Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
means for delivering gas from said liquefied gas vessel to a system end-point in claim 1.
means for delivering boil-off gas from said liquefied gas vessel to said adsorbent vessel in claim 1.
means for delivering the stored boil-off gas from said adsorbent vessel to said system end-point in claim 1.
Paragraphs [0036] and [0038] describe means (20) for delivering gas from said liquefied gas vessel to a system end-point, means (50) for delivering boil-off gas from said liquefied gas vessel to said adsorbent vessel, and means (60) for delivering the stored boil-off gas from said adsorbent vessel to said system end-point through via conduits 26, 52 and 62, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184) in view of Fuller et al (US 20160151762; hereinafter Fuller).
As regarding claim 1, JP ‘184 discloses the claimed invention for a liquefied gas system for capturing gas boil-off from a liquefied gas storage vessel, the system comprising a. a liquefied gas vessel (20) for storing liquefied gas (12); b. a means (32) for delivering gas from said liquefied gas vessel to a system end-point; c. an adsorbent vessel (40) for storing boil-off gas emitted from said liquefied gas vessel, said adsorbent vessel containing at least one adsorbent (46); d. a means (48) for delivering boil-off gas from said liquefied gas vessel to said adsorbent vessel whereby said boil-off gas is reversibly stored on said at least one adsorbent; and e. a means (52) for delivering the stored boil-off gas from said adsorbent vessel to said system end-point ([0023]-[0029] and fig. 2).
JP ‘184 does not disclose wherein said at least one adsorbent comprises a material selected from one or more of a metal organic framework, a covalent organic framework, and a porous organic polymer ([0030]). Fuller teaches said at least one adsorbent comprises a material selected from one or more of a metal organic framework, a covalent organic framework, and a porous organic polymer. Both JP ‘184 and Fuller are directed to hydrogen storage application.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said at least one adsorbent comprises a material selected from one or more of a metal organic framework, a covalent organic framework, and a porous organic polymer as taught by Fuller in order to provide exceptionally high surface area, tunable pore chemistry, high reversible storage capacity, lightweight construction, and low-pressure gas adsorption, making them superior adsorbents for hydrogen storage systems, gas vessels and energy applications.
As regarding claim 2, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for in which said means for delivering boil-off gas from said liquefied gas vessel to said adsorbent vessel is in operation when the rate of gas boil-off from said liquefied gas vessel is greater than (value or ratio) the rate of gas delivery from said liquefied gas vessel to said system end-point. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide in which said means for delivering boil-off gas from said liquefied gas vessel to said adsorbent vessel is in operation when the rate of gas boil-off from said liquefied gas vessel is greater than (value or ratio) the rate of gas delivery from said liquefied gas vessel to said system end-point in order to enhance gas system performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As regarding claim 4, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein said gas is hydrogen ([0023]-[0024] and fig. 2).
As regarding claim 5, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein said system end-point is a power unit ([0019], [0026]: “a hydrogen gas consumption source, such as a fuel cell”).
As regarding claim 10, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein said adsorbent has a pore volume of at least 0.5 cc/g, or at least 1 cc/g. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said adsorbent has a pore volume of at least 0.5 cc/g, or at least 1 cc/g in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to the limitations recited in claim 11, which pertain to the manner in which a material or article is worked upon, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article being worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
As regarding claim 13, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein said metal organic framework comprises metal ion corner atoms connected by at least bidentate organic ligands to form a framework structure, wherein said metal ions are selected from Li+, Na+, K+, Rb+, Be2+, Mg2+, Ca2+, Sr2+, Ba2+, Sc3+, Y3+, Ti4+, Zr4+, Hf4+, V5+, V4+, V3+, Nb3+, Ta3+, Cr3+, Cr2+, Mo3+, W3+, Mn3+, Fe3+, Fe2+, Ru3+, Ru2+, Os3+, Os2+, Co3+, Co2+, Ni2+, Ni+, Pd2+, Pd+, Pt2+, Pt+, Cu2+, Cu+, Ag+, Au+, Zn2+, Al3+, Ga3+, In3+, Si4+, Si2+, Ge4+, Ge2+, Sn4+, Sn2+, Bi5+, Bi3+, Cd2+, Mn2+, Tb3+, Gd3+, Ce3+, La3+ and Cr4+, and mixtures thereof (Fuller - claims 7 and 17).
As regarding claim 16, JP ‘184 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 discloses the claimed invention except for more than one adsorbent vessel for storing boil-off hydrogen emitted from said liquid hydrogen vessel and containing at least one adsorbent. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide more than one adsorbent vessel for storing boil-off hydrogen emitted from said liquid hydrogen vessel and containing at least one adsorbent in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184) in view of Fuller et al (US 20160151762; hereinafter Fuller), as applied supra, and further in view of JP S622098 (hereinafter JP ‘098).
As regarding claim 3, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for a regenerant system for regenerating said at least one adsorbent.
JP ‘098 teaches a regenerant system for regenerating said at least one adsorbent (abstract, pg 1-2, and claim 1: “…step of regenerating the adsorbent…”).
Both JP ‘184 and JP ‘098 are directed to an adsorbing liquefied hydrogen gas.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a regenerant system for regenerating said at least one adsorbent in order to regenerate adsorbent materials, since it was known in the art as shown in JP ‘098 (abstract, pg 2 and claim 1).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184) in view of Fuller et al (US 20160151762; hereinafter Fuller), as applied supra, and further in view of Clarke et al (US 20220009648; hereinafter Clarke).
As regarding claim 6, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein said power unit is for use on a transportation unit and said liquefied gas system is on board said transportation unit. Clarke teaches wherein said power unit is for use on a transportation unit and said liquefied gas system is on board said transportation unit (Clarke – [0187]). Both JP ‘184 and Clarke are directed to hydrogen energy systems involving fuel cells and hydrogen as a fuel for power generation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said power unit is for use on a transportation unit and said liquefied gas system is on board said transportation unit as taught by Clarke in order to improve efficiency and autonomy by integrating hydrogen storage and boil-off recovery directly onboard a transportation unit to continuously supply its fuel cel power unit.
As regarding claim 7, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein said end point is a power unit of a stationary hydrogen fuel system (Clarke – [0009]-[0011] and [0187]).
As regarding claim 9, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein said power unit is for use to power a machine (Clarke – [0009]-[0011] and [0187]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184) in view of Fuller et al (US 20160151762; hereinafter Fuller), as applied supra, and further in view of Sakajo (US 20070144183).
As regarding claim 8, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein said liquefied gas vessel is a liquid hydrogen reservoir and the system end-point is a liquid hydrogen vessel of a liquid hydrogen system for providing hydrogen power. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said liquefied gas vessel is a liquid hydrogen reservoir and the system end-point is a liquid hydrogen vessel of a liquid hydrogen system for providing hydrogen power in order to offer high energy density, low-pressure storage, fast refueling, and excellent suitability for long-range, high-power, or weight-sensitive hydrogen power applications, since it was known in the art as shown in Sakajo ([0024] and claim 13).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184) in view of Fuller et al (US 20160151762; hereinafter Fuller), as applied supra, and further in view of Yaghi et al (US 20120172612; hereinafter Yaghi).
As regarding claim 14, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein said metal organic framework is selected from any one or more of MOF-5, MIL-101, NU-125, PCN 250, HKUST-1, MOF-177, Zn2(BDC)2(DABCO), SBMOF-1, MFU, Cu(TCNQ), CaSquarate, and Y-ABTC. Bera teaches wherein said metal organic framework is selected from any one or more of MOF-5, MIL-101, NU-125, PCN 250, HKUST-1, MOF-177, Zn2(BDC)2(DABCO), SBMOF-1, MFU, Cu(TCNQ), CaSquarate, and Y-ABTC ([0098]). Both JP ‘184 and Yaghi are directed to efficient hydrogen storage and controlled release using adsorption materials for energy applications such as fuel cells. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said metal organic framework is selected from any one or more of MOF-5, MIL-101, NU-125, PCN 250, HKUST-1, MOF-177, Zn2(BDC)2(DABCO), SBMOF-1, MFU, Cu(TCNQ), CaSquarate, and Y-ABTC as taught by Yaghi in order to improve hydrogen storage performance by selecting high-surface-area, well-characterized MOFs that provide higher adsorption capacity, tunable pore structure, and more efficient reversible hydrogen uptake and release compared to generic adsorbents.
As regarding claim 15, JP ‘184 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the at least bidentate ligands are selected from 1,3,5-benzene tricarboxylic acid (BTC), triazine tris-benzoic acid (TATB), 2-amino-terephthalic acid, naphthalene dicarboxylate (NDC), acetylene dicarboxylate (ADC), benzene-1,4-dicarboxylic acid (BDC), benzene tribenzoate (BTB), methane tetrabenzoate (MTB), adamantane tetracarboxylate (ATC), adamantane tribenzoate (ATB), 4,4′,4″,4″′-(pyrene-1,3,6,8-tetrayl)tetrabenzoic acid (TBAPy), meso-Tetraphenylporphine-4,4′,4″,4″′-tetracarboxylic acid (TCPPH2), 3,3′,5,5′-azobenzenetetracarboxylic acid, 2,5-dihydroxyterephthalic acid, pyrazine, 1,4-diazabicyclo[2.2.2]octane, SiF.sub.6, a ligand of the formula
4,4′-sulfonyldibenzoic acid, 1H,5H-benzo(1,2-d:4,5-d′)bistriazole, 7,7′,8,8′-tetracyanoquinodimethane, squaric acid, azobenzene-4,4′-dicarboxylic acid, and mixtures thereof (Yaghi – [0098]).
Claim(s) 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007069184 (hereinafter JP ‘184) in view of Fuller et al (US 20160151762; hereinafter Fuller), as applied supra, and further in view of JP 2006242350 (hereinafter JP ‘350).
As regarding claims 17-18, JP ‘184 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘184 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein said adsorbent vessel is provided with a cooling means. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said adsorbent vessel is provided with a cooling means in order to desorb hydrogen from the adsorbent vessel, since it was known in the art as shown in JP ‘350 ([0014]).
Also regarding claims 17-18, JP ‘184 as modified does not disclose wherein said adsorbent vessel is provided with an internal/external cooling means. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein said adsorbent vessel is provided with an internal/external cooling means in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, and 13-18 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773