Detailed Action
This action is in response to the application filed on 05/23/2023. Claims 1-20 are
pending and have been fully examined.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Konka et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0026625 A1), hereinafter referred to as Konka.
Regarding Claim 1, Konka teaches:
A method comprising:
detecting a virtual computing instance (VCI) operating on a first node in a first fault domain in a multi-fault domain storage cluster comprising: (Fig. 3, [0026]; regarding, “The nodes of cluster 102 can comprise various virtualized entities or VEs (e.g., user virtual machines or user VMs, virtualized disks or vDisks, virtualized network interface cards or vNICs, executable containers, etc.”);
the first fault domain comprising the first node, a second fault domain comprising a second node, and a witness fault domain comprising a witness node; (Fig. 3, [0045]; regarding, “the system 300 comprises a cluster 102 comprising two nodes (e.g., node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2) that have multiple tiers of storage in a storage pool 106. Each node can be associated with one server, multiple servers, or portions of a server. The nodes can be associated (e.g., logically and/or physically) with the clusters.”; [0046]; regarding, “Furthermore, cluster 102 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.1 whereas node 104.sub.3 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.2…. The separate failure domains of cluster 102 and node 104.sub.3 indicate that a failure endemic to cluster 102 will not affect node 104.sub.3.”);
automatically registering the first fault domain as a preferred fault domain for the VCI; ([0031]; regarding “The aforementioned disaster recovery framework further comprises a protocol for accessing an arbiter to facilitate selection of a leader node that in turn performs DR operations in the event of a failure at the two-node cluster.”);
determining, at the second fault domain, whether a loss of communication over an inter-fault domain network link between the first fault domain and the second fault domain is due to a failure of the first fault domain or a failure of the inter-fault domain network link; ([0040]; regarding, “Detecting one or more failures (e.g., failure event 202)…For example, failure event 202 might be associated with a node failure, an intra-cluster communication failure, an external communication failure, an arbiter (or witness VM) access failure, and/or any other failure and/or combination thereof.”);
and in response to the failure of the first fault domain: restarting, on the second node of the second fault domain, the VCI; ([0064]; regarding, “a failover migration of a VM hosted on failed node 512 might be performed to bring up a replica VM 506.sub.11 at the remote cluster 502 so that user 504 can continue working.”);
and automatically registering the second fault domain as the preferred fault domain for the VCI. ([0040]; regarding, “In response to detecting the one or more failures, a protocol is invoked to communicate with the arbiter to establish (e.g., select) a leader node from one of the two nodes of the cluster (step 240). As earlier mentioned, an arbiter service managed by a witness VM might execute one or more atomic operations to select a leader node…”).
Regarding Claim 2, Konka teaches the method of Claim 1 as referenced above. Konka further teaches: further comprising sending, from the first fault domain and the second fault domain, heartbeat messages to the witness node; ([0019]; regarding, “In any of the foregoing cases, upon detecting the failure, one or both nodes… invoke a protocol to communicate with a witness node…”; ([0050]; regarding, “the controller VMs of the nodes in system 300 interact using external communications (e.g., external communications 334.sub.1 and external communications 334.sub.2) over external network 130.”;
and wherein determining whether the loss of communication over the inter-fault domain network link between the first fault domain and the second fault domain is due to the failure of the first fault domain or the failure of the inter-fault domain network link further comprises receiving an indication from the witness node of whether the first fault domain has sent a heartbeat message to the witness node within a time period. ([0019]; regarding, “In any of the foregoing cases, upon detecting the failure, one or both nodes… invoke a protocol to communicate with a witness node…”; ([0050]; regarding, “the controller VMs of the nodes in system 300 interact using external communications (e.g., external communications 334.sub.1 and external communications 334.sub.2) over external network 130.”; [0032]; regarding, “node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2 might both detect a failure (operation 2) in response to a heartbeat signal not being received at either node after a certain period of time (e.g., 10 seconds or five consecutive unsuccessful heartbeat pings).”).
Regarding Claim 3, Konka teaches the method of Claim 1 as referenced above. Konka further teaches: further comprising: detecting a failure of the inter-fault domain network link between the first fault domain and the second fault domain; ([0032]; regarding, “node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2 might both detect a failure (operation 2) in response to a heartbeat signal not being received at either node… This situation might occur when the intra-cluster communication between nodes of cluster 102 has failed.”);
and maintaining the VCI at the second fault domain based on the second fault domain being registered as the preferred fault domain for the VCI. ([0032]; regarding, “In this case, node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2 will invoke the protocol with the arbiter 122 by issuing a respective leadership request over an external network 130 (e.g., the Internet) to the arbiter 122 (operation 3 and operation 4).”; [0033]; Upon receiving the one or more leadership requests, an atomic operation 124 is executed at arbiter 122 to select a leader node (operation 5)… the leader node is selected based at least in part on at least one outcome of at least one atomic leadership election operation (e.g., atomic operation 124)”).
Regarding Claim 4, Konka teaches the method of Claim 1 as referenced above. Konka further teaches: further comprising: detecting a loss of communication over a second inter-fault domain network link between the second fault domain and the witness node; ([0071]; regarding, “Other disaster recovery scenarios in two-node computing clusters as facilitated by the herein disclosed techniques are possible. For example, if the external communication between the witness VM and one of the nodes of the two-node cluster fails…”);
and maintaining the VCI at the second fault domain based on the second fault domain being registered as the preferred fault domain for the VCI. ([0071]; regarding, “if the external communication between the witness VM and one of the nodes of the two-node cluster fails, an alert is issued to the node unable to access the witness VM. In this case, the cluster is otherwise unaffected, and no user intervention is required.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Konka teaches the method of Claim 1 as referenced above. Konka further teaches: further comprising: detecting a loss of communication over a second inter-fault domain network link between the second fault domain and the witness node and a second occurrence of the loss of communication over the inter-fault domain network link between the first fault domain and the second fault domain; ([0063]; regrading, “in node failure scenario 584 of FIG. 5A, a failure is detected at cluster 102 (operation C). As can be observed, the failure in node failure scenario 584 pertains to a failed node 512.”);
restarting, in the first fault domain, the VCI; ([0064]; regarding, “a failover migration of a VM hosted on failed node 512 might be performed to bring up a replica VM 506.sub.11 at the remote cluster 502 so that user 504 can continue working.”);
and automatically registering the first fault domain as the preferred fault domain for the VCI. ([0063]; regarding, “The active node 514 in cluster 102 issues a leadership request to the witness VM 120 in accordance with the herein disclosed techniques (operation D). The active node 514 is selected as the leader node (e.g., by an arbiter) by witness VM 120 (operation E) and a leadership lock is received at the active node 514 (operation F).”).
Regarding Claim 6, Konka teaches the method of Claim 1 as referenced above. Konka further teaches: further comprising: detecting the VCI being restarted at the first fault domain when the second fault domain is operational; ([0066]; regarding, “In the case of an intra-cluster communication failure, the nodes at cluster 102 might not know the state of the other node so that each will issue a leadership request to witness VM 120 at remote cluster 502 (operation M).”; [0064]; regarding, “a failover migration of a VM hosted on failed node 512 might be performed to bring up a replica VM 506.sub.11 at the remote cluster 502 so that user 504 can continue working.”);
and automatically registering the first fault domain as the preferred fault domain for the VCI. ([0066]; regarding, “According to the herein disclosed techniques, a single leader node is selected at the witness VM 120 even in the presence of the multiple leadership requests (operation N). The selected leader node receives the leadership lock from the witness VM 120 (operation O).”).
Regarding Claim 7, Konka teaches the method of Claim 1 as referenced above. Konka further teaches:
wherein the first fault domain comprises a first site, the second fault domain comprises a second site, and the witness fault domain comprises a third site. (Fig. 3, [0045]; regarding, “the system 300 comprises a cluster 102 comprising two nodes (e.g., node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2)… Each node can be associated with one server, multiple servers, or portions of a server. The nodes can be associated (e.g., logically and/or physically) with the clusters.”; [0031]; regarding, “The witness VM and its arbiter service can be hosted in a different cluster that is geographically proximal or geographically distal from cluster 102.”; [0046]; regarding, “cluster 102 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.1 whereas node 104.sub.3 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.2. As used herein, a failure domain or availability domain is a logical collection of hardware components (e.g., nodes, switches, racks, etc.) that are affected by failures within the collection. As an example, a failure domain might comprise a single physical node appliance or a rack of node appliances. The separate failure domains of cluster 102 and node 104.sub.3 indicate that a failure endemic to cluster 102 will not affect node 104.sub.3.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Konka teaches:
A multi-fault domain storage cluster comprising: (Fig. 3);
a first fault domain comprising a first node; a second fault domain comprising a second node, and a witness fault domain comprising a witness node; (Fig. 3, [0045]; regarding, “the system 300 comprises a cluster 102 comprising two nodes (e.g., node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2) that have multiple tiers of storage in a storage pool 106. Each node can be associated with one server, multiple servers, or portions of a server. The nodes can be associated (e.g., logically and/or physically) with the clusters.”; [0046]; regarding, “Furthermore, cluster 102 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.1 whereas node 104.sub.3 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.2…. The separate failure domains of cluster 102 and node 104.sub.3 indicate that a failure endemic to cluster 102 will not affect node 104.sub.3.”);
wherein the witness node is configured to:
detect a virtual computing instance (VCI) operating on the first node; ([0026]; regarding, “The nodes of cluster 102 can comprise various virtualized entities or VEs (e.g., user virtual machines or user VMs, virtualized disks or vDisks, virtualized network interface cards or vNICs, executable containers, etc.”);
automatically register the first fault domain as a preferred fault domain for the VCI; and in response to the VCI restarting on the second node, automatically register the second fault domain as the preferred fault domain for the VCI; ([0031]; regarding “The aforementioned disaster recovery framework further comprises a protocol for accessing an arbiter to facilitate selection of a leader node that in turn performs DR operations in the event of a failure at the two-node cluster.”);
and wherein the second node is configured to:
determine whether a loss of communication over an inter-fault domain network link between the first fault domain and the second fault domain is due to a failure of the first fault domain or a failure of the inter-fault domain network link; ([0040]; regarding, “Detecting one or more failures (e.g., failure event 202)…For example, failure event 202 might be associated with a node failure, an intra-cluster communication failure, an external communication failure, an arbiter (or witness VM) access failure, and/or any other failure and/or combination thereof.”);
and in response to the failure of the first fault domain, restart the VCI on the second node. ([0064]; regarding, “a failover migration of a VM hosted on failed node 512 might be performed to bring up a replica VM 506.sub.11 at the remote cluster 502 so that user 504 can continue working.”);
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 under the same grounds of rejection as claims 2-7 respectively.
Regarding Claim 15, Konka teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by processors of a multi-fault domain storage cluster, cause the processors to: ([0088]);
detect a virtual computing instance (VCI) operating on a first node in a first fault domain in the multi-fault domain storage cluster comprising: (Fig. 3, [0026]; regarding, “The nodes of cluster 102 can comprise various virtualized entities or VEs (e.g., user virtual machines or user VMs, virtualized disks or vDisks, virtualized network interface cards or vNICs, executable containers, etc.”);
the first fault domain comprising the first node, a second fault domain comprising a second node, and a witness fault domain comprising a witness node; (Fig. 3, [0045]; regarding, “the system 300 comprises a cluster 102 comprising two nodes (e.g., node 104.sub.1 and node 104.sub.2) that have multiple tiers of storage in a storage pool 106. Each node can be associated with one server, multiple servers, or portions of a server. The nodes can be associated (e.g., logically and/or physically) with the clusters.”; [0046]; regarding, “Furthermore, cluster 102 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.1 whereas node 104.sub.3 is associated with a failure domain 320.sub.2…. The separate failure domains of cluster 102 and node 104.sub.3 indicate that a failure endemic to cluster 102 will not affect node 104.sub.3.”);
automatically register the first fault domain as a preferred fault domain for the VCI; ([0031]; regarding “The aforementioned disaster recovery framework further comprises a protocol for accessing an arbiter to facilitate selection of a leader node that in turn performs DR operations in the event of a failure at the two-node cluster.”);
determine, at the second fault domain, whether a loss of communication over an inter-fault domain network link between the first fault domain and the second fault domain is due to a failure of the first fault domain or a failure of the inter-fault domain network link; ([0040]; regarding, “Detecting one or more failures (e.g., failure event 202)…For example, failure event 202 might be associated with a node failure, an intra-cluster communication failure, an external communication failure, an arbiter (or witness VM) access failure, and/or any other failure and/or combination thereof.”);
and in response to the failure of the first fault domain: restart, on the second node of the second fault domain, the VCI; ([0064]; regarding, “a failover migration of a VM hosted on failed node 512 might be performed to bring up a replica VM 506.sub.11 at the remote cluster 502 so that user 504 can continue working.”);
and automatically register the second fault domain as the preferred fault domain for the VCI. ([0040]; regarding, “In response to detecting the one or more failures, a protocol is invoked to communicate with the arbiter to establish (e.g., select) a leader node from one of the two nodes of the cluster (step 240). As earlier mentioned, an arbiter service managed by a witness VM might execute one or more atomic operations to select a leader node…”).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 under the same grounds of rejection as claims 2-6 respectively.
Conclusion
/M.D.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2113 /BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113