DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/24/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the term “the pump” in line 7 should read as “the at least one pump”. Claims 2-3 are also objected as being dependent upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the term “the pump” in line 8 should read as “the at least one pump”.
Regarding claim 5, the term “the outlets” in line 1 should read as “the multiple outlets”. Claim 6 is also objected as being dependent upon claim 5.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in an application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Regarding claim 4, claim limitations “means for selectively obstructing at least one of the outlets” in the application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, “means for selectively obstructing at least one of the outlets” being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed para 0043 “There are other means by which selection of the inlets and outlets that receive and dispense sauce can be made, including computer-actuated valves, solenoids connected to the rod 58 and other apparatuses that will become apparent from the disclosure herein to a person having ordinary skill”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 11,700, 859 (hereby “Frea”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the present applicant and that of the claims of the patent are substantially the same and the claimed subject matter of the present application would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the claimed subject matter of the claims of the patent.
Regarding claim 1, Frea discloses, an apparatus for applying a fluent food to a substantially circular food product (see “An apparatus for applying pizza sauce to a pizza crust” in claim 1), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a manifold (see “a manifold disposed above a tray that is for holding and rotating the crust” in claim 1) having at least one inlet (see “at least first and second inlets” in claim 1) in fluid communication with at least one outlet (see “multiple outlets” in claim 1), wherein the at least one outlet is positioned directly above a tray for holding the circular food product (see “the outlets are positioned directly above the crust” in claim 1);
(b) at least one pump (see “first pump” in claim 1) in fluid communication with the at least one inlet and a reservoir for holding fluent food, wherein the pump is configured to pump fluent food from the reservoir to the at least one inlet and then out of the at least one outlet to the circular food product below (see “first pump in fluid communication with at least the first inlet and at least one source of pizza sauce for conveying pizza sauce from the at least one source of pizza sauce to at least the first inlet” in claim 1); and
(c) a rotary prime mover (see “rotary motor” in claim 1) disposed beneath the tray and drivingly linked to the tray and configured to rotate the circular food product relative to the manifold as the fluent food is dispensed out of the at least one outlet to the circular food product below (see “a rotary motor disposed beneath the crust and drivingly linked to the tray for rotating the tray relative to the manifold as the pizza sauce is dispensed out of at least one of the outlets” in claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Frea discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 1, wherein the at least one outlet comprises multiple outlets (see “multiple outlets” in claim 1) that are configured to be selectively actuated to dispense fluent food on the circular food product (see “first pump” and “second pump” in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Frea discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 2, wherein the at least one pump comprises multiple pumps (see “first pump” and “second pump” in claim 1), the at least one inlet comprises multiple inlets, wherein each pump is in fluid communication with one of the inlets and each inlet is in fluid communication with at least one of the outlets, whereby actuation of one of the pumps conveys fluent food to a respective one of the inlets and out at least one of the outlets (see “the first inlet is in fluid communication with the first pump and a first segment of the outlets […] the second inlet is in fluid communication with the second pump and a second segment of the outlets” claim 1).
Claims 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 11,700, 859 (hereby “Frea”) in view of Amigh (US 6626996 B1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the present applicant and that of the claims of the patent are substantially the same and the claimed subject matter of the present application would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the claimed subject matter of the claims of the patent.
Regarding claim 4, Frea discloses, an apparatus for applying a fluent food to a substantially circular food product (see “An apparatus for applying pizza sauce to a pizza crust” in claim 1), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a manifold (see “a manifold disposed above a tray that is for holding and rotating the crust” in claim 1) having at least one inlet (see “first inlet” in claim 1) in fluid communication with multiple outlets (see “multiple outlets” in claim 1);
(b) a tray (see tray in claim 1) configured for holding the circular food product positioned directly below the outlets (see “a tray that is for holding and rotating the crust” in claim 1);
(c) at least one pump (see “first pump” in claim 1) in fluid communication with the at least one inlet and a reservoir for holding fluent food, wherein the pump is configured to pump fluent food from the reservoir to the at least one inlet and then out of at least one of the outlets to the circular food product below(see “first pump in fluid communication with at least the first inlet and at least one source of pizza sauce for conveying pizza sauce from the at least one source of pizza sauce to at least the first inlet” in claim 1); and
(d) a rotary motor (see “motor” in claim 1) drivingly linked to the tray and configured to rotate the tray, with the circular food product resting thereon, relative to the manifold as the fluent food is dispensed out of the outlets to the circular food product below, wherein the rotation of the tray rotates the circular food product while the fluent food is dispensed onto the circular food product (see “a rotary motor disposed beneath the crust and drivingly linked to the tray for rotating the tray relative to the manifold as the pizza sauce is dispensed out of at least one of the outlets” in claim 1).
However, Frea does not explicitly disclose, the manifold having means for selectively obstructing at least one of the outlets.
Nonetheless, Amigh teaches, solenoids 210 each connected to the hose 208 (see Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date to modify the manifold of Frea wherein the manifold further comprises means for selectively obstructing at least one of the outlets as taught/suggested by Amigh in order to selectively control/open/close the fluid/sauce flow so as the desired amount of sauce is dispensed.
Regarding claim 5, Frea in view of Amigh discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 4, Frea further discloses wherein the outlets are configured to be selectively actuated to dispense fluent food on the circular food product (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Frea in view of Amigh discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 5, Frea further discloses wherein the at least one pump comprises multiple pumps (see “firs pump” and “second pump” in claim 1), the at least one inlet comprises multiple inlets (see “first inlet” and “second inlets” in claim 1), wherein each pump is in fluid communication with one of the inlets and each inlet is in fluid communication with at least one of the outlets, whereby actuation of one of the pumps conveys fluent food to a respective one of the inlets and out at least one of the outlets (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over the embodiment of Fig. 7 of Amigh (US 6626996 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Amigh discloses, an apparatus (see pizza sauce spraying mechanism 90 in Fig. 7) for applying a fluent food (sauce) to a substantially circular food product (see dough/pizza as the same configuration of dough 122 in Fig. 6), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a manifold (see dispensing arm 14 in Fig. 7) having at least one inlet (see hose 94 in Fig. 7) in fluid communication with at least one outlet (see nozzle 96 in Fig. 7), wherein the at least one outlet (96) is positioned directly above a tray (see disc 12 as the same configuration of arm 14 is located above dics 12 in Fig. 1) for holding the circular food product (see dough as the same configuration of dough 122 in Fig. 6);
(b) at least one pump (see pump system 92 in Fig. 7) in fluid communication with the at least one inlet (see Fig. 7) and a reservoir (see reservoir 91 in Fig. 7) for holding fluent food (see Fig. 7), wherein the pump (92) is configured to pump fluent food from the reservoir (see Fig. 7) to the at least one inlet (see Fig. 7) and then out of the at least one outlet (see 96) to the circular food product below (disclosed in Col. 7 lines 10-16 “Having second spraying mechanism 90, in addition to spraying mechanism 15, allows system 10 to instantaneously apply different types of sauces without changing nozzle 16, pump 84 or reservoir 82 of pump system 80. PLC 54 is programmed to selectively activate one or both of pump system 90 and pump system 80 to achieve the desired saucing”); and
(c) a rotary prime mover (see motor as the same configuration of motor 50 in Fig. 2) disposed beneath the tray (see the same configuration in Fig. 2) and drivingly linked to the tray (12) and configured to rotate the circular food product relative to the manifold (see the same configuration in Fig. 2 and disclosed in Col. 4 lines 40-44 “Motor 50 receives commands from controls 18 and PLC 54 to determine the activation, deactivation, acceleration, and deceleration of rotation of disc 12, particularly in relationship to the operation of dispensing arm 14 and spraying mechanism 15”) as the fluent food is dispensed out of the at least one outlet to the circular food product below (see Fig. 7 and the same configuration in Fig. 2 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 10-16 “Having second spraying mechanism 90, in addition to spraying mechanism 15, allows system 10 to instantaneously apply different types of sauces without changing nozzle 16, pump 84 or reservoir 82 of pump system 80. PLC 54 is programmed to selectively activate one or both of pump system 90 and pump system 80 to achieve the desired saucing”).
Regarding claim 2, Amigh discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 1, wherein the at least one outlet comprises multiple outlets (see nozzles 16 and 96 in Fig. 7) that are configured to be selectively actuated to dispense fluent food on the circular food product (see Fig. 7 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 10-16 “Having second spraying mechanism 90, in addition to spraying mechanism 15, allows system 10 to instantaneously apply different types of sauces without changing nozzle 16, pump 84 or reservoir 82 of pump system 80. PLC 54 is programmed to selectively activate one or both of pump system 90 and pump system 80 to achieve the desired saucing”).
Regarding claim 3, Amigh discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 2, wherein the at least one pump comprises multiple pumps (see pump systems 80 and 92 in Fig. 7), the at least one inlet comprises multiple inlets (see hoses 17 and 94 in Fig. 7), wherein each pump (80, 92) is in fluid communication with one of the inlets (see Fig. 7) and each inlet is in fluid communication with at least one of the outlets (see Fig. 7), whereby actuation of one of the pumps conveys fluent food to a respective one of the inlets and out at least one of the outlets (see Fig. 7 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 10-16 “Having second spraying mechanism 90, in addition to spraying mechanism 15, allows system 10 to instantaneously apply different types of sauces without changing nozzle 16, pump 84 or reservoir 82 of pump system 80. PLC 54 is programmed to selectively activate one or both of pump system 90 and pump system 80 to achieve the desired saucing”).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over the embodiment of Fig. 9 of Amigh (US 6626996 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Amigh discloses, an apparatus (see pizza sauce dispensing system 200 in Fig. 9) for applying a fluent food (sauce) to a substantially circular food product (see dough/pizza as the same configuration of dough 122 in Fig. 6), the apparatus comprising:
(a) a manifold (see arm 201 in Fig. 9) having at least one inlet (see annotated Fig. 9) in fluid communication with multiple outlets (see nozzles 202, 204, and 206 in Fig. 9), the manifold (201) having means (see solenoid 210 with each of the hoses 208 of each of the nozzles 202, 204 and 206 respectively in Fig. 9) for selectively obstructing at least one of the outlets (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 64-67 and Col. 8 lines 1-4 “Sauce pumping system 215 is in fluid communication with each hose 208 to supply sauce to nozzles 202, 204, and 206. In addition, as previously described for sauce dispensing system 10, controls 18 with PLC 54 coordinate the rotation of disc 12, and activation/deactivation and spray rate of nozzles 202, 204, 206 to achieve the selected amount of sauce deposited at the selected thickness and spacing on the pizza crust”, wherein it is known in the art that solenoid valves 210 are used to control/open/close the fluid flow);
(b) a tray (see disc 12 in Fig. 9) configured for holding the circular food product (dough) positioned directly below the outlets (see Fig. 9);
(c) at least one pump (see pump system 215 in Fig. 9) in fluid communication with the at least one inlet (see Fig. 9) and a reservoir (see reservoir 216 in Fig. 9) for holding fluent food (see Fig. 9), wherein the pump (215) is configured to pump fluent food from the reservoir (see Fig. 9) to the at least one inlet (see annotated Fig. 9) and then out of at least one of the outlets to the circular food product below (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 64-67 and Col. 8 lines 1-4); and
(d) a rotary motor (see motor as the same configuration of motor 50 in Fig. 2) drivingly linked to the tray (see the same manner as Fig. 2) and configured to rotate the tray (12) with the circular food product resting thereon (see the same manner as Fig. 6), relative to the manifold (201) as the fluent food (sauce) is dispensed out of the outlets (202, 204, and 206) to the circular food product below (see Fig. 9 and the same manner as Fig. 6), wherein the rotation of the tray (12) rotates the circular food product (dough/pizza) while the fluent food (sauce) is dispensed onto the circular food product (see Fig. 9 and see the same manner as Fig. 2, Fig. 6 and disclosed in Col. 4 lines 40-44 “Motor 50 receives commands from controls 18 and PLC 54 to determine the activation, deactivation, acceleration, and deceleration of rotation of disc 12, particularly in relationship to the operation of dispensing arm 14 and spraying mechanism 15”).
Regarding claim 5, Amigh discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 4, wherein the outlets (202, 204 and 206 in Fig. 9) are configured to be selectively actuated to dispense fluent food on the circular food product (see Fig. 9 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 64-67 and Col. 8 lines 1-4 “Sauce pumping system 215 is in fluid communication with each hose 208 to supply sauce to nozzles 202, 204, and 206. In addition, as previously described for sauce dispensing system 10, controls 18 with PLC 54 coordinate the rotation of disc 12, and activation/deactivation and spray rate of nozzles 202, 204, 206 to achieve the selected amount of sauce deposited at the selected thickness and spacing on the pizza crust”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the embodiment of Fig. 9 of Amigh in view of the embodiment of Fig. 7 of Amigh.
Regarding claim 6, the embodiment of Fig. 9 of Amigh substantially discloses all the claimed limitations in claim 5, the embodiment of Fig. 9 of Amigh further discloses, the apparatus in accordance with claim 5, wherein the at least one pump (215) comprises multiple pumps (disclosed in Col. 7 lines 61-63 “sauce pumping system 215 with reservoir 216 (similar to pump system 80) or other pumping systems”), and the at least one inlet comprises multiple inlets (see hoses 208 in Fig. 9).
However, the embodiment of Fig. 9 of Amigh does not explicitly disclose, wherein each pump is in fluid communication with one of the inlets, and whereby actuation of one of the pumps conveys fluent food to a respective one of the inlets and out at least one of the outlets.
Nonetheless, the embodiment of Fig. 7 of Amigh teaches, the at least one pump comprises multiple pumps (see pump system 80 and pump system 92 in Fig. 7) wherein each pump (80, 92) is in fluid communication with one of the inlets (see hoses 17 and 94 in Fig. 7, wherein hose 17 is in fluid communication with pump 80, and hose 94 is in fluid communication with pump 92 as seen in Fig. 7) and each inlet (17, 94) is in fluid communication with at least one of the outlets (see 16 and 96 respectively in Fig. 7), whereby actuation of one of the pumps (80 and 92) conveys fluent food to a respective one of the inlets (17/94) and out at least one of the outlets (16/96 respectively in Fig. 7 and disclosed in Col. 7 lines 10-16 “Having second spraying mechanism 90, in addition to spraying mechanism 15, allows system 10 to instantaneously apply different types of sauces without changing nozzle 16, pump 84 or reservoir 82 of pump system 80. PLC 54 is programmed to selectively activate one or both of pump system 90 and pump system 80 to achieve the desired saucing.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the pump system 215 of the embodiment of Fig. 9 so as the pump system 215 further comprises multiple pumps as taught/suggested by the embodiment of Fig. 7 such that each of the hoses 208 comprises one pump, whereby actuation of one of the pumps conveys fluent food to a respective one of the inlets and out at least one of the outlets. Doing so would allow system to selectively activate one or all of pump systems to achieve the desired saucing (see Col. 7 lines 10-16 of the embodiment of Fig. 7).
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761