Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse (DE 102019119194 A1).
With regard to claims 1-6, Hesse teaches a refrigerant mixture comprising carbon dioxide (first component, CO2 or R744, Abstract), a fluorinated hydrocarbon such as monofluoromethane (second component, R41, para 0011), and a hydrocarbon such as ethane (third component, R170, para 0010) at a temperature glide of less than 5 K (para 0023). Hesse teaches the preferred mass percentages of the ternary mixture as: carbon dioxide ranging from 20% to 50% (para 0017), monofluoromethane ranging from 0% to 26% (para 0018) and 34% to 72% (para 0019), and ethane ranging from 1% to 6% (para 0017). The preferred concentration of carbon dioxide and monofluoromethane overlap those claimed. Hesse teaches the incorporation of ethane leads to almost azeotropic behavior (para 0003). Hesse further teaches the incorporation of a hydrocarbon such as ethane behaves favorably with lubricants so the lubricant can be transported from the evaporator back to the compressor even at very low temperatures and that providing a high proportion of ethane/hydrocarbon can enable operation at low evaporation temperatures down to as low as -80°C, which reads on or overlaps a bubble point below 0°C to -80°C (para. 0003).
However, Hesse fails to explicitly teach a higher concentration of ethane at the claimed ranges.
With regard to the concentration of ethane, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to increase the mass concentration of ethane in Hesse’s composition in order to obtain an azeotropic composition comprising carbon dioxide, monofluoromethane, and ethane. With respect to optimal ranges, it is not inventive to discover such regimens by routine experimentation when general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP §2144.05(II). The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect the modification to improve lubricant transport behavior and operation at very low evaporation temperatures with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761