DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because much of the text and details are blurry and not clearly readable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “x is 2 or 3”, and claim 1, upon which it depends, also recites “x and y are each independently 0, 1, or 2” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination the examiner is interpreting the limitation of claim 5 as “x is 2”.
Claim 20 line 3 provides the subscript “n” without additional limitations do define the metes and bounds of “n”. In order to advance prosecution, the examiner is interpreting it as “n is 1, 2 or 3” following claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Song WO2023113253A1 (with a filing date of 15 November 2022; using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 19, Song discloses an electrochemical cell (Song, [0089]) comprising:
a cathode (Song, [0089]), an anode (Song, [0089]), a separator (Song, [0089]), and an electrolyte (Song, [0050], [0089]) comprising:
a lithium salt (Song, [0051]),
a cathode stabilizing additive selected from the group consisting of vinylene carbonate, vinyl ethylene carbonate (Song, [0078]),
LiBF2(C2O4), LiB(C2O4)2, LiPF2(C2O4)2, LiPF4(C2O4) (Song, [0079]),
LiPF6 (Song, [0085]),
Li2(B12X12-iHi), wherein each X is independently at each occurrence a halogen, i is an integer from 0 to 12 (Song, [0081], i = 6, X = F),
or a mixture of any two or more thereof (Song, [0078-0079], [0081], [0085]),
wherein the cathode stabilizing additive is not the same as the lithium salt (Song, [0051]),
and a fluorinated organosulfate compound (Song, [0072]) represented by Formula II
wherein R6 is OR8, R7 is OR8’, R8 is a fluorinated alkyl and R8’ is optionally fluorinated alky (Song, [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 13-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwaya US20110020700A1 in view of Meng US20160285130A1.
Regarding claim 1, Iwaya discloses a electrochemical cell (Iwaya, [0034]) comprising:
a cathode comprising a cathode active material (Iwaya, [0034]),
an anode comprising an anode active material (Iwaya, [0034]),
and an electrolyte (Iwaya, [0034]) comprising
a sulfonyl solvent (Iwaya, [0088], propanesultone),
a salt (Iwaya, [0022]), and
a terminally fluorinated glycol ether (Iwaya, [0050-0051]),
wherein the terminally fluorinated glycol ether is represented by Formula (I) (Iwaya, [0050], formula/compound (2)):
R1(O(CH2)m)x(O(CH2)n)yOR2 (I)
wherein: R1 and R2 are individually -(CH2)q(CR4R5)pC(R3)3, R3 is F, R4 and R5 are each independently H or F, m is 1, 2, or 3, n is 1, 2, or 3, q is 0, 1, 2, or 3, p is 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6, and x and y are each independently 0, 1, or 2, with the provisos that both x and y are not 0 and x+y ≤ 3 (Iwaya, [0051], “each of R1 and R2 which are independent of each other, is a…C1-10 fluorinated alkyl group having an etheric oxygen atom between a carbon atom and a carbon atom, provided that one or each of R1 and R2 is a partially fluorinated above group. R1 and R2 may be the same or different. In this specification, a fluorinated alkyl group is a group having some or all of hydrogen atoms in an alkyl group substituted by fluorine atoms.”, [0056], nonlimiting examples 2-B2, 2-B6, 2-B7, 2-B8).
Iwaya however does not disclose wherein the sulfonyl solvent comprises a compound represented by the following formula
wherein:R6 is a C1-C8 fluorinated alkyl, R7 is H, F, Cl, Br, I, OR8, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, silyl, siloxy, aryl, aralkyl, heterocyclyl, heterocyclylalkyl, cycloalkyl, cycloalkylalkyl, -C(O)R11, -C(O)OR11, or -OC(O)R11, wherein any of the alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, silyl, siloxy, aryl, aralkyl, heterocyclyl, heterocyclylalkyl, cycloalkyl, and cycloalkylalkyl may be substituted or unsubstituted; R8 is H or alkyl; and R11 is fluorinated C1-C6 alkyl; and
Meng teaches wherein the sulfonyl solvent comprises a compound represented by the following formula (Meng, [0117], RSO3H)
wherein: R6 is a C1-C8 fluorinated alkyl (Meng, [0117], R is alkyl or aryl or alkyl or aryl substituted by one to three halogens, for example trifluoromethane), R7 is OR8, R8 is H (Meng, [0117], OH). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the sulfonyl solvent of Meng to Iwaya, thereby exhibiting a nominal open-circuit voltage of about 1.2 V to about 6.0 V (Meng, [0011]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Iwaya also teaches wherein q is 1 or 2; and p is 0 (Iwaya, [0051], R1—O—R2, “each of R1 and R2 which are independent of each other, is a…C1-10 fluorinated alkyl group having an etheric oxygen atom between a carbon atom and a carbon atom, provided that one or each of R1 and R2 is a partially fluorinated above group. R1 and R2 may be the same or different. In this specification, a fluorinated alkyl group is a group having some or all of hydrogen atoms in an alkyl group substituted by fluorine atoms.”, R1 = F3C-(CH2)q=1-2(O(CH2)m=1-3)x=0-2(O(CH2)n=1-3)y=0-2 or F3C-(CH2)q=1-2(O(CH2)m=1-3)x=0-2 and R2 = F3C-(CH2)q=1-2(O(CH2)n=1-3)y=0-2 or F3C-(CH2)q=1-2(O(CH2)n=1-3)y=0-2(O(CH2)m=1-3)x=0-2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Iwaya additionally teaches wherein y is 0 and x is 2 (Iwaya, [0051], R1—O—R2, “each of R1 and R2 which are independent of each other, is a…C1-10 fluorinated alkyl group having an etheric oxygen atom between a carbon atom and a carbon atom, provided that one or each of R1 and R2 is a partially fluorinated above group. R1 and R2 may be the same or different. In this specification, a fluorinated alkyl group is a group having some or all of hydrogen atoms in an alkyl group substituted by fluorine atoms.”, R1 = F3C-(CR4R5)p=0-6-(CH2)q=1-2(O(CH2)m=1-3)x=2 and R2 = F3C-(CR4R5)p=0-6-(CH2)q=1-2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Iwaya further teaches wherein R1 and R2 are -CH2CF3, m is 2, x is 2, y is 0 (Iwaya, [0051], R1—O—R2, “each of R1 and R2 which are independent of each other, is a…C1-10 fluorinated alkyl group having an etheric oxygen atom between a carbon atom and a carbon atom, provided that one or each of R1 and R2 is a partially fluorinated above group. R1 and R2 may be the same or different. In this specification, a fluorinated alkyl group is a group having some or all of hydrogen atoms in an alkyl group substituted by fluorine atoms.”, R1 = F3C-CH2-O(CH2)m=2 and R2 = F3C-CH2-O(CH2)m=2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Iwaya also teaches wherein R7 is OR8, R8 = H (Meng, [0117], OH)
Regarding claim 13, modified Iwaya additionally teaches wherein the cathode comprises sulfur, a spinel, an olivine, LiMn0.5Ni0.5O2, LiCoO2, LiNiO2, LiNi1-xCoyMezO2, LiNiαMnßCoγ, LiMn2O4, LiFeO2, LiNi0.5Me1.5O4, Li1+x’NihMnkColMe2y’O2-z’Fz’, LiNimMnnO4, wherein Me is Al, Mg, Ti, Ga, Si, Mn or Co, Me2 is Zn, Al, Ga, Zr or Ti, 0 ≤ x ≤ 0.3, 0 ≤ y ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.5, 0 < m ≤ 2, 0 < n ≤ 2, x’ = y’ = z’ = 0, with the provisos that at least one of h, k and l is greater than 0, and at least one of x, y and z is greater than 0 (Iwaya, [0116-0117], [0123]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Iwaya further teaches herein the salt comprises LiN(SO2F)2, LiClO4, LiBF4, LiPF6, or a mixture of any two or more thereof (Iwaya, [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Iwaya also teaches wherein the salt comprises LiN(SO2F)2 (Iwaya, [0041]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Iwaya additionally teaches wherein the electrolyte further comprises a stabilizing additive (Iwaya, [0075]) comprising vinylene carbonate (Iwaya, [0081]).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwaya US20110020700A1 in view of Meng US20160285130A1 and further in view of Lee US20260038886A1.
Regarding claim 16, modified Iwaya does not explicitly teach the electrochemical cell of claim 1 that is free of carbonate solvents, lactone solvents, and non-fluorinated ethers.
Lee teaches an electrochemical cell free of carbonate solvents, lactone solvents, and non-fluorinated ethers (Lee, [0009], [0050]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the electrochemical cell of modified Iwaya with the teaching of Lee thereby having thermal stability compared to existing carbonate-based electrolytes (Lee, [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Iwaya does not teach wherein the sulfonyl solvent and the terminally fluorinated glycol ether are present in the electrolyte in a ratio of from about 5:1 to about 2:1.
Lee teaches wherein the sulfonyl solvent and the terminally fluorinated glycol ether are present in the electrolyte in a ratio of from about 5:1 to about 2:1 (Lee, [0068], 1:3 to 3:1). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the ratio of Lee in modified Iwaya thereby sufficiently reducing the viscosity of the electrolyte and preventing ion conductivity decreases (Lee, [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Iwaya does not teach wherein the salt, sulfonyl solvent, and terminally fluorinated glycol ether are present in the electrolyte in a ratio of about 2:4:1.
Lee teaches wherein the salt, sulfonyl solvent, and terminally fluorinated glycol ether are present in the electrolyte in a ratio of about 2:4:1 (Lee, [0064], 2:1 to 5:1 (sulfone:salt); [0068], 1:3 to 3:1 (sulfone:fluorinated ether) giving the encompassing range of 1:2:6 to 3:15:5). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the ratio of Lee in modified Iwaya thereby sufficiently reducing the viscosity of the electrolyte and preventing ion conductivity decreases (Lee, [0069]) and preventing a problem of decreased ion conductivity and decrease in viscosity (Lee, [0065]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song WO2023113253A1 (with a filing date of 15 November 2022; using machine English translation provided) in view of Iwaya US20110020700A1.
Regarding claim 20, Song does not disclose further comprising a terminally fluorinated glycol ether represented by Formula I:
R1(O(CH2)m)x(O(CH2)n)yOR2 (I)
wherein: R1 is a fluorinated alkyl and R2 is a fluorinated alkyl, m is 1, 2, or 3, n is 1, 2, or 3, x and y are each independently 0, 1, or 2, with the provisos that both x and y are not 0 and x+y ≤ 3.
Iwaya teaches a terminally fluorinated glycol ether (Iwaya, [0050-0051]), represented by Formula (I) (Iwaya, [0050], formula/compound (2)):
R1(O(CH2)m)x(O(CH2)n)yOR2 (I)
wherein: R1 is a fluorinated alkyl and R2 is a fluorinated alkyl, m is 1, 2, or 3, n is 1, 2, or 3, x and y are each independently 0, 1, or 2, with the provisos that both x and y are not 0 and x+y ≤ 3. (Iwaya, [0051], “each of R1 and R2 which are independent of each other, is a…C1-10 fluorinated alkyl group having an etheric oxygen atom between a carbon atom and a carbon atom, provided that one or each of R1 and R2 is a partially fluorinated above group. R1 and R2 may be the same or different. In this specification, a fluorinated alkyl group is a group having some or all of hydrogen atoms in an alkyl group substituted by fluorine atoms.”).
Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the terminally fluorinated glycol ether of Iwaya to Song thereby imparting nonflammability to the nonaqueous electrolyte (Iwaya, [0050]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner notes that while applicant argues that while Shi was presented on May 11, 2022, however, the date on the title page of Shi is June 2022, and it should be assumed that it was publicly available only as of that date. This is not persuasive as applicant has not presented evidence showing the presentation, of which the dissertation is a representation, does not constitute prior art. Further, the examiner further notes a co-inventor, Dr. Chi-Cheung Su, was on the Dissertation Committee and thus appears to be a disclosure of a third part to a co-inventor of the Instant application outside the one year grace period of the Instant application, and would therefore not be an exemption under 102(b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Besenhard US5916708A (discloses a terminally fluorinated glycol ether added to the electrolyte),
Chen US20120323036A1 (discloses a sulfone-based electrolyte further comprising a terminally fluorinated glycol ether).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723