CTNF 18/201,063 CTNF 92614 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 05/23/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/312024 and 9/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1,3-5,7-8,10-13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Din et al (US 20170160348) . As to claim 1, Din discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) excitation system (Fig. 3-4, 300 system 300 for characterizing electrical impedance of an energy storage device) , the EIS excitation system comprising: energy transfer circuitry (switching power converters 302(1), FIG. 4) , configured to transfer energy from a first electrochemical device (306(2)) to a second electrochemical device (306(1). [0032] D1 is a duty cycle of first switching device 408, which is the portion of each switching cycle of switching power converter 302(1) where first switching device 408 is operating in its conductive state. Consequentially, energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1…When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412) ; and a controller (control subsystem 304 , FIG. 3) configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to generate an EIS excitation signal for the first electrochemical device ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...[0035] Impedance determining module 320 determines complex impedance zbat of each battery 306 from signals 324 and 326 at each frequency of the sinusoidal perturbations) , wherein the controller is configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to transfer energy in a first direction between the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device for a first portion of an EIS excitation signal cycle ([0032] energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1… switching power converter 302 is at least partially controlled by control subsystem 304) . As to claim 3, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the energy transfer circuitry and the controller are configured such that the transfer of energy from the first electrochemical device to the second electrochemical device is at least partially asynchronous in discrete pulses ([0032]..When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412) . As to claim 4, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 3, wherein the energy transfer circuitry comprises an energy storage element (Fig. 3, batteries 306) . As to claim 5, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 4, wherein the energy storage element includes an inductor (Fig. 4, 412) . As to claim 7, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 3, wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is adjusted across a range of frequencies ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306) . As to claim 8, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 3, wherein an EIS measurement circuit is configured to attenuate an effect of a frequency of the discrete pulses to analyze an EIS frequency of the EIS excitation signal ([0035] current sensing module 316 and voltage sensing module 318 each include one or more high-pass filters so that signals 324 and 326 are at least substantially devoid of low-frequency components) . As to claim 10, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the first electrochemical device is of a different voltage than the second electrochemical device ([0043] Power conversion control module 312 controls switching power converters 900 as needed to at least substantially equalize energy stored in batteries 306 ….such that the ratio of voltage V.sub.1 to voltage V.sub.2 is greater than one . As such the first and second electrochemical devices have different voltages) As to claim 11, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device include at least one of a battery cell, a fuel cell, an electrolysis cell, or other electrochemical cell (Fig. 3 batteries 306 (1,2)) . As to claim 12, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 1, further comprising the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device (Fig. 3 batteries 306 (1,2)) . As to claim 13, Din discloses a method for electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) excitation (Fig. 3-4, 300 system 300 for characterizing electrical impedance of an energy storage device) , the method comprising: generating an EIS excitation signal of a specified EIS excitation frequency for a first electrochemical device ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...) , wherein the EIS excitation signal comprises a carrier signal of a specified carrier frequency ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...[0035] Impedance determining module 320 determines complex impedance zbat of each battery 306 from signals 324 and 326 at each frequency of the sinusoidal perturbations) , the generating including: transferring energy in a first direction between the first electrochemical device and a second electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a first portion of an EIS excitation signal cycle ([0032] energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1… switching power converter 302 is at least partially controlled by control subsystem 304) . As to claim 15, Din discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the transferring energy between the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device includes temporarily storing at least a portion of a transferred energy ([0033] Power conversion control module 312 causes transfer of energy from battery 306(1) to battery 306(3) by adjusting Δv to switching power converter 302(1) so that D1 of switching power converter 302(1) changes and causes switching power converter 302(1) to transfer energy from battery 306(1) to battery 306(2), and then by adjusting Δv to switching power converter 302(2) so that D.sub.1 of switching power converter 302(2) changes and causes switching power converter 302(2) to transfer energy from battery 306(2) to battery 306(3)) . As to claim 16, Din discloses an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS) excitation system (Fig. 3-4, 300 system 300 for characterizing electrical impedance of an energy storage device) , the EIS excitation system comprising: an inductor, having a first inductor terminal and a second inductor terminal (Fig. 4 inductor 412) , wherein the first inductor terminal is coupled to a first polarity terminal of a first electrochemical device (306(2)) and a second polarity terminal of a second electrochemical device (Fig. 4 (306(1)) ; a first switch having a first conduction terminal and a second conduction terminal (Fig. 4, 410) , wherein the first conduction terminal is coupled to a second polarity terminal of the first electrochemical device (Fig. 4 410 connected to positive terminal of 306(2)) and the second conduction terminal is coupled to the second inductor terminal (Fig. 4 410 connected to inductor) ; and a second switch, having a third conduction terminal and a fourth conduction terminal (Fig. 4, 408) , wherein the third conduction terminal is coupled to a first polarity terminal of the second electrochemical device (Fig. 4 408 connected to negative terminal of 306(1)) and the fourth conduction terminal is coupled to the second inductor terminal (Fig. 4 408 connected to inductor) . As to claim 17, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 16, comprising: a controller (control subsystem 304 , FIG. 3) , configured to control the first switch and the second switch ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...) , wherein the controller is configured to generate a discharging current in the first electrochemical device and a charging current in the second electrochemical device ([0032] D1 is a duty cycle of first switching device 408, which is the portion of each switching cycle of switching power converter 302(1) where first switching device 408 is operating in its conductive state. Consequentially, energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1…) , including to: close the first switch and open the second switch to generate a current in the inductor from the discharging of the first electrochemical device ([0032]..When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412); and open the first switch and close the second switch to generate a charging current in the second electrochemical device using the current in the inductor ([0032] When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412) . As to claim 18, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured to: generate a discharging current in the first electrochemical device and a charging current in the second electrochemical device recurrently at a specified carrier frequency for a specified number of cycles, thereby generating an average discharge current in the first electrochemical device and an average charge current in the second electrochemical device for a first portion of a cycle of a specified EIS excitation signal ([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2,9,14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of De Arroyabe (DE 102019125014). Note: Examiner uses De Arroyabe (DE 102019125014) to make rejection but relies on machine translation to clarify position . As to claim 2, Din discloses the excitation system of claim 1. Din does not disclose/teach wherein the controller is further configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to transfer energy in discrete pulses in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle. De Arroyabe teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to transfer energy in discrete pulses in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle ([0017] and Fig. 1-2 battery system during the first and second half of a period) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the excitation system of Din to wherein the controller is further configured to control the energy transfer circuitry to transfer energy in discrete pulses in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle in order to save both construction space and material costs. Because the excitation signal generation is carried out by transferring charge back and forth, the battery cells are hardly stressed and hardly any energy is consumed ([0010-[0011]). As to claim 9, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 1, wherein the first electrochemical device includes a first number of cells (Fig. 3 battery 306(2)) and, wherein the first electrochemical device and the second electrochemical device are included in an energy storage module (Fig. 3) . Din does not disclose/teach the second electrochemical device (Fig. 3 battery 306(2)) includes a second number of cells. De Arroyabe teaches the second electrochemical device includes a second number of cells (Fig. 1) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the second number of cells of Din to include a second number of cells in order to save both construction space and material costs. Because the excitation signal generation is carried out by transferring charge back and forth, the battery cells are hardly stressed and hardly any energy is consumed ([0010-[0011]). As to claim 14, Din discloses the method of claim 13. Din does not disclose/teach wherein the generating includes: transferring energy in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle. De Arroyabe teaches wherein the generating includes: transferring energy in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle ([0017] and Fig. 1-2 battery system during the first and second half of a period) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of Din to wherein the generating includes: transferring energy in a second direction opposite the first direction between the second electrochemical device and the first electrochemical device in discrete pulses issued at the specified carrier frequency for a second portion of the EIS excitation signal cycle in order to save both construction space and material costs. Because the excitation signal generation is carried out by transferring charge back and forth, the battery cells are hardly stressed and hardly any energy is consumed ([0010-[0011]). As to claim 19, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to generate an average charging current in the first electrochemical device and an average discharging current in the second electrochemical device for ([0032] The direction of energy transfer is determined by the polarity of change in D1) , including to: close the second switch and open the first switch to generate a current in the inductor from the discharging of the second electrochemical device ([0032] Consequentially, energy can be transferred between batteries 306(1) and 306(2) by adjusting D1…When one of first and second switching devices 408 and 410 changes from its conductive state to its non-conductive state, the other switching device 408 or 410 operates in its non-conductive state, to provide a path for current flowing through inductor 412) ; open the second switch and close the first switch to generate a charging current in the first electrochemical device using the current in the inductor ([0032]) ; and (1) close the second switch and open the first switch, and (2) open the second switch and close the first switch at the specified carrier frequency for the specified number of cycles (([0034] Perturbation control module 314 controls duty cycle of switching devices 408 and 410 of each switching power converter 302 to generate sinusoidal perturbations at a plurality of frequencies on current flowing through it respective batteries 306...) . Although Din teaches generating an average charging current in the first electrochemical device and an average discharging current in the second electrochemical device Din does not disclose/teach ([0032]), Din does not teach generating the average charging current and discharging current for a second portion of a cycle of the specified EIS excitation signal. De Arroyabe teaches generating an average charging current and discharging current for a second portion of a cycle of the specified EIS excitation signal ([0017] and Fig. 1-2 battery system during the first and second half of a period) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the EIS excitation system of Din to generate an average charging current and discharging current for a second portion of a cycle of the specified EIS excitation signal in order to save both construction space and material costs. Because the excitation signal generation is carried out by transferring charge back and forth, the battery cells are hardly stressed and hardly any energy is consumed ([0010-[0011]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of Marsili (US 20200132781) . As to claim 6, Din discloses the EIS excitation system of claim 3. Din does not disclose/teach wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal. Marsaili teaches wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal (Fig. 13A and [0088]-[0087]) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the EIS excitation system of Din to wherein a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal in order to allow time for the battery being charged to reached the desired charge value before the desired use . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Din et al (US 20170160348) In view of Liu (US 20160141895) . As to claim 20, Din discloses the excitation system of claim 16, wherein the first switch and the second switch (408,410) include a field effect transistor (FET) ([0019] The term “switching device” in this document refers to a device capable of being repeatedly switched between its conductive and non-conductive states, such …, a field effect transistor (FET) . Din does not disclose/teach a diode included in or in parallel with the FET. Liu teaches a diode included in or in parallel with the FET ([0020] each of the switches 104a-104h represents two back-to-back MOSFET transistors to prevent the short-circuit of two neighboring cells by the MOSFET body diode. Any single-switch devices with no body diodes can also be used here) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the field effect transistor (FET) of Din to include a diode included in the FET in order to transistors to prevent the short-circuit of two neighboring cells by the MOSFET body diode. Conclusion and Related Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu (US 20160141895) is cited for transferring energy from one battery to another via a switching means and inductor. Ibrahim et al (US 20250102587) is cited for having a frequency of the discrete pulses is greater than a frequency of the EIS excitation signal. However, Ibrahim is filed after the effective filing date. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TYNESE V MCDANIEL whose telephone number is (313)446-6579. The examiner can normally be reached on M to F, 9am to 530pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taelor Kim can be reached at 571-270-7166. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 15 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/201,063 Page 16 Art Unit: 2859