DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-25 are pending, claims 21-25 have been added, and claims 1-25 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous claim objections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the limitation “a volume of the internal space” is unclear. It is unclear what feature the internal space is referring to.
Regarding claim 25, the limitation “the first transparent portion” is unclear. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to the previously recited “transparent portion” or a different transparent portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13, 16-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larouche (US 2020/0000314).
Regarding claim 1, Larouche discloses an endoscope comprising: a handle or interface (420, figure 5); an insertion cord (insertable portion of an endoscope [0027]) configured to be inserted into a patient's body cavity and comprising a modular distal tip unit (housed within a cap portion 440, figure 5; [0027]), the modular distal tip unit comprising: a main body (cap portion 440 [0027]) connected to a remainder of the insertion cord and comprising a receptacle (distal portion 10 may be housed within a cap portion [0027] | encapsulation 40 may be formed to mate with a cap portion [0028]; see figures 1 and 3a); and a camera module (40, figures 1 and 3a) accommodated in the receptacle of the main body (mate with a cap portion [0028]), the camera module comprising: a housing (see 40, figures 1 and 3a) defining an internal space, the housing comprising a first camera housing part (encapsulation…extruded…multiple stages……multiple molds [0036] | the examiner interpreted the encapsulation to be made from multiple portions that are combined/adhered together), a second camera housing part (encapsulation…extruded…multiple stages…[0036] | the examiner interpreted the encapsulation to be made from multiple portions that are combined/adhered together), and a liquid-tight seam connecting edges of the first camera housing part and the second camera housing part liquid-tightly seal the internal space (liquid tight…[0039]); a circuit board (28, figure 1) positioned in the internal space; a camera (16, figure 1) connected to and supported by the circuit board; and a cable sleeve (32, figure 1) connected to the circuit board and liquid-tightly connected to the housing (distal end 200…provide a liquid tight…[0039]; see figure 3b), the cable sleeve extending from the housing to the handle or interface (see the extension of 32, figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Larouche further discloses an entirety of electrical and optical components of the modular distal tip unit, including the camera and the circuit board, are provided in the internal space of the housing (see location of camera 16 and 28, figure 3b).
Regarding claim 3, Larouche further discloses the first camera housing part is a two-component injection-molded part (injection molding…[0036] | different material may be used in different portions [0036]) comprising an opaque portion and at least one transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026]), and wherein the liquid-tight seam connects the opaque portion to the second camera housing part (encapsulation material… extruded…multiple stages……multiple molds [0036] | the examiner interpreted the encapsulation to be made from multiple portions that are combined/adhered together, such as an opaque portion to the second camera housing part).
Regarding claim 4, Larouche further discloses the at least one transparent portion comprises a first transparent portion (portions of electronic components…may be formed from transparent material [0026]) and a second transparent portion separate from the first transparent portion (area around and including 204, figure 3b; formed from encapsulation 40 [0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Larouche further discloses the first transparent portion comprises a cable lead-in bushing (see the circular proximal portion of 40, figure 1 | portions of electronic components…may be formed from transparent material [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Larouche further discloses the housing of the camera module comprises a projecting portion comprising the second transparent portion (see location of 204, figures 3a-b; Larouche).
Regarding claim 13, Larouche further discloses the insertion cord comprises a radius (see 404, figure 5), and wherein the housing of the camera module has a width extension (w) and/or a height extension (h) (see width and height of 40, figure 1) smaller than the radius of the insertion cord (distal portion 10 may be housed within a cap portion [0027] | encapsulation 40 may be formed to mate with a cap portion [0028]; see figures 1 and 3a and 5 | elevators…[0028]; the width and height of the camera module could be smaller than the radius of the insertion cord).
Regarding claim 16, Larouche further discloses the housing of the camera module comprises a projecting portion (see location of 204, figures 3a-b), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (distal portion 10 may be housed within a cap portion [0027] | encapsulation 40 may be formed to mate with a cap portion [0028]; see figures 1 and 3a), and wherein the projecting portion extends into the opening (straight edge portion…mate with a complementary feature on a cap portion [0028]; figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Larouche further discloses the main body of the modular distal tip unit forms or comprises a portion of a working channel (working channels [0028]) configured for inserting a tool or instrument into the patient's body cavity.
Regarding claim 18, Larouche further discloses the endoscope is a side-viewing endoscope (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Larouche further discloses the first camera housing part is a two- component injection-molded part (injection molding…[0036] | different material may be used in different portions [0036]) comprising a receptacle with a rectangular opening (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted the encapsulation can be extruded to create the first camera housing part that can have an opening and receptacle for the camera module; the opening would be rectangular in shape to accommodate the rectangular shape of the camera module 14; see figures 1 and 3A), a projecting portion (see 204, figure 3a) opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle therebetween, an opaque portion and a transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026]), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (distal portion 10 may be housed within a cap portion [0027] | encapsulation 40 may be formed to mate with a cap portion [0028]; see figures 1 and 3a), wherein the projecting portion of the first camera housing part extends into the opening (straight edge portion…mate with a complementary feature on a cap portion [0028]; figure 1) and comprises the first transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…[0026]), wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening with the circuit board and the camera in the receptacle (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted another portion of the encapsulation can be extruded to create the second camera housing part that would close the rectangular opening), wherein a volume of a periphery of the circuit board and the camera is smaller than a volume of the internal space and a free space surrounds the circuit board and the camera (may be allowed…fills all crevices [0025] | there may or may not be space between the circuit board and the camera and the housing).
Regarding claim 22, Larouche further discloses the first camera housing part is a two- component injection-molded part (injection molding…[0036] | different material may be used in different portions [0036]) comprising a projecting portion (see 204, figure 3a), an opaque portion and a transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026]), wherein the projecting portion comprises the transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…[0026]), wherein the opaque portion of the first camera housing part comprises a rectangular opening (other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026] | other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted the encapsulation can be extruded to create the first camera housing part that can have an opening for the camera module; the opening would be rectangular in shape to accommodate the rectangular shape of the camera module 14; see figures 1 and 3A), wherein the projecting portion is opposite the rectangular opening with a receptacle therebetween (see 204, figure 3a | [0036]; encapsulation can be extruded to create the first camera housing part that can have a receptacle for the camera module), and wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening with the circuit board and the camera in the receptacle (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted another portion of the encapsulation can be extruded to create the second camera housing part that would close the rectangular opening and receptacle).
Regarding claim 23, Larouche further discloses the first camera housing part is a two- component injection-molded part (injection molding…[0036] | different material may be used in different portions [0036]) comprising a rectangular opening (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted the encapsulation can be extruded to create the first camera housing part that can have an opening for the camera module; the opening would be rectangular in shape to accommodate the rectangular shape of the camera module 14; see figures 1 and 3A), a projecting portion (see 204, figure 3a) opposite the rectangular opening, an opaque portion and a transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026]), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (distal portion 10 may be housed within a cap portion [0027] | encapsulation 40 may be formed to mate with a cap portion [0028]; see figures 1 and 3a), wherein the projecting portion of the first camera housing part extends into the opening (straight edge portion…mate with a complementary feature on a cap portion [0028]; figure 1) and comprises the first transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…[0026]), and wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening with the circuit board and the camera therebetween (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted another portion of the encapsulation can be extruded to create the second camera housing part that would close the rectangular opening).
Regarding claim 24, Larouche further discloses the first camera housing part is a two- component injection-molded part (injection molding…[0036] | different material may be used in different portions [0036]) comprising a receptacle and a rectangular opening (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted the encapsulation can be extruded to create the first camera housing part that can have an opening and a receptacle for the camera module; the opening would be rectangular in shape to accommodate the rectangular shape of the camera module 14; see figures 1 and 3A), a projecting portion (204, figure 3a) opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle therebetween, an opaque portion and a transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026]), wherein the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises an opening (distal portion 10 may be housed within a cap portion [0027] | encapsulation 40 may be formed to mate with a cap portion [0028]; see figures 1 and 3a), wherein the projecting portion of the first camera housing part extends into the opening (straight edge portion…mate with a complementary feature on a cap portion [0028]; figure 1) and comprises the first transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…[0026]), and wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening with the circuit board and the camera in the receptacle (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted another portion of the encapsulation can be extruded to create the second camera housing part that would close the rectangular opening and receptacle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larouche (US 2020/0000314) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Nagamizu (US 2019/0110664).
Regarding claim 6, Larouche discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 5. Larouche is silent regarding the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube, wherein the cable sleeve is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing.
Nagamizu teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with an image capturing unit (30, figure 2). A circuit board (50, figure 2) is electrically connected to a solid-state image capturing chip (42, figure 2). A plurality of leads (80, figure 2) extending from a cable (70, figure 2) are electrically connected to the circuit board ([0053]). The cable has a plurality of leads (80, figure 3) disposed in a covering (71, figure 3). A sheath (73, figure 3) holds the leads and is made of a dielectric material ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the camera module of Larouche to have a sheath or reinforcing tube ([0055]) as taught by Nagamizu. Doing so would provide a sheath or reinforcing tube that is made of a dielectric material ([0055]). The modified endoscope would have the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube (73, figure 3; Nagamizu), wherein the cable sleeve (see 32, figure 1; Larouche) is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing (see how 32 is extending from within the proximal end of 40, figure 1; Larouche).
Regarding claim 9, Larouche further discloses the housing comprises a cable lead-in bushing (see the circular proximal portion of 40, figure 1 | portions of electronic components…may be formed from transparent material [0026]). The Examiner interpreted the wires 30 and conduit 32 to be electronic components, and 40 would be transparent around 30 and 32 (see figure 1). Larouche is silent regarding the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube, wherein the cable sleeve is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing.
Nagamizu teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with an image capturing unit (30, figure 2). A circuit board (50, figure 2) is electrically connected to a solid-state image capturing chip (42, figure 2). A plurality of leads (80, figure 2) extending from a cable (70, figure 2) are electrically connected to the circuit board ([0053]). The cable has a plurality of leads (80, figure 3) disposed in a covering (71, figure 3). A sheath (73, figure 3) holds the leads and is made of a dielectric material ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to modify the camera module of Larouche to have a sheath or reinforcing tube ([0055]) as taught by Nagamizu. Doing so would provide a sheath or reinforcing tube that is made of a dielectric material ([0055]). The modified endoscope would have the camera module further comprises a reinforcing tube (73, figure 3; Nagamizu), wherein the cable sleeve (see 32, figure 1; Larouche) is mounted over the reinforcing tube, and wherein the cable sleeve and the reinforcing tube are inserted into the cable lead-in bushing (see how 32 is extending from within the proximal end of 40, figure 1; Larouche).
Regarding claim 10, Larouche further discloses cables (30, figure 1; Larouche) connected to the circuit board, wherein all of the cables are guided out of the housing into the cable sleeve (see figure 1).
Claim(s) 8, 11-12, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larouche (US 2020/0000314) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishii (US 2011/0245600).
Regarding claim 8, Larouche further discloses the camera module further comprises a light emitting diode (22, figure 1; Larouche). Larouche is silent regarding the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board with three portions extending, respectively, along three parallel planes, wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three portions of the folded circuit board.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board (figure 9; Ishii) with three portions (see 84a-b, figure 9) extending, respectively, along three parallel planes (see figure 10), wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three portions of the folded circuit board (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche).
Regarding claim 11, Larouche discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Larouche is silent regarding the circuit board comprises three parallel portions connected by two folded portions.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises three parallel portions (see figures 9-10; Ishii) connected by two folded portions (see 84c, figure 9).
Regarding claim 12, Larouche further discloses the camera module further comprises a light emitting diode (22, figure 1; Larouche), and wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three parallel planes (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche).
Regarding claim 25, Larouche further discloses the first camera housing part comprises a receptacle with a rectangular opening (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted the encapsulation can be extruded to create the first camera housing part that can have an opening and a receptacle for the camera module; the opening would be rectangular in shape to accommodate the rectangular shape of the camera module 14; see figures 1 and 3A), a projecting portion (see 204, figure 3a) opposite the rectangular opening with the receptacle therebetween, an opaque portion and a transparent portion (encapsulation 40…transparent…other portions of encapsulation 40…opaque [0026]), wherein the second camera housing part is configured to close the rectangular opening with the circuit board and the camera in the receptacle (other encapsulation method…extruded in order to form encapsulation…encapsulation occurs in multiple stages [0036] | interpreted another portion of the encapsulation can be extruded to create the second camera housing part that would close the rectangular opening and receptacle). Larouche is silent regarding wherein the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board comprising three parallel portions, a first folded portion and second folded portion, the three portions including a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the three portions extend along parallel planes, wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three portions, wherein the first folded portion connects the first portion to the second portion, and wherein the second folded portion connects the second folded portion to the third folded portion.
Ishii teaches an endoscopic device (10, figure 1) with a flexible printed circuit board (FPC 84, figure 4) in the distal end portion (44, figure 4). The FPC (84B, figure 9) can have a board main body portion (84a, figure 9), with the image pickup element (80, figure 9) and a plurality of electronic components (81, figure 9) mounted on it, and two small piece portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically to improve shielding performance of the signal line ([0067]; see figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope to have a flexible printed circuit board (84B, figure 9) with two small portions (84b, figure 9) that can overlap each other vertically ([0067]) as taught by Ishii. Doing so would improve shield performance of the signal line of the circuit board ([0067]; figures 9-10). The modified endoscope would have the circuit board comprises a folded circuit board (84B, figure 9) comprising three parallel portions (see 84a-b, figure 9), a first folded portion and second folded portion (84c, figure 9), the three portions including a first portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), a second portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), and a third portion (see 84a-b, figure 9), wherein the three portions extend along parallel planes (see figure 10), wherein camera and the light emitting diode are mounted on one of the three portions (see 84a, figure 9; Ishii | also see 28, figure 3a; Larouche), wherein the first folded portion (84c, figure 9) connects the first portion (84b, figure 9) to the second portion (84a, figure 9), and wherein the second folded portion (84c, figure 9) connects the second folded portion (84a, figure 9) to the third folded portion (84b, figure 9 | the other 84b in figure 9).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larouche (US 2020/0000314) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Graveley (US 2021/0235970).
Regarding claim 14, Larouche discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 1. Larouche is silent regarding the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises a first main body housing part and a second main body housing part attached to each other, wherein the first main body housing part is attached to the remainder of the insertion cord, and wherein the receptacle is formed in the first main body housing part.
Graveley teaches an endoscope (10, figure 1) with a shaft (18, figure 1) and a distal tip (20, figure 1). The distal tip includes an imaging device (22, figure 1), a lighting source (24, figure 1), and an elevator (26, figure 1). The distal tip may be side-facing ([0019]). The distal tip has a distal tip core (110, figure 2a) and a distal tip cap (120, figure 2b). The distal tip core has a fin (132, figure 2a) where the imaging device and lighting source is fixed to ([0023]). The distal tip cap has tabs (172, figure 2b) that are received within straight portions (152, figure 2a) of the groove (150, figure 2a) of the distal tip core.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the main body of the modular distal tip unit to have a distal tip core (110, figure 2a) and a distal tip cap (120, figure 2b) as taught by Graveley. Doing so would provide a cover for the distal tip and meet requirements for tensile strength ([0017]). The modified endoscope would have the main body of the modular distal tip unit comprises a first main body housing part (110, figure 2a; Graveley) and a second main body housing part (120, figure 2b) attached to each other, wherein the first main body housing part is attached to the remainder of the insertion cord (180 for mating with a distal end of the steerable section [0027]), and wherein the receptacle is formed in the first main body housing part (see 132, figure 2a; Gravely | housed within a cap portion 440, figure 5; [0027]; Larouche).
Regarding claim 15, Graveley further teaches the first main body housing part and the second main body housing part are attached to each other in a manner that is not liquid-tight (see tab 172 and straight edge 152, figures 2; Graveley).
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larouche (US 2020/0000314), in view of Salman (US 2023/0148837).
Regarding claim 19, Larouche discloses a visualization system comprising: an endoscope according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above). Larouche is silent regarding a monitor connectable to the endoscope.
Salman teaches an endoscope (100, figure 1) with a distal tip component (110, figure 1). The endoscope is connected to a main control unit (not shown) via a utility cable (140, figure 1; [0086]). The main control unit includes electronic circuity configured to process data from a camera for display on a monitor ([0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the system with a main control unit and monitor as taught by Salman ([0086]). Doing so would provide digital data processing and displaying the captured images/videos ([0086]).
Regarding claim 20, Salman further teaches the monitor includes a medical device interface technologically matched to the endoscope (main control unit…processing circuitry…[0086]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
January 30, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795