DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott (US 3,645,007). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Scott as teaching:
a combination mist steamer and dryer (see title and abstract), comprising:
a top member comprising one or more hoods 15 and a mist outlet;
a mist generator 26 configured to expel mist through the mist outlet; and
a hair dryer motor 13, 20,
wherein the one or more hoods are configured to removably attach to the top member, substantially contain mist expelled by the mist outlet, and substantially contain air pushed by the hair dryer motor (figure 2). Scott also discloses the claim 2 feature of an intermediate member connected to the top member by a first hinge; and a bottom member connected to the intermediate member by a second hinge, wherein the first hinge and the second hinge are configured to allow the top member, the intermediate member, and the bottom member to collapse into a storage configuration when each of the first hinge and the second hinge are closed, in which each of the top member, the intermediate member, and the bottom member lie in parallel planes, the top member abuts the intermediate member, and the intermediate member abuts the bottom member, and adopt one or more use configurations when one or more of the first hinge and the second hinge are open (figures 1, 2, 5), the claim 7 feature wherein the one or more hoods comprise one or more air vents 40, 42 configured to accept at least a first portion of air pushed by the hair dryer motor; and one or more diffuser rods configured to accept at least a second portion of air pushed by the hair dryer motor, wherein the one or more hoods are configured to facilitate hair drying of one or more of textured hair and curly hair (column 3 line 70 through column 4 line 46), the claim 8 feature of an intermediate member connected to the top member; a bottom member connected to the intermediate member, the bottom member comprising an attachment slot; a mist tank, wherein the mist tank, the mist generator, and the hair dryer motor are each configured to attach to the attachment slot; and a hose attached to each of the top member and the bottom member (figures 1, 2), and the claim 11 feature wherein the hair dryer motor is configured to pump air at one or more of: a first setting comprising a low flow rate and a high temperature, a second setting comprising a high flow rate and a low temperature, and a third setting comprising a medium flow rate and a medium temperature, and the hair dryer motor is configured to allow a user to independently switch between each of the first setting, the second setting, and the third setting (column 4 line 69 through column 5 line 15).
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tadaka et al. (US 7,028,348). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Tadaka as teaching:
a method of treating hair (see title and abstract), comprising:
providing a combination mist steamer and dryer in a use configuration (column 8 lines 12-23 wherein the disclosed water vapor meets the claimed mist steam because both have the same structure and function and are used as a combination in a use® configuration);
steaming the hair with mist using the combination mist steamer and dryer in the use configuration (column 8 lines 42-49);
drying the hair with air using the combination mist steamer and dryer in the use configuration (column 9 lines 52-57),
wherein the combination mist steamer and dryer in the use configuration is configured to perform the steaming and drying independently or consecutively (column 3 lines 53-63). Tadaka also discloses the claim 19 feature wherein the combination mist steamer and dryer comprises the use configuration and a storage configuration, and the providing the combination mist steamer and dryer in the use configuration comprises changing from the storage configuration to the use configuration (figures 1, 4, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 9-10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Tadaka. Scott discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the recited shape, one or more hoses, flow rate, temperature, heating coil operation, centrifugal ducted fan, mist tank volume, or digital control panel configuration. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features since the teachings of Scott would perform the invention as claimed regardless of those features and applicant has not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability. Furthermore, Scott discloses the claimed invention, except for the claim 5 drain. Tadaka discloses that feature at column 3 lines 4-32. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Scott with Tadaka to remove moisture from a hair dryer in order to provide dry air. Finally Scott in view of Tadaka discloses the claimed invention, except for the claim 6 semi-permeable cover. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite that feature since the teachings of Scott in view of Tadaka would perform the invention as claimed regardless of that feature and applicant has not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,092. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the currently claimed hair dryer motor or dryer, with the patent claimed invention, since both have the same structure and function and applicant has not claimed or specified the criticality of that feature as being necessary for patentability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this action may teach one or more claim features, but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be reasonable or proper under current Office practice and procedure. References A, B, cited with this action, are patent publications from the same inventive entity. References C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, N, O, P, Q, R, cited with this action teach dryers and methods thereof.
Monday, January 5, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753