DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a linear electrical generator mechanically coupled to the door opener arm”, as recited in claim 1, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 9/08/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
Claim 1: “a linear electrical generator mechanically coupled to the door opener arm, wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a linear electrical generator mechanically coupled to the door opener arm, wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell”. Examiner notes that Applicants disclosure as originally filed makes no mention of “a linear electrical generator mechanically coupled to the door opener arm, wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell”, and these features are not shown in the drawings. Examiner notes that the only disclosure with respect to “a linear electrical generator” is found in Applicants paragraph [0020], “the linear kinetic energy charger is preferably associated with the door opener arm” and paragraph [0051], “the kinetic energy charger comprises one or more linear kinetic energy chargers preferably associated with, secured to, connected to, and/or forms part of the garage door, the door opener arm, and/or any other component of the garage door opener assembly”, as well as “U.S. Patent No. 5,347,186, entitled "Linear motion electric power generator” and “US. Patent No. 4,500,827, entitled "Linear reciprocating electrical generator”. However, “wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell” is not disclosed. Additionally, it is entirely unclear how Applicants examples of US 5,347,186 and US 4,500,827, would be incorporated for use with the travel of a typical garage door, or with Applicants door opener arm (element 32) as shown in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heng et al. (US 2012/0112875) (hereinafter Heng) in view of Witkowski (US 2020/0126392).
Regarding claim 1, Heng discloses a garage door opener assembly, for opening and closing a garage door, comprising:- a garage door (See Figure 1), wherein the garage door includes at least one hinge (See Figure 1) and a plurality of wheels (element 18), and wherein the garage door is displaceable between open and closed positions;- left and right tracks (See Figure 1), wherein the left and the right tracks collectively retain the plurality of garage door wheels: a motor (element 12), wherein the motor drives at least one of a screw shaft, a belt, and a chain and, in turn, a door opener arm secured to the garage door (See Figure 1, shown but not labeled); a battery backup unit, wherein the battery backup unit comprises a secondary electrochemical cell in electrical communication with the motor (Examiner notes that element 52 is “in electrical communication” with element 12 via element 20); and a linear electrical generator (element 50, Examiner notes that element 50 translates in a linear manner, and is therefore considered to be a “linear electrical generator”) mechanically coupled to the door opener arm (Examiner notes that all elements of the system are at least indirectly mechanically coupled), wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell (Examiner notes that the generator and battery are necessarily connected in order for the system to function as intended).
Heng does not give explicit detail with regard to the drive system and suspension of the garage door (i.e. cable drums, a torsion rod, a torsion spring, a screw shaft, a belt, and a chain, etc.). Witkowski, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure a garage door opener assembly, for opening and closing a garage door, comprising: a garage door (See Figure 1), wherein the garage door includes at least one hinge and a plurality of wheels (Figure 1, element 12), and wherein the garage door is displaceable between open and closed positions; left and right tracks (Figure 1, element 14), wherein the left and the right tracks collectively retain the plurality of garage door wheels; left and right cable drums (Figure 1, element 70), wherein the left and the right cable drums contain cable (Figure 1, element 95) in communication with the garage door; a torsion rod (Figure 1, element 60), wherein the torsion rod is secured to and positioned between the left and the right cable drums; a torsion spring (Figure 1, element 55), wherein the torsion spring is associated with the torsion rod; a motor (element 20), wherein the motor drives at least one of a screw shaft, a belt, and a chain and (element 28, paragraph [0021]), a door opener arm (element 45) secured to the garage door; a trolly track (element 35), wherein the trolly track houses the screw shaft, belt and/or chain, a wall mounted door controller (element 80, paragraph [0022]), and a remote door controller (element 80, paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the garage door system of Heng such that it includes the garage door structure taught by Witkowski above, since garage door structure of this nature is extremely well-known in the art, and would have functioned as intended for the purpose of Heng. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143.
Examiner additionally notes that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the garage door system of Heng such that it includes the structure of claim 1, since it is prima facie obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of results (MPEP 2143(E)), and all of the structure claimed is extremely well known and would have been a predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of results.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedrich (US 2004/0187387) in view of Witkowski (US 2020/0126392).
Regarding claim 1, Hedrich discloses a garage door opener assembly, for opening and closing a garage door, comprising: a garage door, wherein the garage door is displaceable between open and closed positions; a motor (element 23); a battery backup unit (at least elements 5-6 and 10), wherein the battery backup unit comprises a secondary electrochemical cell in electrical communication with the motor; and a linear electrical generator (element 1, Examiner notes that element 1 moves linearly with the garage door) mechanically coupled to the door opener and electrically connected to the secondary electrochemical cell, wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell; and power conditioning circuitry (element 16) electrically connected between the linear electrical generator and the secondary electrochemical cell, wherein the power conditioning circuitry regulates the electrical energy from the linear electrical generator to provide appropriate charging characteristics for the secondary electrochemical cell.
Hedrich does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor drives at least one of a screw shaft, a belt, and a chain and, in turn, a door opener arm secured to the garage door, and the electrical generator is mechanically coupled to the door opener arm.
Witkowski, however, teaches that it is known in the art to configure a garage door opener assembly, for opening and closing a garage door, comprising: a garage door (See Figure 1), wherein the garage door includes at least one hinge and a plurality of wheels (Figure 1, element 12), and wherein the garage door is displaceable between open and closed positions; left and right tracks (Figure 1, element 14), wherein the left and the right tracks collectively retain the plurality of garage door wheels;- left and right cable drums (Figure 1, element 70), wherein the left and the right cable drums contain cable (Figure 1, element 95) in communication with the garage door; a torsion rod (Figure 1, element 60), wherein the torsion rod is secured to and positioned between the left and the right cable drums; a torsion spring (Figure 1, element 55), wherein the torsion spring is associated with the torsion rod; a motor (element 20), wherein the motor drives at least one of a screw shaft, a belt, and a chain and (element 28, paragraph [0021]), in turn, a door opener arm (element 45) secured to the garage door; a trolly track (element 35), wherein the trolly track houses the screw shaft, belt and/or chain, a wall mounted door controller (element 80, paragraph [0022]), and a remote door controller (element 80, paragraph [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the garage door system of Hedrich such that it includes the garage door structure taught by Witkowski above, since garage door structure of this nature is extremely well-known in the art, and would have functioned as intended for the purpose of Hedrich. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143. Examiner notes that a modification of this nature would provide the electrical generator being mechanically coupled to the door opener arm, since all components of the system would be either directly or indirectly mechanically coupled
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument “Original claims 2 and 3 specifically recite the linear kinetic energy charger associated with the door opener arm”. Examiner agrees, however simply stating that the “linear kinetic energy charger” is “associated with the door opener arm” is not inherently the same as “a linear electrical generator mechanically coupled to the door opener arm”. In other words, the terms “associated” and “mechanically coupled” are different, and can be reasonably interpreted as claiming different things. Additionally, the claim limitation “wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell” is not found in the disclosure as originally filed.
Regarding the argument “The drawing objection must be withdrawn as a matter of law. The examiner's requirement that internal components of the linear electrical generator be shown exceeds the statutory requirements for patent drawings and contradicts established USPTO practice and Federal Circuit precedent”. This is incorrect. Examiner has not required “that internal components of the linear electrical generator be shown”. Examiner is requiring that “The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a linear electrical generator mechanically coupled to the door opener arm”, as recited in claim 1, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims”. This is required because the only disclosure with respect to “a linear electrical generator” is found in Applicants paragraph [0020], “the linear kinetic energy charger is preferably associated with the door opener arm” and paragraph [0051], “the kinetic energy charger comprises one or more linear kinetic energy chargers preferably associated with, secured to, connected to, and/or forms part of the garage door, the door opener arm, and/or any other component of the garage door opener assembly”, as well as “U.S. Patent No. 5,347,186, entitled "Linear motion electric power generator” and “US. Patent No. 4,500,827, entitled "Linear reciprocating electrical generator”. However, “wherein the linear electrical generator converts linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy to charge the secondary electrochemical cell” is not disclosed. Additionally, it is entirely unclear how Applicants examples of US 5,347,186 and US 4,500,827, would be incorporated for use with the travel of a typical garage door.
Regarding the argument “Element 18 in Figure 2 combined with the incorporated references U.S. Patents 5,347,186 and 4,500,827 provides more than sufficient disclosure.”. Examiner disagrees and notes that it is entirely unclear how either of U.S. Patent No. 5,347,186, entitled "Linear motion electric power generator” and US. Patent No. 4,500,827, entitled "Linear reciprocating electrical generator” would be “mechanically coupled to the door opener arm” in such a way as to convert “linear motion of the door opener arm during garage door operation into electrical energy”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN B REPHANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3634