DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the preliminary amendment dated 1/29/2024, claims 7, 9, 11-17, 25, 26, 37, 41-45, 47-49, 51-54 and 60 are cancelled and claims 6, 8, 10, 20, 24, 27, 28, 34-36, 38, 40, 55, 61 and 62 are amended. No claims are newly added.
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 18-24, 27-36, 38-40, 46, 48-50, 55-59 and 61-64 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The application is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2021/060251 filed on 11/22/2021, which claims priority to provisional application 63/118034 filed on 11/25/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 1/29/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objection
Claim 59 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 24. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112—Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 20-23, 31-36, 38-40, 46, 48-50, 55-58 and 61-64 are rejected for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 20-23 and 31 (and its’ dependents) are indefinite due to the recitation of the acronym “CEBPB” without a corresponding definition. While some acronyms are known to those or ordinary skill in the art, even those well-known acronyms may have multiple meanings. Furthermore, practitioners routinely define their own acronyms, which are not commonly known to those of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, an acronym absent a definition renders a claim indefinite.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the expression level of CEBPB". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 20, 23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garcia et al. (US 2021/0008086A1, filed 2018, PTO-892).
Garcia et al. discloses a method for increasing mass or thickness or contractile capacity of intestinal muscle, by administering a nutritional composition comprising 2’-fucosyllactoes (2’-FL, at 0.05-1 g/kg/day) and lacto-N-neotetraose. (¶0025-0029, 0108, 0185; Example 3; Figure 1) One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that increasing mass or thickness or contractile capacity of intestinal muscle is equivalent to increasing strength of intestinal muscle.
With respect to claims 2, 20 and 23 the effect on CEBPB expression, this limitation is not accorded patentable weight because of the inseparable connection between an administered composition and the mechanism of action within the subject to which the composition is administered. The active method step in the instant claim is administering the 2’-FL composition whereas the increase in expression of CEBPB is an effect which will necessarily occur and does not delineate a manipulative difference between the instant method and the method of the prior art. Therefore, because the prior art teaches the same active step to administer the same composition, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Ex parte Novitski, 26 USPQ2d 1389 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993). See also MPEP § 2112.02.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 18, 19, 20, 23, 24 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bueno et al. (WO 2016/029113A1, IDS).
Bueno et al. discloses a method for promoting muscle hypertrophy and/or preventing muscle atrophy, in adult human subjects, by administering a prebiotic, where 2’-fucosyllactose (2’-FL), at 0.1-5 g/day (exemplified at 1 g/day), is particularly envisioned as the prebiotic, where the therapeutic effect to the administered 2’-FL is in part due to increasing levels of beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate (HMB). (Claims 25-27, 30, 35-39 ; p. 7, Ln. 10-20; p. 25; Example 8) Bueno discloses that the adult human subjects may be afflicted with: 1) muscle wasting diseases such as cachexia, particularly wherein the cachexia is a co-morbidity of a disease or condition selected from cancer, human immunodeficiency virus/acquired immune deficiency syndrome (HIV/AIDS), autoimmune disease including multiple sclerosis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), end stage renal disease (ESRD), tuberculosis, congestive heart failure and familial amyloid polyneuropathy, and/or liver failure; 2) sarcopenia (degenerative loss of skeletal muscle mass and strength associated with aging); 3) hyperglycemia or glucose intolerance, particularly associated with COPD, obesity, diabetes and cancer. (pp. 27-31)
With respect to claims 2, 20 and 23 and the effect on CEBPB expression, this limitation is not accorded patentable weight because of the inseparable connection between an administered composition and the mechanism of action within the subject to which the composition is administered. The active method step in the instant claim is administering the 2’-FL composition whereas the increase in expression of CEBPB is an effect which will necessarily occur and does not delineate a manipulative difference between the instant method and the method of the prior art. Therefore, because the prior art teaches the same active step to administer the same composition, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Ex parte Novitski, 26 USPQ2d 1389 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993). See also MPEP § 2112.02.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bueno et al. (WO 2016/029113A1, IDS), in view of Matteini et al. (Aging Cell, 2016, PTO-892).
The disclosure of Bueno is referenced as discussed above. Bueno does not teach association with CCAAT/enhancer-binding protein-beta (CEBPB) level and muscle strength, nor methods of assessing muscle strength such as handgrip muscle strength.
Matteini et al. discloses that expression of CEBPB in blood leukocytes has been positively associated with muscle strength in humans, further supporting the possible link between gene variants and a decline in skeletal muscle function in older age groups… In addition to the CEBPB association with muscle discussed above, CEBPD has also been linked to differential expression of myostatin, a skeletal muscle inhibitory factor that can lead to muscle strength declines...Subtle alteration in expression of these factors may well alter muscle tissue maintenance with aging and would in turn lead to grip strength declines. (p. 797, Col. 1) Matteini further discloses that handgrip strength was measured using a dynamometer, to assess decline in muscle strength in the cohorts studied. (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bueno to add a step of measuring expression level of CEBPB and assess muscle strength using a handgrip dynamometer, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One would be motivated to modify Bueno in this manner because Matteini teaches that CEBPB expression level is correlated with muscle strength and that in subjects with conditions with declining muscle strength (e.g. sarcopenia), CEBPB levels would be expected to be reduced relative to healthy subjects. Thus, expression level of CEBPB would be a useful diagnostic marker in the method of Bueno, to identify subjects in need of treatment with 2’-FL to promote muscle hypertrophy and/or prevent muscle atrophy. It would be further obvious to use a handheld dynamometer, in the method of Bueno, as a tool to measure muscle strength, as per the teachings of Matteini.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3, 20-24, 28-30 and 59 of the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over copending application US 18/200765. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The instant method is directed to administering 2’-FL to improve muscle strength or mobility. In comparison, the method of ‘765 is directed to administering 2’-FL to reduce exercise-induced injury or enhance muscle recovery in athletes after exercise. One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that improving muscle strength and mobility is directly correlated with reduced incidence of exercise-induced muscle injury. Thus the method of ‘765 is an obvious variant of the instant method.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693