DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6, 11, and 16 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gao Xuejuan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US 2024/0023101; hereinafter Gao) in view of Gao Xuejuan (US 2022/0386300; hereinafter Gao Xuejuan).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a first node for wireless communications (Paragraph [0046] describes terminal device having wireless communication capabilities),
comprising: a first receiver, receiving a first information block (Paragraph [0197] describes the first receiver, receiving a first information block. The DCI contains control information that configures the terminal device’s operation);
the first receiver receiving a first signaling indicating a first index (Paragraphs [0064]; [0071] describes the first signaling is used to indicate a first index. The PDCCH (first signaling) contains and indicates various indices, specifically an index of the PDCCH candidate and an index of a control channel element (CCE). The signaling inherently carries index information that is used for subsequent processing),
wherein the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate (Paragraphs [0064]; [0071] describes the first signaling is used to indicate a first index. The PDCCH (first signaling) contains and indicates various indices, specifically an index of the PDCCH candidate and an index of a control channel element (CCE). The signaling inherently carries index information that is used for subsequent processing),
and the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate (Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] describes the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate and PDCCH candidates being organized into sets and being associated with each other through TCI states and CORESET configurations),
wherein the first control channel candidate corresponds to a first value, the second control channel candidate corresponds to a second value (Paragraph [0074] describes that different control channel candidates correspond to different values, shows PDCCH candidates 0,1,2,3 having specific index values, demonstrating that each candidate corresponds to a distinct numerical value. Paragraph [0078] shows candidates being associated with different TCI state values (A and B). This establishes that the first control channel candidate corresponds to a first value (e.g., index 0 or TCI state A) and the second control channel candidate corresponds to a second value (e.g., index 1 or TCI state B)),
the first value is a non-negative integer, and the second value is a non-negative integer (Paragraphs [0074] shows index values 0, 1, 2, 3 which are non-negative integers, satisfying the first and second value requirements. Paragraph [0214] states “K is a non-negative integer” with range (0, 1, ….M-1) the non-negative integer types used throughout the system):
a processor, operatively coupled to the first receiver, determining a reference control channel candidate according to a size relation between the first value and the second value (Paragraph [0106] describes mathematical operations (modulo calculations) comparing candidate index values to determine groupings. Paragraph [0075] shows comparison operations (below/above predetermined index) to determine candidate classifications),
wherein the reference control channel candidate is the first control channel candidate or the second control channel candidate (Paragraphs [0074]-[0075]; [0145]-[0146] describes that the system determines TCI states based on whether a PDCCH candidate belongs to a “first set” or “second set” creating a binary selection where the reference control channel candidate is either the first type (first set) or (second set));
the processor determining a first parameter based on the reference control channel (Paragraph [0197]; [0184] describes using reference control channel information to determine parameters. The PDCCH candidate (reference control channel) is used to determine various parameters including; number of CCEs, CORESET parameters, and PUCCH resource indicator values),
wherein the first parameter is a positive integer (Paragraph [0203] states “L1 is positive integer {1, 2, 4, 8, 16}.);
Gao doesn’t teach the processor determining a target index based on the first parameter and the first index; the processor determining a first radio resource group from a first radio resource set based on the target index;
the processor determining the first radio resource set based on the first information block (Paragraphs [0127]; [0130]; [0134]; [0197] describes the first information block indicating radio resource sets. The DCI (first information block) contains information that indicates and configures the CORESET (control resource set) and PUCCH resources (radio resource set) the DCI provides the parameters needed to identify and access the appropriate radio resource set for transmission),
wherein the first radio resource set includes a plurality of radio resource groups (Paragraph [0038] shows multiple control-resource sets (COREsets), each containing multiple elements);
and a first transmitter, transmitting a first bit block in the first radio resource group ((Paragraphs [0130]; [0213] describes the “first transmitter, transmitting a first bit block in a first radio resource group”. The HARQ-ACK information constitutes the “first bit block” actual data being transmitted. The PUCCH resource with specific index (rPUCCH) represents the first radio resource group, a specific allocated portion of radio resources used for transmission. The formula mentioned show how specific radio resources are selected and used for actual data transmission),
wherein the first radio resource group is one of the plurality of radio resource groups (Paragraph [0130] shows PUCCH resources with indices 0-15, indicating 16 different resource groups within the resource set).
In analogous art Gao Xuejuan teaches the processor determining a target index based on the first parameter and the first index (Paragraphs [0011]; [0073]; [0085]-[0090; [0108]-[0110] describes “dividing M PUCCH resources in the target PUCCH resource set into N subsets” this division creates the first parameter (M/N resource per subset.) “Determining a subset, corresponding to the sub-slot” identifies which subset based on the reference control channel. “Determining one PUCCH resource from the determined subset according to the PUCCH resource indicator” this uses the first index (PUCCH resource indictor) within the subset determined by the first parameter. The final resource index (target index) is determined by combining: (1) which subset (first parameter), and (2) which resource within that subset (first index) describes first parameter determination M= 16 total resources, N=2 sub-slots, first parameter = M/N =16/2 =8 resources per sub-slot. First index 3-bit PUCCH resource indicator can indicate values 0 to 7, ΔPRI = 3 (first index). Target index calculation, if in first sub-slot (n_index =0): target index = 0×8+3 =3 (the 4th resource, indexed from 0) if in second sub-slot (n_index =1): target index = 1×8+3 = 11 (the 12th resource) target index = (n_index×first parameter)+ first index);
the processor determining a first radio resource group from a first radio resource set based on the target index (Paragraph [0073]; [0089] describes determining a radio resource group (PUCCH resource) from a radio resource set (target PUCCH resource set) based on an index (target index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to incorporate the teachings of Gao Xuejuan determining a target index, and calculating which radio resource the terminal should use for transmission enables faster, more reliable wireless communication (Gao Xuejuan, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Gao in view of Gao Xuejuan, Gao teaches wherein when the first value is less than the second value, the reference control channel candidate is the first control channel candidate; and wherein when the first value is greater than the second value, the reference control channel candidate is the second control channel candidate (Paragraphs [0074]-[0075] describes that the system compares index values against a predetermined threshold (value 2 ) and assigns candidates to different sets based on whether their values are below (less than) or exceeding (greater than) the threshold. Candidates with smaller index values (0,1) are assigned to the “first set” while candidates with larger index values (2, 3, or 3, 4) are assigned to the second set).
Regarding claim 3, Gao in view of Gao Xuejuan, Gao teaches wherein the first control channel candidate belongs to a first search space set, the second control channel candidate belongs to a second search space set (Paragraph [0061]; [0071] describes PDCCH candidates being organized into different sets within search space set),
the first search space set is associated with a first control resource set, and the second search space set is associated with a second control resource set (Paragraphs [0036]; [0038] describes the association between search space sets and control resource sets (COREsets));
the first value is equal to a number of Channel Control Element(s) (CCE(s)) included in the first control resource set, and the second value is equal to a number of CCE(s) included in the second control resource set (Paragraphs [0089]; [0135] describes that values are determined based on the number of CCEs in COREsets (NCCCE) and that different CCE sets contain different numbers of CCEs);
or, the first value is a number of control channel candidate(s) associated with the first control channel candidate, and the second value is a number of control channel candidate(s) associated with the second control channel candidate (Paragraph [0201]; [0203] describes that control channel candidates are organized into sets with different numbers of candidates in each set. The first set contains a certain number of PDCCH candidates associated with the first control channel candidate, and the second set contains a different number of candidates associated with the second control channel candidate. The aggregation levels (L1, L2) represent the number of candidates in each set).
Regarding claim 4, Gao in view of Gao Xuejuan, Gao Xuejuan, teaches wherein a value obtained by dividing a second parameter by the first parameter is used to determine a third parameter (Paragraphs [0011]; [0073]; [0085]-[0090; [0108]-[0110] describes where various parameters are divided to determine resource indices. The formulas involve dividing parameters to calculate target values),
Gao teaches the target index is linearly associated with the third parameter, and the target index is linearly associated with the first index (Paragraphs [0130]; [0197] describes linear mathematical relationships where the target resource index (rPUCCH) is calculated based on linear combinations of multiple parameters including CCE indices and other parameters);
the third parameter is a non-negative integer, and the target index is a non-negative integer less than the number of the plurality of radio resource groups;
Gao Xuejuan teaches or, a value obtained by dividing a second parameter by the first parameter is used to determine a third parameter (Paragraphs [0011]; [0073]; [0085]-[0090; [0108]-[0110] describes division of parameters. The formulas show that various parameters are mathematically combined through division operations to determine target resource indices), the target index is linearly associated with the third parameter, and the target index is linearly associated with the first index; the third parameter is a non-negative integer, and the target index is a non-negative integer less than the number of the plurality of radio resource groups; the first control channel candidate is used to determine the second parameter,
Gao teaches or the reference control channel candidate is used to determine the second parameter (Paragraphs [0064]; [0184]; [0186] shows that parameters (like “number of CCEs in a first CORESET of the first PDCCH candidate”) are determined based on specific PDCCH candidates (first control channel candidate) or the selected reference candidate. The system uses characteristics and properties of the chosen control channel candidate to derive the second parameter used in subsequent calculations).
Regarding claim 5, Gao in view of Gao Xuejuan, Gao teaches wherein the first receiver receives a first signal (Paragraphs [0005]; [0197] describes receiving a first signaling, PDCCH is fundamentally a signaling channel that carries control information);
wherein the first signaling is used to indicate scheduling information of the first signal (Paragraphs [0034]; [0130]; [0197] describes that DCI (carried by PDCCH- the first signaling ) contains scheduling information for PDSCH reception (the first signal)),
and the first bit block includes a Hybrid Automatic Repeat request-ACKnowledgement (HlARQ-ACK) information bit for the first signal (Paragraphs [0130]; [0213]; [0134]-[0135] describes the terminal device provides HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH transmission in response to detecting a DCI scheduling a PDSCH reception, “showing that HARQ-ACK” information is transmitted as the data payload (first bit block) in response to receiving the first signal (PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 6, Gao in view of Gao Xuejuan, Gao teaches a second node for wireless communications, comprising: a second transmitter, transmitting a first information (Paragraph [0190]; [0197] describes a second transmitter, transmitting a first information and the first receiver, receiving a first information block. The DCI contains control information that configures the terminal device’s operation);
Gao doesn’t teach the second transmitter transmitting a first signaling indicating a first index for determining a target index,
However, in analogous art Gao Xuejuan, teaches the second transmitter transmitting a first signaling indicating a first index for determining a target index (Paragraphs [0024]; [0109]; [0069]; [0112] describes base station (second transmitter) generates a PRI (first index) with value “000” sends it to a terminal through a PDCCH (transmitting first signaling) and the terminal uses this PRI to determine which resource to use (for determining target index)),
Gao teaches wherein the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate (Paragraph [0064] describes the first signaling occupies a first control channel candidate. The PDCCH (first signaling) describes as occupying a “PDCCH candidate” (first control channel candidate, and shows that signaling (PDCCH) is received on specific control channel candidates, with each candidate representing a potential location where control information can be transmitted),
Gao teaches and the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate (Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] describes the first control channel candidate is associated with a second control channel candidate and PDCCH candidates being organized into sets and being associated with each other through TCI states and CORESET configurations),
Gao teaches wherein the first control channel candidate corresponds to a first value, the second control channel candidate corresponds to a second value (Paragraph [0074] describes that different control channel candidates correspond to different values, shows PDCCH candidates 0,1,2,3 having specific index values, demonstrating that each candidate corresponds to a distinct numerical value. Paragraph [0078] shows candidates being associated with different TCI state values (A and B). This establishes that the first control channel candidate corresponds to a first value (e.g., index 0 or TCI state A) and the second control channel candidate corresponds to a second value (e.g., index 1 or TCI state B)),
Gao teaches the first value is a non-negative integer, and the second value is a non-negative integer: and a second receiver (Paragraphs [0074] shows index values 0, 1, 2, 3 which are non-negative integers, satisfying the first and second value requirements. Paragraph [0214] states “K is a non-negative integer” with range (0, 1, ….M-1) the non-negative integer types used throughout the system),
Gao teaches receiving a first bit block in a first radio resource group (Paragraphs [0064]; [0071] describes the first signaling is used to indicate a first index. The PDCCH (first signaling) contains and indicates various indices, specifically an index of the PDCCH candidate and an index of a control channel element (CCE). The signaling inherently carries index information that is used for subsequent processing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Gao into the combination of Gao Xuejuan for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Claims 7, 12 and 17 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 respectively.
Claims 8, 13 and 18 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 respectively.
Claims 9, 14 and 19 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 respectively.
Claims 10, 15 and 20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 respectively.
The claims have been slightly reworded and rearranged. However, these changes do not add any new technical details. The core meaning of the claims remains the same. Because of this, these claims can be rejected for the same reasons as the earlier claims.
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464