DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 05/22/2023, 02/05/2024 and 05/22/2024 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 05/22/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims Status.
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/16/2026. Claims 1-20 were pending. Claims 1-20 are now pending. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from examination as being drawn to non-elected invention. Claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. Claim 5 recites a source of energy for the capturing, the using of the electrochemical regeneration, or both comprises renewable energy, It is unclear both of what: source for energy for the capturing or source for electrotechnical generation?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 2011/0056876 to Ide (Ide).
Regarding claim 1, Ide discloses a method comprising: capturing carbon dioxide (CO 2) from air and/or another CO2-containing gas in an absorber (electrolysis pretreatment plant 50) in which the air and/or the another CO2-containing gas contacts a base (para 62) to produce a carbonate precipitating one or more salts from a brine to provide an aqueous solution comprising a chloride using electrochemical regeneration to convert the chloride to electrochemically regenerated product comprising the base (electrolysis plant 60) and recycling (through line L63)at least a portion of the electrochemically regenerated product comprising base to the capturing of the CO2 from the air and/or the another CO2-containing gas. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference."
Regarding claim 2, Ide discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Even if Ide does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more salts comprise lithium carbonate (Li2CO3), one skilled in the art easily recognize inherent presence of lithium ion in sea water and as such formation and precipitation (re claim 4) of lithium carbonate (Li2CO3).
Regarding claim 3, Ide discloses wherein using electrochemical regeneration produces chlorine (Cl2), hydrogen (H2), or both, along with the electrochemically regenerated product comprising the base (claim 6).
Regarding claim 9, Ide discloses a step comprising formation of Hydrogen and chlorine (claim 6, Fig. 5, 6). Therefore, claimed electrochemical transformations are inherently present. MPEP 2112 V states that "once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the Examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the Applicant to show an unobvious difference."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0056876 to Ide.
Regarding claim 5, Ide discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. In addition Ide teaches a power recovery device 33 a (para 50) and a power generation plant 80 (Claim 8). Ide does not expressly disclose wherein source of energy for the capturing, the using of the electrochemical regeneration, or both comprises renewable energy. However, since the criticality of use of renewable energy- a position claimed by Applicant is not supported by any showing of criticality of such step in the instant specification, nor did Applicant stated that such step serves any specific purpose or performs any specific function other that the function disclosed in Ide, it would have been obvious top those skilled in the art at the time the invention was made use renewable energy as an obvious design choice.
Alternatively, Ide teaches a power recovery device 33, and recovered power can be use for capturing or electrochemical regeneration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art of record: US 20110056876, 20210207243, US 20140178277 fail to teach or suggest each and every limitation of claim 6.
Claims 7 and 8 depend from claim 6 directly or indirectly and objected as well.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751