DETAILED ACTION
Statement of claims
The present amended application include :
Claims 21-34 remain pending in the application. Claims 21-34 are being considered on the merits.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly
indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant argues that:
“ Absent a Showing that Claimed Elements Necessarily Flow from the Cited Prior Art .”, “With respect to certain of the claimed elements, the Office Action states that such limitations "would have been inherent." See pages 4, 9 and 10 and of the Office Action, (relevant sections of the Office Action reproduced below). Specifically, the Office Action states that the claimed elements "the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the location to the application portal", the "application portal operates without downloading applications from the cloud applications from the cloud location to the mobile device" and "the application portal streams the application when a file size of the second application is greater than a predetermined file size" all would have been inherent.”.
In response, the specification states that:
The Federal Circuit has recognized that inherency may properly support an obviousness determination where the limitation at issue is necessarily present or is the natural result of the combination of prior art elements. See PAR Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. TWI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (“an inherent characteristic of a prior art combination need not be recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the critical date”).
Additionally, the rejection is not based solely on inherency. The Office Action separately provides an articulated rationale to combine the references pursuant to KSR, namely Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4). Accordingly, the rejection does not improperly use inherency to supply a missing motivation to combine.
Because the evidence of record supports that the disputed limitation necessarily flows from the prior art combination, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Additionally, the rejection is not based solely on inherency. The Office Action separately provides an articulated art rejection , citing Kulkarni et al. (US 20220247695) teaches claimed elements "the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the location to the application portal" (e.g., para 306, wherein “download or obtain the identified files from the common storage ” and “the user can select the size of a preceding time window to search for real-time events. Search screen 2400 also initially displays a “data summary” dialog as is illustrated in FIG. 24B that enables the user to select different sources for the events, such as by selecting specific hosts and log files” in para 679, see FIG. 24A.) . Thus , these teachings of the “search ” , coupled with “user to select different sources” , “download or obtain ….. files”, “actions of the client application, such as sending a network request or displaying a particular interface” suggest the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the location to the application portal The Office Action separately provides an articulated (emphasis added).
para [0030] In another embodiment, an application portal uses dynamic data to stream code and other data from a server to a smart device, without installing the application.
The Office Action separately provides an articulated art rejection , citing Wang Baoyuan et al.US PUB. 2024/0069932 teaches claimed elements “application portal operates without downloading applications from the cloud applications from the cloud location to the mobile device" see FIG. 18, para 773, wherein “executing the computer program 92”, “performed by the quick application server” and “neither quick application data of the quick application B nor quick application data of the quick application C may be stored in the user terminal” in para 543.
Thus, the “data” of “application B, C “ not stored in the user terminal , wherein the quick application server runs the “computer program” stored in “ memory 91” , wherein quick application B and C include the application portal see, FIG. 2B-1 and FIG. 2B- ).
Therefore, according to applicant’s specification in para [0030] as stated above , these teachings of Wang suggest application portal operates without downloading applications from the cloud applications from the cloud location to the mobile device (emphasis added).
[0102] In one embodiment, a method is provided wherein the streaming location has an application data size capacity that is less than or equal to a predetermined application data size capacity.
The Office Action separately provides an articulated art rejection , citing Wang Baoyuan et al.US PUB. 2024/0069932 teaches claimed elements "the application portal streams the application when a file size of the second application is greater than a predetermined file size" (e.g., para 368, “a large number of website icons, only a website icon of a specific size may be extracted” and “ quantity of first quick applications is greater than 1,” in para 100).
Moreover, Wang teaches further in para 103 and 105, a quantity of quick applications determined, the quantity of quick applications may be set to 1, thus the quantity including the size of the of applications is greater than the predetermed size 1.
Therefore, according to applicant’s specification in para [0102] as stated above, these teaching of Wang suggest the application portal streams the application when a file size of the second application is greater than a predetermined file size (emphasis added).
Applicant is reminded that rejections are based on references as a whole and not just the cited passages. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the cited art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al. (US 2022/0247695) in view of Wang Baoyuan et al. (WO 2022127743A1 published in Jun. 26, 2022, examiner relies on US PUB. 2024/0069932 as the official translation document of the WO 2022127743A1, Wang, hereinafter).
As to claim 21, Kulkarni teaches a system (see FIGs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a mobile device ( see FIG. 1 and 2 , “client device”, para 148 , “mobile apps that enable users of client devices ”. Thus, a mobile device);
a cloud location (e.g., para “different geographic locations”, “the common storage 216 can correspond to cloud storage, such as Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) or Elastic Block Storage (EBS), Google Cloud Storage, Microsoft Azure Storage, etc.” ), the cloud location comprising a database (e.g., “218”, fig. 2, para 168, “ databases”) operable to store a plurality of applications (e.g., para 148, “more client applications 110”, “a client application 110 may comprise a mobile application or “app.” , “ more mobile apps” ) ;
an application portal (e.g.,”214”, FIG. 2 and FIG. 5 . also, see para 178, wherein “query system 214”, “ as separate software containers or container instances”. Thus, an application portal) the application portal residing on a computing device (e.g., “108”, FIG. 2) , the application portal communicating with the mobile device and the cloud location (e.g., see FIG. 2, para 178, “a data intake and query system 108 can be implemented in a remote distributed computing system. In this context, a remote distributed computing system or cloud-based service can refer to a service hosted by one more computing resources that are accessible to end users over a network, for example, by using a web browser or other application on a client device to interface with the remote computing resources. “
wherein:
the mobile device receives authentication data, from a user, the authentication data authenticating the user into a first application residing on the mobile device (e.g., para 147, one of “ client applications 110 “, and “a user access token that can be authenticated by authentication service” , “authenticated session on an interface (e.g., GUI, API, command line interface (CLI)” in para 338 and 376) ;
upon receipt of the authentication data, the mobile device, enables the user to access and operate the first application residing on the mobile device (e.g., see FIG. 6, para 375 and 376, wherein “ensure that only authorized parties are able to access sensitive data”. and “provide through authenticated session on an interface (e.g., GUI, API, command line interface (CLI), etc.)”, “data of the first entity should be published by the streaming data processors” for “ subscribers”, “client devices 102” in par 196. Thus, upon receipt of the authentication data, the mobile device, enables the user to access and operate the first application residing on the mobile device) ;
the mobile device receives, from the user, selection of a link, the link located within the first application, the link directing the user to a second application, the second application included in the plurality of applications (e.g., see FIG. 23A, para 653, “a user submits an order for merchandise using a vendor's shopping application program 2301 running on the user's system “ and “each client device 102 may host or execute one or more client applications 110 that are capable of interacting with one or more host devices 106 via one or more networks 104” in para 148.
Thus, one of “client applications” represents a second application, the “order” represent the link , see FIG. 23A) ;
the mobile device initiates communication with the application portal to download the second application (e.g., para 155, “the client device to download the application”), ;
the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the cloud location to the application portal (e.g., para 306, wherein “download or obtain the identified files from the common storage ” and “the user can select the size of a preceding time window to search for real-time events. Search screen 2400 also initially displays a “data summary” dialog as is illustrated in FIG. 24B that enables the user to select different sources for the events, such as by selecting specific hosts and log files” in para 679, see FIG. 24A. Also, see para 155, “a request from the client device to download the application” Thus, the “select” coupled the “request “ , “to download the application” therefore , the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the cloud location to the application portal ) ;
the application portal authenticates, at the application portal, the user into the second application (see FIG. 6, para 375 and 376, wherein “ensure that only authorized parties are able to access sensitive data”. and “provide through authenticated session on an interface (e.g., GUI, API, command line interface (CLI), etc.)”. Thus, the application portal authenticates, at the application portal, the user into the second application).
However, Kulkami does not specifically teach selection of a link, the link located within the first application, the link directing the user to the second application , the application portal streams the second application from the application portal to the mobile device; and when a session is initiated with the second application, the second application operates using streaming capabilities, the second application presents full interactive capabilities when operating with streaming capabilities, said streaming capabilities processing data using a single method regardless of an order in which data arrives as recited in the claim.
Wang teaches a mobile device receives, from the user, selection of a link, the link located within a first application, the link directing the user to a second application (e.g., see FIG. 1A, para 246 and 247, “the quick application uses a pop-up advertisement window (that is, the related content is an advertisement window control and related data in the advertisement window control) to display a part of advertisement content to the user. To view the specific advertisement data, the user may tap the advertisement window”, “the related content includes a link to the to-be-displayed content, the quick application may alternatively not display the related content of the to-be-displayed content, but open the link in the related content under some specific conditions, and display a new interface that includes the to-be-displayed content and that is pointed to by the link”.
Thus, the a “link” represent the selected link)) ; the mobile device initiates communication with the application portal to download the second application; the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the cloud location to the application portal (e.g., para 332, “Download quick application package” and “the download address may be a file download link (that is, a Uniform Resource Locator, URL). “downloads the target quick application from the portal terminal by using the download address in the portal website.” in para 402 and 404) ; the application portal authenticates, at the application portal, the user into the second application (e.g., para 307, “a login user or an authorized user is required to access a website resource“. Also, see FIG. 7C) ; an application portal streams the second application from the application portal to the mobile device (see FIG. 1B, para 287, “quick application template is an uncompressed quick application” and “the quick application template server may return an operation result indicating successful receiving to the operation terminal” in para 299. Also, see FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B-1) ; and when a session is initiated with the second application (see FIG. 7C) , the second application operates using streaming capabilities, the second application presents full interactive capabilities when operating with streaming capabilities (e.g., para 616, “when the advertisement is a quick application advertisement or an application program advertisement, jumping to a download interface of a quick application or an application program in an application store to which the quick application or the application program belongs is relatively convenient for the user to view and download, and does not affect normal use of the quick application. Therefore, in some optional embodiments, jumping to the download interface of the quick application or the application program in the application store to which the quick application or the application program belongs may be set as a suitable opening manner for the quick application advertisement or the application program advertisement”) , said streaming capabilities processing data using a single method regardless of an order in which data arrives (seepara 616, “playing the media data in a browser is set as a manner of opening the media data”, and “it is assumed that the to-be-displayed content of the target quick application includes an advertisement A and an advertisement B. In this case, an opening manner of the advertisement A may be configured as follows: jumping to a commodity sales interface of a quick application; an opening manner of the advertisement B is: jumping to a commodity sales interface of a quick application browser. Alternatively, the opening manners of all to-be-displayed content of the target quick application may be set to: jumping to a commodity sales interface of a quick application browser.”, “ order of the opening manners to open the to-be-displayed content.” In para 620 and 632).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang to have the mobile device receives, from the user, selection of a link, the link located within the first application, the link directing the user to a second application, the second application included in the plurality of applications; the mobile device initiates communication with the application portal to download the second application; the application portal retrieves and downloads the second application from the cloud location to the application portal; the application portal authenticates, at the application portal, the user into the second application; the application portal streams the second application from the application portal to the mobile device; and when a session is initiated with the second application, the second application operates using streaming capabilities, the second application presents full interactive capabilities when operating with streaming capabilities, said streaming capabilities processing data using a single method regardless of an order in which data arrives in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 22 , Kulkarni does not teach wherein the application portal utilizes a speed of 5G or faster to stream the second application to the mobile device .
However, Wang teaches wherein the application portal utilizes a speed of 5G or faster to stream the second application to the mobile device (e.g., para 793, “The mobile communication module 150 may provide a wireless communication solution, including 2G/3G/4G/5G”) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 23, Kulkarni does not teach wherein the application portal operates without downloading applications from the cloud location to the mobile device.
However, Wang teaches wherein the application portal operates without downloading applications from the cloud location to the mobile device (see FIG. 18, para 773, wherein “executing the computer program 92”, “performed by the quick application server” and “neither quick application data of the quick application B nor quick application data of the quick application C may be stored in the user terminal” in para 573. Thus, the ”quick application B nor quick application data of the quick application C “ executed by the quick application server, therefore application portal operates without downloading applications from the cloud location to the mobile device). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 24 , Kulkarni does not teach wherein the application portal operates without storing applications on the mobile device.
However, Wang teaches wherein the application portal operates without storing applications on the mobile device (e.g., see FIG. 7A, FIG. 7B-1 and FIG. 7B-2, para 573, wherein “neither quick application data of the quick application B nor quick application data of the quick application C may be stored in the user terminal. Thus, the application portal operates without storing applications on the mobile device ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 25, Kulkarni does not teach wherein the application portal streams the second application when a file size of the second application is greater than a predetermined file size.
However, Wang teaches wherein the application portal streams the second application when a file size of the second application is greater than a predetermined file size (e.g., para 368, “a large number of website icons, only a website icon of a specific size may be extracted” and “ quantity of first quick applications is greater than 1,” in para 100. Thus, the “number of website icons” coupled with the “quantity of quick applications” greater than size 1/ predetermined file size , therefore wherein the application portal streams the second application when a file size of the second application is greater than a predetermined file size ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 26, Kulkarni does not teach wherein the application portal forms a bridge between the plurality of applications.
Wang teaches wherein the application portal forms a bridge between the plurality of applications ( see FIG. 7A, 7B-1) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 27, Kulkarni does not teach wherein applications, included in the plurality of applications, are linked to one another.
However, Wang teaches wherein applications, included in the plurality of applications, are linked to one another (e.g., para 613, “the target quick application includes an application program A and an application program B, and corresponding related content is a download link of the application program A and a download link of the application program B respectively. Both the application program A and the application program B are application programs in an application store a, and both the download link of the application program A and the download link of the application program B include an address of the application store”) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kulkarni by adopting the teachings of Wang in order for “the user can quickly enjoy rich service functions without worrying about excessive consumption of storage resources of the mobile terminal (see Wang para 4).
As to claim 28, see rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claim 29-34, see rejection of claims 22-27 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDOU K SEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198