter “Tovar”; already of record).
As to claim 40, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 26 (see above).
Modified Schondube does not specifically teach wherein the device has a light guide. However, Tovar teaches the analogous art of detecting at a dispenser, where the signal is sent to the detector by a light guide (Tovar teaches waveguide 30b which sends measurement light to the detector 16/34; [110, 116], Fig. 1, 2, 4. See also [44, 46, 47]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the transmission of the signal to the detectors of modified Schondube to have used a waveguide to transmit the light as in Tovar because Tovar teaches that waveguides are well-known and preferred for use between the detection channel and photodetector (Tovar; [46, 110]) and that waveguides help provide good light transmission performance (Tovar; [47]).
As to claim 41, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 40 (see above), wherein: a. the light guide is arranged in a beam path of the first optical measurement signal; and/or b. the first optical measurement signal emerging from the light guide is fed to the first detection device; and/or c. the first region is imaged at an entrance of the light guide; and/or d. the light guide is designed in such a way that the first optical measurement signal exiting the light guide has a more uniform intensity distribution profile than the first optical measurement signal entering the light guide (The modification of the detection signals of Schondube to be transmitted via waveguide(s) as in Tovar has already been discussed above in claim 40. Tovar; [44, 46, 47, 110, 116]).
As to claim 42, modified Schondube teaches the device according to claim 40 (see above), wherein the light guide is a glass fiber and/or a liquid-filled light guide (The modification of the detection signals of Schondube to be transmitted via waveguide(s) as in Tovar has already been discussed above in claim 40. Tovar teaches glass fibers; [46, 109, 110]).
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Lin, J (US 20170297023; hereinafter “Lin”; already of record) teaches a camera and PMT to evaluate a dispenser; Fig. 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments towards the prior art rejection, filed 4/17/26, have been considered but are moot because the arguments are towards the claim amendments.
However, in order to advance prosecution, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue on page 9 of their remarks that the filter 9/11 each respectively allow the entire signal to pass through. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art reference discusses a filter and the purpose of the filter is to filter light. Applicants do not address how the filter described in the prior art would not perform the function of filtering. Schondube teaches filters 9/11/27 after objective 12 and before the detectors; [99, 100, 108], Fig. 1-2. Schondube teaches each filter 9/11 is in the beam path of the first and second measurement signals; Fig. 1-2, [108]. Schondube teaches that each filter 9/11 filters part of the second measurement signal, and Schondube teaches that the measurement signal 15 passes through first filter 9 and then deflects in filter 11 to the detector; [100]. Schondube also teaches that lights can be use used simultaneously [38], whereby only the respective measurement signals are passed to each respective detector. In other words, when the light is simultaneously used, then Figures 1 and 2 are performed at the same time whereby the filters filter the light to respective detectors at the same time. As seen in Figure 1, the measurement light is the dotted line which passes through 9 and 11 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by the detector 14/16 is only the measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed through to the other detector, thus the light is filtered to the proper detector. Similarly, in figure 2 the measurement light is the dotted light which passes through 9, 11, and 27 and is filtered in the sense that the light detected by detector 21/22 is the only measurement signal that is read by the respective detector and the light is not passed to the other detector. The measurement signals are different signals as the first detector 21/22 is for fluorescent light and the second detector 14/16 is for bright light, and the light that passes through the filter to the respective detectors is only the light that is read by those detectors. Thus, the bright light is filtered to its respective detector and the fluorescent light is filtered to its respective detector. Further still, the schematic shown in the prior art of a filter is a filter cube where a filter cube, as known in the art of bright field and fluorescence microscopy, would include a mirror and both an excitation and emission filter. Further, the examiner has provided an alternative grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798