DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 22, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 14-20 remain pending in the application, and claims 2, 8, and 13 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 102 and 103 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed February 23, 2026. Applicant’s amendments to the claims necessitate new grounds of rejection, as described in the Response to Arguments and 103 Rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a physical support” in lines 15-16, 20, 21-22, 23-24, and 26-27. It is unclear if these recitations of “a physical support” are meant to be the same physical support, or if these are different physical supports. For the purpose of examination, the recitations of “a physical support” may be any physical support. Further clarification is required.
Claim 3 recites “a physical support” in lines 9-10. It is unclear if this recitation of “a physical support” are meant to be the same physical support as claim 1, or if these are different physical supports. For the purpose of examination, the recitation of “a physical support” may be any physical support. Further clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites “a physical support” in lines 6-7, 11, 12-13, 15, and 17-18, It is unclear if these recitations of “a physical support” are meant to be the same physical support, or if these are different physical supports. For the purpose of examination, the recitations of “a physical support” may be any physical support. Further clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites “a physical support” in lines 6-7. It is unclear if this recitation of “a physical support” are meant to be the same physical support as claim 1, or if these are different physical supports. For the purpose of examination, the recitation of “a physical support” may be any physical support. Further clarification is required.
Claim 20 recites “a physical support” in lines 7-8, 11, 12-13, 14-15, and 17-18, It is unclear if these recitations of “a physical support” are meant to be the same physical support, or if these are different physical supports. For the purpose of examination, the recitations of “a physical support” may be any physical support. Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220218253 A1 (Seidenspinner, Don P.) in view of US 20200367814 A1 (Hanson et al.)
Regarding claim 1, Seidenspinner teaches a system for detecting impairment based upon movement, the system comprising:
a camera ([0143] “camera”);
a movement sensor configured to receive movement information about a detached monitor device ([0002] “The device for this impairment evaluation may be a handheld unit, e.g., a smart phone, suitably programmed to provide the delivery of a stimulus, a record of the response to the stimulus, and perform at least a portion of the analysis of the response for determination of possible impairment of the measured individual.”; [0096] “movement detectors, e.g., accelerometers, may be positioned on the body region or incorporated into the stimulus device, e.g., a smartphone, and utilized for the purpose of detection of muscle movement. In still other instances, other methods, e.g., audio recordings or infrared movement detectors, may be employed to detect motion or other involuntary responses.”);
a visual display ([0143] “display”);
one or more processors ([0054]; [0056] “one or more devices or computational systems performing the analysis that determines various aspects of the response”); and
a non-transient computer readable medium coupled to the one or more processors, and having stored therein instructions ([0056]; [0067]) which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to:
cause a disorienting video stream to play on the visual display for an individual to watch ([0083] “When light stimulation is employed, one form of stimulus is that of a bright momentary flash of visible white light encompassing multiple frequencies of light. Alternate embodiments may employ a strobing light with a set number of flashes whose timing and numbers of flashes is preset or responsive to measured parameters. These light bursts are preferably emitted by device of the invention such as device 110 or by a component in direct communication with or affixed to device 110.”; [0143] “ability to record from either face of the phone, i.e., the front having a display and the back, as well as the ability to deliver a light stimulus, i.e., from the front display or back facing camera flash feature, a user may hold the phone in such a manner to both enter commands through the touch pad display, and in so-called “selfie” mode, hold the camera to enable the stimulus to be delivered and a video record obtained”);
receive an image of surroundings of the individual ([0104]);
apply a movement impairment model to the movement information to yield a probability that the individual watching the disorienting video stream is impaired ([0120] “Determination of how the timing or magnitude of the response of the data values associated with the response compares to normative or impaired values is utilized in various embodiments of the invention to assess the likelihood and degree of possible impairment. One means of accomplishing this objective is the mathematical comparison between the observed response value(s) of one or more parameters or sections of a response versus those same response parameters in comparative data sets that preferably includes both normative and impaired values. In certain instances, mathematical transforms of the data sets, e.g., parameters, equations, or algorithms defining the data sets or values and the variance associated with these may be employed.”; [0124]);
indicate a likelihood of impairment based at least in part on a determination that the probability exceeds a first threshold ([0133] “whether such impairment exceeds a pre-determined level or threshold. The scoring may be directly associated with a threshold value or indirectly as a probability.”); and
indicate no impairment when the probability is less than a second threshold ([0131-0132] “parameter X's time or parameter score is more likely to be part of the normal population or of the impaired population. Using basic forms of statistical analyses, the mean and standard deviations of both comparative data sets may be readily computed and the probability that X is more likely associated with either of the two groups may be readily determined.”).
Seidenspinner does not explicitly teach display, on the visual display, a first message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream; receive an image of surroundings of the individual; determine, from the image, whether the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support; when it is determined that the individual is standing within reach of a physical support, display a subsequent message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream; when it is determined that the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support, determine whether there is sufficient movement information received from the movement sensor; when sufficient movement information is not received, cause a request to be sent to the individual to perform an additional impairment test that is not movement based; and sufficient movement information is received.
However,
Hanson teaches display, on the visual display, a first message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream ([0081] “a video is displayed to the monitored individual via display and touch screen 116 of user detached monitor device 120 (block 202). The video is designed to include movement which engages and causes eye movement.”; [0052-0053] “User detached monitor device 120 is portable, and may be any device that is recognized as being used by or assigned to an individual being monitored, but is not physically attached to the individual being monitored by a tamper evident attaching device”; [0118] “data is accessed from the camera on the user detached monitor device (block 1004). This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006).”);
receive an image of surroundings of the individual ([0118] “data is accessed from the camera on the user detached monitor device (block 1004).”):
determine, from the image, whether the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support ([0118] “This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006)”);
when it is determined that the individual is standing within reach of a physical support, display a subsequent message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream ([0118] “Where it is determined that the conditions of the test have not yet been met (block 1006), it is determined whether the monitored individual has been given enough time to comply with the conditions of the test (block 1008). Where enough time has passed (block 1008), a compliance fail is indicated (block 1010). This compliance fail may be transmitted to a central monitoring station or it may simply be recorded and displayed to the monitored individual via a display of the user detached monitor device.”; [0081]);
when it is determined that the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support, determine whether there is sufficient movement information received from the movement sensor ([0073] “a motion/proximity sensor 152 capable of determining whether user attached monitor device 110 is moving and/or whether it is within proximity of an individual associated with user detached monitor device 120”; [0119] “where the test conditions are met (block 1006), the accelerometers included in the user detached monitor device are monitored to determine how much the user detached monitor device is tilting and/or moving while the monitored individual stands on one foot (block 1012). This monitoring continues for a defined period of time. The data recorded from the accelerometers while the monitored individual stands on a single foot is compared with either a predefined baseline impairment threshold for balance specific to the monitored individual or to a standard baseline impairment threshold for balance that is generic to multiple users (block 1014).”);
when sufficient movement information is not received, cause a request to be sent to the individual to perform an additional impairment test that is not movement based ([0118] “Where it is determined that the conditions of the test have not yet been met (block 1006), it is determined whether the monitored individual has been given enough time to comply with the conditions of the test (block 1008). Where enough time has passed (block 1008), a compliance fail is indicated (block 1010). This compliance fail may be transmitted to a central monitoring station or it may simply be recorded and displayed to the monitored individual via a display of the user detached monitor device.”; [0064] “User detached monitor device 120 further includes user monitoring circuitry 179 capable of gathering user identification information and/or user characteristics from one or more of motion detector 111, a microphone 171, a camera 173, a temperature sensor 175, and/or a biometric sensor 177. In some cases, user monitoring circuitry 179 is incorporated in an integrated circuit with control circuit 122”; [0073] “a motion/proximity sensor 152 capable of determining whether user attached monitor device 110 is moving and/or whether it is within proximity of an individual associated with user detached monitor device 120, and/or an alcohol sensor 153. Such an alcohol sensor may be any alcohol sensor capable of estimating an amount of alcohol in the individual being monitored. Based upon the disclosure provided herein, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize a variety of alcohol sensors and corresponding alcohol sensing circuitry that may be used in relation to different embodiments.”); and
sufficient movement information is received ([0119]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system taught by Seidenspinner to include instructing and individual to move beyond reach of a physical support and validating that they are away from the support to determine sufficient movement. One would have been motivated to make this modification because assessing balance is used to determine impairment, which requires users to have the device away from their body and standing on one foot, and determination of impairment requires compliance of the instructions as well as utilizing additional sensors to test for impairment if data is not compliant, as suggested by Hanson [0073, 0116, 0119].
Regarding claim 3, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1.
Seidenspinner does not explicitly teach wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the image showing the individual located away from a physical support.
However,
Hanson teaches wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the image showing the individual located away from a physical support ([0118] “This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006).”; [0119] “where the test conditions are met (block 1006), the accelerometers included in the user detached monitor device are monitored to determine how much the user detached monitor device is tilting and/or moving while the monitored individual stands on one foot (block 1012). This monitoring continues for a defined period of time. The data recorded from the accelerometers while the monitored individual stands on a single foot is compared with either a predefined baseline impairment threshold for balance specific to the monitored individual or to a standard baseline impairment threshold for balance that is generic to multiple users (block 1014). For example, where the monitored individual is on parole, part of the terms of their release may be that they stand on a single foot while similar accelerometer data is recorded under similar conditions and in a controlled situation where it is known that they are not impaired.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system taught by Seidenspinner to include indicating no impairment based on an individual located away from a physical support. One would have been motivated to make this modification because assessing balance is used to determine impairment, which requires users to have the device away from their body and standing on one foot, and non-impairment requires compliance of the instructions, as suggested by Hanson [0116, 0119].
Regarding claim 4, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1,
wherein the non-transient computer readable medium further having stored therein instructions which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to:
receive a face image of the individual indicating the individual is watching the visual display ([0091] “By predefined criteria, the face construct can then be determined to be in the correct orientation and distance to enable measurements to be taken.”);
wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the face image of the individual indicating the individual is watching the visual display ([0091]; [0094] “Upon achieving appropriate orientation and distance, the system may then alert the user that the system is ready to deliver the stimulus and take measurements, e.g., with a visual alert or audible tone.”; [0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the non-transient computer readable medium further having stored therein instructions which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to:
compare the movement information with a movement threshold ([0100] “the stimulus applied will be sufficient to result in a measurable change in at least one body muscle or activity associated with impairment and that the recording or measurement tool is sensitive to this change and has sufficient resolution to detect the change associated with impairment by either timescale of the monitoring or sensitivity of measurement”); and
wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the movement information being greater than the movement threshold ([0100] “In related instances, the stimulus and the lack of response by a body region may in itself represent a degree of impairment when an unimpaired individual would be anticipated to have a response.”).
Regarding claim 6, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the movement impairment model is a machine learning model ([0050] “Assessment of impairment likelihood and degree of impairment may then be determined in a quantitative fashion. Quantitative results may then be obtained with use of one or more analysis techniques, such as machine learning algorithms”) trained using at least one hundred instances of movement information data ([0053] “Data from the recording is then analyzed for concordance with the timing and magnitude of the response with one or more training datasets or values representative of normative and impaired response”; [0104]; [0114]; [0124]; [0142] “As video frame rate on modern smart phones in slow motion configuration is on the order of 120 frames per second, and super slow motion has frame rates on the order of 400 frames per second, these devices have sufficient data capture speed to discriminate events with resolution of 10 msec or less.” – The frame rate indicates that there are at least 100 instances of movement data used to train the machine learning model with video frames from multiple individuals).
Regarding claim 7, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the at least one hundred instances of movement information correspond to at least ten different individuals undergoing a movement based impairment test ([0124] “the modeling may be from datasets arising from a combination of individuals which may or may not include the subject themselves.”; Fig. 4: [0131] “FIG. 4 shows the discrimination of values grouped with a classifier algorithm. This hypothetical graph indicates a subject's data value (X) plotted against two comparative data sets, normal (.circle-solid.) and impaired (◯).” – Fig. 4 depicts more than ten different datasets, which can be from unique individuals).
Regarding claim 9, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the additional impairment test is selected from a group consisting of: a facial image based impairment test, and a voice based impairment test ([0077] “facial image data structure database 140 that, when employed with measured subject data, enable determination of possible impairment”; [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the non-transient computer readable medium further having stored therein instructions which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to:
forward the movement information to a user for classification when the probability is both less than the first threshold and greater than the second threshold ([0131] “FIG. 4 shows the discrimination of values grouped with a classifier algorithm. This hypothetical graph indicates a subject's data value (X) plotted against two comparative data sets, normal (.circle-solid.) and impaired (◯).”; [0132] “test if parameter X's time or parameter score is more likely to be part of the normal population or of the impaired population. Using basic forms of statistical analyses, the mean and standard deviations of both comparative data sets may be readily computed and the probability that X is more likely associated with either of the two groups may be readily determined. This is a common statistical exercise, e.g., done using classical statistical techniques, or by using a machine learning based classifier algorithm.”).
Regarding claim 11, Seidenspinner teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the non-transient computer readable medium further having stored therein instructions which when executed by the one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to:
report the likelihood of impairment to a recipient device apart from the one or more processors ([0150-0151] “Upon completion of the evaluation, the clinician (third party 580) may receive the findings and incorporate these into the subject's medical history or these may automatically populate into an electronic health record.”).
Regarding claim 12, Seidenspinner teaches a method for detecting impairment based upon movement information, the method comprising:
displaying, by a visual display, a disorienting video stream for an individual to watch ([0083] “When light stimulation is employed, one form of stimulus is that of a bright momentary flash of visible white light encompassing multiple frequencies of light. Alternate embodiments may employ a strobing light with a set number of flashes whose timing and numbers of flashes is preset or responsive to measured parameters. These light bursts are preferably emitted by device of the invention such as device 110 or by a component in direct communication with or affixed to device 110.”; [0143] “ability to record from either face of the phone, i.e., the front having a display and the back, as well as the ability to deliver a light stimulus, i.e., from the front display or back facing camera flash feature, a user may hold the phone in such a manner to both enter commands through the touch pad display, and in so-called “selfie” mode, hold the camera to enable the stimulus to be delivered and a video record obtained”);
receiving, from a camera, an image of surroundings of the individual ([0104]);
applying, by the processor, a movement impairment model to the movement information to yield a probability that the individual watching the disorienting video stream is impaired ([0120] “Determination of how the timing or magnitude of the response of the data values associated with the response compares to normative or impaired values is utilized in various embodiments of the invention to assess the likelihood and degree of possible impairment. One means of accomplishing this objective is the mathematical comparison between the observed response value(s) of one or more parameters or sections of a response versus those same response parameters in comparative data sets that preferably includes both normative and impaired values. In certain instances, mathematical transforms of the data sets, e.g., parameters, equations, or algorithms defining the data sets or values and the variance associated with these may be employed.”; [0124]);
indicating, by the processor, a likelihood of impairment based at least in part on a determination that the probability exceeds a first threshold ([0133] “whether such impairment exceeds a pre-determined level or threshold. The scoring may be directly associated with a threshold value or indirectly as a probability.”); and
indicating, by the processor, no impairment when the probability is less than a second threshold ([0131-0132] “parameter X's time or parameter score is more likely to be part of the normal population or of the impaired population. Using basic forms of statistical analyses, the mean and standard deviations of both comparative data sets may be readily computed and the probability that X is more likely associated with either of the two groups may be readily determined.”).
Seidenspinner does not explicitly teach displaying, by the visual display, a first message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream; receiving, from a camera, an image of surroundings of the individual; determining from the image, by a processor, whether the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support; when it is determined that the individual is standing within reach of a physical support, displaying, by the visual display, a subsequent message requesting that the individual move to a
location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream; when it is determined that the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support, determining whether there is sufficient movement information received from a movement sensor included in a detached monitor device; when sufficient movement information is not received, causing a request to be sent to the individual to perform an additional impairment test that is not movement based; and
sufficient movement information is received.
However,
Hanson teaches displaying, by the visual display, a first message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream ([0081] “a video is displayed to the monitored individual via display and touch screen 116 of user detached monitor device 120 (block 202). The video is designed to include movement which engages and causes eye movement.”; [0052-0053] “User detached monitor device 120 is portable, and may be any device that is recognized as being used by or assigned to an individual being monitored, but is not physically attached to the individual being monitored by a tamper evident attaching device”; [0118] “data is accessed from the camera on the user detached monitor device (block 1004). This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006).”);
receiving, from a camera, an image of surroundings of the individual ([0118] “data is accessed from the camera on the user detached monitor device (block 1004).”);
determining from the image, by a processor, whether the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support ([0118] “This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006)”);
when it is determined that the individual is standing within reach of a physical support, displaying, by the visual display, a subsequent message requesting that the individual move to a
location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream ([0118] “Where it is determined that the conditions of the test have not yet been met (block 1006), it is determined whether the monitored individual has been given enough time to comply with the conditions of the test (block 1008). Where enough time has passed (block 1008), a compliance fail is indicated (block 1010). This compliance fail may be transmitted to a central monitoring station or it may simply be recorded and displayed to the monitored individual via a display of the user detached monitor device.”; [0081]);
when it is determined that the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support, determining whether there is sufficient movement information received from a movement sensor included in a detached monitor device ([0073] “a motion/proximity sensor 152 capable of determining whether user attached monitor device 110 is moving and/or whether it is within proximity of an individual associated with user detached monitor device 120”; [0119] “where the test conditions are met (block 1006), the accelerometers included in the user detached monitor device are monitored to determine how much the user detached monitor device is tilting and/or moving while the monitored individual stands on one foot (block 1012). This monitoring continues for a defined period of time. The data recorded from the accelerometers while the monitored individual stands on a single foot is compared with either a predefined baseline impairment threshold for balance specific to the monitored individual or to a standard baseline impairment threshold for balance that is generic to multiple users (block 1014).”);
when sufficient movement information is not received, causing a request to be sent to the individual to perform an additional impairment test that is not movement based ([0118] “Where it is determined that the conditions of the test have not yet been met (block 1006), it is determined whether the monitored individual has been given enough time to comply with the conditions of the test (block 1008). Where enough time has passed (block 1008), a compliance fail is indicated (block 1010). This compliance fail may be transmitted to a central monitoring station or it may simply be recorded and displayed to the monitored individual via a display of the user detached monitor device.”; [0064] “User detached monitor device 120 further includes user monitoring circuitry 179 capable of gathering user identification information and/or user characteristics from one or more of motion detector 111, a microphone 171, a camera 173, a temperature sensor 175, and/or a biometric sensor 177. In some cases, user monitoring circuitry 179 is incorporated in an integrated circuit with control circuit 122”; [0073] “a motion/proximity sensor 152 capable of determining whether user attached monitor device 110 is moving and/or whether it is within proximity of an individual associated with user detached monitor device 120, and/or an alcohol sensor 153. Such an alcohol sensor may be any alcohol sensor capable of estimating an amount of alcohol in the individual being monitored. Based upon the disclosure provided herein, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize a variety of alcohol sensors and corresponding alcohol sensing circuitry that may be used in relation to different embodiments.”); and
sufficient movement information is received ([0119]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method taught by Seidenspinner to include instructing and individual to move beyond reach of a physical support and validating that they are away from the support to determine sufficient movement. One would have been motivated to make this modification because assessing balance is used to determine impairment, which requires users to have the device away from their body and standing on one foot, and determination of impairment requires compliance of the instructions as well as utilizing additional sensors to test for impairment if data is not compliant, as suggested by Hanson [0073, 0116, 0119].
Regarding claim 14, Seidenspinner teaches the method of claim 12.
Seidenspinner does not explicitly teach wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the image showing the individual located away from a physical support.
However,
Hanson teaches wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the image showing the individual located away from a physical support ([0118] “This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006).”; [0119] “where the test conditions are met (block 1006), the accelerometers included in the user detached monitor device are monitored to determine how much the user detached monitor device is tilting and/or moving while the monitored individual stands on one foot (block 1012). This monitoring continues for a defined period of time. The data recorded from the accelerometers while the monitored individual stands on a single foot is compared with either a predefined baseline impairment threshold for balance specific to the monitored individual or to a standard baseline impairment threshold for balance that is generic to multiple users (block 1014). For example, where the monitored individual is on parole, part of the terms of their release may be that they stand on a single foot while similar accelerometer data is recorded under similar conditions and in a controlled situation where it is known that they are not impaired.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method taught by Seidenspinner to include indicating no impairment based on an individual located away from a physical support. One would have been motivated to make this modification because assessing balance is used to determine impairment, which requires users to have the device away from their body and standing on one foot, and non-impairment requires compliance of the instructions, as suggested by Hanson [0116, 0119].
Regarding claim 15, Seidenspinner teaches the method of claim 12, the system further comprising:
receiving, by the processor, a face image of the individual indicating the individual is watching the visual display ([0091] “By predefined criteria, the face construct can then be determined to be in the correct orientation and distance to enable measurements to be taken.”); and
wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the face image of the individual indicating the individual is watching the visual display ([0091]; [0094] “Upon achieving appropriate orientation and distance, the system may then alert the user that the system is ready to deliver the stimulus and take measurements, e.g., with a visual alert or audible tone.”; [0100]).
Regarding claim 16, Seidenspinner teaches the method of claim 12, the method further comprising:
comparing, by the processor, the movement information with a movement threshold ([0100] “the stimulus applied will be sufficient to result in a measurable change in at least one body muscle or activity associated with impairment and that the recording or measurement tool is sensitive to this change and has sufficient resolution to detect the change associated with impairment by either timescale of the monitoring or sensitivity of measurement”); and
wherein indicating no impairment is based at least in part on the movement information being greater than the movement threshold ([0100] “In related instances, the stimulus and the lack of response by a body region may in itself represent a degree of impairment when an unimpaired individual would be anticipated to have a response.”).
Regarding claim 17, Seidenspinner teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the movement impairment model is a machine learning model ([0050] “Assessment of impairment likelihood and degree of impairment may then be determined in a quantitative fashion. Quantitative results may then be obtained with use of one or more analysis techniques, such as machine learning algorithms”) trained using at least one hundred instances of movement information data ([0053] “Data from the recording is then analyzed for concordance with the timing and magnitude of the response with one or more training datasets or values representative of normative and impaired response”; [0104]; [0114]; [0124]; [0142] “As video frame rate on modern smart phones in slow motion configuration is on the order of 120 frames per second, and super slow motion has frame rates on the order of 400 frames per second, these devices have sufficient data capture speed to discriminate events with resolution of 10 msec or less.” – The frame rate indicates that there are at least 100 instances of movement data used to train the machine learning model with video frames from multiple individuals).
Regarding claim 18, Seidenspinner teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the at least one hundred instances of movement information correspond to at least ten different individuals undergoing a movement based impairment test ([0124] “the modeling may be from datasets arising from a combination of individuals which may or may not include the subject themselves.”; Fig. 4: [0131] “FIG. 4 shows the discrimination of values grouped with a classifier algorithm. This hypothetical graph indicates a subject's data value (X) plotted against two comparative data sets, normal (.circle-solid.) and impaired (◯).” – Fig. 4 depicts more than ten different datasets, which can be from unique individuals).
Regarding claim 19, Seidenspinner teaches the method of claim 12,
wherein the additional impairment test is selected from a group consisting of: a facial image based impairment test, and a voice based impairment test ([0077] “facial image data structure database 140 that, when employed with measured subject data, enable determination of possible impairment”; [0049]).
Regarding claim 20, Seidenspinner teaches a non-transient computer readable medium having stored therein instructions ([0056]; [0067]), which when executed by a hardware processing system cause the hardware processing system to:
cause a disorienting video stream to play on a visual display for an individual to watch ([0083] “When light stimulation is employed, one form of stimulus is that of a bright momentary flash of visible white light encompassing multiple frequencies of light. Alternate embodiments may employ a strobing light with a set number of flashes whose timing and numbers of flashes is preset or responsive to measured parameters. These light bursts are preferably emitted by device of the invention such as device 110 or by a component in direct communication with or affixed to device 110.”; [0143] “ability to record from either face of the phone, i.e., the front having a display and the back, as well as the ability to deliver a light stimulus, i.e., from the front display or back facing camera flash feature, a user may hold the phone in such a manner to both enter commands through the touch pad display, and in so-called “selfie” mode, hold the camera to enable the stimulus to be delivered and a video record obtained”);
receive an image of surroundings of the individual ([0104]);
apply a movement impairment model to the movement information to yield a probability that the individual watching the disorienting video stream is impaired ([0120] “Determination of how the timing or magnitude of the response of the data values associated with the response compares to normative or impaired values is utilized in various embodiments of the invention to assess the likelihood and degree of possible impairment. One means of accomplishing this objective is the mathematical comparison between the observed response value(s) of one or more parameters or sections of a response versus those same response parameters in comparative data sets that preferably includes both normative and impaired values. In certain instances, mathematical transforms of the data sets, e.g., parameters, equations, or algorithms defining the data sets or values and the variance associated with these may be employed.”; [0124]), wherein the movement impairment model is a machine learning model ([0050] “Assessment of impairment likelihood and degree of impairment may then be determined in a quantitative fashion. Quantitative results may then be obtained with use of one or more analysis techniques, such as machine learning algorithms”) trained using at least one hundred instances of movement information data ([0053] “Data from the recording is then analyzed for concordance with the timing and magnitude of the response with one or more training datasets or values representative of normative and impaired response”; [0104]; [0114]; [0124]; [0142] “As video frame rate on modern smart phones in slow motion configuration is on the order of 120 frames per second, and super slow motion has frame rates on the order of 400 frames per second, these devices have sufficient data capture speed to discriminate events with resolution of 10 msec or less.” – The frame rate indicates that there are at least 100 instances of movement data used to train the machine learning model with video frames from multiple individuals), and wherein the at least one hundred instances of movement information correspond to at least ten different individuals undergoing a movement based impairment test ([0124] “the modeling may be from datasets arising from a combination of individuals which may or may not include the subject themselves.”; Fig. 4: [0131] “FIG. 4 shows the discrimination of values grouped with a classifier algorithm. This hypothetical graph indicates a subject's data value (X) plotted against two comparative data sets, normal (.circle-solid.) and impaired (◯).” – Fig. 4 depicts more than ten different datasets, which can be from unique individuals);
indicate a likelihood of impairment based at least in part on a determination that the probability exceeds a first threshold ([0133] “whether such impairment exceeds a pre-determined level or threshold. The scoring may be directly associated with a threshold value or indirectly as a probability.”); and
indicate no impairment when the probability is less than a second threshold ([0131-0132] “parameter X's time or parameter score is more likely to be part of the normal population or of the impaired population. Using basic forms of statistical analyses, the mean and standard deviations of both comparative data sets may be readily computed and the probability that X is more likely associated with either of the two groups may be readily determined.”).
Seidenspinner does not explicitly teach display, on the visual display, a first message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream; receive an image of surroundings of the individual; determine, from the image, whether the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support; when it is determined that the individual is standing within reach of a physical support, display a subsequent message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream; when it is determined that the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support, determine whether there is sufficient movement information received from a movement sensor; when sufficient movement information is not received, cause a request to be sent to the individual to perform an additional impairment test that is not movement based; and sufficient movement information is received.
However,
Hanson teaches display, on the visual display, a first message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream ([0081] “a video is displayed to the monitored individual via display and touch screen 116 of user detached monitor device 120 (block 202). The video is designed to include movement which engages and causes eye movement.”; [0052-0053] “User detached monitor device 120 is portable, and may be any device that is recognized as being used by or assigned to an individual being monitored, but is not physically attached to the individual being monitored by a tamper evident attaching device”; [0118] “data is accessed from the camera on the user detached monitor device (block 1004). This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006).”);
receive an image of surroundings of the individual ([0118] “data is accessed from the camera on the user detached monitor device (block 1004).”);
determine, from the image, whether the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support ([0118] “This data is used to ascertain the identity of the monitored individual, to assure that the user detached monitor device is held away from the body, and that the monitored individual is standing on a single foot (block 1006)”);
when it is determined that the individual is standing within reach of a physical support, display a subsequent message requesting that the individual move to a location beyond reach of a physical support and stand still while watching the disorienting video stream ([0118] “Where it is determined that the conditions of the test have not yet been met (block 1006), it is determined whether the monitored individual has been given enough time to comply with the conditions of the test (block 1008). Where enough time has passed (block 1008), a compliance fail is indicated (block 1010). This compliance fail may be transmitted to a central monitoring station or it may simply be recorded and displayed to the monitored individual via a display of the user detached monitor device.”; [0081]);
when it is determined that the individual is standing beyond reach of a physical support, determine whether there is sufficient movement information received from a movement sensor ([0073] “a motion/proximity sensor 152 capable of determining whether user attached monitor device 110 is moving and/or whether it is within proximity of an individual associated with user detached monitor device 120”; [0119] “where the test conditions are met (block 1006), the accelerometers included in the user detached monitor device are monitored to determine how much the user detached monitor device is tilting and/or moving while the monitored individual stands on one foot (block 1012). This monitoring continues for a defined period of time. The data recorded from the accelerometers while the monitored individual stands on a single foot is compared with either a predefined baseline impairment threshold for balance specific to the monitored individual or to a standard baseline impairment threshold for balance that is generic to multiple users (block 1014).”);
when sufficient movement information is not received, cause a request to be sent to the individual to perform an additional impairment test that is not movement based ([0118] “Where it is determined that the conditions of the test have not yet been met (block 1006), it is determined whether the monitored individual has been given enough time to comply with the conditions of the test (block 1008). Where enough time has passed (block 1008), a compliance fail is indicated (block 1010). This compliance fail may be transmitted to a central monitoring station or it may simply be recorded and displayed to the monitored individual via a display of the user detached monitor device.”; [0064] “User detached monitor device 120 further includes user monitoring circuitry 179 capable of gathering user identification information and/or user characteristics from one or more of motion detector 111, a microphone 171, a camera 173, a temperature sensor 175, and/or a biometric sensor 177. In some cases, user monitoring circuitry 179 is incorporated in an integrated circuit with control circuit 122”; [0073] “a motion/proximity sensor 152 capable of determining whether user attached monitor device 110 is moving and/or whether it is within proximity of an individual associated with user detached monitor device 120, and/or an alcohol sensor 153. Such an alcohol sensor may be any alcohol sensor capable of estimating an amount of alcohol in the individual being monitored. Based upon the disclosure provided herein, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize a variety of alcohol sensors and corresponding alcohol sensing circuitry that may be used in relation to different embodiments.”); and
sufficient movement information is received ([0119]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention taught by Seidenspinner to include instructing and individual to move beyond reach of a physical support and validating that they are away from the support to determine sufficient movement. One would have been motivated to make this modification because assessing balance is used to determine impairment, which requires users to have the device away from their body and standing on one foot, and determination of impairment requires compliance of the instructions as well as utilizing additional sensors to test for impairment if data is not compliant, as suggested by Hanson [0073, 0116, 0119].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the 102 and 103 Rejections in the Final Office Action (See Pages 10-13 of Applicant’s Response), Applicant argues that claims 1, 12, and 20 are patentable over Seidenspinner, and by virtue of their dependency, claims 4-7, 9-11, and 15-19 are also patentable over Seidenspinner. Applicant states that Wojcik and Hogle do not cure the deficiencies of Seidenspinner.
There are new grounds of claim rejections that were necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claims 4-7, 9-11, and 15-19 are rejected because the rejection of claims 1, 12, and 20 are proper and the prior art teaches or suggests all the features of these claims for the reasons described in the 103 Rejections.
Conclusion
/EVELYN GRACE PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791