FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/30/2025 has been received and claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 16 of Claim 1, insert --the-- before “sterilant”;
in line 11 of Claim 17, insert --the-- before “sterilant”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sterilant applying module” in claim 1; “module” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, there is no written description support for the new limitation that the step “to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber” occurs “during the application of sterilant” within the Specification as the disclosure (see, for example, Figure 5 – steps 514 and 516 vs. one or more cycles of 518 and 524, p. 15 [0044] vs pp. 15-16 [0045], p. 19 [0054] – lines 3-5 vs 6-14) appears to describe that the increase in pressure occurs after an application of the sterilant or that the sterilant may be applied during the increase in pressure in the sterilization chamber (see Specification, p. 20 [0055]).
Claims 2-4 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the medical device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In Claim 17, it is not clear whether the step “to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber” occurs “during the application of sterilant” or after the sterilant has been applied to the sterilization chamber or rather that the step of adding (additional) sterilant occurs during venting of the sterilization chamber.
Claims 3-4 and 18-20 are rejected due to their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetz (WO2015094879) in view of Ko (20110176959).
As to Claim 1, Goetz (‘879) discloses an apparatus (100) (see Figure 1), comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (102), wherein the sterilization chamber (102) is configured to receive a medical device (105) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1);
(b) a vacuum source (106, 110, 112, 116, 125) in fluid communication (via 118, 114, 123) with the sterilization chamber (102) (see Figure 1);
(c) a sterilant applying module (130 - 131, 132, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140; 142, 144, 139, 140) in fluid communication (via 139, 140) with the sterilization chamber (102) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 10 lines 10-16);
(d) a valve (145; 152) in fluid communication (via 143, 147) with the sterilization chamber (102) and an atmosphere outside (via 143, 147 and a filter) of the sterilization chamber (102) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 10 lines 22-26), the valve (145; 152) being operable to selectively open and close a vent path (via 143, 147; ) between the sterilization chamber (102) and the atmosphere (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 10 lines 22-26, p. 10 lines 20-28); and
(e) a control module (104, 155) in communication with the vacuum source (106, 110), the sterilant applying module (130, 131, 132, 135, 137, 139, 140; 142, 144, 139, 140), and the valve (145; 152) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 8 – lines 1-4), wherein the control module (104, 155) contains a control logic (155) configured to execute a sterilizing algorithm (see Figure 2) such that the control logic (155) is configured to:
(i) selectively activating the vacuum source (106) to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (102) to decrease pressure within the sterilization chamber (102) to a first pressure (i.e. step(s) 16 and/or 26 - see Figure 2),
(ii) selectively activating the sterilant applying module (130, 131, 132, 135, 137, 139, 140; 142, 144, 139, 140) to apply sterilant to the sterilization chamber (102) (i.e. step 22 - see Figure 2), and
(iii) selectively activating the valve (145; 152) to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (102) to a second pressure (i.e. step(s) 28, 30 - see Figure 2).
Goetz (‘879) does not appear to specifically teach that selectively activating the venting valve to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber to the second pressure to drive the sterilant into the medical device. However, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively activate a venting valve to increase pressure within a sterilization chamber driving a sterilant into a medical device. Ko (‘959) discloses an apparatus and method of sterilizing an article (11) comprising a medical device (see Figures 1-7, p. 2 [0033] – lines 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (10), wherein the sterilization chamber (10) is configured to receive a medical device (11);
(b) a vacuum source (14) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
(c) a sterilant applying module (10, 41, 42, 20, 30; 46, 47, 50) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10); and
(d) a venting valve (45) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
wherein the apparatus is controlled/configured to:
(i) activating the vacuum source (14) to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. prior to injection stage - see Figure 5, p. 3 [0042] – lines 4-5);
(ii) activating the sterilant applying module to apply a sterilant (42 via 43) into the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. injection stage - see Figures 4-6);
(iii) maintaining the first pressure in the sterilization chamber (10) to the sterilization chamber (10) for a first period of time (i.e. T1 – see Figures 4-6); and
(iv) selectively activating the venting valve (34) to increase the pressure to a second pressure within the sterilization chamber (10) to drive the sterilant into the medical device (11) (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 2 [0019]);
in order to facilitate the penetration of the sterilant into diffusion-limited regions, such as lumens, and thus increase the sterilization efficiency (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a control module configured to selectively activating the venting valve to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber to a second pressure to drive the sterilant into the medical device in the apparatus of Goetz as a known configuration in order to facilitate the penetration of sterilant into diffusion limited regions so as to increase sterilization efficiency as shown by Ko.
As to Claim 2, Goetz (‘879) discloses a system (see Figure 1) comprising:
the apparatus of claim 1 (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; see rejection above); and
a medical device (105) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 1 lines 12-22, p. 5 lines 13-16).
As to Claim 5, Goetz (‘879) discloses that the first pressure (i.e. pressure after step 16) is less than the second pressure (i.e. pressure after step(s) 28 and/or 30).
As to Claim 6, Goetz (‘879) discloses that the second pressure is atmospheric pressure (i.e. pressure after step(s) 28 and/or 30 - see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, p. 12 lines 20-33).
As to Claim 7, Goetz (‘879) discloses that the first pressure is capable of being less than 100 torr.
As to Claim 8, Goetz (‘879) discloses that the second pressure (i.e. pressure during/after step 26) (see entire document, particularly Figure 2, p. 12 lines 14-17) is capable of being less than 100 torr.
As to Claim 17, Goetz (‘879) discloses an apparatus (100) (see Figure 1), comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (102);
(b) a vacuum source (106, 110, 112, 116, 125) in fluid communication (via 118, 114, 123) with the sterilization chamber (102) (see Figure 1), the vacuum source (106, 110, 116) configured to selectively apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (102) to decrease pressure within the sterilization chamber (102) to a first pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2);
(c) a module (130 - 131, 132, 134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140; 142, 144, 139, 140) having a sterilant, the module being in fluid communication (via 139, 140) with the sterilization chamber (102) to permit application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber (102) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 10 lines 10-16); and
(d) a valve (145; 152) in fluid communication (via 143, 147) with the sterilization chamber (102) and an atmosphere outside (via 143, 147 and a filter) of the sterilization chamber (102) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 10 lines 22-26), the valve (145; 152) being operable to selectively open and close a vent path (via 143, 147) between the sterilization chamber (102) and the atmosphere to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (102) to a second pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, p. 10 lines 22-26, p. 12 lines 20-28).
Goetz (‘879) does not appear to specifically teach that increasing pressure to a second pressure within the sterilization chamber occurs during the contacting time/application of the sterilant. However, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase pressure within a sterilization chamber during application of sterilant to the sterilization chamber Ko (‘959) discloses an apparatus and method of sterilizing an article (11) comprising a medical device (see Figures 1-7, p. 2 [0033] – lines 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (10), wherein the sterilization chamber (10) is configured to receive a medical device (11);
(b) a vacuum source (14) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
(c) a sterilant applying module (10, 41, 42, 20, 30; 46, 47, 50) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10); and
(d) a venting valve (45) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
wherein the apparatus is controlled/configured to:
(i) activating the vacuum source (14) to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. prior to injection stage - see Figure 5, p. 3 [0042] – lines 4-5);
(ii) activating the sterilant applying module to apply a sterilant (42 via 43) into the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. injection stage - see Figures 4-6);
(iii) maintaining the first pressure in the sterilization chamber (10) to the sterilization chamber (10) for a first period of time (i.e. T1 – see Figures 4-6); and
(iv) selectively activating the venting valve (34) to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (10) to a second pressure during the application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 2 [0019]);
in order to facilitate the penetration of the sterilant into diffusion-limited regions, such as lumens, and thus increase the sterilization efficiency (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a valve that is operable to selectively open and close to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber to a second pressure during the application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber in the apparatus of Goetz as a known configuration in order to facilitate the penetration of sterilant into diffusion limited regions so as to increase sterilization efficiency as shown by Ko.
As to Claim 18, Goetz (‘879) discloses a system (see Figure 1) comprising:
the apparatus of claim 17 (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; see rejection above); and
a medical device (105) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 1 lines 12-22, p. 5 lines 13-16).
Thus, Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 17-18 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Goetz (‘879) and Ko (‘959).
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong (20170304477) in view of Ko (20110176959).
As to Claim 1, Truong (‘477) discloses an apparatus (10) (see Figure 1), comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (12), wherein the sterilization chamber (12) is configured to receive a medical device (14);
(b) a vacuum source (18) in fluid communication (via 20, 22) with the sterilization chamber (12);
(c) a sterilant applying module (28) in fluid communication (via 30, 32) with the sterilization chamber (12);
(d) a venting valve (e.x. 22) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (12) and an atmosphere outside of the sterilization chamber (12) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-28), the valve (e.x. 22) being operable to selectively open and close a vent path (e.x. 20) between the sterilization chamber (12) and the atmosphere (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-28); and
(e) a control module (38) in communication with the vacuum source (18), the sterilant applying module (28), and the valve (e.x. 22), wherein the control module (38) contains a control logic (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0028] especially lines 10-11) configured to execute a sterilizing algorithm such that the control logic is configured to:
(i) selectively activating the vacuum source to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber to decrease pressure within the sterilization chamber to a first pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 9 [0053] and [0059] , p. 11 – Claim 1 step (f)),
(ii) selectively activating the sterilant applying module to apply sterilant to the sterilization chamber (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 9 [0058], p. 10 [0062], p. 11 – Claim 1 steps (h)-(i)), and
(iii) selectively activating the venting valve to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber to a second pressure (i.e. ambient/atmospheric pressure) (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 10 [0061] – lines 8-10, p. 11 – Claim 1 step (k)).
Truong (‘477) does not appear to specifically teach that selectively activating the venting valve to increase pressure to the second pressure within the sterilization chamber is to drive the sterilant into the medical device. However, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively activate a venting valve to increase pressure within a sterilization chamber driving a sterilant into a medical device. Ko (‘959) discloses an apparatus and method of sterilizing an article (11) comprising a medical device (see Figures 1-7, p. 2 [0033] – lines 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (10), wherein the sterilization chamber (10) is configured to receive a medical device (11);
(b) a vacuum source (14) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
(c) a sterilant applying module (10, 41, 42, 20, 30; 46, 47, 50) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10); and
(d) a venting valve (45) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
wherein the apparatus is controlled/configured to:
(i) activating the vacuum source (14) to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. prior to injection stage - see Figure 5, p. 3 [0042] – lines 4-5);
(ii) activating the sterilant applying module to apply a sterilant (42 via 43) into the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. injection stage - see Figures 4-6);
(iii) maintaining the first pressure in the sterilization chamber (10) to the sterilization chamber (10) for a first period of time (i.e. T1 – see Figures 4-6); and
(iv) selectively activating the venting valve (34) to increase pressure to a second pressure within the sterilization chamber (10) to drive the sterilant into the medical device (11) (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 2 [0019]);
in order to facilitate the penetration of the sterilant into diffusion-limited regions, such as lumens, and thus increase the sterilization efficiency (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively activate the venting valve of Truong increasing pressure to a second pressure within the sterilization chamber to drive the sterilant into the medical device in the apparatus of Truong as a known configuration in order to facilitate the penetration of sterilant into diffusion limited regions so as to increase sterilization efficiency as shown by Ko.
As to Claim 2, Truong (‘477) discloses a system (10) (see Figure 1) comprising:
the apparatus of claim 1 (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a medical device (14) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 8 [0051], p. 11 – claim 1(a), p. 12 – claim 26).
As to Claim 3, Truong (‘477) discloses that the medical device (14) is an endoscope (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 8 [0051] – lines 4-8, where endoscopes intrinsically comprise lumens and thus, instruments with lumen(s) intrinsically includes endoscope).
As to Claim 4, Truong (‘477) discloses that the medical device (14) is a plurality of endoscopes (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 4 [0027] – lines 3-4, p. 8 [0051] – lines 4-11, where endoscopes intrinsically comprise lumens and thus, instruments with lumen(s) intrinsically includes endoscope).
As to Claim 5, Truong (‘477) discloses that the first pressure is less than second pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 4 [0027] – lines 21-25).
As to Claim 6, Truong (‘477) discloses that the second pressure is atmospheric pressure (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-25).
As to Claim 7, Truong (‘477) discloses that the first pressure is capable of being less than 100 torr (see entire document, particularly p. 12 – claims 22-23).
As to Claim 8, Truong (‘477) discloses that the second pressure is capable of being less than 100 torr (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, pressure after step “Pressurize the chamber” that leads to the step of “Withdraw air from the chamber”, p. 12 – claims 22-23).
As to Claim 9, Truong (‘477) discloses that the control logic (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0028] especially lines 10-11) is further configured to selectively activate the vacuum source (18) to apply the vacuum to the sterilization chamber (12) to reduce pressure within the sterilization chamber (12) to a third pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6 pressure after step of “pressurize the chamber” leading back to “Withdraw air from the chamber”; p. 4 [0027] – lines 21-23, p. 12 – claims 22-23).
As to Claim 10, Truong (‘477) discloses that the control logic (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0028] especially lines 10-11) is further configured to selectively activate the valve (e.x. 22) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-28) to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (12) to a fourth pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6 after step(s) “Pressurize the chamber” or “Evacuate and pressurize the chamber” and/or “Open the chamber”; for example, atmospheric pressure; p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-25).
As to Claim 11, Truong (‘477) discloses that the third pressure is less than the fourth pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, p. 4 [0027] – lines 21-25; see rejections of claims 9-10 above).
As to Claim 12, Truong (‘477) discloses that the fourth pressure is atmospheric pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6 after step(s) “Pressurize the chamber” or “Evacuate and pressurize the chamber” and/or “Open the chamber”; for example, atmospheric pressure so as to enable opening of the chamber, p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-25).
As to Claim 13, Truong (‘477) discloses that the third pressure is capable of being less than 100 torr (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6 pressure after step of “pressurize the chamber” leading back to “Withdraw air from the chamber”; p. 4 [0027] – lines 21-23, p. 12 – claims 22-23).
As to Claim 14, Truong (‘477) discloses that the fourth pressure is capable of being less than 100 torr (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, pressure after step “Pressurize the chamber” that leads to the step of “Withdraw air from the chamber”).
As to Claim 15, Truong (‘477) discloses that the fourth pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, pressure after step “Pressurize the chamber” that leads to the step of “Withdraw air from the chamber”) is less than second pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, pressure after step “Pressurize the chamber” or “Evacuate and pressurize the chamber” that leads to the step of “Open the chamber”, i.e., ambient/atmospheric pressure - p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-25).
As to Claim 16, Truong (‘477) discloses that the second pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, pressure after step “Pressurize the chamber” that leads to the step of “Withdraw air from the chamber”) is less than fourth pressure (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6, pressure after step “Pressurize the chamber” or “Evacuate and pressurize the chamber” that leads to the step of “Open the chamber”, i.e. ambient/atmospheric pressure - p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-25).
As to Claim 17, Truong (‘477) discloses an apparatus (10) (see Figure 1), comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (12);
(b) a vacuum source (18) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (12), the vacuum source (18) configured to selectively apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (12) to decrease pressure within the sterilization chamber (12) to a first pressure (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 15-17 and 21-23);
(c) a module (28) having a sterilant, the module (28) being in fluid communication (via 30, 32) with the sterilization chamber (12) to permit application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber (12); and
(d) a valve (e.x. 22) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (12) and an atmosphere outside of the sterilization chamber (12) (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-28), the valve (e.x. 22) being operable to selectively open and close a vent path (e.x. 20) between the sterilization chamber (12) and the atmosphere (see entire document, particularly p. 4 [0027] – lines 23-28).
Truong (‘477) does not appear to specifically teach that the valve is operable to selectively open and close the vent path to increase pressure to a second pressure within the sterilization chamber during the application of the sterilant. However, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively open and close a vent path to increase pressure within a sterilization chamber during application of a sterilant to the sterilization chamber. Ko (‘959) discloses an apparatus and method of sterilizing an article (11) comprising a medical device (see Figures 1-7, p. 2 [0033] – lines 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (10), wherein the sterilization chamber (10) is configured to receive a medical device (11);
(b) a vacuum source (14) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
(c) a sterilant applying module (10, 41, 42, 20, 30; 46, 47, 50) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10); and
(d) a venting valve (45) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
wherein the apparatus is controlled/configured to:
(i) activating the vacuum source (14) to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. prior to injection stage - see Figure 5, p. 3 [0042] – lines 4-5);
(ii) activating the sterilant applying module to apply a sterilant (42 via 43) into the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. injection stage - see Figures 4-6);
(iii) maintaining the first pressure in the sterilization chamber (10) to the sterilization chamber (10) for a first period of time (i.e. T1 – see Figures 4-6); and
(iv) selectively activating (i.e. opening and closing) the venting valve (34) thus a venting path to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (10) to a second pressure during the application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6);
in order to facilitate the penetration of the sterilant into diffusion-limited regions, such as lumens, and thus increase the sterilization efficiency (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a valve that is operable to selectively open and close the vent path via the venting valve to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber to a second pressure during the application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber in the apparatus of Truong as a known configuration in order to facilitate the penetration of sterilant into diffusion limited regions so as to increase sterilization efficiency as shown by Ko.
As to Claim 18, Truong (‘477) discloses a system (10) (see Figure 1) comprising:
the apparatus of claim 17 (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; see rejection of claim 17 above); and
a medical device (14) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 8 [0051], p. 11 – claim 1(a), p. 12 – claim 26).
As to Claim 19, Truong (‘477) discloses that the medical device (14) is an endoscope (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 8 [0051] – lines 4-8, where endoscopes intrinsically comprise lumens and thus, instruments with lumen(s) intrinsically includes endoscope).
As to Claim 20, Truong (‘477) discloses that the medical device (14) is a plurality of endoscopes (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, p. 4 [0027] – lines 3-4, p. 8 [0051] – lines 4-11, where endoscopes intrinsically comprise lumens and thus, instruments with lumen(s) intrinsically includes endoscope).
Thus, Claims 1-20 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Truong (‘477) and Ko (‘959).
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricciardi (20100226821) in view of Ko (20110176959).
As to Claim 17, Ricciardi (‘821) discloses an apparatus (see entire document, particularly Figure 12), comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (16);
(b) a vacuum source in fluid communication (via vacuum line exhaust) with the sterilization chamber (16) (see Figure 12), the vacuum source configured to selectively apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (16) to decrease pressure within the sterilization chamber to a first pressure (see entire document, particularly p. 18 [0130] – lines 1-8 and last 6 lines);
(c) a module (15, 51, 18, 04, 11, 44) having a sterilant (20), the module (15, 51, 18) being in fluid communication (i.e. via 18) with the sterilization chamber (16) to permit application of the sterilant (20) to the sterilization chamber (16); and
(d) a valve (35, 40) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (16) and an atmosphere outside of the sterilization chamber (16), the valve (35, 40) being operable to selectively open and close a vent path (35/72, 18, 40, 54, 35/39/exhaust) between the sterilization chamber (16) and the atmosphere to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (16) to a second pressure (see Figures 12).
Ricciardi (‘821) does not appear to specifically teach that increasing pressure to a second pressure within the sterilization chamber is during the application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber by selectively opening and closing a venting path. However, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively open and close a valve to increase pressure within a sterilization chamber to a second pressure in a sterilization chamber during application of sterilant. Ko (‘959) discloses an apparatus and method of sterilizing an article (11) comprising a medical device (see Figures 1-7, p. 2 [0033] – lines 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a sterilization chamber (10), wherein the sterilization chamber (10) is configured to receive a medical device (11);
(b) a vacuum source (14) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
(c) a sterilant applying module (10, 41, 42, 20, 30; 46, 47, 50) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10); and
(d) a venting valve (45) in fluid communication with the sterilization chamber (10);
wherein the apparatus is controlled/configured to:
(i) activating the vacuum source (14) to apply a vacuum to the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. prior to injection stage - see Figure 5, p. 3 [0042] – lines 4-5);
(ii) activating the sterilant applying module to apply a sterilant (42 via 43) into the sterilization chamber (10) (i.e. injection stage - see Figures 4-6);
(iii) maintaining the first pressure in the sterilization chamber (10) to the sterilization chamber (10) for a first period of time (i.e. T1 – see Figures 4-6); and
(iv) selectively opening and closing a vent path via the venting valve (34) to increase pressure within the sterilization chamber (10) to a second pressure during the application of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber (see entire document, particularly Figures 5-6);
in order to facilitate the penetration of the sterilant into diffusion-limited regions, such as lumens, and thus increase the sterilization efficiency (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a valve operable to selectively open and close a vent path that increases pressure within the sterilization chamber to a second pressure during the application/contacting time of the sterilant to the sterilization chamber in the apparatus of Ricciardi as a known configuration in order to facilitate the penetration of sterilant into diffusion limited regions so as to increase sterilization efficiency as shown by Ko.
As to Claim 18, Ricciardi (‘821) discloses a system (see entire document, particularly Figure 12) comprising:
the apparatus of claim 17 (see entire document, particularly Figure 12; see rejection of claim 17 above); and
a medical device (01).
As to Claim 19, Ricciardi (‘821) discloses that the medical device (01) is an endoscope (see entire document, particularly Figures 4-5, 8-11 and 14-19, p. 8 [0079] – line 6).
As to Claim 20, Ricciardi (‘821) discloses that the medical device (01) is a plurality of endoscopes (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, 4-5, 8-11 and 14-19, p. 8 [0079] – lines 6-7).
Thus, Claims 17-20 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Ricciardi (‘821) and Ko (‘959).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 17-18 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 18-20 of copending Application No. 18/196,133 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitation “activate…” in claim 1 of the reference application includes various methods to activate components such as “selectively activating…” as set forth in claim 1 of current application particularly when steps/stages with insertion/extraction of objects/instruments from the device are involved. Claims 2-4 of the current application are identical to claims 2-4 of the reference application. In addition, the limitation “to apply a vacuum” in claim 18 of the reference application encompasses various methods of application such as “to selectively apply a vacuum” as set forth in claim 17 of current application particularly when steps/stages with insertion/extraction of objects/instruments from the device are involved. Claims 18 and 20 of the current application is identical to claims 19-20 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, as to applicant’s argument at the bottom on p. 5 of Remarks, examiner disagrees and points out that the claims 1 and 17 do not recite the specific structures as indicated by the applicant (only in Specification as corresponding structures) but merely utilizes a generic placeholder term of a module with function of applying sterilant and thus, the limitations continues to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Finally, as to applicant’s argument in first full paragraph on p. 6 of Remarks, examiner points out that a terminal disclaimer has not been filed contrary to applicant’s argument that one has been submitted with the remarks, and thus, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758