DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 7, Applicant argued the limitation “comparing” is supported by paragraph [0096]. The Examiner respectfully submits that the “comparing” is not explicitly disclosed by the current specification, the identical values may be preset and indexed. Fraticelli discloses the voltage values applied to the two power amplifiers can be the same value and depend on each other for at least not exceeding the maximum output power threshold, and the lookup tables of voltages for the two power amplifiers including plural identical voltages (figures 4 and 11, [0079], [0148], [0157]-[0160], [0163]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5.Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, in line 3 “memory” lacks antecedent basis, “a memory” is suggested; further in line 10 reciting “when operating in a mode…”, however the phrase “when” creates uncertainty conditions and unclear claim boundary, including this mode may not be performed and/or other possible modes may be performed, if the claim intended to recite this mode, “when” should be removed (same argument applies to claim 7); further in line 18 reciting “identical magnitudes of voltages”, and lines 21-22 reciting “select a magnitude of voltage from the identical magnitudes of voltages”, it appears, but unclear, to recite a plurality of magnitudes of voltages, if so, “a plurality of” should be added for clarity.
For claim 7, line 14 reciting “selecting identical voltages”, and in third to last line reciting “the selected identical voltages”, it’s unclear if one or plural identical voltages being selected, thus “selecting an identical voltage[s]…the selected identical voltage[s]” is suggested.
For claim 15, in line 13 reciting “determining identical magnitudes of voltages among”, it appears, but unclear, to recite a plurality of magnitudes of voltages, if so, “a plurality of” should be added for clarity; also adding to line 18 “from the plurality of identical magnitudes of voltages” is suggested for consistency.
Claims 2-6, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected for depend from claim 1, 7 or 15.
For claim 2, line 1 reciting “when”, however the phrase “when” creates uncertainty conditions and unclear claim boundary, including this situation may not happen and/or other possible situations, if the claim intended to recite this situation, “when” should be removed for clarity. Same argument applies to claims 13 and 16.
For claim 8, in line 2, “memory” lacks antecedent basis, “a memory” is suggested.
7. Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, line 11 reciting “by comparing”, however this limitation is not supported by the current specification. According to current specification paragraph 90 Table 1 is preexist with identical V1-V3 for both amplifiers, further the identical values may be preset and indexed. However no description is found to support the comparison.
Claims 8-14 are rejected for depend from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fraticelli (US 20220140847 A1).
For claim 1. Fraticelli discloses An electronic device comprising: a communication processor; memory storing mapping data mapping first magnitudes of voltages according to strength of a signal within a first frequency band, and second magnitudes of voltages according to strength of a signal within a second frequency band (Abstract, figure 4, [0101]-[0103], mapping VDD/Vgs for strengths 40W-80W); a first amplifier configured to amplify a signal within the first frequency band (figures 2, 5, [0019]); a second amplifier configured to amplify a signal within the second frequency band (figures 2 and 5); and a power supply circuit configured to apply a voltage to the first amplifier and the second amplifier (figures 2 and 5, [0019]), wherein when operating in a mode of transmitting a signal within the first frequency band and a signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0089]), the communication processor is configured to: identify strength of a signal within the first frequency band and strength of a signal within the second frequency band ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081], i.e. identify strengths between 40W-80W), identify first magnitudes of voltages applicable to the first amplifier based on the strength of the signal within the first frequency band and the mapping data ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081]), identify second magnitudes of voltages applicable to the second amplifier based on the strength of the signal within the second frequency band and the mapping data ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081]), determine identical magnitudes of voltages among the first magnitudes of voltages and the second magnitudes of voltages (figures 4 and 11, [0079], [0148], [0157]-[0160], [0163]), and select a magnitude of voltage from the identical magnitudes of voltages and control the power supply circuit to apply the selected magnitude of voltage to both the first amplifier and the second amplifier (figures 9 and 11, [0079], [0157], [0163]).
For claim 2. The electronic device of claim 1, Fraticelli discloses wherein when the identical magnitudes of voltages include a plurality of identical magnitudes of voltages, the communication processor is configured to control the power supply circuit to apply a smallest value of the plurality of identical magnitudes of voltages to the first amplifier and the second amplifier ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148] Vgs for the characterization over that range can be −3.3 to −3.7 volts).
For claim 3. The electronic device of claim 1, Fraticelli discloses wherein the mapping data is configured that first magnitudes of bias voltages are mapped according to strength of signal within the first frequency band, and second magnitudes of bias voltages are mapped according to strength of signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148]).
For claim 4. The electronic device of claim 3, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to determine a voltage of the first magnitudes of the bias voltages and a voltage of the second magnitudes of the bias voltages based on the identical magnitudes of voltages and the mapping data ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11).
For claim 5. The electronic device of claim 4, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to apply the voltage of the first magnitudes of the bias voltages to the first amplifier and to apply the voltage of the second magnitudes of bias voltages to the second amplifier ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103]).
For claim 6. The electronic device of claim 1, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to change voltages to be applied to the first amplifier and the second amplifier based on the mapping data in response to a change in the strength of the signal within the first frequency band of and the signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11).
For claim 7. Fraticelli discloses An electronic device (figures 2 and 5) comprising: a communication processor; and a first amplifier configured to amplify a signal within a first frequency band; a second amplifier configured to amplify a signal within a second frequency band; and a power supply circuit configured to apply voltages to the first amplifier and the second amplifier (Abstract, figure 4, [0101]-[0103], mapping VDD/Vgs for strengths 40W-80W), wherein when operating in a mode of outputting a signal within the first frequency band and a signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0089]), the communication processor is configured to: identify strength of a signal within the first frequency band and strength of a signal within the second frequency band ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081], i.e. identify strengths between 40W-80W); determine a plurality of identical voltages by comparing first magnitudes of voltages applicable to the first amplifier and second magnitudes of voltages applicable to the second amplifier (figures 4 and 11, [0079], [0148], [0157]-[0160], [0163]); selecting identical voltages from the plurality of identical voltages ([0079], [0157], [0163]); and control the power supply circuit to apply the selected identical voltages to both the first amplifier and the second amplifier based on the strength of the signal within the first frequency band and the strength of the signal within the second frequency band (figures 9 and 11, [0079], [0157], [0163]).
For claim 8. The electronic device of claim 7, Fraticelli discloses further comprising: memory, wherein the memory stores mapping data mapping the first magnitudes of the voltages according to strength of signal within the first frequency band and the second magnitudes of the voltages according to strength of signal within the second frequency band ([0101]-[0103], figure 4).
For claim 9. The electronic device of claim 8, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to control the power supply circuit to apply a voltage to the first amplifier and the second amplifier, wherein the voltage corresponds to the identified strength of signal within the first frequency band and the identified strength of signal within the second frequency band in the mapping data ([0101]-[0103], figure 4).
For claim 10. The electronic device of claim 9, Fraticelli discloses wherein the mapping data is configured that first magnitudes of bias voltages are mapped according to strength of signal within the first frequency band, and second magnitudes of bias voltages are mapped according to the strength of signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figure 4).
For claim 11. The electronic device of claim 10, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to determine one of the first magnitudes of bias voltages to be applied to the first amplifier and one of the second magnitudes of a bias voltages to be applied to the second amplifier in response to the voltage applied to the first amplifier and the second amplifier based on the mapping data ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081], figures 9 and 11).
For claim 12. The electronic device of claim 11, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to apply the one of the first magnitudes of bias voltages to the first amplifier and to apply the one of the second magnitudes of voltages to the second amplifier ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081], figures 9 and 11).
For claim 13. The electronic device of claim 9, Fraticelli discloses wherein when there are a plurality of voltages with identical values corresponding to the identified strength of the signal in the first frequency band and the identified strength of the signal in the second frequency band, the communication processor a smallest one of the plurality of voltages to the first amplifier and the second amplifier ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], [0148], figures 4, 9 and 11).
For claim 14. The electronic device of claim 8, Fraticelli discloses wherein the communication processor is configured to change voltages to be applied to the first amplifier and the second amplifier on based on the mapping data in response to a change in the strength of a signal within the first frequency band and/or a change in the strength of a signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11).
For claim 15. Fraticelli discloses A method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: identifying strength of a signal within a first frequency band and strength of a signal within a second frequency band when operating in a mode of transmitting a signal within the first frequency band and a signal within the second frequency band (Abstract, figure 4, [0101]-[0103], mapping VDD/Vgs for strengths 40W-80W); identifying first magnitudes of voltages (VDD/Vgs) based on mapping data in a memory, wherein the mapping data maps first magnitudes of the voltages according to strength of signal within the first frequency band and second magnitudes of the voltages according to strength of signal within the second frequency band, and the identified strength of the signal within the first frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0089], figure 4, [0101]-[0103]); identifying the second magnitudes of the voltages based on the identified strength of the signal within the second frequency band and the mapping data ([0026]-[0028], [0148], figures 9 and 11); determining identical magnitudes of voltages among the first magnitudes of voltages and the second magnitudes of voltages (figures 4 and 11, [0079], [0148], [0157]-[0160], [0163]); and selecting a magnitude of voltage from the identical magnitudes of voltages ([0079], [0157], [0163]) and controlling a power supply circuit to apply the selected magnitude of voltage to both a first amplifier and a second amplifier (figures 9 and 11, [0079], [0157], [0163]).
For claim 16. The method of claim 15, Fraticelli discloses further comprising: when the identical magnitudes of voltages include a plurality of identical magnitudes of voltages, applying a smallest value of the plurality of identical magnitudes of voltages to the first amplifier and the second amplifier ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148] Vgs for the characterization over that range can be −3.3 to −3.7 volts).
For claim 17. The method of claim 15, Fraticelli discloses wherein the mapping data is configured that first magnitudes of bias voltages are mapped according to strength of signal within the first frequency band, and second magnitudes of bias voltages are mapped according to strength of signal within the second frequency band ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148]).
For claim 18. The method of claim 17, Fraticelli discloses further comprising: determining a voltage of the first magnitudes of the bias voltages and a voltage of the second magnitudes of the bias voltages based on the identical magnitudes of voltages and the mapping data ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148]).
For claim 19. The method of claim 18, Fraticelli discloses further comprising: applying the voltage of the first magnitudes of the bias voltages to the first amplifier; and applying the voltage of the second magnitudes of bias voltages to the second amplifier ([0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148]).
For claim 20. The method of claim 15, Fraticelli discloses further comprising: changing voltages to be applied to the first amplifier and the second amplifier based on the mapping data in response to a change in the strength of the signal within the first frequency band and the signal within the second frequency band ([0026]-[0028], [0078]-[0081], [0101]-[0103], figures 4, 9 and 11, [0148]).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
June 11, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643