DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments received on 6/9/2026. Claims 12-18, 20 and 32-43 were previously pending. Claims 12, 15-16, 18, 34-35, 39-40 and 42-43 have been amended, claims 13, 33 and 36-38 have been canceled and new claims 44-46 added. A complete action on the merits of claims 12, 14-18, 20, 32, 34-35 and 39-46 follows below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference characters "135" in Fig. 1 and "136" in Figs. 2, 4 have both been used to designate negative electrode; however, “drive unit” in [0058] is 135 while negative electrode is 136.
In addition, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “153” has been used to designate both "trigger" in Figs. 2-3 and [0052]-[0053] and "distal end" in Fig. 5 and [0061]-[0063], [0069].
Reference character “147” has been used to designate both "waveguide" in Fig. 1 and [0046]-[0056], [0069] and "switch" in Fig. 1 and [0060]-[0063].
Reference character “162” has been used to designate both "adapter" in Fig. 1 and [0050] and "housing segments" in Figs. 2-3 and [0052]-[0053].
Moreover, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “163” in Fig. 1, “148” in Fig. 3 (although it is noted that [0052] uses numeral character 155 for holes whereas the holes have reference character 148 and not 155), “140” in Fig. 4 and “138” in Fig. 5.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Footswitch in [0106] is numbered “144434” and in [0099] it is numbered “434” however, footswitch in the drawings is 144.
Holes in [0052] is numbered “155” however, 155 is used to designate clamp pad.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 12, 14-17, 20 and 32 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Witt (US Patent No. 6,454,781).
Regarding Claim 12, Witt teaches an ultrasonic surgical instrument (Figs. 1a-8), comprising:
a shaft 22 (Figs.1a-c & 8);
a waveguide extending through the shaft (Figs. 1a-c and Col. 1, ll. 36-42); and
an end effector extending from the shaft and operable to manipulate tissue (Figs. 1a-1c and Figs. 6-7); wherein the end effector includes an ultrasonic blade 20 extending from the waveguide along a blade axis (Figs. 1a-8), wherein the ultrasonic blade comprises:
a proximal end configured to receive ultrasonic vibrations (Col. 1, ll. 36-42 and Col. 4, ll. 37-54);
a distal end movable along the blade axis in accordance with the ultrasonic vibrations applied to the proximal end (Col. 8, ll. 40-46); and
a widest portion exhibiting a first width (Figs. 6-7 showing the widest portion of the blade 20);
wherein the end effector further comprises a clamp arm 24 movable relative to the ultrasonic blade 20 from an open position to a closed position to capture tissue therebetween (Figs. 2-3, 8 and Col. 5, ll. 43-56), wherein the clamp arm includes:
a body portion (see the annotated figure below);
a first sidewall projecting from the body portion (one of the sidewalls in Figs. 6-7 projecting downwards from the body portion, also see the annotated figure below);
a second sidewall projecting from the body portion (the other of the sidewalls in Figs. 6-7, projecting downwards from the body portion, also see the annotated figure below), wherein the body portion comprises a second width greater than the first width and extending between the first and second sidewalls (see the annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 14, Witt teaches further comprising a closure actuator 72 configured to move the clamp arm toward the closed position, wherein the closure actuator 72 comprises a trigger 76 and a trigger hook 80 extending from the trigger, and wherein an aperture 81 is defined between the trigger 76 and the trigger hook 80 (Fig. 2 and Col. 5, ll. 43-56).
Regarding Claim 15, Witt teaches further comprising a power level indicator is configured to provide feedback indicative of the ultrasonic vibrations (feedback signal-power control signal “feedback signal may, for example, provide a visual audible or tactile signal to a user, and/or may provide instructions to a control unit to automatically alter the energy supply to the tissue” Col. 2, ll. 46-Col. 3, ll. 7 and Col. 9, ll. 21-29, in light of the teachings of Wiener (US Patent No. 6,679,899) stating “the amount of longitudinal movement will vary proportionately with the amount of driving power (current) applied, as adjustably selected by the user … cutting efficiency of the blade, as well as the degree of hemostasis, will vary with the level of driving power applied” in Col. 6, ll. 65-Col. 7, ll. 17; thereby the power level indicator is configured to provide feedback indicative of the ultrasonic vibrations).
Regarding Claim 16, Witt teaches further comprising a generator 302 configured to provide the ultrasonic vibrations to the ultrasonic blade (Figs. 8 and 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Witt teaches further comprising a switch, wherein the generator is configured to provide the ultrasonic vibrations to the ultrasonic blade based on actuation of the switch (“power controller may include at least one electrical switch for selectively controlling the energy supplied to the instrument to coagulate tissue, or to cut tissue, depending on the electrical switch setting” Col. 3, ll. 1-7 and Col. 9, ll. 21-29).
Regarding Claim 20, Witt teaches further comprising:
an input interface (switch) configured to receive an input from a user, wherein the input is indicative of a power level to apply to the ultrasonic blade (“power controller may include at least one electrical switch for selectively controlling the energy supplied to the instrument to coagulate tissue, or to cut tissue, depending on the electrical switch setting” Col. 3, ll. 1-7 and Col. 9, ll. 21-29).
Regarding Claim 32, Witt teaches further comprising a sensor to sense an impedance of the tissue, and a tissue state indicator operable to provide feedback indicative of a change in state of the tissue occurring based on the sensed impedance (Col. 11, ll. 46-Col. 13, ll. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being unpatentable over Witt (US Patent No. 6,454,781) in view of Manwaring (US Pub. No. 2010/0268205).
Regarding Claim 18, Witt teaches the invention as applied above, but does not teach wherein the power level indicator comprises a light emitting diode.
In the same field of invention, Manwaring teaches wherein the power level indicator comprises a light emitting diode (“for example, a series of lights 52 could be used to indicate power level” in [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to add a series of lights indicative of the amount of power applied to the invention of Witt in order to allow a user to visually track the power level during use.
Double Patenting
Claims 34-35, 39-41 and 45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,764,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to an ultrasonic surgical system, comprising: a shaft, a waveguide extending through the shaft; and an end effector extending from the shaft and operable to manipulate tissue, wherein the end effector includes an ultrasonic blade extending from the waveguide and operable to receive ultrasonic vibrations; wherein the end effector further comprises a clamp arm movable relative to the ultrasonic blade from an open position to a closed position to capture the tissue therebetween, and wherein the clamp arm includes a first electrode and a second electrode that each longitudinally overlap the ultrasonic blade when the clamp arm is in the closed position.
Claims 42-43 and 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,688,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to an ultrasonic surgical system, comprising: a transducer, a waveguide extending from the transducer; an ultrasonic blade extending from the waveguide, wherein the ultrasonic blade is configured to receive ultrasonic vibrations from the transducer via the waveguide to apply energy to tissue; and a clamp arm, comprising: a distal abutment surface comprising an electrode; and an electrically non-conductive pad terminating at a distal end thereof, wherein the distal abutment surface is distal to the distal end of the electrically non- conductive pad.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-35, 39-46 would be allowable by receiving an acceptable Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the Double Patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments directed to claims 12, 14-18, 20, 32 and 44 filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Independent claim 12 requires an ultrasonic blade that requires "a widest portion exhibiting a first width" and an end effector that "further comprises a clamp arm movable relative to the ultrasonic blade from an open position to a closed position to capture the tissue therebetween," and that the clamp arm includes "a body portion", "a first sidewall projecting from the body portion", and "a second sidewall projecting from the body portion, wherein the body portion comprises a second width greater than the first width and extending between the first and second sidewalls". Applicant submits that Witt and Manwaring, whether taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose, teach, or suggest one or more of the foregoing limitations.” As shown on the annotated figure above with the body portion being the body of the clamp having a width W2 and the blade having a widest portion W1, Witt teaches that W2 is greater than W1 as claimed. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794