DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the amendment, filed 7/29/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beadles (US 2014/0319209 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code, comprising:
storing at least one image in a database [0066 & 0067];
storing at least one media recording in the database, the at least one media recording being associated with the at least one image [0066 & 0067];
inserting the at least one image and the at least one media recording into a first dataset [0066 & 0067];
generating at least one QR code unique to the first dataset [0070, 0071, & 0106]; and
instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to retrieve the first dataset from the database and initiate media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device, wherein the computing device comprises a camera configured to scan the QR code and a display configured to present the retrieved image and media content [0017, 0071 & 0077].
Regarding claim 2, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 1, wherein the at least one image is an image in a printed document [0066 & 0072].
Regarding claim 3, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 1, wherein the at least one image is an image in a digital document [0120].
Regarding claim 4, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 1, wherein the at least one image is an image in a printed document and the QR code is in the printed document [0066, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 5, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 1, further comprising instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to display the at least one image on a display of the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 6, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 1, further comprising: storing at least one text data in the database; and inserting the at least one text data, the at least one image, and the at least one media recording into a first dataset [0066, 0067, & 0071].
Regarding claim 7, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 6, further comprising instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to display the at least one text data on a display of the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 8, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 6, further comprising: instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to display the at least one text data and the at least one image on a display of the computing device; and instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, the computing device to initiate media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 9, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 8, further comprising: storing at least one second image in a database; storing at least one media second recording in the database, the at least one second media recording being associated with the at least one second image; inserting the at least one second image and the at least one second media recording into a second dataset; generating at least one second QR code unique to the second dataset; and instructing, upon reading the at least one second QR code, a computing device to initiate media playback of the at least one second media recording on the computing device [0066, 0070, & 0071].
Regarding claim 10, Beadles discloses a system for enabling media recording playback via QR code as in claim 1, further comprising initiating media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 11, Beadles discloses a software platform comprising:
at least one computing device in operable connection with a network; a memory that stores computer-executable components; a processor that executes a computer program product comprising computer-executable components stored in the memory [0066-0070], wherein the computer-executable components comprising:
storing a plurality of data sets in a database, each data set within the plurality of datasets comprising at least one image data and at least one media recording data [0066 & 0067];
generating at least one QR code unique to each data set in the plurality of data sets [0070, 0071, & 0106]; and
instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code via a computing device, the computing device to retrieve the first dataset from the database and initiate media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device, wherein the computing device comprises a camera configured to scan the QR code and a display configured to present the retrieved image and media content [0017, 0071 & 0077].
Regarding claim 12, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 11, further comprising: generating a webpage containing the at least one image; and instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code via a computing device, the computing device to display the webpage on a display of the computing device [0068-0071].
Regarding claim 13, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 11, wherein the at least one image is an image in a printed document and the at least one QR code is in the printed document [0066, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 14, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 11, further comprising instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to display the at least one image on a display of the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 15, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 11, further comprising: storing at least one text data in the database; and inserting the at least one text data, the at least one image, and the at least one media recording into a first dataset [0066, 0067, & 0071].
Regarding claim 16, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 15, further comprising instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to display the at least one text data on a display of the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 17, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 15, further comprising: instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, a computing device to display the at least one text data and the at least one image on a display of the computing device; and instructing, upon reading the at least one QR code, the computing device to initiate media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 18, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 17, further comprising: storing at least one second image in a database; storing at least one media second recording in the database, the at least one second media recording being associated with the at least one second image; inserting the at least one second image and the at least one second media recording into a second dataset; generating at least one second QR code unique to the second dataset; and instructing, upon reading the at least one second QR code, a computing device to initiate media playback of the at least one second media recording on the computing device [0066, 0070, & 0071].
Regarding claim 19, Beadles discloses a software platform as in claim 18, further comprising initiating media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device [0071, 0072, & 0077].
Regarding claim 20, Beadles discloses a software platform comprising:
a database engine configured to store and manage multimedia content [0066-0070], the multimedia content comprising:
at least one image stored in the database [0066 & 0067];
at least one media recording stored in the database, the at least one media recording being associated with the at least one image [0066, 0067, & 0071];
a QR module operatively coupled to the database engine, the QR module configured to:
generate a first dataset comprising the at least one image and the at least one media recording [0067, 0070, & 0092];
generate at least one QR code uniquely associated with the first dataset, the QR code comprising a tag identifying the dataset location in the database [0067, 0070, & 0092];
a media module configured to associate the at least one media recording with the tag and to manage media streaming or playback requests initiated by a computing device [0016, 0070, & 0092]; and
a computing device in operable communication with the system via a network, the computing device comprising a camera, a display, and a speaker [0017, 0069, & 0071], the computing device configured to:
scan the at least one QR code using the camera; transmit the tag extracted from the QR code to the system; receive the first dataset from the database in response to the tag; display the at least one image from the first dataset on the display; and initiate media playback of the at least one media recording from the first dataset via the speaker [0017, 0069, & 0071].
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, see pages 7-8, that Beadles fails to teach or fairly suggest the newly amended portions of claims 1, 11, and 20. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1, 11, & 20 have been amended to include the limitations of “a computing device to retrieve the first dataset from the database and initiate media playback of the at least one media recording on the computing device, wherein the computing device comprises a camera configured to scan the QR code and a display configured to present the retrieved image and media content”. Beadles clearly discloses that a user may upload files, such as video, audio, and/or image files, to be stored in a database, see paragraphs [0066 & 0067], and wherein a smartphone can be used to capture a 2D barcode, such as a QR code, and retrieve any files or media stored and associated with the code, see paragraphs [0016, 0067, 0070, 0071, & 0129]. These files, which may be video, audio, and/or image files, can then be displayed, played, and/or heard via the display and speakers of the smartphone, see paragraphs [0017, 0069, 0071, & 0078]. Therefore, the teachings of Beadles clearly meeting the newly amended claim limitations. The claims have been rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876