DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 are pending, claims 26-30 have been added, and claims 1-30 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous 35 USC 112 Rejections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “three rigid portions” is not disclosed in the specification. The specification does not describe the folded circuit board having three rigid portions. Rather, the specification describes the printed circuit board has a certain flexibility ([0052]). Therefore, claims 8 and 26 fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “hollow space as a receptacle” is unclear. It is unclear if the receptacle is the same or separate feature to the receptacle of the main body. Claims 2-30 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Further, dependent claims 21-22 and 24-25 contain “the receptacle” and it is unclear which receptacle the claims are referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13, 16-24, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokai (US 2022/0280027), in view of Larouche (US 2020/0000314).
Regarding claim 1, Hosokai discloses an endoscope (102, figure 1) comprising: a handle or interface (see handle of 102, figure 1); an insertion cord (105, figure 1) configured to be inserted into a patient's body cavity (within a living subject [0030]) and comprising a modular distal tip unit (120, figure 1 | attached to the distal end of the insertion tube 105 [0031]), the modular distal tip unit comprising: a main body (cartridge body 124, figures 2-3) connected to a remainder of the insertion cord (see figure 2) and comprising a receptacle (recess of the cartridge body 124 [0033]); and a camera module (200, figures 2-3) accommodated in the receptacle of the main body (image capturing module 200 housing the imaging unit 120 [0033]), the camera module comprising: a housing (frame 210, figure 4) including a pre-formed internal hollow space (recess 212, figure 4), the housing comprising a first camera housing part (210, figure 4) forming a portion of the pre-formed internal hollow space as a receptacle (see 212, figure 4); a camera (230, figure 4). Hosokai is silent regarding a second camera housing part forming a lid for the receptacle, and a peripheral liquid-tight seam extending along abutting edges of the first camera housing part and the second camera housing part; a circuit board positioned in the internal hollow space; the camera connected to and supported by the circuit board; and a cable sleeve connected to the circuit board and liquid-tightly connected to the housing, the cable sleeve extending from the housing to the handle or interface.
Larouche teaches a distal portion (10, figure 1) of a medical device. The distal portion has electronic components such as a camera (16, figure 1), LEDs (22, figure 1), and circuitry (26, figure 1). The circuitry includes one or more circuit boards (28, figure 1). Wires (30, figure 1) provide a connection between the electronic components (12, figure 1), via a conduit (32, figure 1), to the handle ([0022]). The electronic components are provided in an encapsulation (40, figure 1), which may be formed through injection molding and can occur in multiple stages ([0036]). Portions of the encapsulation enclosing and/or surrounding the electronic components, such as the camera and/or LEDs, may be formed from a transparent material, and other portions of encapsulation may be formed from an opaque material ([0026]).
It would have been obvious to modify the camera module housing of Hosokai to have LEDs (22, figure 1), circuitry (26, figure 1), and wires/cable (30 and 32, figure 1) along with transparent portions of an encapsulation (40, figure 3A) surrounding the electronic components, like the camera and LEDs ([0026] | the modified transparent encapsulation would be added to the top of the camera module housing and to other areas of the camera module housing). Doing so would provide LEDs and circuitry to control the electronic components ([0022]) and prevent ingress of fluids or other contaminants that could potentially damage components of the endoscope ([0018]). The modified endoscope would have a second camera housing part forming a lid for the receptacle (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai), and a peripheral liquid-tight seam (encapsulation 40 may be liquid tight [0039]; Larouche) extending along abutting edges of the first camera housing part and the second camera housing part (the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai); a circuit board (see 26 and 28, figure 1; Larouche) positioned in the internal hollow space (the modified circuit board 28 would be inside the encapsulation/camera module housing); the camera connected to and supported by the circuit board (see 16 connected to 28, figure 1; Larouche); and a cable sleeve (conduit 32, figure 1; Larouche) connected to the circuit board and liquid-tightly connected to the housing (distal end 200…provide a liquid tight…[0039]; see figure 3b; Larouche), the cable sleeve extending from the housing to the handle or interface (see the extension of 32, figure 1; Larouche).
Regarding claim 2, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the housing comprises an internal surface defining the pre-formed internal hollow space (see internal surface of 210, figure 4; Hosokai), wherein an entirety of electrical and optical components of the modular distal tip unit (all of the electronic components 12…provided in an encapsulation 40 [0023]; Larouche), including the camera (230, figure 4; Hosokai | 16, figure 1; Larouche) and the circuit board (28, figure 1; Larouche), are provided in the internal hollow space of the housing (see 212, figure 4; Hosokai), and wherein the internal hollow space comprises free space between the internal surface and surrounding the camera and the circuit board (see 212, figure 4; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 3, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part is a two-component injection-molded part (injection-molded resin…[0034]; Hosokai | injection molding…stages [0036]; Larouche) comprising an opaque portion (resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai | other portions…opaque [0026]; Larouche) and at least one transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche), and wherein the liquid-tight seam connects the opaque portion of the first camera housing part to the second camera housing part (encapsulation 40 may be liquid tight [0039]; Larouche).
Regarding claim 4, Larouche further teaches the at least one transparent portion comprises a first transparent portion (portions of electronic components…may be formed from transparent material [0026]; Larouche) and a second transparent portion (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs…transparent [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai) separate from the first transparent portion.
Regarding claim 5, Larouche further teaches the first transparent portion comprises a cable lead-in bushing (see the circular proximal portion of 40, figure 1; Larouche | portions of electronic components…may be formed from transparent material [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Hosokai further discloses the housing of the camera module comprises a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200) comprising the second transparent portion.
Regarding claim 13, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the insertion cord comprises a radius, and wherein the housing of the camera module has a width extension (w) and/or a height extension (h) (see width and height of 200, figure 3 of Hosokai and 40, figure 1; Larouche) smaller than the radius of the insertion cord (see width and height of 200 vs. the insertion cord, figure 2; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 16, Hosokai further discloses the housing of the camera module comprises a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (opening to the recess of the cartridge body 124 [0033]), and wherein the projecting portion extends into the opening (see 200, figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 17, Hosokai further discloses the main body of the modular distal tip unit forms or comprises a portion of a working channel (additional lumen…tools [0033]; Hosokai) configured for inserting a tool or instrument into the patient's body cavity.
Regarding claim 18, Hosokai further discloses the endoscope is a side-viewing endoscope (see figure 2; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 19, Hosokai discloses a visualization system (see figure 1; Hosokai) comprising: an endoscope (endoscope 102, figure 1; Hosokai) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); and a monitor (104, figure 1) connectable to the endoscope.
Regarding claim 20, Hosokai further discloses the monitor includes a medical device interface technologically matched to the endoscope (display device 104…display the recreated image generated by the observation device [0030]; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 21, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part is a two-component injection-molded part (injection-molded resin…[0034]; Hosokai | injection molding…stages [0036]; Larouche) comprising a rectangular opening (bottom of the space 212, figure 4), a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200) opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle (212, figure 4) therebetween, an opaque portion (resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai | other portions…opaque [0026]; Larouche) and a transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (opening to the recess of the cartridge body 124 [0033]), wherein the projecting portion of the first camera housing part extends into the opening (see 200, figures 2-3) and comprises the transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche | interpreted there to be transparent portions of the first camera housing part), wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai) with the circuit board (see 28, figure 1; Larouche) and the camera (230, figure 4; Hosokai | 16, figure 1; Larouche) in the receptacle, wherein a volume of a periphery of the circuit board and the camera is smaller than a volume of the internal hollow space and a free space surrounds the circuit board and the camera (see 212, figure 4; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 22, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part is a two-component injection-molded part (injection-molded resin…[0034]; Hosokai | injection molding…stages [0036]; Larouche) comprising a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200), an opaque portion (resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai | other portions…opaque [0026]; Larouche) and a transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche), wherein the projecting portion comprises the transparent portion (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai), wherein the opaque portion of the first camera housing part comprises a rectangular opening (bottom of the space 212, figure 4 | resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai), wherein the projecting portion is opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle (212, figure 4; Hosokai) therebetween, and wherein the second camera housing part (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai) is configured to close the rectangular opening with the circuit board (see 28, figure 1; Larouche) and the camera (230, figure 4; Hosokai | 16, figure 1; Larouche) in the receptacle.
Regarding claim 23, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part is a two-component injection-molded part (injection-molded resin…[0034]; Hosokai | injection molding…stages [0036]; Larouche) comprising a rectangular opening (bottom of the space 212, figure 4), a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200) opposite the rectangular opening (see 212, figure 4), an opaque portion (resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai | other portions…opaque [0026]; Larouche) and a transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (opening to the recess of the cartridge body 124 [0033]; Hosokai), wherein the projecting portion of the first camera housing part extends into the opening (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai) and comprises the transparent portion (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai), and wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai) with the circuit board (see 28, figure 1; Larouche) and the camera (230, figure 4; Hosokai | 16, figure 1; Larouche) therebetween.
Regarding claim 24, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part is a two-component injection-molded part (injection-molded resin…[0034]; Hosokai | injection molding…stages [0036]; Larouche) comprising a rectangular opening (bottom of the space 212, figure 4; Hosokai), a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200) opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle therebetween (see 212, figure 4; Hosokai), an opaque portion (resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai | other portions…opaque [0026]; Larouche) and a transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (opening to the recess of the cartridge body 124 [0033]; Hosokai), wherein the projecting portion of the first camera housing part extends into the opening (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai) and comprises the transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche | interpreted there to be transparent portions of the first camera housing part), and wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai) with the circuit board (see 28, figure 1; Larouche) and the camera (230, figure 4; Hosokai | 16, figure 1; Larouche) in the receptacle.
Regarding claim 27, Hosokai further discloses the internal hollow space exists prior to insertion of the circuit board and camera (seated in the recess 212 [0034]; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 28, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part includes a first peripheral rim (see rim of 210, figure 4; Hosokai) and the second camera housing part includes a complementary peripheral rim (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai), the liquid-tight seam extending continuously along the first peripheral rim and the complementary peripheral rim (encapsulation…liquid tight [0039]; Larouche | sealing…[0035]; Hosokai).
Regarding claim 29, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the camera module is liquid-tight (encapsulation…liquid tight [0039]; Larouche | sealing…[0035]; Hosokai) and testable for liquid ingress prior to insertion into the modular distal tip unit (“testable…” interpreted as functional language | the camera module can be testable).
Regarding claim 30, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose seam liquid-tightly sealing the internal hollow space (encapsulation…liquid tight [0039]; Larouche | sealing…[0035]; Hosokai) to make the camera module testable for liquid ingress prior to insertion into the modular distal tip unit (“testable…” interpreted as functional language | the camera module can be testable).
Claim(s) 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokai (US 2022/0280027) and Larouche (US 2020/0000314) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Nagamizu (US 2019/0110664).
Regarding claim 6, Hosokai and Larouche disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 5. They are silent regarding the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube, wherein the cable sleeve is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing.
Nagamizu teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with an image capturing unit (30, figure 2). A circuit board (50, figure 2) is electrically connected to a solid-state image capturing chip (42, figure 2). A plurality of leads (80, figure 2) extending from a cable (70, figure 2) are electrically connected to the circuit board ([0053]). The cable has a plurality of leads (80, figure 3) disposed in a covering (71, figure 3). A sheath (73, figure 3) holds the leads and is made of a dielectric material ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to modify the camera module of Hosokai and Larouche to have a sheath or reinforcing tube ([0055]) as taught by Nagamizu. Doing so would provide a sheath or reinforcing tube that is made of a dielectric material ([0055]). The modified endoscope would have the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube (73, figure 3; Nagamizu), wherein the cable sleeve (see 32, figure 1; Larouche) is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing (see how 32 is extending from within the proximal end of 40, figure 1; Larouche).
Regarding claim 9, Larouche further teaches the housing comprises a cable lead-in bushing (see the circular proximal portion of 40, figure 1 | portions of electronic components…may be formed from transparent material [0026]). Hosokai and Larouche are silent regarding the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube, wherein the cable sleeve is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing.
Nagamizu teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with an image capturing unit (30, figure 2). A circuit board (50, figure 2) is electrically connected to a solid-state image capturing chip (42, figure 2). A plurality of leads (80, figure 2) extending from a cable (70, figure 2) are electrically connected to the circuit board ([0053]). The cable has a plurality of leads (80, figure 3) disposed in a covering (71, figure 3). A sheath (73, figure 3) holds the leads and is made of a dielectric material ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to modify the camera module of Hosokai and Larouche to have a sheath or reinforcing tube ([0055]) as taught by Nagamizu. Doing so would provide a sheath or reinforcing tube that is made of a dielectric material ([0055]). The modified endoscope would have the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube (73, figure 3; Nagamizu), wherein the cable sleeve (see 32, figure 1; Larouche) is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing (see how 32 is extending from within the proximal end of 40, figure 1; Larouche).
Regarding claim 10, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the endoscope further comprising cables (30, figure 1; Larouche | wires…[0034]; Hosokai) connected to the circuit board, wherein all of the cables are guided out of the housing into the cable sleeve (see figure 1; Larouche).
Claim(s) 8, 11-12, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokai (US 2022/0280027) and Larouche (US 2020/0000314) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishii (US 2011/0245600).
Regarding claim 8, Larouche further teaches the camera module further comprises a light emitting diode (22, figure 1; Larouche). They are silent regarding the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board with three rigid portions extending, respectively, along three parallel planes, wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three rigid portions of the folded circuit board.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board (figure 9; Ishii) with three rigid portions (84a-b, figure 9 | 84a-b are rigid with respect to 84c, figure 10) extending, respectively, along three parallel planes (see figure 10), wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three rigid portions of the folded circuit board (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche).
Regarding claim 11, Hosokai and Larouche disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. They are silent regarding the circuit board comprises three parallel portions connected by two folded portions.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises three parallel portions (see figures 9-10; Ishii) connected by two folded portions (see 84c, figure 9).
Regarding claim 12, Larouche and Ishii further teach the camera module further comprises a light emitting diode (22, figure 1; Larouche), and wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three parallel planes (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche).
Regarding claim 25, Hosokai and Larouche further disclose the first camera housing part comprises a rectangular opening (bottom of the space 212, figure 4), a projecting portion (see 200, figures 2-3; Hosokai | the location of 230 in 200 appears to project from the rest of 200) opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle therebetween (see 212, figure 4; Hosokai), an opaque portion (resin…black that does not transmit light [0035]; Hosokai | other portions…opaque [0026]; Larouche) and a transparent portion (portions of encapsulation…transparent [0026]; Larouche), wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening (encapsulation 40…surrounding…camera and LEDs [0026]; Larouche | the modified encapsulation 40 in figure 3a of Larouche would be a lid for frame 210 in figure 4 of Hosokai) with the circuit board (see 28, figure 1; Larouche) and the camera (230, figure 4; Hosokai | 16, figure 1; Larouche) in the receptacle. They are silent regarding the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board comprising three portions, a first folded portion and second folded portion, the three portions including a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the three portions extend along parallel planes, wherein the camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three portions, wherein the first folded portion connects the first portion to the second portion, and wherein the second folded portion connects the second portion to the third portion.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board (84B, figure 9; Ishii) comprising three portions (84a-b, figure 9), a first folded portion and second folded portion (see 84c, figure 9), the three portions including a first portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), a second portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), and a third portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), wherein the three portions extend along parallel planes (see figure 10), wherein the camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three portions (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche), wherein the first folded portion connects the first portion to the second portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), and wherein the second folded portion connects the second portion to the third portion (see 84a-b, figure 9).
Regarding claim 26, Larouche further teaches the camera module further comprises a light emitting diode (22, figure 1; Larouche). They are silent regarding the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board comprising three rigid portions extending along three parallel planes and connected by a first folded portion and a second folded portion, and wherein the camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three rigid portions of the folded circuit board.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board (figure 9; Ishii) comprising three rigid portions (84a-b, figure 9 | 84a-b are rigid with respect to 84c, figure 10) extending along three parallel planes (see figure 10) and connected by a first folded portion and a second folded portion (see 84c, figure 9), and wherein the camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three rigid portions of the folded circuit board (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokai (US 2022/0280027) and Larouche (US 2020/0000314) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Graveley (US 2021/0235970).
Regarding claim 14, Hosokai further discloses the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises a first main body housing part (see 120, figures 2-3; Hosokai), wherein the first main body housing part is attached to the remainder of the insertion cord (imaging unit 120 may be detachable from the endoscope [0032]), and wherein the receptacle is formed in the first main body housing part (recess of the cartridge body 124 [0033]). They are silent regarding a second main body housing part attached to each other.
Graveley teaches an endoscope (10, figure 1) with a shaft (18, figure 1) and a distal tip (20, figure 1). The distal tip includes an imaging device (22, figure 1), a lighting source (24, figure 1), and an elevator (26, figure 1). The distal tip may be side-facing ([0019]). The distal tip has a distal tip core (110, figure 2a) and a distal tip cap (120, figure 2b). The distal tip core has a fin (132, figure 2a) where the imaging device and lighting source is fixed to ([0023]). The distal tip cap has tabs (172, figure 2b) that are received within straight portions (152, figure 2a) of the groove (150, figure 2a) of the distal tip core.
It would have been obvious to modify the main body of the modular distal tip unit to have a distal tip cap (120, figure 2b) as taught by Graveley. Doing so would provide a cover for the distal tip and meet requirements for tensile strength ([0017]). The modified endoscope would have a second main body housing part (120, figure 2b; Graveley) attached to each other.
Regarding claim 15, Hosokai and Graveley further disclose the first main body housing part (see 120, figures 2-3; Hosokai) and the second main body housing part (120, figure 2b; Graveley) are attached to each other in a manner that is not liquid-tight (interpreted the second main body housing part would not be attached to the first main body housing part in a liquid tight manner).
Conclusion
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
September 26, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795