DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second fixation devices configured to couple to the same bone (claim 1), and the implant suture and a distinct graft suture (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “an implant sized and shaped for placement in a repair site of a torn tissue, the implant being compressible and expandable and configured to absorb a repair material.” This limitation is indefinite as it is unclear whether or not the repair material is a positively recited claim element, or whether the implant must merely be capable of absorbing a repair material. Claim 14 further requires “wherein the repair device further comprises a repair material,” which is indefinite as it is unclear whether the repair material is the same as or different from the claim 1 repair material.
Claim 1 states “a second fixation device configured to couple the at least one graft suture to the first bone.” Claim 10 states, “wherein the second fixation device is configured for placement against a second bone.” These two limitations appear to contradict one another, as it is unclear how a single fixation device can both couple the graft suture to the first bone and be placed against the second bone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (Pub. No.: US 2020/0171203) in view of Turk (Pub. No.: US 2023/0218386).
Murray discloses a tissue repair system, comprising:
a repair device (e.g., fig. 6) including:
an implant 42 sized and shaped for placement in a repair site of a torn tissue, the implant being compressible and expandable (e.g., para. 47) and configured to absorb a repair material (e.g., para. 47), and
a graft configured to be coupled to the implant (not disclosed);
at least one implant suture 22 (e.g., para. 33) configured to position the implant along or adjacent to a ruptured end of the torn tissue (e.g., para. 14);
a first fixation device 24 configured to couple the at least one implant suture to a first bone;
at least one graft suture 22 (e.g., fig. 3) configured to position the graft along or adjacent to the implant or the ruptured end of the torn ligament (e.g., para. 33); and
a second fixation device 24 configured to couple the at least one graft suture to the first bone (e.g., para. 37, fixation device is fully capable of being coupled to the first bone).
As provided in italicized text above, Murray lacks a graft configured to be coupled to the implant. Turk teaches a graft incorporated and fixated to native tissue for the purpose of strengthening the native ligament (abstract, fig. 2A-D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the Turk graft with the Murray ligament repair for the purpose of reinforcing and strengthening the ligament-implant repair site. This modification would have occurred using known methods and would have yielded predictable results.
For claim 2, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the torn tissue is a ligament (abstract).
For claim 3, Murray discloses the tissue repair system of claim 2, wherein the ligament is an ACL (e.g., para. 11).
For claim 4, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the torn tissue is a tendon (e.g., para. 11).
For claim 5, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the torn tissue is cartilage (e.g., para. 11).
For claim 6, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the implant is a collagen scaffold configured to allow cell ingrowth (e.g., para. 39).
For claim 7, Turk teaches wrapping the graft along the native tendon (e.g., fig 2A-D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the graft adjacent the implant along a length of the implant when combined with Murray as an obvious expedient to provide structural reinforcement to the implantation site. This modification would have occurred using known methods and would have yielded predictable results.
For claim 8, Turk teaches the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the graft is configured to wrap around the scaffold (Turk, fig. 2A-C).
For claim 9, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the first fixation device is configured for placement against the first bone (e.g., fig. 5).
For claim 10, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the second fixation device is configured for placement against a second bone (e.g., fig. 5).
For claim 11, Turk teaches the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the graft is selected from the group consisting of an autologous tendon graft, an allograft, and a synthetic tendon graft (e.g., para. 22).
For claim 12, Murray discloses the tissue repair system according to claim 1, wherein the repair device and the at least one first suture is preloaded and insertable through an arthroscopic cannula (e.g., fig. 3, para. 66).
For claim 13, Murray discloses the tissue repair system of claim 1, wherein the first fixation device and the second fixation device are selected from the group consisting of a screw, a barb, a helical fixation device, a staple, a clip, a snap, and a rivet (para. 51).
For claim 14, Murray discloses the tissue repair system of claim 1, wherein the repair device further comprises a repair material (e.g., para. 36).
For claim 15, Murray discloses the tissue repair system of claim 14, wherein the repair material is a platelet or plasma (e.g., para. 36).
Conclusion
/SUBA GANESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774