DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/18/2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1-2,13,16-19 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 16 Applicant asserts:
However, there does not appear to be any discussion in Din of a controller configured to remain idle for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle. To the contrary, perturbation control module 314 of Din appears to generate sinusoidal perturbations on current flowing through batteries 306 throughout the EIS excitation signal. (See Din at paragraph [0034]). Din does not appear to discuss any portion of an EIS excitation signal cycle during which the energy transfer circuitry remains idle.
In response:
As seen in the rejection of claims 1 and 16 Examiner uses the combined teachings of Din to teach claim language of claims 1 and 16. Specifically, the Examiner states:
Din does not disclose/teach the energy transfer circuitry to remain idle for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discontinue operation (i.e. open all of the switches 408,410) of Dins energy transfer circuitry (302(1), FIG. 4) at the end of the impedance characterization method (Ex in Fig. 6 of Din) resulting in no current conducted in any of the electrochemical devices in order to save energy and prevent further damaging Dins excitation system when not in use.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner notes on claim language
In regards to the claim language “to remain idle for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle”, Based on Fig. 3 and [0050] of the specification during the second half-period 304, the electrochemical excitation system 100 is considered idle when both the first and second switches of the energy transfer circuitry are off/open which results in no current conducted in any of the electrochemical devices. As such, the Examiner will interpret the energy transfer circuitry being in an idle state when the energy transfer circuitry is off or nonoperating resulting in no current conducted in any of the electrochemical devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,8,10-12, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348).
As to claim 1, Din discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) excitation system (Fig. 3-4, system 300 for characterizing electrical impedance of an energy storage device), the EIS excitation system comprising:
energy transfer circuitry (switching power converters 302(1), FIG. 4), configured to transfer energy from a first electrochemical device (306(2)) to a second electrochemical device (306(1). [0032] D1 is a duty cycle of first switching device 408, which is the portion of each switching cycle of switching power converter 302(1) where first switching device 408 is operating in its conductive state. Consequentially, energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1…When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412); and
a controller (control subsystem 304, FIG. 3) configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to generate an EIS excitation signal for the first electrochemical device ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...[0035] Impedance determining module 320 determines complex impedance zbat of each battery 306 from signals 324 and 326 at each frequency of the sinusoidal perturbations), wherein the controller is configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to transfer energy in a first direction between the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device for a first portion of an EIS excitation signal cycle ([0032] energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1… switching power converter 302 is at least partially controlled by control subsystem 304).
Din does not disclose/teach the energy transfer circuitry to remain idle for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discontinue operation (i.e. open all of the switches 408,410) of Dins energy transfer circuitry (302(1), FIG. 4) at the end of the impedance characterization method (Ex in Fig. 6) resulting in no current conducted in any of the electrochemical devices in order to save energy and prevent further damaging Dins excitation system when not in use.
As to claim 2, Din teaches the excitation system of claim 1. wherein the controller is further configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to transfer the energy in the first direction in discrete pulses issued at a carrier frequency for the first portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle. ([0032]..When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412).
As to claim 3, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the energy transfer circuitry and the controller are configured such that the transfer of energy from the first electrochemical device to the second electrochemical device is at least partially asynchronous in discrete pulses ([0032]..When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412).
As to claim 4, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 3, wherein the energy transfer circuitry comprises an energy storage element (Fig. 3, batteries 306).
As to claim 5, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 4, wherein the energy storage element includes an inductor (Fig. 4, 412).
As to claim 8, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 3, wherein an EIS measurement circuit is configured to attenuate an effect of a frequency of the discrete pulses to analyze an EIS frequency of the EIS excitation signal ([0035] current sensing module 316 and voltage sensing module 318 each include one or more high-pass filters so that signals 324 and 326 are at least substantially devoid of low-frequency components).
As to claim 10, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the first electrochemical device is of a different voltage than the second electrochemical device ([0043] Power conversion control module 312 controls switching power converters 900 as needed to at least substantially equalize energy stored in batteries 306 ….such that the ratio of voltage V.sub.1 to voltage V.sub.2 is greater than one. As such the first and second electrochemical devices have different voltages)
As to claim 11, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device include at least one of a battery cell, a fuel cell, an electrolysis cell, or other electrochemical cell (Fig. 3 batteries 306 (1,2)).
As to claim 12, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 1, further comprising the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device (Fig. 3 batteries 306 (1,2)).
As to claim 16, Din discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) excitation system (Fig. 3-4, 300 system 300 for characterizing electrical impedance of an energy storage device), the EIS excitation system comprising:
an inductor, having a first inductor terminal and a second inductor terminal (Fig. 4 inductor 412), wherein the first inductor terminal is coupled to a first polarity terminal of a first electrochemical device (306(2)) and a second polarity terminal of a second electrochemical device (Fig. 4 (306(1)); a first switch having a first conduction terminal and a second conduction terminal (Fig. 4, 410), wherein the first conduction terminal is coupled to a second polarity terminal of the first electrochemical device (Fig. 4 410 connected to positive terminal of 306(2)) and the second conduction terminal is coupled to the second inductor terminal (Fig. 4 410 connected to inductor); and a second switch, having a third conduction terminal and a fourth conduction terminal (Fig. 4, 408), wherein the third conduction terminal is coupled to a first polarity terminal of the second electrochemical device (Fig. 4 408 connected to negative terminal of 306(1)) and the fourth conduction terminal is coupled to the second inductor terminal (Fig. 4 408 connected to inductor).
a controller (control subsystem 304, FIG. 3), configured to control the first switch and the second switch to transfer energy in a first direction between the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device for a first portion of an EIS excitation signal cycle, ( [0032] D1 is a duty cycle of first switching device 408, which is the portion of each switching cycle of switching power converter 302(1) where first switching device 408 is operating in its conductive state. Consequentially, energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1…When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412… switching power converter 302 is at least partially controlled by control subsystem 304).
Din does not disclose/teach the controller configured to control the first switch and the second switch to remain idle for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Dins controller to discontinue operation (i.e. open all of the switches 408,410) of the energy transfer circuitry (302(1), FIG. 4) at the end of the impedance characterization method (Ex in Fig. 6) resulting in no current conducted in any of the electrochemical devices in order to save energy and prevent further damaging Dins excitation system when not in use.
As to claim 17, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 16, wherein:
the controller (control subsystem 304, FIG. 3) is configured to control the first switch and the second switch ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...), wherein the controller is configured to generate a discharging current in the first electrochemical device and a charging current in the second electrochemical device ([0032] D1 is a duty cycle of first switching device 408, which is the portion of each switching cycle of switching power converter 302(1) where first switching device 408 is operating in its conductive state. Consequentially, energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1…), including to: close the first switch and open the second switch to generate a current in the inductor from the discharging of the first electrochemical device ([0032]..When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412); and open the first switch and close the second switch to generate a charging current in the second electrochemical device using the current in the inductor ([0032] When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412).
As to claim 18, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured to: generate a discharging current in the first electrochemical device and a charging current in the second electrochemical device recurrently at a specified carrier frequency for a specified number of cycles, thereby generating an average discharge current in the first electrochemical device and an average charge current in the second electrochemical device for the first portion of a cycle of a specified EIS excitation signal ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...an average current is inherently generated).
As to claim 19, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to generate an average discharge current in the first electrochemical device and the average charge current in the second electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...an average current is inherently generated).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of Marsili (US 20200132781).
As to claim 6, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 3.
Din does not disclose/teach wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal.
Marsaili teaches wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal (Fig. 13A and [0088]-[0087])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the EIS excitation system of Din to wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal in order to allow time for the battery being charged to reached the desired charge value before the desired use.
Claims 7, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of Eriksson (US 20230104336).
As to claim 7, Din teaches the EIS excitation system of claim 3.
Din does not disclose/teach wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies
Eriksson teaches wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies ([0103] The determined impedance ..can be compared to reference data and be used to identify potential defects inside the cell 10, C, such as defects in an electrode or in the electrolyte or defects in the interface between electrode and electrolyte. Different frequencies of the time-varying test current Itest provide different kind of information on a particular type of cell 10, C and certain frequencies may be more useful than other for different types of cells. The time-varying test current Itest may be adapted to the type of cell 10, C to be analysed, i.e. the test current may comprise one or several selected frequency ranges that have significantly higher amplitudes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the EIS excitation system of Din to wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies in order to identify potential defects inside the cell ([0103] of Eriksson).
As to claim 13, Din discloses a method for electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) excitation (Fig. 3-4, 300 system 300 for characterizing electrical impedance of an energy storage device), the method comprising:
generating an EIS excitation signal of a specified EIS excitation frequency for a first electrochemical device ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...), wherein the EIS excitation signal comprises a carrier signal of a specified carrier frequency ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...[0035] Impedance determining module 320 determines complex impedance zbat of each battery 306 from signals 324 and 326 at each frequency of the sinusoidal perturbations), the generating including: transferring energy in a first direction between the first electrochemical device and a second electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a first portion of an EIS excitation signal cycle ([0032] energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1… switching power converter 302 is at least partially controlled by control subsystem 304).
Din does not disclose/teach wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies
Eriksson teaches wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies ([0103] The determined impedance ..can be compared to reference data and be used to identify potential defects inside the cell 10, C, such as defects in an electrode or in the electrolyte or defects in the interface between electrode and electrolyte. Different frequencies of the time-varying test current Itest provide different kind of information on a particular type of cell 10, C and certain frequencies may be more useful than other for different types of cells. The time-varying test current Itest may be adapted to the type of cell 10, C to be analysed, i.e. the test current may comprise one or several selected frequency ranges that have significantly higher amplitudes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the EIS excitation system of Din to wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies in order to identify potential defects inside the cell ([0103] of Eriksson).
As to claim 15, Din in view of Eriksson teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the transferring energy between the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device includes temporarily storing at least a portion of a transferred energy ([0033] Power conversion control module 312 causes transfer of energy from battery 306(1) to battery 306(3) by adjusting Δv to switching power converter 302(1) so that D1 of switching power converter 302(1) changes and causes switching power converter 302(1) to transfer energy from battery 306(1) to battery 306(2), and then by adjusting Δv to switching power converter 302(2) so that D.sub.1 of switching power converter 302(2) changes and causes switching power converter 302(2) to transfer energy from battery 306(2) to battery 306(3)).
Claim 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of De Arroyabe (DE 102019125014). Note: Examiner uses De Arroyabe (DE 102019125014) to make rejection but relies on machine translation to clarify position.
As to claim 9, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the first electrochemical device includes a first number of cells (Fig. 3 battery 306(2)) and, wherein the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device are included in an energy storage module (Fig. 3).
Din does not disclose/teach the second electrochemical device (Fig. 3 battery 306(2)) includes a second number of cells.
De Arroyabe teaches the second electrochemical device includes a second number of cells (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the second number of cells of Din to include a second number of cells in order to save both construction space and material costs. Because the excitation signal generation is carried out by transferring charge back and forth, the battery cells are hardly stressed and hardly any energy is consumed ([0010-[0011]).
As to claim 14, Din discloses the method of claim 13.
Din does not disclose/teach wherein the generating includes: transferring energy in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle.
De Arroyabe teaches wherein the generating includes: transferring energy in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle ([0017] and Fig. 1-2 battery system during the first and second half of a period).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of Din to wherein the generating includes: transferring energy in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle in order to save both construction space and material costs. Because the excitation signal generation is carried out by transferring charge back and forth, the battery cells are hardly stressed and hardly any energy is consumed ([0010-[0011]).
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of Liu (US 20160141895).
As to claim 20, Din teaches the excitation system of claim 16, wherein the first switch and the second switch (408,410) include a field effect transistor (FET) ([0019] The term “switching device” in this document refers to a device capable of being repeatedly switched between its conductive and non-conductive states, such …, a field effect transistor (FET).
Din does not disclose/teach a diode included in or in parallel with the FET.
Liu teaches a diode included in or in parallel with the FET ([0020] each of the switches 104a-104h represents two back-to-back MOSFET transistors to prevent the short-circuit of two neighboring cells by the MOSFET body diode. Any single-switch devices with no body diodes can also be used here).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the field effect transistor (FET) of Din to include a diode included in the FET transistors in order to prevent the short-circuit of two neighboring cells by the MOSFET body diode.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859