DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are presented for examination. This office action is response to the submission on 9/16/2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The last sentence of Paragraph [0020] “As will be described in greater detail below, setpoints and operating parameters relating to the product format and product manufacturing process, as well as inputs to the controller, may be stored in the memory 96 of the controller 90” should read controller 92 or control 90 (typo).
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b) Rejection:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amended claim 21. The 112(b) rejection of claim 14 has been withdrawn.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(f) Claim Interpretation:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(f) interpretation of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 Rejection:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner agrees that Wada does not teach the limitation of moving pressing mechanisms away from each other based upon a transient increased force, however Wada in view of Ueberschar does teach this claim limitation. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues, see page 13 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 that Ueberschar does not contemplate increased forces imparted by the web and that rather it is directed to maintaining a constant loading at the nip. Examiner disagrees, Ueberschar teaches monitoring the force imparted to the machine, and adjusting a stop element 38 in response, which would adjust the spacing e between the two continuous rolls. See 103 Rejection below for more detail.
Applicant argues, see page 13 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 that Ueberschar may correct positioning based on sensors to maintain a desired set position and pressure. Examiner disagrees, Ueberschar teaches monitoring the force imparted to the machine, and adjusting a stop element 38 in response, which would adjust the spacing e between the two continuous rolls. See 103 Rejection below for more detail.
Applicant argues, see pages 13-14 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 that Ueberschar’s preferred embodiment of an actuator is hydraulic and thus would not allow the top continuous loop to move away from the bottom continuous loop in response to a transient force applied. Examiner disagrees, there is no reasoning provided by the applicant as to why a hydraulic actuator would not be able to perform the function stated. Additionally, the preferred embodiment of Ueberschar being hydraulic is moot, a pneumatic cylinder may be substituted if desired.
Applicant argues, see page 14 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 that “Though not mentioned in Ueberschar, it is apparent from the disclosure that in the event of a transient due to a force imparted on the movable roller by the web, the control of Ueberschar would attempt to maintain the spacing at the predetermined level (for a set pressure) rather than allow an increase in spacing.” Examiner disagrees, Ueberschar teaches monitoring the force imparted to the machine, and adjusting a stop element 38 in response, which would adjust the spacing e between the two continuous rolls. See 103 Rejection below for more detail.
Applicant argues, see page 14 of applicant response filed 9/16/2025, with respect to claim 1 that Dornbusch and Gabrielli fail to teach the limitations described above. This argument is moot, as Ueberschar is relied upon to teach these claim limitations. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US20160228303A1), in view of Ueberschar et al. (US20060081179A1).
Claim 1:
Wada teaches “A control for controlling a pull station of a converting line wherein the pull station comprises a top continuous loop and a bottom continuous loop that are adapted to receive a plurality of webs in a vertically stacked arrangement at an entrance of the pull station and convey the vertically stacked arrangement of webs between the top and bottom continuous loops through a discharge of the pull station,” (Wada teaches a pressing endless belt 711 i.e. a top continuous loop in Wada [0093] "A pressing endless belt 711 provided at one surface side (upper side) of the sheet W is mounted on each roller 708 to 710."; Wada teaches a pressing endless belt 717 i.e. a bottom continuous loop in Wada [0096] "A pressing endless belt 717 provided at the opposite surface side (lower side) of the sheet W is mounted on each roller 714 to 716."; Wada teaches that the endless belts may press and convey a sheet W i.e. they are capable of conveying a stacked arrangement of webs in Wada [0097] "That is, the base brackets 704, 713 and the rollers 708 to 710, 714 to 716 correspond to a holding mechanism for holding the pair of pressing endless belts 711, 714 such that parts of the pair of pressing endless belts 711, 717 for pressing the sheet W are movable in the conveying direction a."
[AltContent: rect]
),
“the top continuous loop is disposed on a frame, the frame is adjustable such that the top continuous loop is movable toward and away from the bottom continuous loop,” (Wada teaches upper base brackets 704 i.e. a frame that is adjustable to allow the pressing mechanism 71 i.e. top continuous loop to move toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 i.e. bottom continuous loop in Wada [0098-0099] "Further, by driving the cylinders 706 of the upper pressing mechanism 71, the upper base brackets 704 rotate about the hinge shaft 705 and the pressing endless belt 711 of the pressing mechanism 71 moves toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 of the lower pressing mechanism 72. That is, the hinge shaft 705 and the cylinders 706 correspond to a supporting mechanism for supporting the holding mechanism such that the pressing endless belt 711 is movable toward and away from the pressing endless belt 717."), and
“the control comprising: an actuator adapted and configured to be operatively connected with the frame and a structure of the pull station in a manner to allow the top continuous loop to be moved toward and away from the bottom continuous loop” (Wada teaches cylinders 706 i.e. an actuator that allow the pressing mechanism 71 i.e. top continuous loop to move toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 i.e. bottom continuous loop in Wada [0098-0099] "Further, by driving the cylinders 706 of the upper pressing mechanism 71, the upper base brackets 704 rotate about the hinge shaft 705 and the pressing endless belt 711 of the pressing mechanism 71 moves toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 of the lower pressing mechanism 72. That is, the hinge shaft 705 and the cylinders 706 correspond to a supporting mechanism for supporting the holding mechanism such that the pressing endless belt 711 is movable toward and away from the pressing endless belt 717."; Wada Fig. 6 [As shown above in this claim] teaches that the cylinder 706 is operatively connected with the frame and a structure of the pull station).
Wada does not appear to explicitly disclose “the actuator having a sensor adapted and configured to sense a position of the actuator;” However, Ueberschar does teach this limitation (Ueberschar teaches a distance sensor 64 that can detect the axial spacing e between the rolls 14 and 16 i.e. the distance sensor detects the position of the frame which is affected by the actuator position in Ueberschar [0065] "Thermal influences, mechanical distortions and contact oscillations can lead to the axial spacing e changing during working operation of the coating unit. In order to detect such spacing fluctuations, distance sensor 64 can be provided, whose sensor signals are evaluated by control unit 30 and, if required, are converted into corresponding correction signals to positioning element 42. In this way, a control loop can be set up which keeps the axial spacing e constant at a desired value. Distance sensor 64 can be an optical sensor, for example. Of course, other sensor principles are also conceivable."; Uebershar Fig. 1 teaches that axial spacing e would be affected by the movement of force device arrangement 26 i.e. the actuator
),
“a stop adapted and configured to operatively engage the frame and prevent movement of the top continuous loop toward the bottom continuous loop,” (Ueberschar teaches a stop element 38 made to interact with a stop element 40 mounted on bearing lever 24 i.e. the frame in Ueberschar [0050] "The force made available by force device arrangements 26 can be transmitted substantially exclusively via rolls 14, 16 as the single force transmission path 31. However, the coating unit can be made stiffer overall and less susceptible to oscillations if the force made available by force device arrangement 26 is transmitted over a plurality of force transmission paths. For this purpose a pair of interacting stop elements 38, 40 is shown dashed in FIG. 1, of which one is arranged on bearing lever 24 and of which the other is arranged on stand 22."),
“the stop being adjustable with a stop actuator,” (Ueberschar teaches a positioning element 42 i.e. stop actuator which may be used to adjust the stop element 38 in Ueberschar [0050] "The force made available by force device arrangements 26 can be transmitted substantially exclusively via rolls 14, 16 as the single force transmission path 31. However, the coating unit can be made stiffer overall and less susceptible to oscillations if the force made available by force device arrangement 26 is transmitted over a plurality of force transmission paths. For this purpose a pair of interacting stop elements 38, 40 is shown dashed in FIG. 1, of which one is arranged on bearing lever 24 and of which the other is arranged on stand 22. One of stop elements 38, 40, here the stop element 38, can be adjusted by way of a positioning element 42, which can be an actuating element, for example a reciprocating spindle element, that can be controlled by control unit 30. Accordingly, two force transmission paths are available to the force provided by force device arrangement 26: a first, which runs via rolls 14, 16, and a second, which runs via stop elements 38, 40. By adjusting the position of stop element 38, the ratio of the forces transmitted via the two force transmission parts, and therefore the effective pressing force between rolls 14, 16, can be varied."),
“the stop having a stop load sensor adapted and configured to sense a load applied against the load sensor when the frame engages the stop;” (Ueberschar teaches a sensor 62 i.e. stop load sensor which may be a force sensor in Ueberschar [0061] "As soon as the intended state has been reached, first stop element 38 is moved forward again by way of positioning element 42 until it comes into contact with second stop element 40. The production of contact is detected by way of sensor 62 which, for example, can be a contact sensor, but also a force sensor."),
“a controller including a processor and memory,” (Ueberschar [0059] "The spring characteristic is stored as data in electronic store 152, i.e. memory to whose stored content a microprocessor-aided control unit 30 makes access."),
“the controller being configured to (i) determine a distance measurement between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop based upon the actuator position sensor;” (Ueberschar teaches a distance sensor 64 that can detect the axial spacing e between the rolls 14 and 16 which may be evaluated by control unit 30 in Ueberschar [0065] "Thermal influences, mechanical distortions and contact oscillations can lead to the axial spacing e changing during working operation of the coating unit. In order to detect such spacing fluctuations, distance sensor 64 can be provided, whose sensor signals are evaluated by control unit 30 and, if required, are converted into corresponding correction signals to positioning element 42. In this way, a control loop can be set up which keeps the axial spacing e constant at a desired value. Distance sensor 64 can be an optical sensor, for example. Of course, other sensor principles are also conceivable."),
(ii) determine a force imparted to the plurality of webs based on the stop load sensor, the weight of the frame and the continuous loop, and a force imparted to the top continuous loop by the actuator as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station;” (Ueberschar teaches that sensor 62 may determine the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 i.e. the force imparted to the material web 10, which would be affected by the weight of the frame and force imparted by force device arrangement 26 i.e. actuator in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."), and
“and (iii) generate signals for controlling the pull station based upon at least one of the distance and force measurements;” (Ueberschar teaches that sensor signals from sensor 62, which may be a force sensor can be used to regulate the position of the first stop element i.e. generate signals for controlling the pull station in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."), and
“and wherein the actuator is adapted and configured to allow the top continuous loop to move away from the bottom continuous loop in response to a transient force applied to the top continuous loop by the plurality of webs.” (Ueberschar teaches that instead of a force control system, a spacing control system may be set up which regulates the position of the first stop element 38 i.e. in response to an increased detected force, the first stop element 38 may cause the spacing e of rolls 14, 16 to increase in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."; Ueberschar teaches that the axial spacing of rolls i.e. the position of the top loop may be changed by displacing first stop element 38 in Ueberschar [0060] "During working operation of the coating unit, bearing lever 24 is pivoted in direction of the fixed roll 16 by way of force device arrangement 26 until the two stop elements 38, 40 strike each other. The axial spacing e of rolls 14, 16 in this operating position depends on the position of first stop element 38. The axial spacing e can thus be changed by displacing first stop element 38. During working operation of the coating unit, control unit 30 controls positioning element 42 in accordance with the information obtained from the spring characteristic such that the value of the axial spacing e which corresponds to a desired nip load is set. This desired nip load is communicated to control unit 30 by an operator, for example via an operating desk, not specifically illustrated.").
Wada and Ueberschar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of pulling machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wada and Ueberschar before him/her, to modify the teachings of a device and a method for producing a disposable wearable article of Wada to include the stop with a force sensor and adjusting control based on the force sensed of Ueberschar because adding the method of producing and/or treating a moving, material web of Ueberschar would improve the reliability and accuracy of force measurement as described in Ueberschar [0011] “In principle, it is sufficient to measure the force transmitted only at one point along the force transmission path running via the rolls. This point can be located upstream of the roll body of a first following one of the two rolls or downstream of the roll body of a second following one of the two rolls. However, it is also possible to perform a force measurement simultaneously at a plurality of points along the force transmission path running via the rolls. For this purpose, the sensor elements can include at least one sensor which is arranged upstream of the roll body of the first following roll and at least one sensor arranged downstream of the roll body of the second following roll. It is advantageous in this case that the measured values supplied by the various sensors can be compared with one another, so that the sensors, so to speak, monitor one another. The reliability and accuracy of the force measurement can be increased in this way.”
Claim 2:
Wada in view of Ueberschar teaches “The control of claim 1 wherein the control is configured to store a plurality of data structures in the memory of the controller,” (Ueberschar teaches that multiple values i.e. data structures may be stored in Ueberschar [0072] "The two force values determined in this way are stored by control unit 30. Then, as before, first stop elements 38 are moved into their rear end position and from this rear end position again as far as the production of contact with the respectively associated second stop element 40. Then, first stop element 38 on that axial side at which the greater force value was measured at the beginning is moved out in the direction of its front end position until, between the force values measured by force sensors 62, a difference is established which is equal to the difference between the force values measured at the beginning and stored. As soon as this state has been reached, the nonuniform mutual pressing of rolls 14, 16 which was caused by the original force difference is compensated for. The position of each of first stop elements 38 is then stored; it corresponds to the maximum nip load."), and
“wherein the data structures comprise a plurality of data items associated together as the distance measurements between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station, and a characteristic representative of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station.” (Ueberschar teaches determining a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls, which would be affected by the material between the rolls in Ueberschar [0020] "According to the present invention, provision is made in this case for a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls to be determined, which represents a relationship between the mutual axial spacing of the two rolls and the pressing force transmitted between the two rolls, and, in order to achieve a desired pressing force of the rolls in working operation of the device, for an associated desired value of the axial spacing to be determined from the distance-force characteristic and set on the pair of rolls.").
Claim 3:
Wada in view of Ueberschar teaches “The control of claim 1 wherein the control is configured to store a plurality of data structures in the memory of the controller,” (Ueberschar teaches that multiple values i.e. data structures may be stored in Ueberschar [0072] "The two force values determined in this way are stored by control unit 30. Then, as before, first stop elements 38 are moved into their rear end position and from this rear end position again as far as the production of contact with the respectively associated second stop element 40. Then, first stop element 38 on that axial side at which the greater force value was measured at the beginning is moved out in the direction of its front end position until, between the force values measured by force sensors 62, a difference is established which is equal to the difference between the force values measured at the beginning and stored. As soon as this state has been reached, the nonuniform mutual pressing of rolls 14, 16 which was caused by the original force difference is compensated for. The position of each of first stop elements 38 is then stored; it corresponds to the maximum nip load."), and
“wherein the data structures comprise a plurality of data items associated together as the distance measurements between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station, and a characteristic representative of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station.” (Ueberschar teaches determining a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls, which would be affected by the material between the rolls in Ueberschar [0020] "According to the present invention, provision is made in this case for a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls to be determined, which represents a relationship between the mutual axial spacing of the two rolls and the pressing force transmitted between the two rolls, and, in order to achieve a desired pressing force of the rolls in working operation of the device, for an associated desired value of the axial spacing to be determined from the distance-force characteristic and set on the pair of rolls.").
Claim 11:
Wada in view of Ueberschar teaches “The control of claim 1 wherein the stop actuator comprises a linear actuator driven by a motor.” (Ueberschar teaches that positioning element 42 i.e. the stop actuator may be a spindle element driven by a motor in Ueberschar [0060] "In order to set the axial spacing e, use is made in the exemplary embodiment of positioning element 42 which is controlled by control unit 30 and which is preferably designed as a reciprocating spindle element driven by an electric motor.").
Claim 12:
Wada teaches “A method of controlling a converting line having a pull station, wherein the pull station comprises a top continuous loop and a bottom continuous loop, the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop are adapted to receive a plurality of webs in a vertically stacked arrangement at an entrance of the pull station and convey the stacked arrangement of webs between the top and bottom continuous loops through a discharge of the pull station,” (Wada teaches a pressing endless belt 711 i.e. a top continuous loop in Wada [0093] "A pressing endless belt 711 provided at one surface side (upper side) of the sheet W is mounted on each roller 708 to 710."; Wada teaches a pressing endless belt 717 i.e. a bottom continuous loop in Wada [0096] "A pressing endless belt 717 provided at the opposite surface side (lower side) of the sheet W is mounted on each roller 714 to 716."; Wada teaches that the endless belts may press and convey a sheet W i.e. they are capable of conveying a stacked arrangement of webs in Wada [0097] "That is, the base brackets 704, 713 and the rollers 708 to 710, 714 to 716 correspond to a holding mechanism for holding the pair of pressing endless belts 711, 714 such that parts of the pair of pressing endless belts 711, 717 for pressing the sheet W are movable in the conveying direction a."),
“the top continuous loop being disposed on a frame,” (Wada teaches upper base brackets 704 i.e. a frame that is adjustable to allow the pressing mechanism 71 i.e. top continuous loop to move toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 i.e. bottom continuous loop in Wada [0098-0099] "Further, by driving the cylinders 706 of the upper pressing mechanism 71, the upper base brackets 704 rotate about the hinge shaft 705 and the pressing endless belt 711 of the pressing mechanism 71 moves toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 of the lower pressing mechanism 72. That is, the hinge shaft 705 and the cylinders 706 correspond to a supporting mechanism for supporting the holding mechanism such that the pressing endless belt 711 is movable toward and away from the pressing endless belt 717."), and
“the method comprising: providing an actuator operatively connected to the frame and a structure of the pull station that supports the top continuous loop of the pull station;” (Wada teaches cylinders 706 i.e. an actuator that allow the pressing mechanism 71 i.e. top continuous loop to move toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 i.e. bottom continuous loop in Wada [0098-0099] "Further, by driving the cylinders 706 of the upper pressing mechanism 71, the upper base brackets 704 rotate about the hinge shaft 705 and the pressing endless belt 711 of the pressing mechanism 71 moves toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 of the lower pressing mechanism 72. That is, the hinge shaft 705 and the cylinders 706 correspond to a supporting mechanism for supporting the holding mechanism such that the pressing endless belt 711 is movable toward and away from the pressing endless belt 717." Wada Fig. 6 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches that the cylinder 706 is operatively connected with the frame and a structure of the pull station).
Wada does not appear to explicitly disclose “enabling a sensor of the actuator to sense a position of the frame actuator;” However, Ueberschar does teach this limitation (Ueberschar teaches a distance sensor 64 that can detect the axial spacing e between the rolls 14 and 16 i.e. the distance sensor detects the position of the frame which is affected by the actuator position in Ueberschar [0065] "Thermal influences, mechanical distortions and contact oscillations can lead to the axial spacing e changing during working operation of the coating unit. In order to detect such spacing fluctuations, distance sensor 64 can be provided, whose sensor signals are evaluated by control unit 30 and, if required, are converted into corresponding correction signals to positioning element 42. In this way, a control loop can be set up which keeps the axial spacing e constant at a desired value. Distance sensor 64 can be an optical sensor, for example. Of course, other sensor principles are also conceivable."; Uebershar Fig. 1 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches that axial spacing e would be affected by the movement of force device arrangement 26 i.e. the frame actuator),
“providing a stop that is configured to engage the frame and prevent movement of the top continuous loop toward the bottom continuous loop;” (Ueberschar teaches a stop element 38 made to interact with a stop element 40 mounted on bearing lever 24 i.e. the frame in Ueberschar [0050] "The force made available by force device arrangements 26 can be transmitted substantially exclusively via rolls 14, 16 as the single force transmission path 31. However, the coating unit can be made stiffer overall and less susceptible to oscillations if the force made available by force device arrangement 26 is transmitted over a plurality of force transmission paths. For this purpose a pair of interacting stop elements 38, 40 is shown dashed in FIG. 1, of which one is arranged on bearing lever 24 and of which the other is arranged on stand 22."),
“providing a stop actuator that is configured to adjust the position of the stop;” (Ueberschar teaches a positioning element 42 i.e. stop actuator which may be used to adjust the stop element 38 in Ueberschar [0050] "The force made available by force device arrangements 26 can be transmitted substantially exclusively via rolls 14, 16 as the single force transmission path 31. However, the coating unit can be made stiffer overall and less susceptible to oscillations if the force made available by force device arrangement 26 is transmitted over a plurality of force transmission paths. For this purpose a pair of interacting stop elements 38, 40 is shown dashed in FIG. 1, of which one is arranged on bearing lever 24 and of which the other is arranged on stand 22. One of stop elements 38, 40, here the stop element 38, can be adjusted by way of a positioning element 42, which can be an actuating element, for example a reciprocating spindle element, that can be controlled by control unit 30. Accordingly, two force transmission paths are available to the force provided by force device arrangement 26: a first, which runs via rolls 14, 16, and a second, which runs via stop elements 38, 40. By adjusting the position of stop element 38, the ratio of the forces transmitted via the two force transmission parts, and therefore the effective pressing force between rolls 14, 16, can be varied."),
“enabling a stop load sensor of the stop actuator to sense a load applied against the load sensor when the frame engages the stop;” (Ueberschar teaches a sensor 62 i.e. stop load sensor which may be a force sensor in Ueberschar [0061] "As soon as the intended state has been reached, first stop element 38 is moved forward again by way of positioning element 42 until it comes into contact with second stop element 40. The production of contact is detected by way of sensor 62 which, for example, can be a contact sensor, but also a force sensor."),
“configuring a processor associated with a controller of a control of the converting line to determine a distance measurement between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop based upon the actuator position sensor;” (Ueberschar teaches that control unit 30 is comprised of electronic store 152 and a microprocessor in Ueberschar [0059] "The spring characteristic is stored as data in electronic store 152, i.e. memory to whose stored content a microprocessor-aided control unit 30 makes access."; Ueberschar teaches a distance sensor 64 that can detect the axial spacing e between the rolls 14 and 16 which may be evaluated by control unit 30 in Ueberschar [0065] "Thermal influences, mechanical distortions and contact oscillations can lead to the axial spacing e changing during working operation of the coating unit. In order to detect such spacing fluctuations, distance sensor 64 can be provided, whose sensor signals are evaluated by control unit 30 and, if required, are converted into corresponding correction signals to positioning element 42. In this way, a control loop can be set up which keeps the axial spacing e constant at a desired value. Distance sensor 64 can be an optical sensor, for example. Of course, other sensor principles are also conceivable."),
“configuring the processor to determine a force imparted to the plurality of webs based on the stop load sensor, the weight of the frame and the top continuous loop, and a force imparted to the top continuous loop by the actuator as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station;” (Ueberschar teaches that sensor 62 may determine the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 i.e. the force imparted to the material web 10, which would be affected by the weight of the frame and force imparted by force device arrangement 26 i.e. actuator in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."; Ueberschar teaches the force sensor sending the signal to control unit 30 in Ueberschar [0068] "Sensor 62 arranged in this force transmission path is designed as a force sensor in the alternative procedure described here. The force value which it detects when first stop element 38 is moved out fully and with the maximum force of force device arrangement 26 is stored by control unit 30."),
“and enabling the controller to generate signals for controlling the pull station based upon at least one of the distance and force measurements;” (Ueberschar teaches that sensor signals from sensor 62, which may be a force sensor can be used to regulate the position of the first stop element i.e. generate signals for controlling the pull station in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."), and
“and configuring the actuator to allow the top continuous loop to move away from the bottom continuous loop in response to a transient force applied to the top continuous loop by the plurality of webs.” (Ueberschar teaches that instead of a force control system, a spacing control system may be set up which regulates the position of the first stop element 38 i.e. in response to an increased detected force, the first stop element 38 may cause the spacing e of rolls 14, 16 to increase in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."; Ueberschar teaches that the axial spacing of rolls i.e. the position of the top loop may be changed by displacing first stop element 38 in Ueberschar [0060] "During working operation of the coating unit, bearing lever 24 is pivoted in direction of the fixed roll 16 by way of force device arrangement 26 until the two stop elements 38, 40 strike each other. The axial spacing e of rolls 14, 16 in this operating position depends on the position of first stop element 38. The axial spacing e can thus be changed by displacing first stop element 38. During working operation of the coating unit, control unit 30 controls positioning element 42 in accordance with the information obtained from the spring characteristic such that the value of the axial spacing e which corresponds to a desired nip load is set. This desired nip load is communicated to control unit 30 by an operator, for example via an operating desk, not specifically illustrated."
Wada and Ueberschar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of pulling machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wada and Ueberschar before him/her, to modify the teachings of a device and a method for producing a disposable wearable article of Wada to include the stop with a force sensor and adjusting control based on the force sensed of Ueberschar because adding the method of producing and/or treating a moving, material web of Ueberschar would improve the reliability and accuracy of force measurement as described in Ueberschar [0011] “In principle, it is sufficient to measure the force transmitted only at one point along the force transmission path running via the rolls. This point can be located upstream of the roll body of a first following one of the two rolls or downstream of the roll body of a second following one of the two rolls. However, it is also possible to perform a force measurement simultaneously at a plurality of points along the force transmission path running via the rolls. For this purpose, the sensor elements can include at least one sensor which is arranged upstream of the roll body of the first following roll and at least one sensor arranged downstream of the roll body of the second following roll. It is advantageous in this case that the measured values supplied by the various sensors can be compared with one another, so that the sensors, so to speak, monitor one another. The reliability and accuracy of the force measurement can be increased in this way.”
Claim 13 is substantially the same as claim 2 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 14:
Wada in view of Ueberschar teaches “The method of claim 12 further comprising configuring the controller to store a plurality of data structures in a memory of the controller, wherein the data structures comprise a plurality of data items associated together as the force measurements as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station, the distance measurements between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station, and a characteristic representative of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station.” (Ueberschar teaches determining a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls, which would be affected by the material between the rolls in Ueberschar [0020] "According to the present invention, provision is made in this case for a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls to be determined, which represents a relationship between the mutual axial spacing of the two rolls and the pressing force transmitted between the two rolls, and, in order to achieve a desired pressing force of the rolls in working operation of the device, for an associated desired value of the axial spacing to be determined from the distance-force characteristic and set on the pair of rolls.").
Claim 21:
Wada teaches “A method of controlling a converting line having a pull station, wherein the pull station comprises a top continuous loop and a bottom continuous loop, the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop are adapted to receive a plurality of webs in a vertically stacked arrangement at an entrance of the pull station and convey the vertically stacked arrangement of webs between the top and bottom continuous loops through a discharge of the pull station,” (Wada teaches a pressing endless belt 711 i.e. a top continuous loop in Wada [0093] "A pressing endless belt 711 provided at one surface side (upper side) of the sheet W is mounted on each roller 708 to 710."; Wada teaches a pressing endless belt 717 i.e. a bottom continuous loop in Wada [0096] "A pressing endless belt 717 provided at the opposite surface side (lower side) of the sheet W is mounted on each roller 714 to 716."; Wada teaches that the endless belts may press and convey a sheet W i.e. they are capable of conveying a stacked arrangement of webs in Wada [0097] "That is, the base brackets 704, 713 and the rollers 708 to 710, 714 to 716 correspond to a holding mechanism for holding the pair of pressing endless belts 711, 714 such that parts of the pair of pressing endless belts 711, 717 for pressing the sheet W are movable in the conveying direction a."),
“the top continuous loop being disposed on a frame,” (Wada teaches upper base brackets 704 i.e. a frame that is adjustable to allow the pressing mechanism 71 i.e. top continuous loop to move toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 i.e. bottom continuous loop in Wada [0098-0099] "Further, by driving the cylinders 706 of the upper pressing mechanism 71, the upper base brackets 704 rotate about the hinge shaft 705 and the pressing endless belt 711 of the pressing mechanism 71 moves toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 of the lower pressing mechanism 72. That is, the hinge shaft 705 and the cylinders 706 correspond to a supporting mechanism for supporting the holding mechanism such that the pressing endless belt 711 is movable toward and away from the pressing endless belt 717."), and
“the method comprising: providing an actuator operatively connected to the frame and a structure of the pull station that supports the top continuous loop of the pull station;” (Wada teaches cylinders 706 i.e. an actuator that allow the pressing mechanism 71 i.e. top continuous loop to move toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 i.e. bottom continuous loop in Wada [0098-0099] "Further, by driving the cylinders 706 of the upper pressing mechanism 71, the upper base brackets 704 rotate about the hinge shaft 705 and the pressing endless belt 711 of the pressing mechanism 71 moves toward or away from the pressing endless belt 717 of the lower pressing mechanism 72. That is, the hinge shaft 705 and the cylinders 706 correspond to a supporting mechanism for supporting the holding mechanism such that the pressing endless belt 711 is movable toward and away from the pressing endless belt 717." Wada Fig. 6 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches that the cylinder 706 is operatively connected with the frame and a structure of the pull station).
Wada does not appear to explicitly disclose “sensing a position of the actuator;” However, Ueberschar does teach this limitation (Ueberschar teaches a distance sensor 64 that can detect the axial spacing e between the rolls 14 and 16 i.e. the distance sensor detects the position of the frame which is affected by the actuator position in Ueberschar [0065] "Thermal influences, mechanical distortions and contact oscillations can lead to the axial spacing e changing during working operation of the coating unit. In order to detect such spacing fluctuations, distance sensor 64 can be provided, whose sensor signals are evaluated by control unit 30 and, if required, are converted into corresponding correction signals to positioning element 42. In this way, a control loop can be set up which keeps the axial spacing e constant at a desired value. Distance sensor 64 can be an optical sensor, for example. Of course, other sensor principles are also conceivable."; Uebershar Fig. 1 [As shown above in claim 1] teaches that axial spacing e would be affected by the movement of force device arrangement 26 i.e. the actuator),
“adjustably setting a minimum distance between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop;” (Ueberschar teaches defining a minimum spacing e in Ueberschar [0064] "During working operation of the coating unit, a force is preferably always made available by force device arrangement 26 such that, when first stop element 38 is out of contact with second stop element 40 and, consequently, no force is transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, the nip load is a maximum and, consequently, the axial spacing e is a minimum."),
“imparting a force to the top continuous loop with the actuator;” (Ueberschar teaches a positioning element 42 i.e. actuator which may be used to adjust the stop element 38 in Ueberschar [0050] "The force made available by force device arrangements 26 can be transmitted substantially exclusively via rolls 14, 16 as the single force transmission path 31. However, the coating unit can be made stiffer overall and less susceptible to oscillations if the force made available by force device arrangement 26 is transmitted over a plurality of force transmission paths. For this purpose a pair of interacting stop elements 38, 40 is shown dashed in FIG. 1, of which one is arranged on bearing lever 24 and of which the other is arranged on stand 22. One of stop elements 38, 40, here the stop element 38, can be adjusted by way of a positioning element 42, which can be an actuating element, for example a reciprocating spindle element, that can be controlled by control unit 30. Accordingly, two force transmission paths are available to the force provided by force device arrangement 26: a first, which runs via rolls 14, 16, and a second, which runs via stop elements 38, 40. By adjusting the position of stop element 38, the ratio of the forces transmitted via the two force transmission parts, and therefore the effective pressing force between rolls 14, 16, can be varied."),
“sensing a load applied by the frame to the pull station;” (Ueberschar teaches a force sensor 36 in Ueberschar [0046] "The sensor arrangement in the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1 has at least one force sensor 36, which is fitted to bearing lever 24 or to stand 22 and supplies its sensor signal to control unit 30."; Ueberschar teaches the force sensor 36 measuring force in the transmission path running via rolls 14, 16 in Ueberschar [0051] "The at least one force sensor 36 is located in the force transmission path running 31 via rolls 14, 16 at a point downstream of its branch from the second force transmission path and upstream of the renewed combination with the second force transmission path. In this way, the actual pressing force continues to be registered directly by force sensor 36, and any distortion or thermally induced deformations within the coating unit cannot distort the measured result."),
“determining a distance measurement between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop based upon the position of the actuator;” (Ueberschar teaches a distance sensor 64 that can detect the axial spacing e between the rolls 14 and 16 which may be evaluated by control unit 30 in Ueberschar [0065] "Thermal influences, mechanical distortions and contact oscillations can lead to the axial spacing e changing during working operation of the coating unit. In order to detect such spacing fluctuations, distance sensor 64 can be provided, whose sensor signals are evaluated by control unit 30 and, if required, are converted into corresponding correction signals to positioning element 42. In this way, a control loop can be set up which keeps the axial spacing e constant at a desired value. Distance sensor 64 can be an optical sensor, for example. Of course, other sensor principles are also conceivable."),
“configuring a processor associated with a controller of a control of the converting line to determine a force imparted to the plurality of webs based on the load applied by the actuator to the pull station, the weight of the frame and the top continuous loop, and the force imparted to the top continuous loop by the actuator as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station;” (Ueberschar teaches that sensor 62 may determine the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 i.e. the force imparted to the material web 10, which would be affected by the weight of the frame and force imparted by force device arrangement 26 i.e. actuator in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."; Ueberschar teaches the force sensor sending the signal to control unit 30 in Ueberschar [0068] "Sensor 62 arranged in this force transmission path is designed as a force sensor in the alternative procedure described here. The force value which it detects when first stop element 38 is moved out fully and with the maximum force of force device arrangement 26 is stored by control unit 30."),
“enabling the controller to generate signals for controlling the pull station based upon at least one of the measurement of the distance and the measurement of the force imparted to the plurality of webs;” (Ueberschar teaches that sensor signals from sensor 62, which may be a force sensor can be used to regulate the position of the first stop element i.e. generate signals for controlling the pull station in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."),
“and configuring the actuator to allow the top continuous loop to move away from the bottom continuous loop in response to a transient force applied to the top continuous loop by the plurality of webs.” (Ueberschar teaches that instead of a force control system, a spacing control system may be set up which regulates the position of the first stop element 38 i.e. in response to an increased detected force, the first stop element 38 may cause the spacing e of rolls 14, 16 to increase in Ueberschar [0066] "If sensor 62 permits registration of the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40, a force control system can also be set up directly instead of a spacing control system. Since the force transmitted via stop elements 38, 40 permits conclusions to be drawn directly about the nip load in application gap 12, given knowledge of the total force made available by force device arrangement 26, the sensor signals from sensor 62 can also be used to regulate the position of first stop element 38."; Ueberschar teaches that the axial spacing of rolls i.e. the position of the top loop may be changed by displacing first stop element 38 in Ueberschar [0060] "During working operation of the coating unit, bearing lever 24 is pivoted in direction of the fixed roll 16 by way of force device arrangement 26 until the two stop elements 38, 40 strike each other. The axial spacing e of rolls 14, 16 in this operating position depends on the position of first stop element 38. The axial spacing e can thus be changed by displacing first stop element 38. During working operation of the coating unit, control unit 30 controls positioning element 42 in accordance with the information obtained from the spring characteristic such that the value of the axial spacing e which corresponds to a desired nip load is set. This desired nip load is communicated to control unit 30 by an operator, for example via an operating desk, not specifically illustrated.").
Wada and Ueberschar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of pulling machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wada and Ueberschar before him/her, to modify the teachings of a device and a method for producing a disposable wearable article of Wada to include the stop with a force sensor and adjusting control based on the force sensed of Ueberschar because adding the method of producing and/or treating a moving, material web of Ueberschar would improve the reliability and accuracy of force measurement as described in Ueberschar [0011] “In principle, it is sufficient to measure the force transmitted only at one point along the force transmission path running via the rolls. This point can be located upstream of the roll body of a first following one of the two rolls or downstream of the roll body of a second following one of the two rolls. However, it is also possible to perform a force measurement simultaneously at a plurality of points along the force transmission path running via the rolls. For this purpose, the sensor elements can include at least one sensor which is arranged upstream of the roll body of the first following roll and at least one sensor arranged downstream of the roll body of the second following roll. It is advantageous in this case that the measured values supplied by the various sensors can be compared with one another, so that the sensors, so to speak, monitor one another. The reliability and accuracy of the force measurement can be increased in this way.”
Claims 4-9 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US20160228303A1), in view of Ueberschar et al. (US20060081179A1), further in view of Dornbusch (US20040188909A1).
Claim 4:
Wada in view of Ueberschar teaches “The control of claim 1” as described above. Wada in view of Ueberschar does not appear to explicitly teach “further comprising a web speed sensor adapted and configured to sense a speed of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station and generate a web speed signal.” However, Dornbusch does teach this claim limitation (Dornbusch teaches a sensor 11 that may detect the speed of web of material 06 in Dornbusch [0022] "Two sensors 11, 13 are connected to a regulating unit 09, as seen in FIG. 1. The sensor 11 is used for detecting a conveying speed of the web of material 06."
).
Wada, Ueberschar, and Dornbusch are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of pulling machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wada, Ueberschar, and Dornbusch before him/her, to modify the teachings of a device and a method for producing a disposable wearable article of Wada modified to include the stop with a force sensor and adjusting control based on the force sensed of Ueberschar to include the sensor for detecting a conveying speed of the web of material of Dornbusch because adding the former for a folding apparatus of Dornbusch would prevent the collapse or elimination of tension in the web of material in some situations as described in Dornbusch [0010] “The advantages which can be gained by the invention consist, in particular, in that because of the manner in which the motor rotation is regulated, it is possible to avoid the complete collapse or elimination of the tension in the web of material prior to the web's entry into the folding apparatus if the web of material is cut off in the folding apparatus because of the appearance of a malfunction. In the course of braking the folding apparatus and a device located upstream of it, material continues to be conveyed out of the upstream-located device, and a pile-up of material in the upstream-located device, which would possibly be difficult to clear up or which could result in damage to the upstream-located device, is prevented. In such a case, the material of the web can collect to a considerable extent in the former without leading to damage. The collected material can be removed from the former with little effort.”
Claim 5:
Wada in view of Ueberschar, further in view of Dornbusch teaches “The control of claim 4 further comprising a speed sensor associated with at least one of the (Dornbusch teaches a sensor 13 that may detect the rotary speed of the motor 04 which controls former roller 03 i.e. it detects the speed of the bottom roller in Dornbusch [0022] "Two sensors 11, 13 are connected to a regulating unit 09, as seen in FIG. 1. The sensor 11 is used for detecting a conveying speed of the web of material 06. The sensor 13 is used for detecting the rotary speed of the motor 04. The sensor 11 can be arranged, for example, on the plate cylinder of the web-fed printing press 07 in order to detect the rotational speed or the circumferential speed of the plate cylinder. The sensor 13 is arranged on the driveshaft of the former roller 03."
Claim 6:
Wada in view of Ueberschar, further in view of Dornbusch teaches “The control of claim 5 wherein the controller is configured to compare the speed of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station with the speed of the at least one of the top continuous loop and bottom continuous loop based upon the web speed signal and the conveyor speed signal; and generate signals for controlling the pull station based upon the comparison.” (Dornbusch teaches comparing the difference between the speed of the web of material 06 to the speed of the former roller 03 and regulating operation of the motor i.e. generating signals for controlling the pull station in order to maintain a small differential between the two signals in Dornbusch [0022] "Two sensors 11, 13 are connected to a regulating unit 09, as seen in FIG. 1. The sensor 11 is used for detecting a conveying speed of the web of material 06. The sensor 13 is used for detecting the rotary speed of the motor 04. The sensor 11 can be arranged, for example, on the plate cylinder of the web-fed printing press 07 in order to detect the rotational speed or the circumferential speed of the plate cylinder. The sensor 13 is arranged on the driveshaft of the former roller 03. The sensor 13 detects a traction force exerted by the former roller 03 on the web of material, for example, and a conveying speed of the web of material 06. With this configuration it is the object of the regulating unit 09 to regulate the rotating speed of the former roller 03 in such a way that as constant as possible a lead exists between the former roller 03 and the web of material 06 rerouted at it. The former roller 03 thus has an “advance” with respect to the web of material which should be maintained constantly and which should keep the web of material 06 under tension prior to the web of material 06 reaching the former roller 03. The result of this tension is that the former roller 03 has a slightly greater rotational speed than the linear speed of the web of material 06 running off on it. The difference between the two speeds is a function of the size of the lead, or of the traction force exerted by the former roller 03 on the web of material 06. To maintain the lead constant, the regulating unit 09 therefore regulates the operation of the motor 04 in such a way that the circumferential speed of the former roller 03 is greater, by a preset small differential amount, than the linear speed, detected by the sensor 11, of the web of material 06 itself.").
Claim 7:
Wada in view of Ueberschar, further in view of Dornbusch teaches “The control of claim 6 wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the actuator based on the comparison.” (Dornbusch teaches comparing the speed of the roller to regulate the motor in Dornbusch [0023] "By employing the speed of the former roller 03, detected by the sensor 14, the regulating unit 09 can draw conclusions regarding the force which the roller exerts on the web of material 06. Thus, the regulating unit 09 can regulate the operation of the motor 04 in such a way that, during normal operations, the traction force exerted by the former roller 03 on the web of material 06 remains substantially constant."; Dornbusch teaches that if a malfunction occurs, it brings the press to a stop i.e. it would send a signal to all components of the apparatus, including the actuator in Dornbusch [0025] "If a malfunction occurs in the folding apparatus so that the web of material 06 can no longer be properly processed, it is necessary to bring the folding apparatus and the web-fed printing press to a stop as rapidly as possible in order to prevent the material of the web of material 06, which can no longer be processed, from piling up at an undesirable location, and from possibly being wound around a roller of the web-fed printing press 07 or of the folding apparatus and resulting in damage to the press 07 or to the folding apparatus.").
Claim 8:
Wada in view of Ueberschar, further in view of Dornbusch teaches “The control of claim 6 wherein the controller is configured to send a signal to the stop actuator based on the comparison.” (Dornbusch teaches comparing the speed of the roller to regulate the motor in Dornbusch [0023] "By employing the speed of the former roller 03, detected by the sensor 14, the regulating unit 09 can draw conclusions regarding the force which the roller exerts on the web of material 06. Thus, the regulating unit 09 can regulate the operation of the motor 04 in such a way that, during normal operations, the traction force exerted by the former roller 03 on the web of material 06 remains substantially constant."; Dornbusch teaches that if a malfunction occurs, it brings the press to a stop i.e. it would send a signal to all components of the apparatus, including the stop actuator in Dornbusch [0025] "If a malfunction occurs in the folding apparatus so that the web of material 06 can no longer be properly processed, it is necessary to bring the folding apparatus and the web-fed printing press to a stop as rapidly as possible in order to prevent the material of the web of material 06, which can no longer be processed, from piling up at an undesirable location, and from possibly being wound around a roller of the web-fed printing press 07 or of the folding apparatus and resulting in damage to the press 07 or to the folding apparatus.").
Claim 9:
Wada in view of Ueberschar, further in view of Dornbusch teaches “The control of claim 6 wherein the control is configured to store a plurality of data structures in the memory of the controller, wherein the data structures comprise a plurality of data items associated together as the force measurements as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station,” (Ueberschar teaches that multiple values i.e. data structures may be stored in Ueberschar [0072] "The two force values determined in this way are stored by control unit 30. Then, as before, first stop elements 38 are moved into their rear end position and from this rear end position again as far as the production of contact with the respectively associated second stop element 40. Then, first stop element 38 on that axial side at which the greater force value was measured at the beginning is moved out in the direction of its front end position until, between the force values measured by force sensors 62, a difference is established which is equal to the difference between the force values measured at the beginning and stored. As soon as this state has been reached, the nonuniform mutual pressing of rolls 14, 16 which was caused by the original force difference is compensated for. The position of each of first stop elements 38 is then stored; it corresponds to the maximum nip load."; Ueberschar teaches determining a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls in Ueberschar [0020] "According to the present invention, provision is made in this case for a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls to be determined, which represents a relationship between the mutual axial spacing of the two rolls and the pressing force transmitted between the two rolls, and, in order to achieve a desired pressing force of the rolls in working operation of the device, for an associated desired value of the axial spacing to be determined from the distance-force characteristic and set on the pair of rolls."),
“the speed of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station,” (Dornbusch teaches a sensor 11 that may detect the speed of web of material 06 and that it uses the detected speed to make a comparison i.e. the speed is stored in Dornbusch [0022] "Two sensors 11, 13 are connected to a regulating unit 09, as seen in FIG. 1. The sensor 11 is used for detecting a conveying speed of the web of material 06… To maintain the lead constant, the regulating unit 09 therefore regulates the operation of the motor 04 in such a way that the circumferential speed of the former roller 03 is greater, by a preset small differential amount, than the linear speed, detected by the sensor 11, of the web of material 06 itself.").
“the speed of the at least one of the top continuous loop and bottom continuous loop as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station,” (Dornbusch teaches a sensor 11 that may detect the speed of web of material 06 and a sensor 13 that may detect the rotary speed of the motor 04 which controls former roller 03 i.e. it detects the speed of the bottom roller and makes a comparison using the former roller speed in Dornbusch [0022] "Two sensors 11, 13 are connected to a regulating unit 09, as seen in FIG. 1. The sensor 11 is used for detecting a conveying speed of the web of material 06. The sensor 13 is used for detecting the rotary speed of the motor 04. The sensor 11 can be arranged, for example, on the plate cylinder of the web-fed printing press 07 in order to detect the rotational speed or the circumferential speed of the plate cylinder. The sensor 13 is arranged on the driveshaft of the former roller 03… To maintain the lead constant, the regulating unit 09 therefore regulates the operation of the motor 04 in such a way that the circumferential speed of the former roller 03 is greater, by a preset small differential amount, than the linear speed, detected by the sensor 11, of the web of material 06 itself."), and
“the distance measurements between the top continuous loop and the bottom continuous loop as the plurality of webs are conveyed from the entrance of the pull station to the discharge of the pull station, and a characteristic representative of the plurality of webs being conveyed in the pull station.” (Ueberschar teaches determining a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls, which would be affected by the material between the rolls in Ueberschar [0020] "According to the present invention, provision is made in this case for a distance-force characteristic for the pair of rolls to be determined, which represents a relationship between the mutual axial spacing of the two rolls and the pressing force transmitted between the two rolls, and, in order to achieve a desired pressing force of the rolls in working operation of the device, for an associated desired value of the axial spacing to be determined from the distance-force characteristic and set on the pair of rolls.").
Claims 15-20 are substantially the same as claims 4-9 respectively and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US20160228303A1), in view of Ueberschar et al. (US20060081179A1), further in view of Gabrielli (US20210009299A1).
Claim 10:
Wada in view of Ueberschar teaches “The control of claim 1 wherein the actuator comprises a (Ueberschar teaches a hydraulic piston-cylinder unit 28 i.e. actuator in Ueberschar [0043] "Bearing lever 24 fitted to machine stand 22 such that it can pivot carries moving roll 14. In order to pivot bearing lever 24 and therefore to bring moving roll 14 close to fixed roll 16 and press it on, a force device arrangement 26, which can be an actuating element, is used, which preferably has a hydraulic piston-cylinder unit 28 in the region of the two axial ends of the pair of rolls 14, 16.").
Wada in view of Ueberschar does not appear to explicitly teach “a pneumatic cylinder” However, Gabrielli does teach this claim limitation (Gabrielli teaches that an actuator mechanism may be a pneumatic ram i.e. pneumatic cylinder in Gabrielli [0039] "Any suitable actuator mechanism may be provided to cause movement of the first compression member towards the second compression member. Such actuator mechanism should be capable of exerting the high pressures required in a controlled and repeatable manner. The compressive force may be provided by hydraulic or pneumatic rams, solenoids, electric motors, springs or the like either directly or through a mechanical linkage or screw mechanism. In one embodiment the actuator includes an actuator motor and screw mechanism. In the case of a plurality of compression elements a plurality of actuators may be provided for independently moving the plurality of compression elements between the first spacing and the second spacing.").
Wada, Ueberschar, and Gabrielli are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of pulling machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wada, Ueberschar, and Gabrielli before him/her, to modify the teachings of a device and a method for producing a disposable wearable article of Wada modified to include the stop with a force sensor and adjusting control based on the force sensed of Ueberschar to include the pneumatic ram of Gabrielli because replacing the hydraulic cylinder of Ueberschar with the pneumatic cylinder of Gabrielli would have been a simple substitution for one of ordinary skill in the art and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. The scope of prior art is substantial, pulling systems have been improved upon for several decades. The level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art is an engineer with multiple years of experience designing pull systems. Using a hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder for control may be a design preference based on what type of system a customer prefers for example, therefore using a pneumatic cylinder instead of a hydraulic cylinder would be an obvious substitution.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116