DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on October 13, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-8, 11 and 13-18 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1 and 11, Applicant argues out-of-communication time is a time that no information is transmitted therein, therefore different from the interframe spaces that still transmit information. Taniguchi only performs statistics on the time that the wireless communication device performs communication and the time that the wireless communication device does not perform communication, and is not able to perform statistics on the inter frame spaces of the present application. (pg. 11)
Examiner’s response: IFS inherently includes idle waiting periods. In WLAN MAC operation: AIFS, DIFS, SIFS, backoff periods are periods during which data is not transmitted, therefor IFS still transmit information is technically incorrect. Taniguchi’s “out-of-communication time” is an interval between frames, i.e., an inter-frame space regardless of the terminology and Taniguchi performs statistics on the transmission and non-transmission time intervals [0114]. The claimed inter-frame spaces are not limited to any particular IEEE-defined timing value and broadly encompass time intervals between frames.
Regarding independent claim 1 and 11, Applicant argues Ram does not perform statistics on the inter frame space, and adjustment is performed based on QoS. Taniguchi does not disclose performing statistics on the inter frame space and adjusting based on the related time lengths including the inter frame space and the inter frame space statistics data generated based on the statistics performed on the inter frame. (pgs. 11-12)
Examiner’s response: Taniguchi discloses the detection and generating statistics of the communication time (frame length, Fig. 3, 303A) and the out-of-communication time (Fig. 3, [0034] illustrates out-of-communication time 303B between frames, i.e. IFS)) and redetermines power supply time (transmission parameters) based on analysis of communication information [Figs. 3, 4, 0040, 0041]. Ram discloses the adjustment of AIFS, CW, backoff to meet the application requirement that are IFS related parameter. Therefore, the combination can analyze the communication parameters and adjust IFS related transmission parameters with the information motivated by improving contention efficiency and latency.
Regarding independent claim 1 and 11, Applicant argues Cited references fail to disclose the feature of "adjust the transmission parameters based on related time lengths and the inter frame space statistics data" (pg. 12)
Examiner’s response: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. "adjust the transmission parameters based on related time lengths and the inter frame space statistics data" (pg. 12)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Claim recited “adjust a plurality of transmission parameters related to the inter frame space-time length to perform data transmission” and Ram teaches the adjustment of the IFS related parameter as mapped in the office action.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 11, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Therefore, the Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C.§103 rejection with the same combination of the references mailed July 16, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 5 and 15, “analyzes the related time lengths and he inter frame space” should be “analyzes the related time lengths and the inter frame space”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-10, 11-14, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhushan et al. (US 20200396695 A1), hereinafter Bhushan, in view of TANIGUCHI et al. (US 20200076239 A1), hereinafter Taniguchi and in view of Ram et al. (US 9917752 B1), hereinafter Ram.
Regarding Claim 1, Bhushan discloses A wireless communication apparatus ([0040] FIG. 1 AP 111) having transmission strategy (Fig. 3 [0073] A transmission power adjustment software module 336) adjusting mechanism comprising:
a receiving circuit configured to receive data of a plurality of communication behaviors among a plurality of external apparatuses: (Bhushan [0108] FIG. 7 shows an example method 700 of adjusting transmission for a selected AP. [0109] Fig. 7, At block 710, one or more frames (data) may be obtained from a plurality of stations (Figs. 1-5). the frames can be received via an antenna or transceiver coupled to the AP. [0041] Fig. 1 discloses access to the shared wireless medium is governed by a Distributed Coordination Function (DCF) by any device in the example with APs 110-116 or the stations STA1-STA4, for transmitting data, indicates communication behaviors by a plurality of external apparatus (e.g. APs/STAs). Before transmitting data, the wireless communication device performs a Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) and determines that the appropriate wireless channel is idle or busy based on energy sensing, indicates communication behavior in the channel by the plurality of apparatus. The CCA includes both physical (PHY-level) carrier sensing and virtual (MAC-level) carrier sensing, MAC level allows associating to the external apparatus based on MAC address [0040, Fig. 1])
a transmission circuit configured to receive the transmission parameter adjusting signal to adjust a plurality of transmission parameters related to the inter frame space-time length to perform data transmission. (Bhushan discloses in [0111], Fig. 7, At block 730, AP 111 (apparatus) will compare the average SNR to a threshold value range and adjust the transmission parameters based on the comparison result in block 740 ([0112] to reduce transmission power) or block 750 ([0114] to increase transmission power), indicates the comparison result as the adjusting signal to blocks 740/750. [0113] discloses a plurality of transmission parameters (SNR, coding, modulation etc.) can be adjusted by the processor in the AP.)
Though Bhushan discloses channel condition (communication behavior) estimation [Fig. 3, [0076]), channel sensing measurements for Inter-Frame Space (IFS) [0042] and updating transmission parameters [0112], Bhushan does not specifically disclose:
a detection circuit configured to detect a plurality of inter frame spaces (IFS) comprised by the communication behaviors and record related time lengths and a set of communication parameters;
a statistics circuit configured to perform statistics on the inter frame spaces according to a plurality of time intervals to generate a plurality of inter frame space statistics data;
a strategy determining circuit configured to analyze at least the related time lengths, and the inter frame space statistics data of the inter frame spaces according to an application requirement to generate a transmission parameter adjusting signal,
wherein the related time lengths at least comprise an inter frame space time length;
Taniguchi, however, discloses:
a detection circuit configured to detect a plurality of inter frame spaces (IFS) comprised by the communication behaviors and record related time lengths and a set of communication parameters; (Taniguchi [0040] FIG. 4 discloses the signal detector 104 (of the wireless power supply device/WLAN device [0077]) attempts detection of the communication information of the peripheral wireless communication device, and detects the communication time of each communication as the communication information (communication behaviors). [0034] in section 303 in FIG. 3, for example, communication time 303A (indicates frame duration) of the wireless communication device is longer than out-of-communication time 303B (indicates inter frame space) [0041] Fig. 4, for example, the signal detector 104 detects communication time 401 of the wireless communication device (terminal 1) and communication time 402 of the wireless communication device (terminal 2) as the communication information, indicates detecting information for plurality of apparatus. [0066, 0067] the AP 300 may store communicate information for a number of other wireless devices that may include, for example, MAC address, the wireless device's service set identification (SSID), BSSID, operating channels), indicates a set of communication parameters. [0030] The signal detector 104 may urge the storage 105 to hold the communication information, indicates the recording of the communication time and parameters).
a statistics circuit configured to perform statistics on the inter frame spaces according to a plurality of time intervals to generate a plurality of inter frame space statistics data; (Taniguchi [0110] Fig. 10 The power supply processor 1003 includes a storage 1005 and the signal detector 1004 incorporates a statistic calculator 1006 which calculates the statistic of the communication information. Fig. 4, [0044] discloses the signal detector 104 detects wireless communication devices 1 to n (n is a natural number) performing communication in communication times t1 to tn (indicates frame length, busy time) and out-of-communication times T1 to Tn (indicates inter frame space, idle time). (Similar illustration is disclosed in Fig. 7, 8, 9) and , [0113] The power supply processor 1003 can redetermine at least one of the power supply time (data frame) and the power supply time interval ([0021] power supply time interval is power transmission is ended to a timing of when the power transmission is started, indicates inter frame space), based on the communication information detected by and the statistic calculated by the statistic calculator 1006. [0114] The statistic includes, for example, a mean value, a median, a distributed value, a standard deviation, a maximum value, a minimum value, a histogram, and the like)
a strategy determining circuit configured to analyze at least the related time lengths, and the inter frame space statistics data of the inter frame spaces according to an application requirement to generate a transmission parameter adjusting signal, (Taniguchi [0046] Fig. 4, the signal detector 104 distinguishes the wireless communication devices and detects the communication time of each wireless communication device as the communication information, by performing decoding and analysis. The power supply processor 103 determines the power supply time, based on the communication time. [0041] Fig. 4 (example) the power supply processor 103 redetermines power supply time 403 to be equal to or less than communication time 401 and communication time 402, the above disclosures indicate analysis on the observed communication times (interframe space and frame length) to determine the transmission parameters))
wherein the related time lengths at least comprise an inter frame space time length; (Taniguchi [0132] If a plurality of wireless communication devices sending the packets including Access Category (AC), the statistic calculator 1006 may calculate the statistic of the communication time and the out-of-communication time (Fig. 3, [0034] illustrates out-of-communication time 303B between frames, i.e. IFS)) and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan with the statistics generation from the channel communication information (IFS) to redetermine power supply time (frame time) and redetermination of the standby time interval (inter frame space), based on the statistic of communication information as taught by Taniguchi. Doing so allows implementing coexistence of the wireless power supply device and the wireless communication device efficiently. (Taniguchi [0138])
Though Bhushan discloses channel condition (communication behavior) estimation [Fig. 3, [0076]), channel sensing measurements for Inter-Frame Space (IFS) [0042] and updating transmission parameters [0112], and Taniguchi discloses redetermining standby interval time 706 (IFS) and power transmission time (frame), based on the communication information detected by the signal detector 504 [Fig. 7, [0070]), Bhushan and Taniguchi do not specifically disclose all the transmission parameters related to IFS:
a transmission circuit configured to receive the transmission parameter adjusting signal to adjust a plurality of transmission parameters related to the inter frame space-time length to perform data transmission.
Ram, however, discloses:
a transmission circuit configured to receive the transmission parameter adjusting signal to adjust a plurality of transmission parameters related to the inter frame space-time length to perform data transmission. (Ram [Fig. 3 col. 20, ll. 4-17, 33-50] discloses setting transmission parameters like back-off time, contention window, AIFS (these parameters are related to the spacing between frames) based on the determined QoS (associated with the application, i.e. voice/video/best effort/background, requirements).)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan and Taniguchi with the ability to adjust IFS related transmission parameters as taught by Ram. Doing so provides coordination between or among multiple AP's and other devices, with the effect of substantially improving or optimizing contention models and parameters therefor (Ram col. 3, ll. 8-12).
Regarding Claim 2, Bhushan, Taniguchi, and Ram disclose claim 1. Bhushan further discloses:
wherein the communication parameters comprise (Bhushan [0066, 0067] discloses the AP 300 may store communicate information for a number of other wireless devices that may include, for example)
access point group identification information, ([0067] the wireless device's service set identification (SSID), BSSID (indicates access point group identification information as application spec cited in [0022] “the access point group identification information is an basic service set identifier (BSSID)” and Bhushan [0040] discloses the APs 110-116 may form a wireless local area network, indicating a group)
station identification information, ([0067] MAC addresses (indicates station identification as application spec [0022] “station identification information is a media access control (MAC) address” and Bhushan [0040] FIG. 1, discloses each of the stations assigned a unique MAC address)
frame attribute information,
channel information ([0067] preferred channels, operating channels) or
a combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 3, Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram disclose claim 1. Taniguchi further discloses:
wherein the related time length further comprises a subsequent frame section time length, and ([0034] in section 303 in FIG. 3, discloses communication time 303A (indicates frame duration) of the wireless communication device and out-of-communication time 303B (indicates inter frame space) FIG. 4 [0041] discloses communication time 401 (frame section time) of the wireless communication device (terminal 1) and communication time 402 of the wireless communication device (terminal 2) as the communication information. and Fig. 8, [0082] also discloses DIFS+BOF 805 and data packets for a terminal.)
the inter frame space statistics data comprises
an inter frame space time length occurrence times in each of the time intervals,
an inter frame space time length average,
a subsequent frame section time length average or
a combination thereof. ([0114] discloses the statistic calculator 1006 calculates the statistic in the communication information ([0017] signal detector is configured to detect communication information including (1) a first period to wait from a timing of when power transmission is ended to a timing of when power transmission is started (indicates the inter frame space), … (3) performing power transmission (indicates frame section)) and the statistic includes, for example, a mean value (average), a median, a distributed value, a standard deviation, a maximum value, a minimum value, a histogram, and the like)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan with the statistics generation from the channel communication information (IFS) to redetermine power supply time (frame time) and redetermination of the standby time interval (inter frame space), based on the statistic of communication information as taught by Taniguchi. Doing so allows implementing coexistence of the wireless power supply device and the wireless communication device efficiently. (Taniguchi [0138])
Regarding Claim 4, Bhushan, Taniguchi, and Ram disclose claim 1. Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram further disclose:
wherein the application requirement comprises a station aggressive transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit determines a minimum time length from the inter frame space statistics data (Taniguchi Fig. 4, [0044] discloses the signal detector 104 detects wireless communication devices 1 to n (n is a natural number) performing communication in communication times t1 to tn (indicates frame length, busy time) and out-of-communication times T1 to Tn (indicates inter frame space, idle time). [0034] in section 303 in FIG. 3, discloses communication time 303A (indicates frame duration) of the wireless communication device and out-of-communication time 303B (indicates inter frame space). [0113, 0114] statistic calculator 1006 can calculate a mean value, a median, a distributed value, a standard deviation, a maximum value, a minimum value, a histogram, and the like) and
adjusts the transmission parameters of the transmission circuit so that the inter frame space time length that the transmission circuit performs data transmission is smaller than or equal to the minimum time length. (Ram [Fig. 3 col. 20, ll. 4, 5, 33-50] discloses setting transmission parameters like back-off time, contention window, AIFS based on the determined QoS. [col.13, ll. 11-14] The minimum AIFS time is responsive to the QoS associated with the message unit. Higher-priority message units (i.e., those for which lesser latency is desired) are assigned a relatively lower AIFS time)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan and Taniguchi with the ability to adjust IFS related transmission parameters as taught by Ram. Doing so provides coordination between or among multiple AP's and other devices, with the effect of substantially improving or optimizing contention models and parameters therefor (Ram col. 3, ll. 8-12).
Regarding Claim 7, Bhushan, Taniguchi, and Ram disclose claim 1. Taniguchi and Bhushan further disclose:
wherein the strategy determining circuit is configured to analyze the set of the communication parameters according to a channel switching requirement such that the strategy determining circuit looks for channel information of the communication behaviors to determine whether a channel switching is performed on the transmission circuit according to the channel information. (Taniguchi [0132] discloses calculating the statistic of the communication time (frame time) and the out-of-communication time (inter frame space) (to determine channel status) and [0041, 0046] discloses analysis of communication information to redetermine power supply time (transmission parameter). Bhushan [0044] discloses there are different CW and TXOP durations for each of the four Access Categories (ACs): voice (AC_VO), video (AC_VI), background (AC_BK), and best effort (AC_BE). This enables particular types of traffic to be prioritized in the network, indicates different transmission parameters requirement for the communication. [0054] the MAP Controller 135 may be used to assign operating channels based on network parameters that may include, for example, channel conditions, interference, traffic loads, traffic patterns, service needs of client devices, available channels, and other network utilization information, indicates channel switching strategy based on application requirement and available channels. [0063] when selecting a channel, the first AP 111 may benefit from obtaining channel condition information that is observable by other APs in the network (even if some of the channel conditions are not directly observable by the first AP 111). By coordinating enhanced channel selection between the first AP 111 and the root AP 110, the root AP 110 may select a better channel to maximize channel reuse within the network, indicates the apparatus may switch channel based on channel information analysis.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan and Ram with the statistics generation from the channel communication information (IFS) to redetermine power supply time (frame time) and redetermination of the standby time interval (inter frame space), based on the statistic of communication information as taught by Taniguchi. Doing so allows implementing coexistence of the wireless power supply device and the wireless communication device efficiently. (Taniguchi [0138])
Regarding Claim 9, Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram disclose claim 1. Bhushan further discloses:
wherein the wireless communication apparatus is an access point apparatus or a station apparatus. (Bhushan [0040] FIG. 1 discloses AP 111 (apparatus) including transmission strategy (Fig. 3 [0073]))
Regarding Claim 10, Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram disclose claim 1. Ram further discloses:
wherein the transmission parameters comprise
a backoff time,
a contention window,
an arbitration inter frame space (AIFS) or
a combination thereof. (Ram [Fig. 3 col. 20, ll. 4, 5, 33-50] discloses setting transmission parameters like back-off time, contention window, AIFS based on the determined QoS)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan and Taniguchi with the ability to adjust IFS related transmission parameters as taught by Ram. Doing so provides coordination between or among multiple AP's and other devices, with the effect of substantially improving or optimizing contention models and parameters therefor (Ram col. 3, ll. 8-12).
Regarding Claims 11-14, 17, 19-20, Claims 11-14, 17 and 19-20 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1-4, 7 and 9-10. Therefore, claims 11-14, 17 and 19-20 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 1-4, 7 and 9-10.
Claims 5-6, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhushan et al. (US 20200396695 A1), hereinafter Bhushan, in view of TANIGUCHI et al. (US 20200076239 A1), hereinafter Taniguchi and in view of Ram et al. (US 9917752 B1), hereinafter Ram and further in view of OMAR et al. (US 20240235750 A1), hereinafter Omar.
Regarding Claim 5, Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram disclose claim 1. Taniguchi and Ram further disclose:
wherein the application requirement comprises an illegal communication reacting transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit analyzes the related time lengths and he inter frame space statistics data of the inter frame spaces (Taniguchi [0132] If a plurality of wireless communication devices sending the packets including Access Category (AC), the statistic calculator 1006 may calculate the statistic of the communication time and the out-of-communication time (Fig. 3, [0034] illustrates out-of-communication time 303B between frames, i.e. IFS). [0046] Fig. 4, the signal detector 104 distinguishes the wireless communication devices and detects the communication time of each wireless communication device as the communication information, by performing decoding and analysis.)
the strategy determining circuit further determines a minimum time length from the inter frame space statistics data (Taniguchi Fig. 4, [0044] discloses the signal detector 104 detects wireless communication devices 1 to n (n is a natural number) performing communication in communication times t1 to tn (indicates frame length, busy time) and out-of-communication times T1 to Tn (indicates inter frame space, idle time). [0034] in section 303 in FIG. 3, discloses communication time 303A (indicates frame duration) of the wireless communication device and out-of-communication time 303B (indicates inter frame space). [0113, 0114] statistic calculator 1006 can calculate a mean value, a median, a distributed value, a standard deviation, a maximum value, a minimum value, a histogram, and the like) and
adjusts the transmission parameters of the transmission circuit so that the inter frame space time length that the transmission circuit performs data transmission is smaller than or equal to the minimum time length. (Ram [Fig. 3 col. 20, ll. 4, 5, 33-50] discloses setting transmission parameters like back-off time, contention window, AIFS based on the determined QoS. [col.13, ll. 11-14] The minimum AIFS time is responsive to the QoS associated with the message unit. Higher-priority message units (i.e., those for which lesser latency is desired) are assigned a relatively lower AIFS time)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan and Taniguchi with the ability to adjust IFS related transmission parameters as taught by Ram. Doing so provides coordination between or among multiple AP's and other devices, with the effect of substantially improving or optimizing contention models and parameters therefor (Ram col. 3, ll. 8-12).
Though Taniguchi [Fig. 4, [0044], [0034] in section 303 in FIG. 3] discloses the signal detector 104 detects n wireless communication devices communication behavior with communication times (indicates frame length, busy time) and out-of-communication times (indicates inter frame space, idle time) and Bhushan [0066, 0067] discloses the AP 300 may store communicate profile information about a number of other wireless devices, but Taniguchi, Bhushan, and Ram do not disclose all the frame attributes for determining appropriate behavior:
wherein the application requirement comprises an illegal communication reacting transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit analyzes the related time lengths and he inter frame space statistics data of the inter frame spaces and looks for an illegal communication behavior from the communication behaviors that has access point group identification information and frame attribute information same with those of the wireless communication apparatus and has station identification information different from that of the wireless communication apparatus;
Omar, however, discloses:
wherein the application requirement comprises an illegal communication reacting transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit analyzes the related time lengths and he inter frame space statistics data of the inter frame spaces and looks for an illegal communication behavior from the communication behaviors that has access point group identification information and frame attribute information same with those of the wireless communication apparatus and has station identification information different from that of the wireless communication apparatus; ([0036] FIG. 3A discloses MAC frame format including frame attributes like frame sub-type, TID, duration to inform its adjacent APs (see spec [0023] the frame attribute information includes a frame type, a frame subtype, a traffic identifier (TID) or a combination thereof). [0041] After the AP receives the values of one or more parameters of adjacent APs, at step 204, the AP may determine whether the values of the one or more parameters are greater than respective predetermined thresholds (indicates the ability to compare information to determine illegal communication behavior. See spec [0042/0043])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram with the ability to determine illegal communication behavior as taught by Omar. Doing so allows to address the needs for high throughput, low latency and high efficiency. Some applications, such as real time applications (RTAs) (e.g., data acquisition or gaming), communicate data which is very sensitive to delay, and thus have a need for low latency packet communication. (Omar, 0006)
Regarding Claim 6, Bhushan, Taniguchi, and Ram disclose claim 1. Bhushan, Taniguchi, and Ram further disclose:
wherein the strategy determining circuit is configured to analyze the set of the communication parameters according to an emergency transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit identifies access point group identification information, frame attribute information and station identification information of the communication behaviors, (Bhushan [0041] Fig. 1 discloses access to the shared wireless medium by the APs 110-116 or the stations STA1-STA4, for transmitting data. Before transmitting data, the wireless communication device performs a Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) and determines that the appropriate wireless channel is idle or busy based on energy sensing, indicates communication behavior in the channel. [0066, 0067] discloses the AP 300 may store communicate information for a number of other wireless devices including BSSID (access point group ID), mac addresses (station ID) for associating to communication behavior. Taniguchi [0132] discloses calculating the statistic of the communication time (frame time) and the out-of-communication time (inter frame space) (to determine channel status) and [0041, 0046] discloses analysis of communication information to redetermine power supply time (transmission parameter). Ram [col.13, ll. 8-17] discloses Higher-priority message units (i.e., those for which lesser latency is desired) are assigned a relatively lower AIFS time, indicates determining emergency transmission requirements to adjust transmission parameters.)
to adjust the transmission parameters of the transmission circuit according to a relation between an emergency level of under- transmission data and the communication behaviors. (Ram [col. 20, ll. 6-13] fig. 3, At a step 312, the method 300 determines a QoS (quality of service). Fig. 3 col. 20, ll. 4, 5, 33-50] discloses setting transmission parameters like back-off time, contention window, AIFS based on the determined QoS. [col.13, ll. 11-14])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan and Taniguchi with the ability to adjust IFS related transmission parameters as taught by Ram. Doing so provides coordination between or among multiple AP's and other devices, with the effect of substantially improving or optimizing contention models and parameters therefor (Ram col. 3, ll. 8-12).
Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram do not specifically disclose the frame type in the below limitation:
wherein the strategy determining circuit is configured to analyze the set of the communication parameters according to an emergency transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit identifies access point group identification information, frame attribute information and station identification information of the communication behaviors,
Omar, however, discloses:
wherein the strategy determining circuit is configured to analyze the set of the communication parameters according to an emergency transmission requirement such that the strategy determining circuit identifies access point group identification information, frame attribute information and station identification information of the communication behaviors, ([0036] FIG. 3A discloses MAC frame format including frame attributes like frame sub-type, TID, duration to inform its adjacent APs (see spec [0023] the frame attribute information includes a frame type, a frame subtype, a traffic identifier (TID) or a combination thereof))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram with the ability to determine frame information related to communication behavior as taught by Omar. Doing so allows to address the needs for high throughput, low latency and high efficiency. Some applications, such as real time applications (RTAs) (e.g., data acquisition or gaming), communicate data which is very sensitive to delay, and thus have a need for low latency packet communication. (Omar, 0006)
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Claims 15 and 16 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 5 and 6. Therefore, claims 15 and 16 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 5 and 6.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhushan et al. (US 20200396695 A1), hereinafter Bhushan, in view of TANIGUCHI et al. (US 20200076239 A1), hereinafter Taniguchi and in view of Ram et al. (US 9917752 B1), hereinafter Ram, in view of Katar et al. (US 20160295580 A1), hereinafter Katar and further in view of OMAR et al. (US 20240235750 A1), hereinafter Omar.
Regarding Claim 8, Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram disclose claim 1. Taniguchi and Bhushan further discloses:
wherein the strategy determining circuit is configured to analyze the set of the communication parameters according to an average station resource scheduling requirement such that strategy determining circuit identifies station identification information (Taniguchi [0132] discloses calculating the statistic of the communication time (frame time) and the out-of-communication time (inter frame space) (to determine channel status) and [0041, 0046] discloses analysis of communication information to redetermine power supply time (transmission parameter). and
frame attribute information of each of the communication behaviors (Bhushan [0041] Fig. 1 discloses before transmitting data, the wireless communication device performs a Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) and determines that the appropriate wireless channel is idle or busy based on energy sensing, indicates communication behavior in the channel) to determine whether one of the external apparatuses occupies channel resource exceeding a threshold value to perform resource scheduling on the external apparatuses)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan with the statistics generation from the channel communication information (IFS) to redetermine power supply time (frame time) and redetermination of the standby time interval (inter frame space), based on the statistic of communication information as taught by Taniguchi. Doing so allows implementing coexistence of the wireless power supply device and the wireless communication device efficiently. (Taniguchi [0138])
Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram do not specifically disclose:
an average station resource scheduling requirement such that strategy determining circuit identifies station identification information and frame attribute information of each of the communication behaviors to determine whether one of the external apparatuses occupies channel resource exceeding a threshold value to perform resource scheduling on the external apparatuses.
Katar, however, discloses:
an average station resource scheduling requirement such that strategy determining circuit identifies station identification information and frame attribute information of each of the communication behaviors to determine whether one of the external apparatuses occupies channel resource exceeding a threshold value to perform resource scheduling on the external apparatuses. (Katar [0036] STA may occupy a medium for an extended period of time during a burst transmission, a second STA on the network may experience increased latency and degraded user experience due to the scarcity of transmission resources and [0037] discloses scheduling techniques to accommodate traffic for other STA(s) on the network based at least in part on active monitoring of the on-going traffic flow in the network. [0071] discloses threshold amount may be specific to the parameter monitored, to identify change in traffic conditions and adapt one or more SIFS parameter(s) to increase network fairness among the STAs 115 in the BSS.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan, Taniguchi and Ram to enable a wireless device monitor traffic conditions on the network as taught by Katar. Doing so allows dynamically adapt the SIFS burst parameters associated with one or more stations based at least in part on detected variations on the traffic channel. (Katar, Abstract)
Bhushan, Taniguchi, Ram and Katar do not specifically disclose:
an average station resource scheduling requirement such that strategy determining circuit identifies station identification information and frame attribute information of each of the communication behaviors to determine whether one of the external apparatuses occupies channel resource exceeding a threshold value to perform resource scheduling on the external apparatuses.
Omar, however, discloses:
an average station resource scheduling requirement such that strategy determining circuit identifies station identification information and frame attribute information of each of the communication behaviors to determine whether one of the external apparatuses occupies channel resource exceeding a threshold value to perform resource scheduling on the external apparatuses. ([0036] FIG. 3A discloses MAC frame format including frame attributes like frame sub-type, TID, duration to inform its adjacent APs (see spec [0023] the frame attribute information includes a frame type, a frame subtype, a traffic identifier (TID) or a combination thereof).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Bhushan, Taniguchi, Ram and Katar with the ability to determine frame information related to communication behavior as taught by Omar. Doing so allows to address the needs for high throughput, low latency and high efficiency. Some applications, such as real time applications (RTAs) (e.g., data acquisition or gaming), communicate data which is very sensitive to delay, and thus have a need for low latency packet communication. (Omar, 0006)
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 is directed to method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417