DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-5 & 8 variously recite “the/said projections” and “the/said internal projections.” As the initial limitation in Ln. 3 of claim 1 reads “one or more internal projections” all subsequent limitations should read “the/said one or more internal projections” for consistency with claim 1 and to clearly identify that the claim is not positively required multiple internal projections. Note, however, that the limitation on Ln. 3 of claim 2 should not read “the one or more internal projections” because Ln. 2 of claim 2 has positively recited “ribs” in plural which means claim 2 must have more than one internal projection.
Claim 7, Ln. 4 recites “the projection” which should read “the internal projection” for consistency
Claims 8, 10 & 12 each recite “the ET tube” which should read “the endotracheal tube” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 9, Ln. 1 recites “the one or more projections” which should read “the one or more internal projections” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 10, Ln. 2 recites “a distal tip portion” which should read “the distal tip portion” following after claim 1
Claim 15, Ln. 2 recites “a distal end” which should read “the distal end” following after claim 1
Claim 18, Ln. 1 recites “an ET tube” which should read “the endotracheal tube” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 18, Ln. 2 recites “an endotracheal tube” which should read “the endotracheal tube” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 19 begins “The intubation system of claim 18” while all other claims use the language “according to claim XX.” It is suggested to amend the claim to read “The intubation system according to claim 18.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the tube” in Ln. 1which deems the claim indefinite. Claim 1 has recited two different tubes which leads to confusion as to which tube is being herein referred to. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the endotracheal tube.”
Claim 11 recites the limitations “the main tube body” in Ln. 2 and “the device” in Ln. 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim. It appears the claim is intending to refer to the main body portion recited in claim 10. Thus, for the purposes of examination the claim will be read as dependent on claim 10 and the limitations will be respectively interpreted as reading “the main body portion” and “the endotracheal tube.”
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the device” in Ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the endotracheal tube.”
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control mechanism” in claim 19.
The corresponding structure for the “control mechanism” is best understood from the specification as at least: actuator 107 (¶0105; Fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 12-16 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/200,741 in view of Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548). Reference claim 11 includes all limitations of instant claim 1 with the exception of the specificity that the [one or more] internal projections are tapered in at least one direction.
Agdanowski teaches an endotracheal tube (Figs. 1-2 #14; Col. 2, Ln. 65-68) comprising one or more internal projections (Figs. 2-3 #58; Col. 3, Ln. 62 – Col. 4, Ln. 10), said one or more internal projections projecting radially inwardly (Figs. 2-3 #58 radially inward from #36) from an internal wall surface (Figs. 2-3 #36) of a distal tip portion of the endotracheal tube (Fig. 2 #58 at distal tip portion of the tube), wherein the one or more internal projections are tapered in at least one direction (Fig. 2 – longitudinal tapering at opposite ends or Fig. 3 rounded upper tip; Col. 6, Ln. 40-47 – inclined to serve as ramp). Agdanowski teaches a tapering of the internal projections as providing the benefit of supplying a ramp to guide an inner catheter into proper position (Col. 6, Ln. 40-47).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in reference claim 11 the [one or more] internal projections are tapered in at least one direction in order to provide the benefit of supplying a ramp to guide an inner catheter into proper position in view of Agdanowski.
A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claims 2-6 vs. Agdanowski (see 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 2-6 below)
Instant claim 8 as obvious in view of Agdanowski (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 8 below)
Instant claims 12-14 as obvious in view of Agdanowski (see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 12-14 below). Note also the obviousness versus instant claims 12-14 rendered by the helically wound, meshed or braided reinforcement structure recited in reference claim 1.
Instant claim 15 vs. Agdanowski (see 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 15 below)
Instant claim 16 vs. limitations in reference claim 1
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim(s) 17 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/200,741 in view of Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548) and further in view of O’Neil et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0313896). Reference claim 11 is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube comprises a material having a Shore A Hardness in a range of from 60 to 75.
Agdanowski does disclose a material of the endotracheal tube can include polyvinyl chloride (Col. 3, Ln. 11-17). O’Neil teaches an endotracheal tube (Fig. 1; ¶0031) which can be made from a material such as polyvinyl chloride (¶¶0033-0034) and have a Shore A Hardness of 70 (¶0044). O’Neil teaches the claimed Shore A Hardness is a common and expected value for an endotracheal tube material (¶¶0033-0034, 0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in reference claim 11 the endotracheal tube comprises a material having a Shore A Hardness in a range of from 60 to 75 based upon a common use of polyvinyl chloride having Shore A Hardness within the claimed range when making an endotracheal tube in view of O’Neil.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/200,741 in view of Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548) and further in view of Poormand (U.S. Pub. 2020/0297957). Reference claim 11 is silent as to a stylet for guiding the endotracheal tube during intubation.
Poormand teaches an intubation kit (Figs. 9-11) including a stylet (Figs. 1a-1b; ¶¶0045, 0063-0065) for guiding an endotracheal tube (Figs. 9-11 #101; ¶0063-0065) during intubation. Poormand teaches a stylet as providing the benefit of assisting a clinician during patient intubation (¶¶0006-0007, 0063-0065).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in reference claim 11 a stylet for guiding the endotracheal tube during intubation in order to provide the benefit of assisting a clinician during patient intubation in view of Poormand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548).
Regarding claim 1, Agdanowski discloses an endotracheal tube (Figs. 1-2 #14; Col. 2, Ln. 65-68) having a body (Fig. 2 body of #14) comprising a flexible hollow tube (Fig. 2 #24; Col. 3, Ln. 4-7) with a distal end for insertion into a patient's trachea during intubation (Figs. 1-2 #16), and an opposite proximal end (Fig. 1 end outside of patient’s mouth); wherein the endotracheal tube comprises one or more internal projections (Figs. 2-3 #58; Col. 3, Ln. 62 – Col. 4, Ln. 10), said one or more internal projections projecting radially inwardly (Figs. 2-3 #58 radially inward from #36) from an internal wall surface (Figs. 2-3 #36) of a distal tip portion of the endotracheal tube (Fig. 2 #58 at distal tip portion of the tube), wherein the one or more internal projections are tapered in at least one direction (Fig. 2 – longitudinal tapering at opposite ends or Fig. 3 rounded upper tip; Col. 6, Ln. 40-47 – inclined to serve as ramp). Meanings of the phrase “projecting radially inwardly” and the term “tapered” are discussed in ¶¶0014-0015 of the instant specification.
Regarding claim 2, Agdanowski discloses the one or more internal projections comprise elongate ribs (Fig. 2 #58 are elongated) having an extension direction which is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the endotracheal tube (Fig. 2), and wherein the one or more internal projections are tapered along said extension direction (Fig. 2; Col. 6, Ln. 40-47 – inclined to serve as ramp).
Regarding claim 3, Agdanowski discloses the one or more internal projections are tapered such that a proximal portion of the one or more internal projections has a lower height than a distal portion of the one or more internal projections (Fig. 2 virtually no height at proximal end of #58 while some height before distal end of #58). It is noted that the claimed “proximal portion” and “distal portion” only require the reading of an individually selectable part of the internal projections. The claim is not understood to imply that another distal portion of the internal projection could not have the same lower height as the claimed proximal portion.
Regarding claim 4, Agdanowski discloses the one or more internal projections comprise a first portion (Fig. 2 rightward portion of #58 tapered downward to the right) which is tapered in a first direction, and a second portion (Fig. 2 leftward portion of #58 tapered downward to the left or Fig. 3 #58 tapered at its upper tip) which is tapered in a second direction, different to the first direction.
Regarding claim 5, Agdanowski discloses the one or more internal projections are integrally formed with the internal wall surface (Figs. 2-3; Col. 3, Ln. 62-68).
Regarding claim 6, Agdanowski discloses at least one internal projection is located along the axis of the longest longitudinal dimension of the distal tip portion (Fig. 2). It is noted that the “internal projection” of the instant claim is clearly understood to refer back to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Agdanowski discloses the endotracheal tube further comprises an inflatable cuff (Fig. 2 #26; Col. 3, Ln. 4-8) provided at or near the distal end of the endotracheal tube.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9-10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeLuccia et al. (U.S. Patent 4502482).
Regarding claim 1, DeLuccia discloses an endotracheal tube (Figs. 10-12 #110; Col. 7-8) having a body (Fig. 10 body of #110) comprising a flexible hollow tube (e.g. Fig. 1; inherently flexible to allow positioning within trachea) with a distal end for insertion into a patient's trachea during intubation (Fig. 10 right end), and an opposite proximal end (Fig. 1 end outside of patient’s mouth); wherein the endotracheal tube comprises one or more internal projections (Fig. 12 #142; Col. 7, Ln. 68 – Col. 8, Ln. 31), said one or more internal projections projecting radially inwardly (Fig. 12 #142 are radially inward from main material of #122) from an internal wall surface (Fig. 12 inner wall of #122) of a distal tip portion of the endotracheal tube (Fig. 12), wherein the one or more internal projections are tapered in at least one direction (Fig. 12 ramped tapering of #142). Meanings of the phrase “projecting radially inwardly” and the term “tapered” are discussed in ¶¶0014-0015 of the instant specification. It is noted that the instant disclosure indicates the endotracheal tube’s body need not be a single piece of material (e.g. instant claim 10).
Regarding claim 3, DeLuccia discloses the one or more internal projections are tapered such that a proximal portion of the one or more internal projections has a lower height than a distal portion of the one or more internal projections (Fig. 12 left side leading toward #142 is shorter than peak height at #142).
Regarding claim 5, DeLuccia discloses the one or more internal projections are integrally formed with the internal wall surface (Fig. 12 #142 integral with #122).
Regarding claim 6, DeLuccia discloses at least one internal projection is located along the axis of the longest longitudinal dimension of the distal tip portion (Fig. 12). It is noted that the “internal projection” of the instant claim is clearly understood to refer back to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, DeLuccia discloses the one or more internal projections comprise a shoulder portion (Fig. 13 portion of #142 shown engaging #144) comprising an axially facing detent surface.
Regarding claim 10, DeLuccia discloses the endotracheal tube body comprises a main body portion (Figs. 10 & 12 #112) and the distal tip portion (Figs. 10 & 12 #122), said portions being provided as separate components (Fig. 10)
Regarding claim 15, DeLuccia discloses the endotracheal tube further comprises an inflatable cuff (Fig. 1 #26; Col. 8, Ln. 38-40) provided at or near the distal end of the endotracheal tube.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548).
Regarding claim 8, Agdanowski discloses the size of the one or more internal projection(s) is selected to restrict the maximum dimension of a central lumen of the endotracheal tube in at least one direction (Figs. 2-3 – restricted dimension between #58).
Agdanowski is silent as to whether said maximum dimension of the restricted portion of the lumen being in a range of from 4 mm to 7 mm.
It is noted that the claim does not require the restricted portion to be located in any singular position of the central lumen. It is thus considered that Agdanowski teaches and illustrates spacers 58 as inclined with a ramp design (Fig. 2; Col. 6, Ln. 40-47). Thus, the amount of the central lumen restricted by spacers 58 varies directly with the height of spacers 58 at any single cross-sectional position along the ramp. Agdanowski further teaches an adult endotracheal tube may commonly have an inner diameter of 7.5 mm (Col. 6, Ln. 64-65). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that endotracheal tubes may be provided in a variety of larger or smaller diameter sizes based upon the size of the patient being treated. Taking together the inner diameter expressly discussed by Agdanowski along with the variable size of restriction along the ramped structure of spacers 58 one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered it prima facie obvious that at least at some portion along the ramped structure of spacers 58 a cross-sectional measure between opposed spacers 58 would have measured a distance of between 4 mm and 7 mm. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over Agdanowski.
Regarding claim 12, Agdanowski is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube is configured such that the distal tip portion of the endotracheal tube resists buckling at applied axial loads of 20 N or more.
It is however noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would obviously expect an endotracheal tube having a larger diameter to present greater wall thickness and thus greater resistance to buckling. Agdanowski illustrates in Fig. 3 six equally, circumferentially placed spacers 58 at the distal tip. One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously expect the spacers 58 to increase the resistance to buckling in that location. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the distal tip of Agdanowski to have presented a greater resistance to buckling than in the remainder of tube 14. The specific value recited by the instant claim for the buckling resistance is not found to be of such an increased magnitude over the expected buckling of a common endotracheal tube such that the increased resistance created by spacers 58 would not be expected to render the claimed resistance a result-effective variable obviously expected to be found during ordinary experimentation and optimization of the endotracheal tube of Agdanowski. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over Agdanowski.
Regarding claim 13, Agdanowski is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube is configured to bend at an applied torque of 1 Nm or less
However, Agdanowski clearly intends a suitable flexibility for tube 14 in order to allow ease of intubation into a patient (e.g. Fig. 1). The specific value recited by the instant claim for the bending torque is not found to be of such a reduced magnitude over the expected flexibility of a common endotracheal tube such that the claimed bending torque would not be expected to be found as a result-effective variable obviously arrived at during ordinary experimentation and optimization of the endotracheal tube of Agdanowski. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over Agdanowski.
Regarding claim 14, Agdanowski is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube is configured to resist collapse at an applied pressure up to and including 300 cmH2O.
However, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the danger to a patient’s life of an endotracheal tube which may collapse during use. The specific value recited by the instant claim for the resistance to collapse is not found to be of such an increased magnitude over the expected collapse resistance design of a common endotracheal tube such that the increased resistance created by spacers 58, or merely inherent to the material of tube 14, would not be expected to render the claimed resistance to collapse a result-effective variable obviously expected to be found during ordinary experimentation and optimization of the endotracheal tube of Agdanowski. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over Agdanowski.
Claim(s) 8 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuccia et al. (U.S. Patent 4502482).
Regarding claim 8, DeLuccia discloses the size of the one or more internal projection(s) is selected to restrict the maximum dimension of a central lumen of the endotracheal tube in at least one direction (Fig. 12 – restricted dimension between #142).
DeLuccia is silent as to whether said maximum dimension of the restricted portion of the lumen being in a range of from 4 mm to 7 mm.
It is noted that the claim does not require the restricted portion to be located in any singular position of the central lumen. It is thus considered that DeLuccia teaches an illustrates protuberances 142 as inclined with a ramp design (Fig. 12). Thus, the amount of the central lumen restricted by protuberances 142 varies directly with the height of protuberances 142 at any single cross-sectional position along the ramp. DeLuccia further teaches endotracheal tubes are known to be provided having an inner diameter in a range of 4 mm to 12 mm and that the introducer will have an internal diameter of 3 mm to 12 mm (Col. 10, Ln. 38-49). Taking together the inner diameters discussed by DeLuccia along with the variable size of restriction along the ramped structure of protuberances 142one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered it prima facie obvious that at least at some portion along the ramped structure of protuberances 142a cross-sectional measure between opposed protuberances 142 would have measured a distance of between 4 mm and 7 mm. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over DeLuccia.
Regarding claim 13, DeLuccia is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube is configured to bend at an applied torque of 1 Nm or less
However, DeLuccia clearly intends a suitable flexibility for tube 112 in order to allow ease of intubation into a patient (e.g. Fig. 5). The specific value recited by the instant claim for the bending torque is not found to be of such a reduced magnitude over the expected flexibility of a common endotracheal tube such that the claimed bending torque would not be expected to be found as a result-effective variable obviously arrived at during ordinary experimentation and optimization of the endotracheal tube of DeLuccia. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over DeLuccia.
Regarding claim 14, DeLuccia is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube is configured to resist collapse at an applied pressure up to and including 300 cmH2O.
However, one of ordinary skill would have recognized the danger to a patient’s life of an endotracheal tube which may collapse during use. The specific value recited by the instant claim for the resistance to collapse is not found to be of such an increased magnitude over the expected collapse resistance design of a common endotracheal tube such that the material of tube 112 would not be expected to render the claimed resistance to collapse a result-effective variable obviously expected to be found during ordinary experimentation and optimization of the endotracheal tube of DeLuccia. The instant claim thus fails to patentably distinguish over DeLuccia.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548) in view of Shimamura et al. (U.S. Patent 4737153).
Regarding claim 16, Agdanowski discloses the endotracheal tube body comprises a polymeric material (Col. 3, Ln. 11-17).
Agdanowski fails to disclose the endotracheal tube body comprising a helically wound, meshed or braided reinforcement structure embedded therein, the helically wound, meshed or braided reinforcement structure being formed from one or more filaments.
Shimamura teaches an endotracheal tube (Fig. 1) comprising a helically wound reinforcement structure (Figs. 1 & 10 #6; Col. 3, Ln. 53 – Col. 4, Ln. 4) embedded therein, the helically wound reinforcement structure being formed from one or more filaments (Fig. 10 #6; Col. 4, Ln. 2-4). Shimamura teaches a reinforcement structure as providing the benefit of improving tube flexibility while reducing strain on end parts (Col. 2, Ln. 10-19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Agdanowski the endotracheal tube body comprising a helically wound reinforcement structure embedded therein, the helically wound reinforcement structure being formed from one or more filaments in order to provide the benefit of improving tube flexibility while reducing strain on end parts in view of Shimamura.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuccia et al. (U.S. Patent 4502482) in view of Shimamura et al. (U.S. Patent 4737153).
Regarding claim 16, DeLuccia discloses the endotracheal tube body comprises a polymeric material (Col. 5, Ln. 58-62).
DeLuccia fails to disclose the endotracheal tube body comprising a helically wound, meshed or braided reinforcement structure embedded therein, the helically wound, meshed or braided reinforcement structure being formed from one or more filaments.
Shimamura teaches an endotracheal tube (Fig. 1) comprising a helically wound reinforcement structure (Figs. 1 & 10 #6; Col. 3, Ln. 53 – Col. 4, Ln. 4) embedded therein, the helically wound reinforcement structure being formed from one or more filaments (Fig. 10 #6; Col. 4, Ln. 2-4). Shimamura teaches a reinforcement structure as providing the benefit of improving tube flexibility while reducing strain on end parts (Col. 2, Ln. 10-19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in DeLuccia the endotracheal tube body comprising a helically wound reinforcement structure embedded therein, the helically wound reinforcement structure being formed from one or more filaments in order to provide the benefit of improving tube flexibility while reducing strain on end parts in view of Shimamura.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548) in view of O’Neil et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0313896).
Regarding claim 17, Agdanowski is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube comprises a material having a Shore A Hardness in a range of from 60 to 75.
Agdanowski does disclose a material of the endotracheal tube can include polyvinyl chloride (Col. 3, Ln. 11-17). O’Neil teaches an endotracheal tube (Fig. 1; ¶0031) which can be made from a material such as polyvinyl chloride (¶¶0033-0034) and have a Shore A Hardness of 70 (¶0044). O’Neil teaches the claimed Shore A Hardness is a common and expected value for an endotracheal tube material (¶¶0033-0034, 0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Agdanowski the endotracheal tube comprises a material having a Shore A Hardness in a range of from 60 to 75 based upon a common use of polyvinyl chloride having Shore A Hardness within the claimed range when making an endotracheal tube in view of O’Neil.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuccia et al. (U.S. Patent 4502482) in view of O’Neil et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0313896).
Regarding claim 17, DeLuccia is silent as to whether the endotracheal tube comprises a material having a Shore A Hardness in a range of from 60 to 75.
DeLuccia does disclose a material of the endotracheal tube can include polyvinyl (Col. 6, Ln. 1-10). O’Neil teaches an endotracheal tube (Fig. 1; ¶0031) which can be made from a material such as polyvinyl chloride (¶¶0033-0034) and have a Shore A Hardness of 70 (¶0044). O’Neil teaches the claimed Shore A Hardness is a common and expected value for an endotracheal tube material (¶¶0033-0034, 0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in DeLuccia the endotracheal tube comprises a material having a Shore A Hardness in a range of from 60 to 75 based upon a common use of polymer materials having Shore A Hardness within the claimed range when making an endotracheal tube in view of O’Neil.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agdanowski (U.S. Patent 4488548) in view of Poormand (U.S. Pub. 2020/0297957).
Regarding claim 18, Agdanowski discloses an intubation system comprising an endotracheal tube according to claim 1 (see above).
Agdanowski fails to disclose a stylet for guiding the endotracheal tube during intubation.
Poormand teaches an intubation kit (Figs. 9-11) including a stylet (Figs. 1a-1b; ¶¶0045, 0063-0065) for guiding an endotracheal tube (Figs. 9-11 #101; ¶0063-0065) during intubation. Poormand teaches a stylet as providing the benefit of assisting a clinician during patient intubation (¶¶0006-0007, 0063-0065).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Agdanowski a stylet for guiding the endotracheal tube during intubation in order to provide the benefit of assisting a clinician during patient intubation in view of Poormand.
Regarding claim 19, Agdanowski teaches the invention as modified above and Poormand as incorporated therein further teaches the stylet comprises a body having a pivotable tip located at a distal end of the body (Poormand – Figs. 2a-2b; ¶0046), the pivotable tip moveable about a pivot point in two opposing directions from the longitudinal axis of the distal end of the stylet body (Poormand – Figs. 2a-2b; ¶0046), and a control mechanism (Poormand – Fig. 2a #7; ¶0045) for controlling the pivot angle of the pivotable tip.
Regarding claim 20, Agdanowski teaches the invention as modified above and Poormand as incorporated therein further teaches each of the endotracheal tube and the stylet comprise a connector configured for respective engagement with one another to attach the stylet to the endotracheal tube (Poormand – Fig. 9; ¶0063).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Agdanowski and DeLuccia each fail to teach or suggest the endotracheal tube comprises a plurality of internal projections, and wherein one projection has a maximum height that is larger than the maximum height of one or more other of the plurality of projections, optionally wherein the projection having the largest maximum height is a projection located along the axis of the longest longitudinal dimension of the distal tip portion. It is initially noted that the “internal projections” of the instant claim are clearly understood to refer back to claim 1. The “optionally” portion of the claim is not read as positively recited.
There is no reason to expect that spacers 58 in Agdanowski would be provided with different heights from each other. Similarly, there is no reason to expect that protuberances 142 in DeLuccia would be provided with different heights from each other.
It is noted that claim 1 has recited several particular limitations which considerably narrow the scope of available prior art (e.g. “internal projections projecting radially inwardly from an internal wall surface of a distal tip portion of the endotracheal tube” with particular attention to the terms “radially,” “inwardly,” and “distal tip” and “the internal projections are tapered”).
The common expectation in the art would be of matching heights when using projections in multiple, as in Agdanowski and DeLuccia. It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 11, DeLuccia fails to teach or suggest the endotracheal tube is configured such that the main tube body buckles at a lower applied axial load than the distal tip portion of the endotracheal tube. It is initially noted that based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of the claim the instant claim has been interpreted as dependent on claim 10. Claim 10 is particularly narrow in scope, beyond the requirements of claim 1 discussed immediately above in regard to claim 7, because of its recitation of the endotracheal tube body as formed of two separate components. The general expectation in the art is for an endotracheal tube body to be made as a singular structure and not as two separate components.
In DeLuccia the bevelled end portion 122 is designed to readily collapse so that it can be retracted when no longer required (e.g. Fig. 13; Col. 8, Ln. 16-31). Based upon the desired collapsibility of bevelled end portion 122 one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected bevelled end portion 122 to be less resistant to buckling than tube 112, which is a reversal of what is required by the instant claim.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references.
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785