DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
The amendment to the specification is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2022/0187580), hereinafter “Tang”, in view of Shim (WO 2023/018233 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1) comprising: a first lens group (G1) comprising a plurality of lenses (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a second lens group (G2) comprising a plurality of lenses (see Fig. 1, Table 1); and a third lens group (G3) comprising a plurality of lenses (see Fig. 1, Table 1); and a stop (STO) disposed between the first lens group (G1) and the second lens group (G2) (see Fig. 1, Table 1), wherein the first lens group, the second lens group, and the third lens group are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an image plane of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1), each of the second lens group (G2) and the third lens group (G3) is configured to move along the optical axis relative to the first lens group (G1) (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the plurality of lenses of the second lens group comprises at least one glass lens and at least one plastic lens (Paragraph 80), and an Abbe number of a glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group is vg2_g, an Abbe number of a plastic lens of the at least one plastic lens of the second lens group is vg2_p, and |vg2_g-vg2_p| is greater than 25 (Table 1, Paragraph 80), and an effective radius (Paragraphs 34, 69). Paragraph 34 of Tang teaches that the maximum value in the effective radii aids in ensuring the achievement of a larger aperture and imaging surface in order to improve the imaging quality. Tang discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify and a lens disposed closest to the stop among all of the lenses of the first to third lens groups has an effective radius that is larger than an effective radius of each other lens of the first to third lens groups. In the same field of endeavor, Shim discloses and a lens disposed closest to the stop among all of the lenses of the first to third lens groups has an effective radius that is larger than an effective radius of each other lens of the first to third lens groups (Pg. 10, Paragraph 2, Pg. 15, Paragraph 2 of the translation provided). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang with and a lens disposed closest to the stop among all of the lenses of the first to third lens groups has an effective radius that is larger than an effective radius of each other lens of the first to third lens groups of Shim for the purpose of providing an optical system with improved aberration characteristics and thus improved optical properties (Tech-Problem).
Regarding claim 4, Tang and Shim teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claim 1, Shim further discloses further comprising an optical path changing element (300) disposed on an object side of the first lens group and configured to change a path of light passing through the optical imaging system (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with the teachings of Shim for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Tang further discloses wherein an effective focal length of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is EFL_T, an effective focal length of the optical imaging system at a wide-angle end of the optical imaging system is EFL_W, and EFL_W/EFL_T is less than 0.7 (Table 2).
Regarding claim 6, Tang further discloses wherein an Abbe number of a lens closest to the object side of the optical imaging system among the plurality of lenses of the second lens group is vg2_1, and vg2_1 is greater than 55 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 7, Tang further discloses wherein a spacing distance on the optical axis between the first lens group and the second lens group at a wide-angle end of the optical imaging system is D12_W, a spacing distance on the optical axis between the first lens group and the second lens group at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is D12_T, and D12_T/D12_W is less than 0.3 (Table 2).
Regarding claim 8, Tang further discloses wherein a field of view at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is FOV_T, a field of view at a wide-angle end of the optical imaging system is FOV_W, and FOV_W/FOV_T is greater than 1.6 (Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Tang and Shim teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claim 1, Shim further discloses wherein a focal length of the second lens group is fg2, a focal length of the third lens group is fg3, and fg2/fg3 is greater than -0.8 (Table 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with the teachings of Shim for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Tang further discloses wherein the first lens group (G1) has a negative refractive power, the second lens group (G2) has a positive refractive power, and the third lens group (G3) has a negative refractive power (Paragraph 66, Table 1).
Regarding claim 16, Tang further discloses wherein among the plurality of lenses of the second lens group (G2), a lens (E3) closest to the object side of the optical imaging system has a positive refractive power (Paragraphs 106-107).
Regarding claim 17, Tang further discloses wherein the plurality of lenses of the third lens group (G3) comprises a lens (E6) having a positive refractive power disposed closest to the object side of the optical imaging system among the plurality of lenses of the third lens group, and a lens (E7) having a negative refractive power disposed closest to the image side of the optical imaging system among the plurality of lenses of the third lens group (G3) (Paragraphs 106-107).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (USPG Pub No. 2022/0187580) in view of Shim (WO 2023/018233 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (USPG Pub No. 2017/0184826).
Regarding claim 2, Tang and Shim disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein each plastic lens of the at least one plastic lens of the second lens group is an aspherical lens, and each glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group is a spherical lens. In the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses wherein each plastic lens of the at least one plastic lens (21) of the second lens group is an aspherical lens, and each glass lens of the at least one glass lens (22) of the second lens group is a spherical lens (Paragraph 38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang and Shim with wherein each plastic lens of the at least one plastic lens of the second lens group is an aspherical lens, and each glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group is a spherical lens of Wu for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system that corrects aberration and improved image quality (Paragraphs 26, 27). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 3, 10-12 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (USPG Pub No. 2022/0187580) in view of Shim (WO 2023/018233 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al. (USPG Pub No. 2021/0063704), hereinafter “Son”
Regarding claim 3, Tang and Shim disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein at least one lens of each of the first to third lens groups has a length in a first axial direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a length in a second axial direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction that is longer than the length in the first axial direction. In the same field of endeavor, Son discloses wherein at least one lens of each of the first to third lens groups has a length in a first axial direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a length in a second axial direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction that is longer than the length in the first axial direction (see Figs. 14-16, Paragraph 85). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang and Shim with wherein at least one lens of each of the first to third lens groups has a length in a first axial direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a length in a second axial direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction that is longer than the length in the first axial direction of Son for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system that may be mounted in a device having a relatively thin profile (Paragraph 61) and for the purpose of fixing the lens to another configuration (Paragraph 91).
Regarding claim 10, Tang and Shim disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein an F number of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is Fno_T, a field of view of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is FOV_T, and Fno_T/FOV_T is less than 0.5 (1/°). In the same field of endeavor, Son discloses wherein an F number of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is Fno_T, a field of view of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is FOV_T, and Fno_T/FOV_T is less than 0.5 (1/°) (Table 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang and Shim with wherein an F number of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is Fno_T, a field of view of the optical imaging system at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system is FOV_T, and Fno_T/FOV_T is less than 0.5 (1/°)of Son for the purpose of providing an advantageous configuration of a miniaturized optical imaging system capable of performing a zooming function (Paragraphs 5, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Tang and Shim teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claim 1, Shim further discloses wherein the plurality of lenses of the first lens group comprises at least one glass lens and at least one plastic lens, the plurality of lenses of the third lens group comprises at least one plastic lens (Pg. 10, Paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with the teachings of Shim for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1. Tang and Shim disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify and an effective radius of a glass lens having a largest effective radius among the glass lenses of the first and second lens groups is MAX_GED, an effective radius of a plastic lens having a smallest effective radius among the plastic lenses of the first to third lens groups is MIN_PED, and MAX_GED/MIN_PED is greater than 1 and less than 1.7. In the same field of endeavor, Son discloses and an effective radius of a glass lens having a largest effective radius among the glass lenses of the first and second lens groups is MAX_GED, an effective radius of a plastic lens having a smallest effective radius among the plastic lenses of the first to third lens groups is MIN_PED, and MAX_GED/MIN_PED is greater than 1 and less than 1.7 (Table 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang and Shim with and an effective radius of a glass lens having a largest effective radius among the glass lenses of the first and second lens groups is MAX_GED, an effective radius of a plastic lens having a smallest effective radius among the plastic lenses of the first to third lens groups is MIN_PED, and MAX_GED/MIN_PED is greater than 1 and less than 1.7 of Son for the purpose of providing an advantageous configuration of a miniaturized optical imaging system capable of performing a zooming function (Paragraphs 5, 6). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Lastly, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 12, Tang and Shim teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claim 1, Shim further discloses wherein the plurality of lenses of the first lens group comprises at least one glass lens and at least one plastic lens (Pg. 10, Paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang with the teachings of Shim for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1. Tang and Shim disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify and an effective radius of a glass lens having a largest effective radius among the glass lenses of the first and second lens groups is MAX_GED, one half of a diagonal length of the image plane of the optical imaging system is IMG HT, and MAX_GED/IMG HT is greater than 1 and less than 1.4. In the same field of endeavor, Son discloses and an effective radius of a glass lens having a largest effective radius among the glass lenses of the first and second lens groups is MAX_GED, one half of a diagonal length of the image plane of the optical imaging system is IMG HT, and MAX_GED/IMG HT is greater than 1 and less than 1.4 (Table 13, Paragraph 231). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang and Shim with and an effective radius of a glass lens having a largest effective radius among the glass lenses of the first and second lens groups is MAX_GED, one half of a diagonal length of the image plane of the optical imaging system is IMG HT, and MAX_GED/IMG HT is greater than 1 and less than 1.4 of Son for the purpose of providing an advantageous configuration of a miniaturized optical imaging system capable of performing a zooming function (Paragraphs 5, 6). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 18, Tang discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1) comprising: a first lens group (G1) comprising a plurality of lenses and having a negative refractive power (see Fig. 1, Table 1); a second lens group (G2) comprising a plurality of lenses and having a positive refractive power (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 66); and a third lens group (G3) comprising a plurality of lenses and having a negative refractive power (see Fig. 1, Paragraph 66), wherein the first lens group, the second lens group, and the third lens group are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an image side of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 1, Table 1), each of the second lens group (G2) and the third lens group (G3) is configured to move along the optical axis relative to the first lens group (G1) (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the optical imaging system further comprises a stop (STO) disposed between the first lens group (G1) and the second lens group (G2) (see Fig. 1, Table 1), the plurality of lenses of the second lens group comprises at least one glass lens and at least one plastic lens (Paragraph 80), and an effective radius (Paragraphs 34, 69). Paragraph 34 of Tang teaches that the maximum value in the effective radii aids in ensuring the achievement of a larger aperture and imaging surface in order to improve the imaging quality. Tang discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify a glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group has a length in a first axial direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a length in a second axial direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction that is longer than the length in the first axial direction, and a lens disposed closest to the stop among all of the lenses of the first to third lens groups has an effective radius that is larger than an effective radius of each other lens of the first to third lens groups.
In the same field of endeavor, Son discloses a glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group has a length in a first axial direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a length in a second axial direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction that is longer than the length in the first axial direction (see Figs. 14-16, Paragraph 85). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang with and a glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group has a length in a first axial direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a length in a second axial direction perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction that is longer than the length in the first axial direction of Son for the purpose of providing an optical imaging system that may be mounted in a device having a relatively thin profile (Paragraph 61) and for the purpose of fixing the lens to another configuration (Paragraph 91).
In addition, in the same field of endeavor, Shim discloses and a lens disposed closest to the stop among all of the lenses of the first to third lens groups has an effective radius that is larger than an effective radius of each other lens of the first to third lens groups (Pg. 10, Paragraph 2, Pg. 15, Paragraph 2 of the translation provided). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical imaging system of Tang with and a lens disposed closest to the stop among all of the lenses of the first to third lens groups has an effective radius that is larger than an effective radius of each other lens of the first to third lens groups of Shim for the purpose of providing an optical system with improved aberration characteristics and thus improved optical properties (Tech-Problem).
Regarding claim 19, Tang further discloses wherein an Abbe number of a glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the second lens group is vg2_g, an Abbe number of a plastic lens of the at least one plastic lens of the second lens group is vg2p, and |vg2_g-vg2_p| is greater than 25 and less than 35.
Regarding claim 20, Tang, Son and Shim teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claim 18, Shim further discloses wherein the plurality of lenses of the first lens group comprises at least one glass lens and at least one plastic lens, the plurality of lenses of the third lens group comprises at least one plastic lens (Pg. 10, Paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang and Son with the teachings of Shim for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 18.
Regarding claim 21, Tang, Son and Shim teach the optical imaging system set forth above for claim 20, Shim further discloses wherein an Abbe number of a glass lens of the at least one glass lens of the first lens group is vg1_g, an Abbe number of a plastic lens of the at least one plastic lens of the first lens group is vg1_p, and |vg1_g-vg1_p| is greater than 30 (Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical imaging system of Tang and Son with the teachings of Shim for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Tang in view of Shim addresses the subject matter challenged by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2/5/2026