DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the new reference characters in the replacement drawings (FIGS. 1, 2, 9 and 20-30) need lead lines directed to the elements.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 332 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 32, line 2, “a fixed base having a top side, a bottom side opposite the top side,” should be changed to --a fixed base having a top side and a bottom side opposite the top side,--.
Claim 32, line 8, “90-degrees” should be changed to --90 degrees--.
Claim 33, line 2, “fully pitched” should be changed to --fully-pitched-- for consistency purposes.
Claim 37, line 2, “the internal transitioning” should be changed to --the internal shelf transitioning--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites “the internal space defined by the tent body has a first volume when the open angle is equal to 90 degrees” in lines 1-2. However, claim 32, from which claim 34 depends, previously recited “such that an open angle defined between the top side of the fixed base and the inner side of the top portion is greater than 90-degrees” (lines 7-8). As such, it is not understood how the open angle can be “equal to about 90 degrees” when it was already recited as being greater than 90 degrees. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al. (US 2022/0396967 A1) in view of Park (KR 20150092023 A).
Claim 32: Dunn et al. discloses a tent comprising: a fixed base (104/106) having a top side (top surface of 106) and a bottom side (bottom surface of 104) opposite the top side, the bottom side configured for securing the tent to a vehicle (paragraph 43); a top portion (102) having an outer side (on which members 156 and 158 are placed in FIG. 19) and inner side (seen in FIG. 21) opposite the outer side; a hinge hingeably connecting the top portion to the fixed base (paragraph 11), the top portion movable between a closed position (FIG. 1) and an open position (FIGS. 22-24 and 26) in which the top portion is rotated away from the fixed base such that an open angle defined between the top side of the fixed base and the inner side of the top portion is greater than 90 degrees (as seen in FIGS. 22-24 and 26, at some point during the opening process, the top portion is angled more than 90 degrees away from the fixed base); an inner fold-out base (108/110) hingeably connected to the fixed base opposite the top portion (as seen in FIGS. 23, 24, 26), the inner fold-out base moveable between a folded position (FIG. 22) and an unfolded position (FIGS. 23, 24, 26); an internal frame (not shown but discussed in paragraph 57); and a tent body (168) attached to the fixed base, the top portion, the inner fold-out base, and the internal frame (as seen in FIG. 27; paragraph 57), the tent body having a collapsed state (FIG. 1 shows collapsed state of the entire tent) and a pitched state (FIG. 27) in which the tent body defines an internal space; wherein the tent has: a collapsed configuration in which the top portion is in the closed position, the inner fold- out base is in the folded position, the internal frame is in the down position, and the tent body in the collapsed state (FIG. 1), and a fully-pitched configuration in which the top portion is in the open position, the inner fold- out base is in the unfolded position, the internal frame is in the extended position, and the tent body is in the pitched state (FIG. 27).
While Dunn et al. teaches an internal frame, Dunn et al. does not explicitly state the internal frame is pivotally attached to the top side of the fixed base. Park teaches a tent comprising: a fixed base (110) having a top side, a bottom side opposite the top side, the bottom side configured for securing the tent to a vehicle (as seen in FIG. 1); a top portion (120) having an outer side and inner side opposite the outer side; a hinge (not shown) hingeably connecting the top portion to the fixed base, the top portion movable between a closed position (FIG. 3) and an open position (FIG. 1); an inner fold-out base (130) hingeably connected to the fixed base opposite the top portion (via 111/131), the inner fold-out base moveable between a folded position (FIG. 4) and an unfolded position (FIG. 1); an internal frame (140) pivotally attached to the top side of the fixed base (as seen in FIG. 1), the internal frame having a down position (FIGS. 4 and 5) and an extended position (FIG. 1); and a tent body (not shown); wherein the tent has: a collapsed configuration (FIG. 3) in which the top portion is in the closed position, the inner fold- out base is in the folded position, the internal frame is in the down position, and the tent body in the collapsed state, and a fully-pitched configuration (FIG. 1) in which the top portion is in the open position, the inner fold- out base is in the unfolded position, the internal frame is in the extended position, and the tent body is in the pitched state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dunn et al. to include the internal frame as being pivotally attached to the top side of the fixed base, as taught by Park, so that the tent could be easily moved between the compact collapsed configuration and the full-pitched configuration and vice versa.
Claim 33: The top portion of Dunn et al. is configured to support an occupant leaned thereagainst when in the fully-pitched configuration since it would obviously have to be capable of supporting some weight since it is held in the fully-pitched open position somehow in order to be structurally sound enough to withstand forces/wind. Also, it is noted that the size, age and weight of occupants can largely vary, and when a person leans against an object, they generally do not rest their entire weight against said object.
Claim 34: As seen in FIGS. 22 and 26, Dunn et al. shown the top portion as being angled more than 90 degrees from the base. While Dunn et al. does not explicitly state the angle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the open angle equal to 110 degrees to increase the useable interior volume of the vehicle tent while not overextending the top portion relative to the base to the point where the vehicle tent/top portion becomes unstable. Additionally, if the angle between the top portion and the fixed base was equal to 90 degrees (such as when the top portion passes through the 90-degree mark when opening the top portion), the tent would inherently have a volume. As such, it is noted that if the open angle of the top portion relative to the fixed base was 110 degrees the interior volume would be X% greater than if the open angle was only 90 degrees or any degree less than 110 degrees.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al. (US 2022/0396967 A1) in view of Park (KR 20150092023 A) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Brown (US 985,002).
Dunn et al. is discussed above but lacks an internal shelf. Brown teaches an internal shelf (comprised of elements 1 and 2), the internal shelf having a deployed position (as seen in FIG. 1) and an undeployed position (not shown, but the shelf can be folded with the tent, which would constitute the undeployed position; “The shelf occupies a small space which is ordinarily not required for other purposes, and is foldable with the tent”), the internal transitioning from the undeployed position automatically as the tent is moved to the fully-pitched configuration (as soon as the tent were in their deployed position the shelf would also be in the deployed position as well due to the construction of the shelf). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dunn et al. and Park to include an internal shelf, such as that taught by Brown, so that the user has somewhere to store their personal articles during use without having to set up a shelf themselves, thus saving time and energy for the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13-14 and 18-29 are allowed.
Claims 35 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that although Applicant has submitted replacement drawings in the response filed 3/6/2026, there are still outstanding objections to those drawings.
Applicant argues that although the top portion of Dunn may be temporarily opened beyond a 90-degree angle with respect the fixed base, the top portion is then lowered to an angles less than 90 degrees in the fully extended position shown in FIG. 27 (page 14, Remarks). However, claim 32 recites “an open position in which the top portion is rotated away from the fixed base such that an open angle defined between the top side of the fixed base and the inner side of the top portion is greater than 90-degrees” (lines 6-8). As Applicant admits in the Remarks, the top portion of the tent is temporarily moved to an angle greater than 90 degrees, even if it’s not the final position of the top portion, and thus there is a position where the top portion is open and rotated away from the fixed base more than 90 degrees even if it’s temporary. The claim language does not require that the top portion have an open angle greater than 90 degrees in the fully-pitched configuration. As such, the Examiner maintains that Dunn et al. does teach this limitation of claim 32.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DNJ/Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636