Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed September 21st, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hu in view of Beck and further in view of Bunker (US 20100282721).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, Examiner agrees that “Hu is entirely silent as to the article also being moved in relation to the laser beam”, as required by the amended limitation. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Hu and Beck, and further in view of Bunker. Examiner notes that Bunker is being used to teach the newly amended limitation of Claim 1 (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al., hereafter Hu (US 20150209899), in view of Beck et al, hereafter Beck (US 8237082), further in view of Bunker et al., hereafter Bunker (US 20100282721).
Regarding Claim 1, Hu teaches a method of laser ablation of one or more holes in an article, the method comprising: establishing an ablation characteristic, the ablation characteristic being at least one of a laser characteristic, a working zone characteristic, a cooling hole characteristic, and a synchronized machine motion characteristic (paragraphs 0043,0049,0053);
creating a laser path plan for a laser beam based on the established ablation characteristic for a first working zone and a second working zone of the article (paragraphs 0040,0053);
ablating the first working zone with a first ablation characteristic and afterwards ablating the second working zone with a second ablation characteristic which is different from the first ablation characteristic (paragraph 0043; thermal barrier coating as first working zone and metal layer as second work zone).
However, Hu fails to teach establishing the ablation characteristic after the article has been coated or recoated such that the one or more previously formed cooling holes are at least partially obstructed by coating material;
the laser path plan directed to removing coating material from within the one or more previously formed cooling holes;
wherein the first working zone corresponds to coating material within the previously formed cooling holes and the ablating removes the coating material from within the previously formed cooling holes to clear debris and obstructions and permit proper functioning of the article.
Beck teaches a method of laser ablation of holes in an article, where the method includes ablating the hole after the article has been recoated such that a previously formed cooling hole is obstructed by the coating material, with the laser path plan directed to removing the coating material from the previously formed holes, the first working zone corresponding to the coating material with the ablating removing the coating material from the holes, in order to remove debris from the holes after refurbishing the article (Fig. 11; Col. 6, lines 15-39). Hu and Beck are analogous prior art as they each relate to ablating holes in articles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method taught by Hu could include ablating the holes in the article after being recoated for repair, in order to remove debris from the holes after refurbishing the article as taught by Beck (Beck Fig. 11; Col. 6, lines 15-39).
However, Hu as modified by Beck fails to teach executing a synchronization routine to control a location of the laser beam and a location of the article relative to one another.
Bunker teaches a method of laser ablation of holes in an article, where the method includes synchronizing a location of the laser beam and location of the article relative to one another, in order to apply the laser to the desired location (paragraphs 0026,0029 – sample as article). Hu as modified by Beck and Bunker are analogous prior art as they each relate to methods of laser ablation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method taught by Hu could include executing a synchronization routine to control a location of the laser beam and a location of the article relative to one another, in order to apply the laser to the desired location as taught by Bunker (Bunker paragraphs 0026,0029).
Regarding Claim 2, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the laser characteristic is at least one of: laser pulse width or pulse duration, laser frequency, laser pulse peak power, wavelength, average laser power, laser beam quality, repetition rate, pulse energy, laser spot size, and focal distance (paragraph 0049 – pulse rate, frequency, power, and wavelength as laser characteristics).
Regarding Claim 3, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 above.
However, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker fails to teach wherein the laser pulse width is in a picosecond range, or within a 1 picosecond to 1,000 picosecond range.
Bunker teaches a method of laser ablation where the laser pulse width is in a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range (paragraph 0025), in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the laser pulse width of Hu could be in a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range as taught by Bunker, in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (Bunker paragraph 0025).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (See MPEP 2144.05 I.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the laser pulse width could be in a picosecond range, or within a 1 picosecond to 1,000 picosecond range, as Bunker teaches a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range will achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025), and claimed ranges overlapping ranges taught by the prior art are obvious (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Regarding Claim 4, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 above.
However, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker fails to teach wherein the laser pulse width is in a range of 1 picosecond to 15 picoseconds.
Bunker teaches a method of laser ablation where the laser pulse width is in a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range (paragraph 0025), in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the laser pulse width of Hu could be in a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range as taught by Bunker, in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (Bunker paragraph 0025).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (See MPEP 2144.05 I.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the laser pulse width could be in within a 1 picosecond to 15 picosecond range, as Bunker teaches a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range will achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025), and claimed ranges overlapping ranges taught by the prior art are obvious (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Regarding Claim 5, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 above.
However, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker fails to teach wherein a first laser pulse width of a first laser characteristic is in the picosecond range, and a second laser pulse width of a second laser characteristic is in a nanosecond range or microsecond range.
Hu does teach a first laser pulse and second laser pulse with different characteristics (paragraph 0043).
Bunker teaches a method of laser ablation where the laser pulse width is in a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range (paragraph 0025), in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the laser pulse width of Hu could be in a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range as taught by Bunker, in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (Bunker paragraph 0025).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (See MPEP 2144.05 I.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the first laser pulse width of the first laser characteristic could be in the picosecond range, and the second laser pulse width of the second laser characteristic could be in a nanosecond range or microsecond range as Bunker teaches a 50 microsecond to 1 femtosecond range will achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025), and claimed ranges overlapping ranges taught by the prior art are obvious (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Regarding Claim 6, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 2 above.
However, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker fails to teach wherein operating parameters of the laser are one or more of: laser spot size diameter between about 0.05 mm and about 0.5 mm, repetition rate between 10 kHz and 10 MHz, laser beam quality (M2) is between 1 and 3.
Bunker teaches a method of laser ablation where the repetition rate is greater than 1000 Hz (paragraph 0025), in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the repetition rate of Hu could be greater than 1000 Hz as taught by Bunker, in order to achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (Bunker paragraph 0025).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (See MPEP 2144.05 I.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the repetition rate could be in a range of 10 kHz to 10 MHz, as Bunker teaches a repetition rate greater than 1000 Hz will achieve a wide range of laser intensity, while mitigating negative effects of laser machining and reaching a high material removal rate (paragraph 0025), and claimed ranges overlapping ranges taught by the prior art are obvious (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Regarding Claim 8, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the working zone characteristic is at least one of a first coating layer and a second coating layer of the article. (paragraph 0043).
Regarding Claim 9, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the first coating layer is a top coat, and the second coating layer is a bond coat (paragraph0043).
Regarding Claim 10, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches further comprising changing the laser path plan without requiring movement of the article relative to the laser (paragraphs 0050,0053 – laser is moved relative to the article).
Regarding Claim 11, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the laser path plan is a function of at least one of the laser characteristic, the working zone characteristic, the cooling hole characteristic, and the synchronized machine motion characteristic for at least one of the first working zone and the second working zone (paragraphs 0049,0050,0053; path plan is a function of the working zone characteristic, cooling hole characteristic, and laser characteristic).
Regarding Claim 12, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 11 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the laser path plan is comprised of a first ablation pattern and a second ablation pattern, the first ablation pattern being different from the second ablation pattern (paragraph 0053 – laser path plan includes at least two different spiral patterns).
Regarding Claim 13, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein after completion of the establishing, creating and ablating steps, moving at least one of the article and the laser, and repeating the establishing, creating and ablating steps (paragraph 0054).
Regarding Claim 14, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the cooling hole characteristic includes at least one of a dimension of a hole, a thermal response of a material of the article, an overall three-dimensional shape of a desired cooling hole, a shape of a diffuser section, ceramic fill, metallic fill, and thermal characteristics of a cooling hole including finished, partially ablated, and fully coated (paragraphs 0050,0051,0053 – cooling hole characteristic includes a dimension of the hole and the three-dimensional shape of the desired hole).
Regarding Claim 15, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the synchronized machine motion characteristic includes at least one of a linear and a rotational acceleration, a linear and a rotational speed, and a field of view (paragraphs 0050,0053).
Regarding Claim 16, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the laser path plan minimizes or reduces adverse thermal effects to the one or more holes or substrate of the article (paragraphs 0053,0057-0060).
Regarding Claim 17, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the laser characteristic minimizes or reduces laser beam attenuation caused by ablation products generated by the laser beam (paragraphs 0053,0057-0060).
Regarding Claim 18, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the step of creating a laser path plan establishes a first ablation pattern and a second ablation pattern, wherein the first ablation pattern is different from the second ablation pattern (paragraph 0053 – laser path plan includes at least two different spiral pattern).
Regarding Claim 19, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches further comprising moving at least one of the laser and the article when transitioning from the first working zone to the second working zone (paragraphs 0050,0053 – laser is moved).
Regarding Claim 20, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above. Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker further teaches wherein the laser is configured to deliver laser beam pulses in an ON configuration and to deliver no laser beam pulses in an OFF configuration, and minimizing or reducing a time in which the laser is in an OFF configuration (paragraphs 0049-0050,0053-0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Beck, further in view of Bunker.
Regarding Claim 7, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 above.
However, Hu as modified by Beck and further modified by Bunker fails to explicitly teach wherein the average laser power is in the range of 25 W to 250 W.
Hu does teach that the average laser power is in the range of 10 W to 100 W (paragraph 0032), in order to ablate a hole with the laser.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (See MPEP 2144.05 I.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the average laser power could be in the range of 10 W to 100 W, as Hu teaches that such a range is sufficient to ablate a hole with the laser, and claimed ranges overlapping ranges taught by the prior art are obvious (MPEP 2144. 05 I.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Deshi (US 20060169677), Das (US 20040134897), Kinoshita (US 6346687), Grafton-Reed (US 20190134752), Goya (US 20210008668) and Neil (US 6809291) each teaches a method of ablating holes in an article.
/JACKSON N GILLENWATERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745