DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second window” as recited in claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because:
they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “6b” is mentioned on page 18 lines 2 of the specifications, but not shown in the drawings,
they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “20a” is shown in Fig.1C but not mentioned in the description
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “An electrical connection for electrically connecting a flat connector, and an electrical cable, the electrical connection comprising” in lines 1-2. This should be changed to “An electrical connection for electrically connecting a flat connector[[,]] and an electrical cable, the electrical connection comprising:”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a flat connector” in line 3. This should be changed to “the flat connector” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an electrical cable” in line 5. This should be changed to “the electrical cable” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 2).
Claims 2-13, 20 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the group consisting of lead-free solder; lead-containing solder and adhesive” in lines 2-3. This should be changed to “the group consisting of lead-free solder[[;]], lead-containing solder and adhesive”. The comma should be used instead of the semicolon.
Claim 5 (line 2), claim 6 (line 3), claim 7 (line 2) recite the limitation “the cable”. This should be changed to “the electrical cable” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 5).
Claim 14 recites the limitation “An electrical connection for electrically connecting a flat connector, and an electrical cable, the electrical connection comprising” in lines 1-2. This should be changed to “An electrical connection for electrically connecting a flat connector[[,]] and an electrical cable, the electrical connection comprising:”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a flat connector” in line 3. This should be changed to “the flat connector” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 14 (line 1).
Claim 14 recites the limitation “an electrical cable” in line 5. This should be changed to “the electrical cable” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 14 (line 2).
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the cable” in line 9. This should be changed to “the electrical cable” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 14 (line 2).
Claim 15 is objected by virtue of its dependence on claim 14.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a flat connector” in line 3. This should be changed to “the flat connector” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 16 (line 2).
Claim 16 recites the limitation “an electrical cable” in line 7. This should be changed to “the electrical cable” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 16 (line 2).
Claims 17-19 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 16.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the adhesive” in line 2. This should be changed to “the pressure-sensitive adhesive” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 17 (line 3).
Claim 20 recites the limitation “an electrical connection” in line 1. This should be changed to “the electrical connection” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating elements” in claim 20 (line 2). This limitation uses generic placeholder “elements” (Prong A); the term “elements” is modified by functional language “heating” (Prong B); and the term “elements” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “heating elements” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “heating elements” will be interpreted as resistive heating elements and equivalents because the Specification describes “Electricity supplied to the heating elements causes resistive heating which heats the glass and hence melts snow or ice and/or evaporates fog or mist which inhibits driver visibility.” on page 1 lines 16-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, 14-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the non-conductive material” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 6 depends on claim 4, claim 4 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “non-conductive material” recited previously in claim 1, claim 4, or claim 6.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the exposed portion” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 6 depends on claim 4, claim 4 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “exposed portion” recited previously in claim 1, claim 4, or claim 6.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the end of the electrically conductive portion” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 8 depends on claim 4, claim 4 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “end of the electrically conductive portion” recited previously in claim 1, claim 4, or claim 8.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the adhesive defining the window and the adhesive around the cable” in lines 8-9. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because it is unclear what the limitation “the adhesive” recited in claim 14 (line 8), and the limitation “the adhesive” recited in claim 14 (line 9) refer to what adhesive since claim 14 recites two different adhesives previously, which are adhesive of the flat connector and adhesive of the electrical cable. Therefore, it is unclear if the limitation “the adhesive” recited in claim 14 (line 8) refers to the adhesive of the flat connector or the adhesive of the electrical cable; and it is unclear if the limitation “the adhesive” recited in claim 14 (line 9) refers to the adhesive of the flat connector or the adhesive of the electrical cable. For examination purposes, the limitation “the adhesive” recited in claim 14 (line 8) will be interpreted as to refer to the adhesive of the flat connector; and the limitation “the adhesive” recited in claim 14 (line 9) will be interpreted as to refer to the adhesive of the electrical cable.
Claim 15 is rejected by virtue of its dependence on claim 14.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a window” in line 2. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because it is unclear what the limitation “a window” recited in claim 18 (line 2) refers to. Specifically, claim 18 depends on claim 17, claim 17 depends on claim 16; however, claim 16 recites the limitation “a window” in lines 5-6. Thus, it is unclear if the limitation “a window” recited in claim 18 (line 2) refers to the limitation “a window” recited previously in claim 16 (lines 5-6) or a different window. For examination purposes, the limitation “a window” recited in claim 18 (line 2) will be interpreted as to refer to the limitation “a window” recited previously in claim 16 (lines 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tank (EP 3182520 A1) in view of Webb (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0136283 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tank discloses an electrical connection (electrical connection 1, Tank Fig.1C) for electrically connecting a flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C), and an electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C), the electrical connection (electrical connection 1, Tank Fig.1C) comprising
a flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) with an insulated portion (insulated portion 21, Tank Fig.1C) and an electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive portion 20, Tank Fig.1C),
an electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) which is secured to the flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) to provide an electrical contact between the flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) and the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) (Tank Par.0043 discloses: “Referring firstly to Figures 1A and 1B, there is shown an electrical connection 1 according to one embodiment of the invention for electrically and mechanically joining a flat connector 2 to an electrical cable 3 at a first end 2a of the connector 2.”), and
an enclosure (enclosure 4, Tank Fig.1C) encasing the electrical contact (as shown in Tank Figs.1A-1C, and Tank Par.0043 discloses: “Referring firstly to Figures 1A and 1B, there is shown an electrical connection 1 according to one embodiment of the invention for electrically and mechanically joining a flat connector 2 to an electrical cable 3 at a first end 2a of the connector 2. The electrical connection 1 in the region of the first end 2a of the connector 2 is protected by an enclosure 4.”).
Tank does not explicitly disclose:
a pressure sensitive adhesive defining a window; and
the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window
Webb teaches an electrical connection (Webb Abstract & Fig.2):
a flat connector (electrical connector 2, Webb Fig.2) with an insulated portion (insulation 25, Webb Fig.2) and an electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive body 22, Webb Fig.2) to which is secured a pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2) (Webb Par.0050 teaches: “the adhesive tape may comprise or be a strip of VHB® tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minn., USA”; it is noted that the 3M™ VHB® (Very High Bonding) tape is a high-performance pressure-sensitive adhesive) defining a window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) (Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power. The connecting portion 24 may each be connected to a cable (not shown) to provide an electrical connection from the electrical system of the vehicle to the electrically conductive structure (not shown).”),
an electrical cable (“cable”, Webb Par.0140) which is secured to the flat connector (electrical connector 2, Webb Fig.2) at the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) to provide an electrical contact between the flat connector (electrical connector 2, Webb Fig.2) and the electrical cable (“cable”, Webb Par.0140) (Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power. The connecting portion 24 may each be connected to a cable (not shown) to provide an electrical connection from the electrical system of the vehicle to the electrically conductive structure (not shown).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical connection of Tank, by adding the teachings of pressure sensitive adhesive defining a window to the flat connector and the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window, as taught by Webb, in order to increase pull-strength of the electrical connector, as recognized by Webb [Webb, Par.0138]. Therefore, the modification would enhance the secure connection between the flat connector and the electrical cable; and thus, ensure consistent conductivity, prevent increased resistance, dangerous overheating, and potential fire hazards.
Regarding claim 2, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) comprises an electrically conductive core encased in a non-conductive material (Tank Par.0024 discloses: “The electrical cable may comprise an electrically conductive core encased in a thin layer of non-conductive material.”) to provide an exposed portion (exposed portion of the wire 30, see Tank Fig.1C; Tank Par.0047 discloses: “The electrical cable 3 has an exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 at one of its ends”) and wherein the exposed portion (exposed portion of the wire 30, see Tank Fig.1C; Tank Par.0047 discloses: “The electrical cable 3 has an exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 at one of its ends”) of the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) is secured to the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) (it is noted that by adding the teachings of pressure sensitive adhesive defining a window to the flat connector and the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window, as taught by Webb, to the electrical connection of Tank; thus, in combination, Tank in view of Webb teaches the exposed portion of the wire 30 of the electrical cable 3 is secured to the window).
Regarding claim 3, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, and also teaches:
wherein the exposed portion (exposed portion of the wire 30, see Tank Fig.1C; Tank Par.0047 discloses: “The electrical cable 3 has an exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 at one of its ends”) of the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) is secured to the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above & as explained in details in the rejection of claim 2 above) by material selected from the group consisting of lead-free solder; lead-containing solder and adhesive (It is noted that the limitation “the group consisting of lead-free solder; lead-containing solder and adhesive” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Tank discloses lead-free solder because Tank Par.0047 discloses: “The electrical cable 3 has an exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 at one of its ends. The exposed electrically conductive wire 30 at the end of the electrical cable 3 is soldered to the exposed electrically conductive element 20 at the end of the flat connector 2 by solder 5 which may be of any suitable type, for example a solder 5 consisting of 60% tin and 40% lead, or alternatively and preferably a lead-free solder, for example SAC305 or 97Sn3Ag. Alternatively or additionally the connector 2 and wire 30 may be otherwise secured together so as to allow electrical conduction from the connector 2 to the wire 30, and/or vice versa.”).
Regarding claim 4, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Tank also discloses:
wherein the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) has an adhesive (first seal 6a is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0048) located thereon (Tank Par.0048 discloses: “A first seal 6a is provided, which seal 6a comprises a strip of adhesive tape, for example acrylic adhesive tape, e.g. comprising an acrylic foam layer and acrylic adhesive on one or both major surfaces thereof. In this embodiment the first seal 6a comprises a strip of VHB (RTM) tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. The VHB tape circumferentially extends about (and completely around) the cable 3 so as to form a continuous fluid seal.”).
Regarding claim 5, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Tank also discloses:
wherein the adhesive (first seal 6a is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0048) is located fully about the cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) (Tank Par.0048 discloses: “A first seal 6a is provided, which seal 6a comprises a strip of adhesive tape, for example acrylic adhesive tape, e.g. comprising an acrylic foam layer and acrylic adhesive on one or both major surfaces thereof. In this embodiment the first seal 6a comprises a strip of VHB (RTM) tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. The VHB tape circumferentially extends about (and completely around) the cable 3 so as to form a continuous fluid seal.”).
Regarding claim 6, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, and also teaches:
wherein the adhesive (first seal 6a is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0048) extends from portion of the non-conductive material (See the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections above for this limitation “the non-conductive material”. In this case, Tank discloses the first seal 6a extends from portion of the non-conductive material as shown in Tank Fig.1C and Tank Par.0024 discloses: “The electrical cable may comprise an electrically conductive core encased in a thin layer of non-conductive material.”, and Tank Par.0047 discloses: “The electrical cable 3 has an exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 at one of its ends”) in a direction (left to right direction, Tank Fig.1C) away from the exposed portion (See the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections above for this limitation “the exposed portion”. In this case, Tank discloses the exposed portion of the wire 30, see Tank Fig.1C because Tank Par.0047 discloses: “The electrical cable 3 has an exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 at one of its ends”) of the cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C).
Tank in view of Webb does not explicitly teach:
the adhesive extends from a terminus of the non-conductive material
Regarding the limitation that the adhesive extends from a terminus of the non-conductive material, which means the distance between the starting point of the adhesive (the point at left end of the adhesive 6a, see Tank Fig.1C) and the terminus of the non-conductive material is zero, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disclosed in the prior art (see Fig.1C of Tank where the reference Tank discloses certain distance between the starting point of the adhesive 6a and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable 3, and Tank Par.0061 further discloses: “The first seal 6a has been found to be useful as a location guide of the electrical cable 3 relative to the distal edge 20a of the flat connector 2. It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that manufacture of a laminate heated windscreen is a complex process wherein time of manufacture is a key differentiating factor between similarly engaged enterprises. By using the first seal 6a as a location guide for the electrical cable 3 relative to the flat connector 2 the process of locating the exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 against the exposed portion of electrically conductive element 20 is achieved more accurately and more swiftly.”), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 II.A).
In this case, Tank discloses certain distance between the starting point of the adhesive 6a and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable 3, Tank Par.0061 further discloses: “The first seal 6a has been found to be useful as a location guide of the electrical cable 3 relative to the distal edge 20a of the flat connector 2. It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that manufacture of a laminate heated windscreen is a complex process wherein time of manufacture is a key differentiating factor between similarly engaged enterprises. By using the first seal 6a as a location guide for the electrical cable 3 relative to the flat connector 2 the process of locating the exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 against the exposed portion of electrically conductive element 20 is achieved more accurately and more swiftly.”, and having a specific distance between the starting point of the adhesive 6a and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable 3 is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the distance between the starting point of the adhesive 6a and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable 3 is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case, varying the distance between the starting point of the adhesive 6a and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable 3 would affect the location of the exposed portion of electrically conductive wire against the exposed portion of electrically conductive element of the flat connector. An electrical connection with an optimized distance between the starting point of the adhesive and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable would ensure proper electrical connection between the flat connector and the electrical cable; thus, ensure consistent conductivity, prevent increased resistance, dangerous overheating, and potential fire hazards. Therefore, the distance between the starting point of the adhesive and the terminus of the non-conductive material of the cable is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Tank in view of Webb adhesive by making the adhesive extends from a terminus of the non-conductive material as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”. MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Regarding claim 7, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Tank in view of Webb does not explicitly teach:
wherein the adhesive extends for a distance of less than 10mm along the cable.
Regarding the limitation that the adhesive extends for a distance of less than 10mm along the cable, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disclosed in the prior art (see Fig.1C of Tank where the reference Tank discloses certain extended distance of the adhesive 6a along the cable 3, and Tank Par.0061 further discloses: “The first seal 6a has been found to be useful as a location guide of the electrical cable 3 relative to the distal edge 20a of the flat connector 2. It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that manufacture of a laminate heated windscreen is a complex process wherein time of manufacture is a key differentiating factor between similarly engaged enterprises. By using the first seal 6a as a location guide for the electrical cable 3 relative to the flat connector 2 the process of locating the exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 against the exposed portion of electrically conductive element 20 is achieved more accurately and more swiftly.”), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 II.A).
In this case, Tank discloses certain extended distance of the adhesive 6a along the cable 3, Tank Par.0061 further discloses: “The first seal 6a has been found to be useful as a location guide of the electrical cable 3 relative to the distal edge 20a of the flat connector 2. It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that manufacture of a laminate heated windscreen is a complex process wherein time of manufacture is a key differentiating factor between similarly engaged enterprises. By using the first seal 6a as a location guide for the electrical cable 3 relative to the flat connector 2 the process of locating the exposed portion of electrically conductive wire 30 against the exposed portion of electrically conductive element 20 is achieved more accurately and more swiftly.”, and having a specific extended distance of the adhesive 6a along the cable 3 is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the extended distance of the adhesive along the cable is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case, varying the extended distance of the adhesive 6a along the cable 3 would affect the location of the exposed portion of electrically conductive wire against the exposed portion of electrically conductive element of the flat connector. An electrical connection with an optimized extended distance of the adhesive along the cable would ensure proper electrical connection between the flat connector and the electrical cable; thus, ensure consistent conductivity, prevent increased resistance, dangerous overheating, and potential fire hazards. Therefore, the extended distance of the adhesive along the cable is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Tank in view of Webb adhesive by making the adhesive extends for a distance of less than 10mm along the cable as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”. MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Regarding claim 8, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Tank also discloses:
wherein the adhesive (first seal 6a is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0048) has a first portion (first portion, Tank annotated Fig.1 below) which lies adjacent the pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) (it is noted that by adding the teachings of pressure sensitive adhesive defining a window to the flat connector and the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window, as taught by Webb, to the electrical connection of Tank; thus, in combination, Tank in view of Webb teaches the first portion of the adhesive lies adjacent the pressure sensitive adhesive) and a second portion (second portion, Tank annotated Fig.1 below) which extends beyond the end (distal edge 20a, Tank Fig.1C) of the electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive portion 20, Tank Fig.1C).
Regarding claim 9, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Tank also discloses:
wherein the insulated portion (insulated portion 21, Tank Fig.1C) of the flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) comprises polyimide film (Tank Par.0045 discloses: “The insulating material 21 is preferably formed from a temperature-stable plastics material. One such plastics material is polyimide. The insulating material 21 may conveniently be formed from Kapton (RTM) film supplied by E.I. Dupont of Delaware, USA.”).
Regarding claim 10, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Tank also discloses:
wherein the electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive portion 20, Tank Fig.1C) of the flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) has a first major surface (first major surface, Tank annotated Fig.1C below) and a second major surface (second major surface, Tank annotated Fig.1C below).
Regarding claim 11, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Tank also discloses:
wherein the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) is secured to the first major surface (first major surface, Tank annotated Fig.1C below).
Regarding claim 12, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 10, Tank also discloses:
wherein the second major surface (second major surface, Tank annotated Fig.1C below) of the electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive portion 20, Tank Fig.1C) comprises a second adhesive (second seal 6b is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0049) (Tank Par.0049 discloses: “There is further provided a second seal 6b, which second seal 6b comprises a strip of adhesive tape, for example acrylic adhesive tape, e.g. comprising an acrylic foam layer and acrylic adhesive on one or both major surfaces thereof. In this embodiment the second seal 6b comprises a strip of VHB tape which extends about (and completely around) the flat connector 2. The VHB tape may comprise a release liner (not shown) provided on its outer surface which covers an adhesive layer, which may be removed prior to encasement. The second seal 6b is located at the exposed end of the flat connector 2 where the insulating material 21 ends and the electrically conductive element 20 is exposed, such that the second seal 6b covers the end of the insulating material 21 and extends over a portion of the exposed end 20e and over a portion of the insulating material 21. Alternatively, the second seal 6b extends about and over the insulating material 21 adjacent the exposed end 20e of the electrically conductive element 20 so as not to lie over any portion of the exposed end 20e and not to be in facing relations therewith.”).
Regarding claim 13, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 12, Tank also discloses:
wherein the second adhesive (second seal 6b is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0049) is configured to provide a second window (the adhesive-free space between the enclosure 4 and the second seal 6b, Tank Fig.1D) and wherein the second window (the adhesive-free space between the enclosure 4 and the second seal 6b, Tank Fig.1D) is positioned to correspond to the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) (it is noted that by adding the teachings of pressure sensitive adhesive defining the window to the flat connector and the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window, as taught by Webb, to the electrical connection of Tank; thus, in combination, Tank in view of Webb teaches the second window is positioned to correspond to the window).
Regarding claim 14, Tank discloses an electrical connection (electrical connection 1, Tank Fig.1C) for electrically connecting a flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C), and an electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C), the electrical connection (electrical connection 1, Tank Fig.1C) comprising
a flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) with an insulated portion (insulated portion 21, Tank Fig.1C) and an electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive portion 20, Tank Fig.1C),
an electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) which is secured to the flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) to provide an electrical contact between the flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) and the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C), the electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) having an adhesive (first seal 6a is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0048) located therearound (Tank Par.0048 discloses: “A first seal 6a is provided, which seal 6a comprises a strip of adhesive tape, for example acrylic adhesive tape, e.g. comprising an acrylic foam layer and acrylic adhesive on one or both major surfaces thereof. In this embodiment the first seal 6a comprises a strip of VHB (RTM) tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. The VHB tape circumferentially extends about (and completely around) the cable 3 so as to form a continuous fluid seal.”), and
an enclosure (enclosure 4, Tank Fig.1C) encasing the electrical contact (as shown in Tank Figs.1A-1C, and Tank Par.0043 discloses: “Referring firstly to Figures 1A and 1B, there is shown an electrical connection 1 according to one embodiment of the invention for electrically and mechanically joining a flat connector 2 to an electrical cable 3 at a first end 2a of the connector 2. The electrical connection 1 in the region of the first end 2a of the connector 2 is protected by an enclosure 4.”), and the adhesive (first seal 6a is adhesive, Tank Fig.1C & Par.0048) around the cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) (Tank Par.0048 discloses: “A first seal 6a is provided, which seal 6a comprises a strip of adhesive tape, for example acrylic adhesive tape, e.g. comprising an acrylic foam layer and acrylic adhesive on one or both major surfaces thereof. In this embodiment the first seal 6a comprises a strip of VHB (RTM) tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. The VHB tape circumferentially extends about (and completely around) the cable 3 so as to form a continuous fluid seal.”).
Tank does not explicitly disclose:
an adhesive defining a window; and
the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window
the adhesive defining the window [see the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections above for this limitation]
Webb teaches an electrical connection (Webb Abstract & Fig.2):
a flat connector (electrical connector 2, Webb Fig.2) with an insulated portion (insulation 25, Webb Fig.2) and an electrically conductive portion (electrically conductive body 22, Webb Fig.2) to which is secured an adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2) defining a window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) (Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power. The connecting portion 24 may each be connected to a cable (not shown) to provide an electrical connection from the electrical system of the vehicle to the electrically conductive structure (not shown).”),
an electrical cable (“cable”, Webb Par.0140) which is secured to the flat connector (electrical connector 2, Webb Fig.2) at the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) to provide an electrical contact between the flat connector (electrical connector 2, Webb Fig.2) and the electrical cable (“cable”, Webb Par.0140) (Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power. The connecting portion 24 may each be connected to a cable (not shown) to provide an electrical connection from the electrical system of the vehicle to the electrically conductive structure (not shown).”),
the adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2) defining the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) (Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power. The connecting portion 24 may each be connected to a cable (not shown) to provide an electrical connection from the electrical system of the vehicle to the electrically conductive structure (not shown).”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical connection of Tank, by adding the teachings of the adhesive defining the window to the flat connector and the electrical cable which is secured to the flat connector at the window, as taught by Webb, in order to increase pull-strength of the electrical connector, as recognized by Webb [Webb, Par.0138]. Therefore, the modification would enhance the secure connection between the flat connector and the electrical cable; and thus, ensure consistent conductivity, prevent increased resistance, dangerous overheating, and potential fire hazards.
Regarding claim 15, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 14, Tank also discloses:
wherein the enclosure (enclosure 4, Tank Fig.1C) comprises a unitary body (Tank Par.0029 discloses: “The enclosure may comprise a unitary body”).
Regarding claim 16, Tank discloses a method of forming an electrical connection (electrical connection 1, Tank Fig.1C) for electrically connecting a flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) to an electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C), the method comprising:
providing a flat connector (flat connector 2, Tank Fig.1C) having an insulated portion (insulated portion 21, Tank Fig.1C) and an exposed portion (exposed portion 20e, Tank Fig.1C) (Tank Par.0046 discloses: “The flat connector 2 has an exposed portion or exposed end 20e of electrically conductive element 20 at its first end 2a.”);
securing an electrical cable (electrical cable 3, Tank Fig.1C) to form an electrical contact (Tank Par.0043 discloses: “Referring firstly to Figures 1A and 1B, there is shown an electrical connection 1 according to one embodiment of the invention for electrically and mechanically joining a flat connector 2 to an electrical cable 3 at a first end 2a of the connector 2.”); and
encasing the electrical contact within an enclosure (enclosure 4, Tank Fig.1C) (as shown in Tank Figs.1A-1C, and Tank Par.0043 discloses: “Referring firstly to Figures 1A and 1B, there is shown an electrical connection 1 according to one embodiment of the invention for electrically and mechanically joining a flat connector 2 to an electrical cable 3 at a first end 2a of the connector 2. The electrical connection 1 in the region of the first end 2a of the connector 2 is protected by an enclosure 4.”).
Tank does not explicitly disclose:
securing a pressure sensitive adhesive to the exposed portion to define a window; and
securing an electrical cable to the window to form an electrical contact;
Webb teaches a method of forming an electrical connection (Webb Abstract & Fig.2):
securing a pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2) (Webb Par.0050 teaches: “the adhesive tape may comprise or be a strip of VHB® tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minn., USA”; it is noted that the 3M™ VHB® (Very High Bonding) tape is a high-performance pressure-sensitive adhesive) to the exposed portion (connecting portion 24, Webb Fig.2) to define a window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) (Webb Par.0136 teaches: “The connecting portion 24 may further comprise a potting compound 29 to provide protection to the electrical connection formed between the electrical connector 2 and the electrically conductive structure of the transparent substrate of the pane.”, and Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power.”);
securing an electrical cable (“cable”, Webb Par.0140) to the window (window 28, Webb Fig.2) to form an electrical contact (Webb Par.0140 teaches: “The window or opening 28 in the insulation 25 exposes the connecting portion 24 of the electrical connector 2, which provides, in use, an electrical connection from the electrical connector 2 to a source of electrical power. The connecting portion 24 may each be connected to a cable (not shown) to provide an electrical connection from the electrical system of the vehicle to the electrically conductive structure (not shown).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tank, by adding the teachings of securing a pressure sensitive adhesive to the exposed portion to define a window, and securing an electrical cable to the window to form an electrical contact, as taught by Webb, in order to increase pull-strength of the electrical connector, as recognized by Webb [Webb, Par.0138]. Therefore, the modification would enhance the secure connection between the flat connector and the electrical cable; and thus, ensure consistent conductivity, prevent increased resistance, dangerous overheating, and potential fire hazards.
Regarding claim 17, Tank in view of Webb teaches the method set forth in claim 16, and also teaches:
comprising securing the pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2 & Webb Par.0050; specifically, Webb Par.0050 teaches: “the adhesive tape may comprise or be a strip of VHB® tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minn., USA”; it is noted that the 3M™ VHB® (Very High Bonding) tape is a high-performance pressure-sensitive adhesive; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16 above) on the exposed portion (exposed portion 20e, Tank Fig.1C) by adhering the pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive tape 29, Webb Fig.2 & Webb Par.0050; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16 above) using a pressure-sensitive adhesive (a strip of VHB® tape, produced by 3M of St. Paul, Minn., USA; as indicated by Webb Par.0050) located on a release liner (it is noted that the 3M™ VHB® (Very High Bonding) tape is located on release liner, as evidenced by 3M VHB™ Tapes [see the attached NPL, published in August 2014]).
Regarding claim 20, Tank in view of Webb teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Tank also discloses:
A windscreen assembly (“heated windscreen assemblies”, Tank Par.0002) comprising an electrical connection (electrical connection 1, Tank Fig.1C) according to Claim 1, which further comprises at least one glass lamina and heating elements (Tank Par.0002 discloses: “One of those uses is for electrically connecting flat connectors and electrical cables as used in heated windscreen assemblies, in which heating elements are disposed within the glass laminates of the windscreen.”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tank (EP 3182520 A1) in view of Webb (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0136283 A1), and further in view of Calhoun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,275,856 A).
Regarding claim 18, Tank in view of Webb teaches the method set forth in claim 17, and also teaches the adhesive defines the window (as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 16 above)
Tank in view of Webb does not explicitly teach:
comprising a preliminary step of perforating the release liner and the adhesive located thereon to define a window (see the 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections above for the limitation “a window”).
Calhoun teaches a method (Calhoun Col.7 lines 20-27):
comprising a preliminary step of perforating the release liner and the adhesive located thereon to define a window (Calhoun Col.7 lines 25-27 teaches: “A laser was then used to perforate 0.5 mm diameter holes through both the first and second release liners and the adhesive.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tank in view of Webb, by adding the teachings of preliminary step of perforating the release liner and the adhesive located thereon to define the window, as taught by Calhoun, in order to provide precise, clean access for electrical contact while maintaining adhesion around the perimeter. The modification enables accurate positioning, prevents adhesive contamination on contacts, simplifies automated assembly, and ensures reliable, high-performance, and secure connections.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tank (EP 3182520 A1) in view of Webb (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0136283 A1), and further in view of Yaguchi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0184130 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Tank in view of Webb teaches the method set forth in claim 16, but does not explicitly teach:
comprising providing the flat connector as a strip of plural flat connectors, wherein the strip of plural flat connectors are provided such that plural exposed portions are located in a side-by- side arrangement.
Yaguchi teaches a method (Yaguchi Abstract & Fig.2):
comprising providing the flat connector as a strip of plural flat connectors (flat cable body 1 comprises plural flat conductors 2, Yaguchi Fig.2), wherein the strip of plural flat connectors (flat cable body 1 comprises plural flat conductors 2, Yaguchi Fig.2) are provided such that plural exposed portions (exposed conductor portion 5 of each of the plural flat conductors 2, Yaguchi Fig.2) are located in a side-by- side arrangement (as shown in Yaguchi Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Tank in view of Webb, by adding the teachings of comprising providing the flat connector as a strip of plural flat connectors, wherein the strip of plural flat connectors are provided such that plural exposed portions are located in a side-by- side arrangement, as taught by Yaguchi, in order to optimize space, improve electrical performance, and facilitate manufacturing. The modification with exposed portions arranged side-by-side allows for multiple independent connections to be made simultaneously in a compact, organized, and reliable manner.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
3M VHB™ Tapes [see the attached NPL, published in August 2014].
Schmalbuch et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0326691 A1) discloses an electrical connection element for the electrical contacting of an electrically conductive structure on a substrate.
Reul (U.S. Patent No. 8,481,857 B2) discloses a windowpane, in particular vehicle windowpane, having at least one flat-conductor soldered connecting element for making electrical contact, which flat-conductor soldered connecting element has at least one electrically insulating plastic layer and one electrically conductive layer or foil which is connected to a soldering surface for soldering on a line connection which leads on from the windowpane, and which flat-conductor soldered connecting element is adhesively attached to an outer surface of the windowpane.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 03/05/2026