DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “microwave component” and “air cooling component” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (lines 1, 2, 4), claim 4 (line 2), claim 9 (line 2) recite the limitation “the device”. This should read “the heating and cooling device” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Claims 2-20 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claims 2-9, 11-20 recite the limitation “The device” in line 1. This should read “The heating and cooling device” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Claims 6-7 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 20 is objected by virtue of its dependence on claim 19.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “there between” in line 2. This should read “therebetween”.
Claims 6-7 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “The food device” in line 1. This should read “The heating and cooling device” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” in claim 1 (lines 2-3). This limitation uses generic placeholder “component” (Prong A); the term “component” is modified by functional language “to thaw, heat and to cook the food” (Prong B); and the term “component” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). It is noted that the Speciation of the Instant Application describes: “resistive heating coils and microwave generation for microwave cooking” in Par.0010. Thus, for examination purposes, the convection will be interpreted as resistive heating coils and equivalents; and the microwave component will be interpreted as microwave generator and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0010.
“to cool, refrigerate and to freeze the food via an air cooling component” in claim 1 (lines 4-5). This limitation uses generic placeholder “component” (Prong A); the term “component” is modified by functional language “to cool, refrigerate and to freeze the food” (Prong B); and the term “component” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “air cooling component” will be interpreted as “compressor, condensor and coils” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification Par.0010: “It is therefore embodied refrigeration circuits and hardware such as compressor, condensor and coils thereof for cooling”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” in lines 2-3. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation. Specifically, it is unclear if:
the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” means an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component, respectively; to be more specific, it is unclear if the limitation means the thawing is via a convection, the heating is via a convection, and the cooking is via microwave component; or
the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” repeats “a convection” by typo; or
the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” means an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or combined a convection and a microwave component.
It is noted that the Specification describes: “The disclosure also enables an accelerated resting by moving the food item into cold air from a baking or broiling and back again into hot air or microwaving for continued defrost thawing or continued baking or broiling.” in Par.0011. However, based on the Specification of the Instant Application, it is still unclear what is meant by the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” as recited in claim 1 (lines 2-3). Thus, for examination purposes, as best understood, the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” will be interpreted as “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or a convection and a microwave component”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food” in lines 6-8. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because it is unclear how a microprocessor circuit is able to recapture of a natural liquid that is already lost from the food back into the food. Natural liquid lost from the food means the liquid is already escaped from the food, it is unclear how the microprocessor circuit is able to recapture it back into the food. It is noted that in cooking, when the food (e.g. meat) is rested, the reabsorbed juices come from the internal, interstitial spaces within the muscle fibers themselves, not from the liquid that has already escaped or lost from the food. Resting does not reabsorb lost, external liquids; instead, it prevents further loss by allowing the meat to cool and its protein structure to relax, allowing it to hold on to moisture that would otherwise escape upon cutting. Therefore, it is unclear what is meant by the limitation “a microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food” as recited in claim 1 (lines 6-8). Thus, for examination purposes, as best understood, the limitation “a microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food” will be interpreted as a microprocessor circuit configured to control the device to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food.
Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the motive action” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 3 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “motive action” recited previously in claim 1 or claim 3. It is unclear that “the motive action” herein refers to. For examination purposes, the limitation “the motive action” as recited in claim 3 (line 1) will be interpreted as movement of a food rack.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the motive action” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 4 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “motive action” recited previously in claim 1 or claim 4. It is unclear that “the motive action” herein refers to. For examination purposes, the limitation “the motive action” as recited in claim 4 (line 1) will be interpreted as movement of a food rack.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 10 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 10 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 10 (line 2) refers to a different partial refrigeration. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 10 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim 11 recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 11 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 11 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 11 (line 2) refers to a different partial refrigeration. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 11 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a partial cooking” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 12 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial cooking” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 12 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 12 (line 2) refers to a different partial cooking. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 12 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 12 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 12 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 12 (line 2) refers to a different partial refrigeration. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 12 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a partial thawing” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 13 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial thawing” in lines 6-7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 13 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 1 (lines 6-7); or the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 13 (line 2) refers to a different partial thawing. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 13 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 1 (lines 6-7).
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in lines 2-3. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 13 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial refrigeration” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 13 (lines 2-3) refers to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 13 (lines 2-3) refers to a different partial refrigeration. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 13 (lines 2-3) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial refrigeration” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a partial cooking” in line 1. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 15 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial cooking” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 15 (line 1) refers to the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 15 (line 1) refers to a different partial cooking. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 15 (line 1) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a partial thawing” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 15 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial thawing” in lines 6-7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 15 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 1 (lines 6-7); or the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 15 (line 2) refers to a different partial thawing. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 15 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 1 (lines 6-7).
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a partial thawing” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 16 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial thawing” in lines 6-7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 16 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 1 (lines 6-7); or the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 16 (line 2) refers to a different partial thawing. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 16 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial thawing” recited in claim 1 (lines 6-7).
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a partial cooking” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 17 depends on claim 1; however, claim 1 already recites the limitation “a partial cooking” in line 7. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 17 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 1 (line 7); or the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 17 (line 2) refers to a different partial cooking. For examination purposes, the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 17 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a partial cooking” recited in claim 1 (line 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Preston et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0172399 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Preston discloses a heating and cooling device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) for food (Preston Par.0006 discloses: “The disclosure relates to kitchen assemblies and more particularly pertains to a new kitchen assembly for cold storage and cooking of food items.”), the device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) comprising:
an oven (oven 80, Preston Fig.1) configured to occupy a top part (as shown in Preston Fig.1) of the device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection (Preston Par.0026 teaches the oven 80 is convection oven, thus, it is capable of thawing, heating and cooking the food via convection), a convection and a microwave component (See the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above, as best understood, the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” will be interpreted as “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or a convection and a microwave component”. In this case, Preston discloses thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, as explained previously or indicated by Preston Par.0026);
a refrigerator (cooling unit 88, Preston Fig.1) configured to occupy a bottom part (as shown in Preston Fig.1) of the device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) and to cool, refrigerate and to freeze the food via an air cooling component (Preston Par.0027 discloses: “The cooling unit 88 is configured for cold storage of a food item. The cooling unit 88 comprises a refrigerator 92, as shown in FIG. 2, a fridge-freezer, or the like.”; therefore, it is capable of cooling, refrigerating and freezing the food via an air cooling component); and
a microprocessor circuit (circuit of the microprocessor 94, Preston Fig.1) configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food (See the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above, as best understood, the limitation “a microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food” will be interpreted as a microprocessor circuit configured to control the device to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food. In this case, Preston Par.0026 teaches the oven 80 is convection oven, thus, it is capable of thawing, heating and cooking the food via convection; Preston Par.0027 discloses: “The cooling unit 88 is configured for cold storage of a food item. The cooling unit 88 comprises a refrigerator 92, as shown in FIG. 2, a fridge-freezer, or the like.”; therefore, it is capable of cooling, refrigerating and freezing the food via an air cooling component; and Preston Par.0028 discloses: “A microprocessor 94 is engaged to the housing 12 and is operationally engaged to the power module 38 and the cooktop 48. A display 96 is engaged to the housing 12 and is operationally engaged to the microprocessor 94. The microprocessor 94 is positioned to selectively actuate the display 96 to present one or more of a temperature setting, a temperature reading, a current time, an elapsed time, a measurement of a charge of the battery 42, and a charging state of the battery 42.”, Preston Par.0021 discloses: “The power module 38 comprises a power cord 40 and a battery 42, with the battery 42 being rechargeable.”, and Preston Par.0031 discloses: “The cooktop 48, oven 80, and cooling unit 88 can be powered by plugging the power cord 40 into a receptacle, or by the battery 42 if power is not available.”. Therefore, the circuit of the microprocessor 94 configured to control the kitchen assembly 10 to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food).
Regarding claim 8, Preston discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Preston also discloses:
wherein the microprocessor circuit (circuit of the microprocessor 94, Preston Fig.1) comprises a plurality of combinatorial logic gates and a state machine logic (it is noted that all microprocessors are built using logic gates, and all microprocessors fundamentally rely on state machine logic within their control units to operate; therefore, the circuit of the microprocessor 94 comprises a plurality of combinatorial logic gates and a state machine logic).
Regarding claim 9, Preston discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Preston also discloses:
wherein the microprocessor circuit (circuit of the microprocessor 94, Preston Fig.1) interacts with a digital display screen (display 96, Preston Fig.1) on a front side (front side of the kitchen assembly 10 as shown in Preston Fig.1) of the device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) (Preston Par.0028 discloses: “A display 96 is engaged to the housing 12 and is operationally engaged to the microprocessor 94. The microprocessor 94 is positioned to selectively actuate the display 96 to present one or more of a temperature setting, a temperature reading, a current time, an elapsed time, a measurement of a charge of the battery 42, and a charging state of the battery 42.”.).
Regarding claim 19, Preston discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Preston also discloses further comprising
a separate door (door 82 of the oven 80, and door 90 of the cooling unit 88; Preston Fig.1) for each of a separate access (as shown in Preston Fig.1) to the oven (oven 80, Preston Fig.1) and to the refrigerator (cooling unit 88, Preston Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preston et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0172399 A1) in view of Lewis et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0311701 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Preston discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Preston does not explicitly disclose:
a food rack comprising a non metallic nylon and fiberglass material non harmful to microwave cooking.
Lewis teaches (Lewis Fig.1):
a food rack (“oven rack”, Lewis Par.0026) comprising a non metallic nylon and fiberglass material non harmful to microwave cooking (Lewis Par.0022 teaches: “Suitable support layers 14 include, without limitation, woven, nonwoven or braided fabrics or sheets, netting, tapes, meshes and/or films of materials such as fiberglass, ceramics, graphite, glass, and/or rigid temperature-resistant polymers such as polybenzimidazole, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyaramid, polyesters, polyamides, polyimides, polyethersulfones, polyether imides, polyetherether ketones, polyether ketones, liquid crystal polymers, polyphenylene sulfones, polyphenylene sulfides, novoloid phenolic fibers, aramids, polysulfones, polyketones, and combinations thereof.”; it is noted that polyamide is non metallic nylon, and fiberglass and polyamide materials are non harmful to microwave cooking; and the oven rack comprises fiberglass and polyamide materials because Lewis Par.0026 teaches: “The laminate of FIG. 1 is shown as a rectangular sheet, suitable for, without limitations, cooking pizza, cookies, or other food items. The laminate has an outer peripheral edge 16 that defines a food placement area 18. The size of the laminate sheet can vary, and desirable has a size that fits into the intended oven and onto the oven rack.”, and Lewis Par.0027 teaches: “placing the laminate directly on a rack of the oven; cooking the uncooked food on the laminate material by thermal energy from the oven to provide a cooked food item”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kitchen assembly of Preston, by adding non metallic nylon and fiberglass material to the food rack, as taught by Lewis, in order to offer superior durability, hygiene, and corrosion resistance over metal, making the oven rack ideal for high-humidity or harsh environments. Additionally, these materials are lightweight, prevent rust, and provide high strength and heat resistance without chemical, mold, or bacteria buildup.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preston et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0172399 A1) in view of Lim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0020338 A1), and further in view of Rommelmann (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0163254 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Preston discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 19, Preston does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each separate door comprises hidden hinges to the respective oven and the refrigerator.
Lim teaches an oven (microwave oven 1, Lim Fig.1):
wherein a door (door 30, Lim Fig.1) comprises hidden hinges (hidden hinges, Lim annotated Fig.1 below) to the oven (microwave oven 1, Lim Fig.1) (Lim Par.0068 discloses: “The cooking device 1 may include a door 30 to open or close the cooking chamber 20. One side of the door 30 may be hinged to the front surface of the main body 10 so as to open or close the cooking chamber 20. The door 30 may open or close the cooking chamber 20 while simultaneously rotating about the hinge-coupled side of the door 30.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kitchen assembly of Preston, by making the door connected to the oven by hidden hinges, as taught by Lim, in order to achieve a sleek, modern, and minimalist aesthetic. The hidden hinges protect the oven from damage and dirt while providing superior durability, smoother operation, and enhanced safety by preventing finger pinching.
Preston in view of Lim does not explicitly teach:
wherein the door comprises hidden hinges to the refrigerator.
Rommelmann teaches a refrigerator (cooling device 1, Rommelmann Figs.1a-1b) (Rommelmann Par.0002 teaches: “Cooling devices commonly used in the home, such as refrigerators or freezers”):
wherein the door (door 8, Rommelmann Figs.1a-1b) comprises hidden hinges (hinges 9, Rommelmann Fig.1b) to the refrigerator (cooling device 1, Rommelmann Figs. Figs.1a-1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kitchen assembly of Preston in view of Lim, by making the door connected to the refrigerator by hidden hinges, as taught by Rommelmann, in order to achieve a sleek, modern, and minimalist aesthetic. The hidden hinges protect the refrigerator from damage and dirt while providing superior durability, smoother operation, and enhanced safety by preventing finger pinching.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 214537066 U, Published 10/29/2021, Translation is attached) in view of Chartrain et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,128,158 A), and further in view of Preston et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0172399 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a heating and cooling device (device as shown in Li Fig.1) for food (as indicated by Li Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 3: “Preferably, the refrigerating chamber, sterilizing chamber, heating chamber are orderly arranged along the height direction of the refrigerator body, the refrigerator main body is configured with a lifting passage, the lifting passage along the height direction of the refrigerator main body can be selectively through the refrigerating chamber, sterilizing chamber; a heating chamber, the lifting passage is provided with a lifting conveying device, so as to realize the target food in the refrigerating chamber, a sterilizing chamber, a transfer between the heating chamber.”), the device (device as shown in Li Fig.1) comprising:
an oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) configured to occupy a top part of the device (device as shown in Li Fig.1) to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a microwave component (microwave heating device 22, Li Fig.1) (Li discloses the microwave heating device 22, thus, it is capable of thawing, heating and cooking the food via microwave heating device 22);
a refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) configured to occupy a bottom part of the device (device as shown in Li Fig.1) and to cool, refrigerate and to freeze the food via an air cooling component (Li discloses the device comprises the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; therefore, they are capable of cooling, refrigerating and freezing the food via an air cooling component); and
a control circuit (circuit of the “control panel”, Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6) configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food (See the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above, as best understood, the limitation “a microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food” as recited in claim 1 (lines 6-8) will be interpreted as a microprocessor circuit configured to control the device to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food. In this case, Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the circuit of the control panel is configured to control the device to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food)
Li does not explicitly disclose:
to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or a convection and a microwave component (See the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above, as best understood, the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” as recited in claim 1 will be interpreted as “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or a convection and a microwave component”. In this case, Li discloses the microwave heating device only, Li does not disclose a convection, or combined a convection and a microwave component); and
the control circuit comprises a microprocessor circuit
Chartrain teaches an oven (cooking oven as shown in Chartrain Fig.1):
wherein the oven (cooking oven as shown in Chartrain Fig.1) is configured to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or a convection (convection resistance 3 & fan 6, Chartrain Fig.1) (Chartrain Col.1 lines 42-46 teaches: “Thus, during the temperature increase phase, the convection resistance continuously heats while the broiling resistance heats intermittently, thereby rapidly increasing the temperature of the chamber and not excessively broiling the surface of the food to be cooked.”) and a microwave component (magnetron 5, Chartrain Fig.1) (See the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above, as best understood, the limitation “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, a convection and a microwave component” will be interpreted as “an oven configured to occupy a top part of the device to thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection, or a convection and a microwave component”. In this case, Chartrain Col.2 lines 1-2 teaches: “The cooking oven with combined heating by convection, broiling and microwaves, shown in FIG. 1”; thus, the Chartrain cooking oven as shown in Fig.1 is capable of thaw, heat and to cook the food via a convection and a microwave component)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kitchen assembly of Li in view of Chartrain, by adding convection heating so that the oven configured to thaw, heat and to cook the food via combined convection and microwave component, as taught by Chartrain, in order to balance the internal temperature with the surface temperature and thereby prevent the formation of a crust, as recognized by Chartrain [Chartrain, Col.1 lines 50-52]. Furthermore, the modification would provide merge rapid, interior microwave heating with heating element and fan that browns, bakes, and crisps food, offering faster, more versatile, and even cooking while saving space. Thus, improve the overall taste of the food, as well as the food texture and quality.
Li in view of Chartrain does not teach:
the control circuit comprises a microprocessor circuit
Preston teaches a heating and cooling device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) for food (Preston Par.0006 discloses: “The disclosure relates to kitchen assemblies and more particularly pertains to a new kitchen assembly for cold storage and cooking of food items.”), the device (kitchen assembly 10, Preston Fig.1) comprising:
a microprocessor circuit (circuit of the microprocessor 94, Preston Fig.1) configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food (See the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections above, as best understood, the limitation “a microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to enable a recapture of a natural liquid lost from the food back into the food” will be interpreted as a microprocessor circuit configured to control the device to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food. In this case, Preston Par.0026 teaches the oven 80 is convection oven, thus, it is capable of thawing, heating and cooking the food via convection; Preston Par.0027 discloses: “The cooling unit 88 is configured for cold storage of a food item. The cooling unit 88 comprises a refrigerator 92, as shown in FIG. 2, a fridge-freezer, or the like.”; therefore, it is capable of cooling, refrigerating and freezing the food via an air cooling component; and Preston Par.0028 discloses: “A microprocessor 94 is engaged to the housing 12 and is operationally engaged to the power module 38 and the cooktop 48. A display 96 is engaged to the housing 12 and is operationally engaged to the microprocessor 94. The microprocessor 94 is positioned to selectively actuate the display 96 to present one or more of a temperature setting, a temperature reading, a current time, an elapsed time, a measurement of a charge of the battery 42, and a charging state of the battery 42.”, Preston Par.0021 discloses: “The power module 38 comprises a power cord 40 and a battery 42, with the battery 42 being rechargeable.”, and Preston Par.0031 discloses: “The cooktop 48, oven 80, and cooling unit 88 can be powered by plugging the power cord 40 into a receptacle, or by the battery 42 if power is not available.”. Therefore, the circuit of the microprocessor 94 configured to control the kitchen assembly 10 to rest the food between a partial thawing, a partial cooking and a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kitchen assembly of Li in view of Chartrain, by adding microprocessor circuit configured to rest the food between a partial thawing, between a partial cooking and between a partial refrigeration of the food to prevent further a natural liquid lost from the food, as taught by Preston, because microprocessor provides precise, high-speed, and automated control, which is vastly superior to analog or manual methods for managing complex temperature-dependent processes.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses further comprising
a track (lifting guide rail 41, Li Fig.1) for a food rack (carrying plate 43 and electric lifting sliding block 42, Li Fig.1) configured to raise and to lower the food rack (carrying plate 43 and electric lifting sliding block 42, Li Fig.1) between the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) and the refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) via a motive action (action from “driving motor”, Li Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 4) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 4 discloses: “the lifting conveying device comprises a lifting guide rail 41; electric lifting sliding block 42, the electric lifting sliding block 42 and the lifting guide rail 41 is sliding connected with the electric lifting sliding block 42 fixedly connected with the carrying plate 43, specifically, the lifting guide rail 41 is provided with a rack, the electric lifting sliding block 42 is equipped with a driving motor; the power output end of the driving motor is provided with a gear engaged with the rack, so that when the driving motor is driven to operate, the lifting or lowering of the electric lifting slide block 42 relative to the lifting guide rail 41 can be realized by different rotation directions, of course; the electric lifting sliding block 42 can also be realized by the common electric trailer in the industry; the utility model is not particularly limited, the carrying plate 43 and the electric lifting sliding block 42 is fixedly connected with the upper and lower reciprocating movement, the carrying plate 43 for transferring the target food between the room; Of course, the target food should be contained in the corresponding tray 100.”).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein the motive action (action from “driving motor”, Li Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 4) is an action from a motor (“driving motor”, Li Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 4) controlled by a programmable digital display screen (“control panel”, Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6) (Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; since the control panel is used to control different operations from sterilizing to freezing and heating, thus, the food needs to transfer between these chambers; therefore, action from the driving motor is controlled by the control panel).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein the motive action (action from “driving motor”, Li Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 4) comes from an action (control action on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6) coming from outside the device (device as shown in Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; since the mobile phone APP is used to remote control different operations from sterilizing to freezing and heating, thus, the food needs to transfer between these chambers; therefore, action from the driving motor comes from control action on the mobile phone APP coming from outside of the device as shown in Li Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses further comprising
a partition (first sealing component 312, Li Fig.1) movable between the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) and the refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) (Li on page 4 – paragraph 2 discloses: “the first through hole 311 is connected with a first sealing component 312; the first sealing component 312 can controllably pass through or cut off the first through hole 311”) as a thermal barrier there between (since the first sealing component 312 is connected with the first through hole 311 and pass through or cut off the first through hole 311, thus, it acts as a thermal barrier there between).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 5, Li also discloses
wherein the partition (first sealing component 312, Li Fig.1) is a movable trap door (Li on page 4 – paragraph 2 discloses: “the first through hole 311 is connected with a first sealing component 312; the first sealing component 312 can controllably pass through or cut off the first through hole 311”; thus, the first sealing component 312 is movable trap door).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the microprocessor circuit (circuit of the microprocessor 94, Preston Fig.1; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 under Li in view of Chartrain and Preston above) comprises a plurality of combinatorial logic gates and a state machine logic (it is noted that all microprocessors are built using logic gates, and all microprocessors fundamentally rely on state machine logic within their control units to operate; therefore, the circuit of the microprocessor 94 comprises a plurality of combinatorial logic gates and a state machine logic).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein the partial cooking of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) is rested by a partial refrigeration of the food in the refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing the partial cooking of the food in the oven is rested by a partial refrigeration of the food in the refrigerating chamber).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein the partial thawing of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) is rested by a partial refrigeration of the food in the refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing the partial thawing of the food in the oven is rested by a partial refrigeration of the food in the refrigerating chamber).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein a complete cooking of the food comprises a partial cooking of the food and a partial refrigeration of the food (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing a complete cooking of the food comprising a partial cooking of the food and a partial refrigeration of the food).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein a complete thawing of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) comprises a partial thawing of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) and a partial refrigeration of the food in the refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing a complete thawing of the food in the oven comprising a partial thawing of the food in the oven and a partial refrigeration of the food in the refrigerating chamber).
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein a complete cooking of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) is followed by a refrigerating and a freezing of the food by the refrigerator (refrigerator includes the refrigerating chamber 11 and freezing chamber 12; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing a complete cooking of the food in the oven is followed by a refrigerating and a freezing of the food by the refrigerator).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein a partial cooking of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) is preceded by a partial thawing of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing a partial cooking of the food in the oven is preceded by a partial thawing of the food in the oven).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein a complete thawing of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) comprises a partial thawing of the food and a resting of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing a complete thawing of the food in the oven comprises a partial thawing of the food and a resting of the food in the oven).
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Li also discloses
wherein a complete cooking of the food comprises a partial cooking of the food and a resting of the food in the oven (oven includes the heating chamber 2 and the sterilizing chamber 3; Li Fig.1) (Li Translated Document on page 3 – last paragraph discloses: “the lifting conveying device can realize automatic transfer between different chambers of the target food; for example, transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the heating chamber 2 for heating; transferring from the refrigerating chamber to the sterilizing chamber 3 for sterilizing; transferring from the sterilizing chamber 3 to the refrigerating chamber for storing”, and Li Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 6 discloses: “FIG. 4 is a flow chart of the user operating the refrigerator of the utility model. Firstly, the user can be selected on the control panel (e.g., can be embedded on the room door of the sterilizing chamber 3, the control panel contains WiFi) operation, also can be networked on the mobile phone APP for remote operation, can real-time operation also can be reserved operation. the operation panel mainly comprises disinfection; storing food and heating three large blocks of food; the user selects different instructions, then performing different operations; from simple sterilizing to intelligent classification storing food, and then freezing and heating function, not only can satisfy the user for a long time storing food requirement, but also can make the user experience the fresh food, namely taking and using; convenient from refrigerating to heating automation, greatly improving the user experience.”; thus, the device is capable of performing a complete cooking of the food comprises a partial cooking of the food and a resting of the food in the oven).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 214537066 U, Published 10/29/2021, Translation is attached) in view of Chartrain et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,128,158 A), Preston et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0172399 A1) and further in view of Narumiya et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0166444 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Chartrain and Preston teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 5, but does not teach:
wherein the partition is an air curtain.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Narumiya teaches:
partition is an air curtain (Narumiya Par.0063 teaches: “Partitions such as air curtains can be provided to separate each cooling chamber.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Li partition (see the Li first sealing component 312 in Li Fig.1) with the Narumiya partition (see the Narumiya air curtain partition in Narumiya Par.0063), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing thermal barrier between chambers. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Smario (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0084778 A1) discloses a microwave-refrigerator unit.
Weinkle et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,791,861 A) discloses a combination unit for the refrigerated or frozen storage of pizza components and an adjacent oven for baking such pizzas mounted atop the refrigeration unit.
Fallen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,566,856 A) discloses a vending machine comprises a freezer area and at least one magazine disposed there for holding food cartons. The food carton is transported out of the freezer area by an elevator. The food carton is dispensed to an operator. Temperatures below freezing are maintained in the freezer area, further comprising a microwave unit for heating food contained in the food cartons through the use of microwaves. The food carton is moved from the freezer area into the microwave while maintaining an upright orientation.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 02/07/2026