Response to Election of Species Requirements
Upon further consideration of Applicant’s arguments traversing the election of species requirement, the restriction requirement withdrawn. In particular, Applicant has asserted that the claimed alloy species are not patentably distinct and belong to a single inventive concept. In view of this assertion, and for purposes of examination efficiency, the claims are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka (US 2022/0364928 A1 – hereafter “Kosaka”) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0082444 A1 – hereafter “Li”).
As per claim 1, Kosaka teaches the following:
A bolometer type infrared detector comprising:
a substrate (see Fig. 1, substrate 1; para [0061]),
a bolometer film comprising semiconducting carbon nanotubes (see Fig. 1, layer 2, carbon nanotube layer 3, see para [0061] – [0063]), and
two electrodes spaced from each other and connected to the bolometer film (see Fig. 1, electrodes 4,5; para [0061]), but fails to teach one of the two electrodes are formed of the metal alloy combinations in the groups claimed.
However, Li teaches electrodes in an infrared temperature sensor device that are formed from different conductive materials, including different metals or different metal alloys. Specifically, Li discloses that a thermocouple includes first and second electrodes that may be formed of different metals, different metal alloys, or a combination of a metal and a metal alloy (see para [0071]). Li further discloses specific electrode material combinations, including copper and copper-nickel alloy electrodes (see Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li to form at least one of the electrodes from a metal or metal alloy, as taught by Li, in order to achieve stable thermoelectric performance and improve temperature measurement accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “The bolometer type infrared detector according to claim 1, wherein the two electrodes are formed of a same alloy.”
Kosaka teaches the bolometer type infrared detector of claim 1, but fails to teach two electrodes formed of the same alloy.
However, Li teaches electrodes formed of metal alloys, including embodiments in which the electrodes are formed of the same metal alloy (see para [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li to form the two electrodes of the same metal alloy in order to simplify fabrication by using a single electrode material.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “The bolometer type infrared detector according to claim 1, wherein the two electrodes are formed of alloys different from each other.”
Kosaka teaches the bolometer type infrared detector of claim 1, but fails to teach the two electrodes are formed of alloys that are different from each other.
However, Li teaches that the first electrode and the second electrode may be formed of different metal alloys (see para [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li to use different metal alloys for the two electrodes in order to generate a thermoelectric potential based on material differences.
As per claim 8 Kosaka teaches:
A method of manufacturing a bolometer type infrared detector, the method comprising:
providing a substrate (see Fig. 1, substrate 1; para [0061]),
forming a bolometer film comprising semiconducting carbon nanotubes (see Fig. 1, layer 2, carbon nanotube layer 3, see para [0061] – [0063]), and
forming two electrodes so that the two electrodes are spaced from each other and connected to the bolometer film (see Fig. 1, electrodes 4,5; para [0061]), but fails to teach one of the two electrodes are formed of the metal alloy combinations in the groups claimed.
However, Li teaches electrodes in an infrared temperature sensor device that are formed from different conductive materials, including different metals or different metal alloys. Specifically, Li discloses that a thermocouple includes first and second electrodes that may be formed of different metals, different metal alloys, or a combination of a metal and a metal alloy (see para [0071]). Li further discloses specific electrode material combinations, including copper and copper-nickel alloy electrodes (see Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li to form the two electrodes from a same metal alloy during manufacturing in order to simplify the electrode forming process by using a single alloy material.
Claims 5 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka in view of Li in further view of Yuge et al. (US 2023/0288262 A1 – hereafter “Yuge”).
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “The bolometer type infrared detector according to claim 1, wherein the bolometer film is a composite material comprising a carbon nanotube and a negative thermal expansion material.”
Kosaka in view of Li teaches the bolometer type infrared detector of claim 1, but fails to teach the bolometer film is comprised of carbon nanotubes and a thermal expansion material.
However, Yuge teaches that a bolometer film is a composite material comprising semiconducting carbon nanotubes and a negative thermal expansion material (see para [0056] – [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li in further view of Yuge to include a composite material comprising semiconductor carbon nanotubes and a negative thermal expansion material in order to improve temperature induced resistance change and increase the temperature coefficient of resistance.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “The bolometer type infrared detector according to claim 5, wherein the negative thermal expansion material is an oxides, a nitride, a sulfide, or a multi-element compound, each comprising one or more element selected from the group consisting of , Li, Al, Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Bi, La, Cu, Sn, Zn, V, Zr, Pb, Sm, Y, W, Si, P, Ru, Ti, Ge, Ca, Ga, Cr, and Cd.”
Kosaka in view of Li teaches the bolometer type infrared detector of claim 5, but fails to teach the negative thermal expansion material is an oxides, a nitride, a sulfide, or a multi-element compound, each comprising one or more element selected from the group consisting of , Li, Al, Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Bi, La, Cu, Sn, Zn, V, Zr, Pb, Sm, Y, W, Si, P, Ru, Ti, Ge, Ca, Ga, Cr, and Cd.
However, Yuge teaches the negative thermal expansion material is an oxide, a nitride, a sulfide, or a multi-element compound comprising one or more elements selected from Li, Al, Fe, Ni, Co, Mn, Bi, La, Cu, Sn, Zn, V, Zr, Pb, Sm, Y, W, Si, P, Ru, Ti, Ge, Ca, Ga, Cr, and Cd (see para [0083] – [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li in further view of Yuge to employ a negative thermal expansion material selected from oxides, nitrides, sulfides, or multi-element compounds as taught by Yuge, in order to enable material selection optimized for thermal stability, manufacturability, and enhanced TCR.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “The bolometer type infrared detector according to claim 1, wherein the bolometer film comprises semiconducting carbon nanotubes in an amount of 90% by mass or more based on a total amount of the semiconducting carbon nanotubes.”
Kosaka in view of Li teaches the bolometer type infrared detector of claim 1, but fails to teach the bolometer film comprises semiconducting carbon nanotubes in an amount of 90% by mass or more based on a total amount of the semiconducting carbon nanotubes.”
However, Yuge teaches that the bolometer film comprises semiconducting carbon nanotubes in an amount of 90% by mass or more based on a total amount of the semiconducting carbon nanotubes. (see para [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the present application to modify Kosaka’s in view of Li in further view of Yuge to modify the bolometer film to comprise semiconducting carbon nanotubes in an amount of 90% by mass or more in order to suppress metallic conduction paths and improve bolometer performance.
Conclusion
/MANUEL SALVADOR CASTELLON JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855