DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are currently pending. Claim 16 has been added as new. Claim 4 has been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 14-15 have been currently amended. Claims 9-13 have been withdrawn.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 11/13/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 17/954,502 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application No. ‘502 have claims drawn to a liquid crystal polyester fiber having a total amount of carboxy end groups of 5.0 mEq/Kg or less and a tenacity of 18 cN/dtex or higher, wherein the liquid crystal polyester fiber is heat treated ( see claims 4-7 of copending application ‘502). Both the instant claims and copending application ‘502 recite open claim language, “comprising”; therefore, other components may be included in their respective inventions such as metallic element selected from Group 8 to 11 of Periodic Table. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the heat-treated liquid crystal polyester fiber of copending application ‘502 to include metallic compound as recited by the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ikehata et al. (US 2023/0055144 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 14 and 16, Ikehata et al. teach ( see abstract, claims and examples) comprising a heat-treated liquid crystal polyester fiber ( see abstract, examples and paragraphs [0076, 0084 & 0098]), wherein the heat-treated liquid crystal polyester fiber has a tenacity of 18 cN/dtex or higher ( abstract, claims and examples) and at least one metallic element selected from the group consisting of metallic elements from Group 8 to Group II in Periodic Table ( Iron (Fe); [0097]). The liquid crystal polyester constituting the heat-treated liquid crystal polyester consist of a combination of structural units represented by formulas (1) to (16) and (18) ( See tables 2, 3 and 4 in paragraphs [0040-0042]). The liquid crystal polyester fiber has single fiber fineness of 0.5 to 50 dtex ( See Examples and [0059]). The liquid crystal polyester suitably used in Ikehata may preferably have a melting point in the range from 250 to 380° C [0047]. Ikehata et al. teach that the amount of CO2 gas generation amount was evaluated by pyrolysis GC-BID method for the heat-treated liquid crystal polyester fiber ( see Examples and [0124]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (WO 2020/166316 A1; citations from EP 3926081 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-8 and 14-16, Tanaka et al. teach a heat-treated liquid crystal polyester fiber (abstract, claims, examples and paragraphs [0002 and 0013]) comprising at least one metallic element selected from the group consisting of metallic element from Group 8 to Group II in Periodic Table ( iron (Fe); [0033 & 0056] and examples) and a content amount of 10.0 wt% or less of an alkaline earth metal or alkaline metal [0057-0059]. Tanaka et al. teach a single fiber fineness of 0.5 to 50 dtex ( 1 to 30 dtex; [0038]). Tanaka et al. teach a liquid crystal polyester having the structural units of formula (1) as instantly claimed ( see claims 8 and 9).
Tanaka et al. recognize that the liquid crystal polyester fiber is obtained by melt spinning to obtain an as spun-yarn and subjecting the yarn to a heat treatment ( [0041-0050] and examples. Further regards to instant claims, it is noted that Tanaka et al.. teach the same liquid crystal polyester as well as the same liquid crystal polyester fiber recited by independent claim 1 and 15. Therefore, the chemical properties of total CEG amount, total amount of one-end groups, fiber fineness, tenacity and melting point of the liquid crystal polyester as well as liquid crystal polyester fiber would inherently be included in the liquid crystal polyester of Tanaka et al. A reference that is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. Inherency is not established by probabilities or possibilities. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
It is noted that Tanaka et al. teach the same metallic compounds as recited by independent claims. Therefore, the chemical properties of melting point would inherently be included in the metallic compounds of Tanaka et al. A reference that is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. Inherency is not established by probabilities or possibilities. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
Further regards to the instant claims, it is noted that the temperature, molecular weight, melting point, , tenacity and etc. are all well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art to be optimizable. Although Tanaka et al. et al. may not specifically recite one or more properties of the liquid crystal composition, polyester or fibers as instantly claimed, a person skilled in the art could, as appropriate, for example, optimize the molecular weight, etc. of a liquid-crystal polyester in accordance with desired physical properties, regulate the melting point of a starting material in accordance with desired processability, or adopt a method in which a melt-kneaded mixture is ejected from a nozzle and spun in liquid crystal polyester fiber production. No special effect is considered to be produced by any of these features. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Declaration
Applicant’s declaration with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the declaration
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737