DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restriction
In response to the species requirement and Applicant’s election with traverse, the traverse is not persuasive. Since Applicant elected first species (claims 1-4, 6-8 and 14-26), Examiner examined the elected species.
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 14-26 are drawn to the first species (fig. 16). First species drawn to render device perspective, which renders and splits frames; generates PPDUs and queuing MSDUs. Claims 27-36 are drawn to the second species. Second species drawn to a display device perspective, which is directed toward obtaining PPDUs associated with an application file, flushing the REO queue after obtaining the indication. First species does not include the step of obtaining at a reorder (REO) queue of the device and flushing the REO queue. The inventions would require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14-17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ding et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0100421) in view of Wentink (US Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0230200).
Regarding claim 1, Ding et al discloses a method performed by a device (paragraph 8 [first device]), comprising:
rendering a plurality of frames to be provided to a second device (see at least paragraph 8 discloses a first device generating first data to be transmitted to an access point);
splitting each frame of the plurality of frames into a plurality of application files (see at least paragraph 8 discloses dividing the first data into a first data fragment and a second data fragment); and
for each application file of the plurality of application files:
generating a plurality of physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data units (PPDUs) to include the application file (paragraph 112 discloses that the first data includes the first PPDU; second data includes the second PPDU), wherein:
each PPDU includes one or more media access control layer (MAC) service data units (MSDUs) associated with the application file (paragraph 115 discloses that the first PPDU includes first MPDU which includes MSDU; which includes first fragment; further see paragraph 116); and
queuing the MSDUs for transmission to the second device (paragraph 75 discloses that MSDU to queue for transmission to access point).
Ding et al specifically does not disclose the application file is identified by a port number and a differentiated services field codepoint (DSCP) value included in each MSDU of the plurality of PPDUs.
However, Wentink from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the application file is identified by a port number and a differentiated services field codepoint (DSCP) value included in each MSDU of the plurality of PPDUs (see at least paragraphs 9 and 41 discloses stream of video data frame wherein the DSCP value identifies the layered modulation scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Wentink into the system of Ding et al for purpose of transmitting video data frames from source station to destination station; wherein the DSCP value identifies the layered modulation scheme.
Regarding claim 2, Wentink discloses queuing the MSDUs includes generating an MSDU queue in software for each application file, wherein each MSDU queue is identified by an internet protocol (IP) address, port number, and DSCP value (see at least paragraphs 38 and 41). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Wentink discloses each application file is associated with a traffic identifier (TID) that is associated with an access category (AC) of the application file (see at least paragraphs 41 and 42). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Ding et al discloses a device (paragraph 8 [first device]) configured for an extended reality (XR) experience, comprising: an interface (paragraph 31 [wireless interface]); and a processing system that includes one or more processors (paragraph 31 [processor]) and one or more memories (paragraph 31 [memory]) coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to:
render a plurality of frames to be provided to a second device (see at least paragraph 8 discloses a first device generating first data to be transmitted to an access point);
split each frame of the plurality of frames into a plurality of application files (see at least paragraph 8 discloses dividing the first data into a first data fragment and a second data fragment); and
for each application file of the plurality of application files:
generate a plurality of physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data units (PPDUs) to include the application file (paragraph 112 discloses that the first data includes the first PPDU; second data includes the second PPDU), wherein:
each PPDU includes one or more media access control layer (MAC) service data units (MSDUs) associated with the application file (paragraph 115 discloses that the first PPDU includes first MPDU which includes MSDU; which includes first fragment; further see paragraph 116); and
queue the MSDUs for transmission to the second device (paragraph 75 discloses that MSDU to queue for transmission to access point).
Ding et al specifically does not disclose the application file is identified by a port number and a differentiated services field codepoint (DSCP) value included in each MSDU of the plurality of PPDUs.
However, Wentink from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the application file is identified by a port number and a differentiated services field codepoint (DSCP) value included in each MSDU of the plurality of PPDUs (see at least paragraphs 9 and 41 discloses stream of video data frame wherein the DSCP value identifies the layered modulation scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Wentink into the system of Ding et al for purpose of transmitting video data frames from source station to destination station; wherein the DSCP value identifies the layered modulation scheme.
Regarding claim 15, Wentink discloses queuing the MSDUs includes generating an MSDU queue in software for each application file, wherein each MSDU queue is identified by an internet protocol (IP) address, port number, and DSCP value (see at least paragraphs 37 and 41). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Wentink discloses each application file is associated with a traffic identifier (TID) that is associated with an access category (AC) of the application file (see at least paragraphs 41 and 42). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Wentink discloses the AC of the application file is associated with a priority of the application file (see at least paragraphs 41 and 42). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, Ding et al discloses the device includes a software enabled access point (SAP); and the second device includes a head mounted display (HMD) (see at least paragraphs 139).
Claims 4, 18, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ding et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0100421) in view of Wentink (US Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0230200) and further in view of Zhao et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0207834).
Regarding claim 4, Wentink discloses the AC of the application file is associated with a priority of the application file (see at least paragraphs 41 and 42). Same motivation as claim 1.
Ding et al and Wentink specifically do not disclose wherein the priority of the application file depends on whether the application file is a i-slice or a p-slice.
However, Zhao et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the priority of the application file depends on whether the application file is a i-slice or a p-slice (see at least paragraph 37 discloses frames can be i-slice, p-slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Zhao et al into the system of Ding et al and Wentink for purpose of packets having slice; wherein partitions the data at the frame priority level.
Regarding claim 18, Ding et al and Wentink specifically do not disclose wherein the priority of the application file depends on whether the application file is a i-slice or a p-slice.
However, Zhao et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the priority of the application file depends on whether the application file is a i-slice or a p-slice (see at least paragraph 37 discloses frames can be i-slice, p-slice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Zhao et al into the system of Ding et al and Wentink for purpose of packets having slice; wherein partitions the data at the frame priority level.
Regarding claim 24, Zhao et al discloses the device is configured to use forward error correction (FEC) for transmitting one or more PPDUs to the second device (see at least paragraph 41). Same motivation as claim 4.
Regarding claim 25, Zhao et al discloses use of FEC for transmitting one or more PPDUs to the second device is associated with one or more of: a link quality between the device and the second device; one or more parameters of the second device; or one or more parameters of the plurality of frames (see at least paragraph 41). Same motivation as claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 19-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Chu et al (US Pat. No. 10,454,626) directed toward MSDU divided into plurality of fragments and intended for a communication device.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642