DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendments filed on 03/05/2026.
In the application claims 1-30 are pending.
All of the previous 35 USC 112 (a) and (b) rejections have been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments and Applicant’s remarks.
Arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections were fully considered; however, the arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“sliding the portable article … in a first direction consistently along a predetermined first path”;
“a direction opposite to the first direction”;
“U-shaped receptacles open respectively in first and second directions disposed at an angle with respect to each other”;
“a straight length of the peripheral edge”;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17, and 20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floersch (US 2015/0292669 A1), in view of Zaloom (US 2014/0347814 A1), and further in view of Trinh (US 20130301216 A1).
Consider claim 1, a method of displaying a portable article, the method comprising the steps of:
obtaining a portable article (14) having a body (14) with a peripheral edge, (See Floersch Fig. 1 shows a tablet 14 with a bode and peripheral edge in the bottom receiving a peripheral cable);
obtaining a support assembly (10), the support assembly (See Floersch Fig. 1) comprising:
a) a frame (20) fixed relative to a support (120) and configured to engage the body so as to support the portable article in a display position, (Floersch teaches, “a tablet support stand 10 is shown generally including a frame 20” See ¶ 33 and Fig 1. Floersch Fig. 6 shows, the frame 20 to be fixed in relation to hinge pivot 120, when the tablet 14 displays, via fastener 172 shown in Fig 12. Floersch teaches, “The orientation of the frame 20 may be rotated from portrait to landscape by removing fasteners 172 from mount holes, aligning the hinge pivot 120 with alternate mount holes 174 and engaging the hinge pivot with the front plate with fasteners 172.” See ¶ 0041)
the frame (20) have a top (40,42) and a bottom (26), (See Floersch Fig. 1, 2, 3);
the frame (20) defining a plurality of U-shaped receptacles (42, 26) each configured to receive a part of the peripheral edge of the portable article (14), (See Floersch Fig. 1, 2, 3); and
b) a blocking assembly (42, 26) changeable between first and second states, (Floersch teaches, second state, i.e. closed position, shown in fig. 1 and 2, first state, i.e. open position, shown in figs 3 and 4. Floersch teaches, “FIG. 3 is a front right perspective view of an electronic tablet support stand in accordance with an embodiment of the invention, illustrating a retention member in an open position to allow removal of the tablet from the stand” See ¶ 0015. “An actuating mechanism 50 (see, for example FIGS. 14 and 15) actuates slide plate 40 from a closed position shown in FIGS. 1-2 to an open position illustrated in FIGS. 3-4.” See ¶ 0037)
with the blocking assembly (42) in the first state (open position, shown in figs 3 and 4), sliding the portable article (14) guidingly against the support assembly (10) in a first direction consistently along a predetermined first path from a pre-assembly position, (Fig. 3 and 4 shows first state, i.e. open state: the tablet 14 can slid on the apparatus 20 shown in Fig. 3 and 4, i.e. pre-assembly position);
With respect to, wherein at least a part of the portable article (14/110) extends beyond the support assembly (400) in a direction opposite to the first direction, (i.e. upward direction), in an analogous art, Zaloom teaches, at least a part of the portable article (110 tablet) in the pre-assembly position extending beyond the support assembly (400 tablet holder) in a direction opposite to the first direction, See Fig, 29 and 30
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify invention of Floersch and design a tablet holder 400 that allows the tablet 110 to remove in a direction oppositely to the first direction so the user can easily remove the tablet 110 without having to disassemble/remove the other section of the tablet holder; therefore, providing convenience to the end-user.
into the display position (Floersch fig.1), wherein the portable article (14) is blocked by the support assembly (40, 42 and 26) against separation from the frame (20) other than by movement oppositely to the first direction (i.e. upward direction) along the predetermined first path, Floersch, Figs. 1 and 2 show second state, i.e. closed state: retention member 42 blocks movement of the tablet 14 and the tablet cannot slide out of the apparatus 20. a user positions the tablet between retention members and then locks the tablet to the stand by sliding at least one of the retention members to a closed position. Once in a closed position, the lock retains the retention member in a closed and locked position.” See ¶ 0035. Also see Zaloom Fig. 29)
wherein the step of sliding the portable article into the display position comprises directing a straight length of the peripheral edge through and beyond one of the U-shaped receptacles, Zaloom shows in Figs 29 and 31 that the edges of tablet 110 moves into and is guided through and beyond one of the U-shaped receptacles (420) as the tablet (110) moves in the predetermined first path (downward) from the pre-assembly position into the display position without any interference from the blocking assembly 430, See examiner’s annotated figures below.
the support assembly (10) configured so that with the blocking assembly (42) in the first state, i.e. open state shown in fig 3, the blocking assembly does not interfere with guided movement of the portable article in the predetermined first path oppositely to the first direction from the display position to away from the support assembly, Floersch Fig. 3 and 4 shows first state, i.e. open state: the tablet 14 can slid out of the apparatus 20 shown in Fig. 3 and 4, retention member 42 does not interfere with movement of the tablet 14. “When in the open position the tablet 14 may be slid so that the edge of the tablet is no longer in contact with the frame retention member 26. Once the tablet is slid out of contact with the retention member 26, the tablet may be pulled away and out of contact with the stand.” See ¶ 0037. Zaloom’s top plate 430, i.e. claimed blocking assembly, does not interfere with guided movement of the portable device/iPad 110. Zaloom teaches, See Examiner’s annotated Fig. 29 below that shows the blocking assembly in the first state allows the portable article to slid guidingly against the support assembly in a first direction (down arrow) along a predetermined first path from a pre-assembly position into the display position and the portable article in the display position is blocked by the support assembly against separation from the frame other, i.e. the only way to remove the portable article is to move oppositely to the first direction (upward arrow) along the predetermined first path,… the blocking assembly in the first state does not interfere with movement of the portable article moving in the predetermined first path oppositely to the first direction (upward arrow) from the display position.
with the portable article (42) in the display position, changing the blocking assembly into the second state, i.e. closed state, wherein the blocking assembly (42) blocks movement of the portable article (14) in the display position along the predetermined first path oppositely to the first direction (i.e. upward direction) as would allow separation of the portable article (14) from the support assembly (10), Floersch, Figs. 1 and 2 show second state, i.e. closed state: retention member 42 blocks movement of the tablet 14 and the tablet cannot slide out of the apparatus 20. a user positions the tablet between retention members and then locks the tablet to the stand by sliding at least one of the retention members to a closed position. Once in a closed position, the lock retains the retention member in a closed and locked position.” See ¶ 0035.
the portable article (14/110) and support assembly (10) configured so that as the portable article (110) is being moved in the predetermined first path (downward) towards the display position, a part of the straight length of the peripheral edge (left and right edge of Zaloom’s tablet 110, See Fig. 29) is blocked from being moved out of the one U-shaped receptacle (420) other than by movement of the part of the straight length [of the peripheral edge] (i.e. left and right edge of Zaloom’s tablet) in the first direction (downward) or oppositely to the first direction, (upward), See abovementioned Examiner’s annotated Fig. 29 of Zaloom.
With respect to, the one of the U-shaped receptacles spaced from the top and bottom of the frame, Floersch shows an embodiment in Figs 5-8, where the U-shaped receptacles (42, 26) are spaced from the top and bottom of the frame, Zaloom’s left and right U-shaped receptacles (420) are spaced from the top and bottom of the frame (400), See Zaloom Fig. 29; nonetheless, in an analogous art, Trinh teaches, “a mounting fixture for securely displaying a computing device in a retail store, the mounting fixture includes a box” See ¶ 0004, Trinh teaches, “tablets 12 can be removed from or securely placed within hooked sections 222 of side arms 142,” See ¶ 0077. Trinh teaches, the U-shaped receptacles (left and right 222) spaced from the top and bottom of the frame (16.38), See Figs. 3, 10, 11 and 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Floersch-Zaloom have the U-shaped receptacles spaced from the top and bottom of the frame, as suggested by the Floersch in Figs 5-8 and Trinh Fig. 3, 10, 11 and 13, in an effort to “[a]pply[] a known technique to a known device … to yield predictable results” See MPEP 2143, Rationale D.
Consider claim 2, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 1 Zaloom teaches, wherein the blocking assembly (430) comprises a blocking component (430) that pivots relative to the frame (400) between first (open Fig. 27 of Zaloom) and second positions (closed, Fig. 19 and 75 of Zaloom) and the step of changing the blocking assembly (430) into the second state (closed Fig. 19 and 75 of Zaloom) comprises changing the blocking assembly from the first position (open Fig. 27) into the second position, (closed, Fig. 19 and 75).
Consider claim 3, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 2 wherein the portable article (110) has a substantially flat display surface that resides in a reference plane and the blocking component (430) pivots around an axis that is substantially parallel to the reference plane with the portable article in the display position and in the first position the blocking component resides entirely below the reference plane, Zaloom teaches, the blocking component (430) pivots around an axis that is substantially parallel to the reference plane and that in the open (first) state the blocking component 430 is in the open (first) position, and resides completely below the display plane, See Figs. 28-30.
Consider claim 4, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 2 wherein the support assembly (10) further comprises a locking assembly (80) and further comprising the step of operating the locking assembly to releasably maintain the blocking component (42) in the second position, (i.e. closed position), See Fig 2, Floersch teaches, “[w]hen in the compressed state, spring 54 applies a force against slide plate 40 which may actuate the slide plate 40 to the open position if the lock mechanism 80 is unlocked. Similarly, FIGS. 15 and 17 show the s-spring in a relaxed state when the slide plate 40 is in the open position. Pin 86 of lock mechanism actuates between a locked and unlocked position. When in the locked position, pin 86 engages in an aperture 180 of the slide plate 40 (see, for example, FIG. 9).” See ¶ 0042. Although, claim 4 is not claiming specifics of the pivoting component. Nonetheless, Zaloom also teaches the support assembly (400) further comprises a locking assembly (470) for releasably maintaining the blocking component (430) in the second position. Zaloom teaches, “hinge plate 435 to grooved vertical channels 440A and 440B located alongside the vertical side walls of a "U" shaped cavity 442 at the top end of the lower section 420” See ¶ 0171 and Figs. 24, 26, and 28. Zaloom teaches, “[t]he notch 470 is located near the top end of the front side of hinge plate 435 and the grove 480 is located near the top end of the back side of the corresponding "U" shaped cavity 442 in the bottom section 420 of the split mounting plate tablet holder 400. When the "T" shaped top section 430 is fully inserted into the "U" shaped bottom section 420, the notch on the front side of the top section 470 comes into alignment with the groove on the rear side of the bottom section 480 and the two click together, securely joining the top section 430 of the split mounting plate tablet holder to its bottom section 420.” See ¶ 0173. See Fig. 27.
Consider claim 5, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 4 wherein the locking assembly has a locked state (See Fig. 2) and a released state (See Fig. 3) and the locking assembly further comprises a key and further comprises the step of using the key to change the locking assembly between the locked and released states, Floersch teaches, “[l]ock mechanism 80 is of suitable known tubular push lock construction and generally comprises a key hole 82 having a uniquely shaped receptacle sized to receive a corresponding key” See ¶ 0044.
Consider claim 6, the combination according to claim 1 wherein the portable article is one of a phone and a tablet, Floersch teaches, “the frame 20 in a manner that allows the frame to rotate so that the tablet 14 may be oriented or displayed in a landscape or portrait mode or orientation” See ¶ 0037.
Consider claim 7, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 1 wherein first and second of the U-shaped receptacles open towards each other, Floersch teaches, the frame (20) has a plurality of U-shaped frame retention member (26) each configured to open towards each other, See Fig. 5, 7, and 11. Zaloom teaches, U shaped elements on each side of the tablet holder open towards each other, See Zaloom Fig. 29 and 31.
Consider claim 8, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 1 wherein first and second of the U-shaped receptacles open respectively in second and third directions disposed at an angle with respect to each other, Floersch teaches, the frame (20) has a plurality of U-shaped frame retention member (26) each configured to open towards each other, See Fig. 5, 7, and 11. Zaloom teaches, U shaped elements on each side of the tablet holder open towards each other, See Zaloom Fig. 29 and 31. Zaloom teaches U shaped receptacles opposite each other at 180° as well as 90° apart. See Fig. 31.
Consider claim 9, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 8 wherein the angle is approximately 90°, Zaloom teaches, U shaped receptacles on each side of the tablet holder open at a 90 degree angle from each other, See Zaloom Fig. 29 and 31, and the first and second U-shaped receptacles remain fixed in relationship to each other as the portable article is moved in the predetermined first path into the display position, Zaloom’s U-shaped receptacles are fixed in relationship to each other as the portable article is moved in the predetermined path into the display position. Zaloom teaches, the first (the one on the side) and second (the one on the bottom) U-shaped receptacles are fixed in relationship to each other as the portable article (400) is moved in the predetermined path into the display position, See Fig. 29. Zaloom teaches U shaped receptacles at 90° apart. See Fig. 31.
Consider claim 10, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 6 wherein first and second of the U-shaped receptacles have at all times a fixed angular relationship with each other, Zaloom teaches, three U shaped receptacles fixed angular relationship with each other, See Zaloom Fig. 31.
Consider claim 11, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 6 wherein the plurality of U-shaped receptacles comprises first and second U-shaped receptacles opening towards each other and a third U-shaped receptacle, the first, second, and third U-shaped receptacles, and at all times having a fixed relationship and cooperatively defining a combined U-shaped receptacle for the portable article that opens oppositely to the first direction, in an analogous art, Zaloom teaches, three U shaped receptacle. Fig. 31 shows 420 each side of the tablet holder opening towards each other, i.e. the claimed first and second U-shaped receptacles, and a third U-shaped receptacles on bottom of the tablet holder and each of the U-shaped receptacle having a fixed relationship of 90 degree apart. The three U-shaped receptacles cooperatively defining a combined U-shaped receptacle shown in fig. 31. Zaloom teaches a “combined U-shaped receptacle” made up of 3 U-shaped receptacle 90° from each other with a fixed relationship, See Examiner’s annotated Fig. 31. The first, second, and third U-shaped receptacles spaced, each from the other, Floersch teaches, first (right), second (left), and third (bottom) receptacles spaced, each from the other, See Floersch Fig. 1. Trinh teaches, the first, second, and third U-shaped receptacles (left, right and bottom 222) spaced from each other, See Figs. 3, 10, 11 and 13.
Consider claim 12, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 11 wherein the first predetermined path is a substantially linear path, See Floersch, Fig. 9, the downward path to seat the tablet is a substantially liner path. Nonetheless, the predetermine path to seat the tablet into the holder, in view of Zaloom, will be a very liner path. See Zaloom Figs. 27 and 29.
Consider claim 13, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 2 wherein the blocking component (42) defines a U-shaped receptacle (See Fig. 3) into which a part of the peripheral edge of the portable article (14) extends with the portable article in the display position and the blocking component (42) in the second (closed) position, See Floersch Figs. 1-5.
Consider claim 14, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 2 wherein the blocking component (42) has a portion that overlies the portable article (See Fig. 1 and 2) adjacent the peripheral edge of the portable article (14) with the portable article in the display position (See Fig. 1 and 2) and the blocking component (42) in the second (closed) position, See Floersch Fig. 1, 2, and 5.
Consider claim 15, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 1 wherein the portable article has a power input port and further comprising the steps of obtaining a connector (Fig. 14) and operatively connecting to the power input port to the connector with the portable article in the display position, Floersch teaches, “[t]he frame 20 further includes a cabling conduit 32 that aligns with, for example, a USB port of the tablet to facilitate wired connection between the tablet and a network.” See ¶ 0040 and 0041 and Figs. 9, 10, 14.
Consider claim 16, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 15 wherein the connector is fixed to the frame and further comprising the step of causing the connector to be operatively connected to the power input port as an incident of the portable article being directed along the first predetermined path into the display position, See Floersch Fig 14 shows that USB connector is attached to the cabling conduit 32 and the tablet 14 configured to be operatively connected to the power input port as the tablet is seated on the frame see Floersch figs. 1, 2, 3.
Consider claim 17, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 16 wherein the frame defines a U-shaped receptacle that receives a part of the peripheral edge of the body of the portable article with the portable article in the display position and the connector resides within the U-shaped receptacle, Floersch teaches, “[t]he frame 20 further includes a cabling conduit 32 that aligns with, for example, a USB port of the tablet to facilitate wired connection between the tablet and a network.” See ¶ 0040 and 0041 and Figs. 9, 10, 14. See Floersch Fig 14 shows that USB connector is attached to the cabling conduit 32 and the tablet 14 configured to be operatively connected to the power input port as the tablet is seated on the frame see Floersch figs. 1, 2, 3. See Floersch Figs. 14 and 15 clearly show that USB connector is attached to the cabling conduit 32 and resides within the U-shaped receptacle.
Consider claim 20, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 1 wherein a pedestal (100) is connected to the support assembly frame (20) and fixed to a support surface for maintaining the article in the display position in an elevated position over a support surface, See Floersch Figs. 1-4 show a base, i.e. claimed pedestal for maintaining the tablet in the display position in an elevated position over a support surface. See Floersch Fig. 6 shows the base 100 bolted to the surface with the bolts in each corner of base 100.
Consider claim 21, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 1 wherein the portable article is moved within a plane between the pre-assembly and display positions, See Floersch Figs. 3. Floersch shows that the tablet can move within a plane between the unseated and seated positions and the plane does not intersect the blocking assembly (26) with the blocking assembly in the open position.
Consider claim 22, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 2 wherein the blocking assembly (42) remains connected to the frame (20) in each of the first (open, fig. 3 and 4) and second (closed figs. 1 and 2) states, See Floersch Figs. 1-4.
Consider claim 23, a method of displaying a portable article, the method comprising the steps of:
obtaining a portable article having a body with a peripheral edge; See rejection of claim 1;and
obtaining a support assembly for displaying the portable article, See rejection of claim 1; the support assembly comprising:
a) a frame fixed relative to a support and configured to engage the body so as to support the portable article in a display position, See rejection of claim 1;
the frame having a top and a bottom, See rejection of claim 1;
the frame defining a plurality of U-shaped receptacles each configured to receive a part of the peripheral edge of the portable article, See rejection of claim 1;
the plurality of U-shaped receptacles including first and second U-shaped receptacles each spaced from the top and bottom of the frame, See rejection of claim 1; and
b) a blocking assembly changeable between first and second states, See rejection of claim 1;
with the blocking assembly in the first state, sliding the portable article guidingly against the support assembly in a first direction along a first predetermined path within a plane from a pre-assembly position, See rejection of claims 1 and 3;
wherein at least a part of the portable article extends beyond the support assembly in a direction opposite to the first direction, into the display position wherein the portable article is blocked by the support assembly against separation from the frame other than by movement oppositely to the first direction along the first path, See rejection of claim 1;
the blocking assembly configured so that in the second state the blocking assembly blocks guided movement of the portable article in the display position along the first predetermined path oppositely to the first direction as would allow separation of the portable article from the support assembly, See rejection of claim 1;
Zaloom teaches, wherein the support assembly comprises a blocking component (430) and the step of changing the blocking assembly (430) from the first state (open Fig. 27 of Zaloom) into the second state (closed, Fig. 19 and 75 of Zaloom) comprises pivoting the blocking component (430) from the first position (open Fig. 27) into the second position, (closed, Fig. 19 and 75). See rejection of claim 2;
wherein with the portable article (14) in the display position and the blocking assembly (42) in the second state (closed states) a portion of the peripheral edge (corners) on the body of the portable article (14) remains exposed, Floersch Fig. 1 shows tablet (14) in the display position and the retention member 42 (42) in the second state (closed states) a portion of the peripheral edge (corners) on the body of the tablet (14) remains exposed,
With respect to, the first and second U-shaped receptacles each bounded by an L-shaped arm with a part that overlies the portable article in the display position, Floersch teaches, the first and second receptacles (left and right) each bounded by an L-shaped arm (22 and 24), Zaloom teaches, the first and second U-shaped receptacles (left and right) each bounded by an L-shaped arm (See Zaloom Fig. 31) with a part (front of left and right 420) that overlies the portable article (110) in the display position, (See Zaloom Fig. 25), Trinh teaches, the first and second U-shaped receptacles (left and right 222) each bounded by an L-shaped arm (142) with a part (front of left and right 222) that overlies the portable article in the display position, See Trinh Fig. 1, 2, 10, and 11.
Consider claim 24, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 23, Floersch teaches, wherein the frame (20) and portable article (14) are configured so that with the blocking assembly (42) in the first state (open position) the portable article is slid guidingly against the support assembly (20) in moving from the pre-assembly position into the display position and the blocking assembly (42) remains connected to the frame in each of the first (Fig. 3) and second (Fig. 1) states, Floersch teaches, “FIGS. 9-10 illustrates the tablet support stand 10 in a portrait orientation with the tablet removed.” See ¶ 0039. “Frame 20 includes side flanges 22 and 24 sized to accept the width dimension of the tablet.” Tablet 14 can be slid guidingly against the support stand 10 in a downward direction along a first path from a pre-assembly position shown in figs. 9 and 10 into the display position shown in figs. 1, 3 and 7. See Examiner’s annotated Figs. 1 of Floersch shows the claimed “a first (downward) direction along a predetermined first path…” Zaloom also teaches, wherein the frame (400) and portable article (110) are configured so that with the blocking assembly (430) in the first state (open position) the portable article can be slid guidingly against the support assembly (400) in the first direction (downward) consistently in a predetermined manner from the pre-assembly position into the display position and the blocking assembly (430) remains connected to the frame in each of the first (Fig. 29-30) and second states (Fig. 20.)
Zaloom also teaches, wherein the frame (400) and portable article (110) are configured so that with the blocking assembly (430) in the first state (open position) the portable article can be slid guidingly against the support assembly (400) in the first direction (downward) consistently in a predetermined manner from the pre-assembly position into the display position and the blocking assembly (430) remains connected to the frame in each of the first (Fig. 29-30) and second states (Fig. 20.)
Consider claim 25, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 23, wherein the first and second U-shaped receptacles open towards each other and have a fixed spacing from each other, Floersch teaches, the frame (20) has a plurality of U-shaped frame retention member (26) each configured to open towards each other, See Fig. 5, 7, and 11. Zaloom teaches U shaped receptacles 420 on each side of the tablet holder open at a 180 degree angle from each other, See Zaloom 31. Zaloom teaches U shaped receptacles opposite each other at 180°, i.e. opens towards each other. See examiner’s annotated Fig. 31.
Consider claim 26, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 23 wherein the frame (400) has a flat support surface, See Zaloom Fig. 31, and Floersch Figs 9 and 10, the peripheral edge (display edge) on the portable article body (110) has substantially parallel first (right side) and second (left side) spaced edge portions and a third edge portion (bottom) extending between the first and second edge portions, and the support assembly has the first, second, and third U-shaped receptacles, and cooperatively define a combined U-shaped receptacle and respectively engage (See Examiner annotated Fig. 31) and captively hold the first, second, and third edge portions against the flat frame support surface as an incident of the portable article moving from the pre-assembly position into the display position, (downward), See Zaloom Figs. 25, 27, 29, and 75, and Floersch Figs 2 and 3,
With respect to, the support assembly has a third U-shaped receptacle, the first, second, and third U-shaped receptacles spaced, each from the other, Floersch teaches, first (right), second (left), and third (bottom) receptacles spaced, each from the other, See Floersch Fig. 1. Trinh teaches, the first, second, and third U-shaped receptacles (left, right and bottom 222) spaced from each other, See Figs. 3, 10, 11 and 13.
Consider claim 27, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 26 wherein the combined U-shaped receptacle has at all times a fixed shape and size, See Zaloom Fig, 31.
Consider claim 28, a method of displaying a portable article, the method comprising the steps of:
obtaining a portable article (14) with a body having a flat surface and a peripheral edge, See rejection of claim 1;
obtaining a support assembly,
the support assembly comprising:
a) a frame fixed relative to a support, the frame having a top and a bottom, the frame defining a flat surface (28), See rejection of claim 1, and
a plurality of L-shaped arms (26, 42) each defining in conjunction with the flat surface (28) a U-shaped receptacle, Floersch Fig 9 and 10 show L-shaped arms (Floersch teaches, 26 and 42 each defining in conjunction with the flat surface (28) a U-shaped receptacle in the bottom with the arm 26 and a U-shaped receptacle on the top with the arm 42. Zaloom teaches, plurality of L-shaped arms 420 each defining in conjunction with the flat surface (i.e. back of the holder) a U-shaped receptacle), each spaced from the top and bottom of the frame, See rejection of claim 1;
b) a blocking assembly changeable between first and second states, the flat surface and plurality of U-shaped receptacles cooperatively defining a U-shaped envelope (i.e. previously claimed combined U shaped receptacle) into which the portable article can be directed to assume a display position wherein the article is blocked from being drawn away from the flat surface by the plurality of L-shaped arms, See rejections of claim 1 and 11, and Zaloom Figs. 19, 27 and 75;
translating the portable article from a pre-assembly position separated from the support assembly substantially in a plane and in a first direction (downward) to cause the portable article to be maintained in the display position wherein the portable article can be separated from the frame only by moving the portable article in the display position in the second direction (upward) towards the pre-assembly position, See rejection of claim 1 and 3,
with the portable article in the display position, changing the blocking assembly from the first state (open) into the second state (closed) wherein the blocking assembly blocks movement of the portable article in the display position in the second direction, See rejection of claim 1.
With respect to, the L-shaped arms bounding first and second of the U-shaped receptacles in conjunction with the flat surface and blocking the article from being drawn away from the flat surface as the portable article is transitioning towards the display position, Zaloom teaches, the L-shaped arms (left and right 420) bounding first and second of the U-shaped receptacles (left and right 420 U-shaped receptacles) in conjunction with the flat surface (i.e. back of the holder), See Zaloom Fig. 31, and blocking the article (110) from being drawn away from the flat surface (i.e. back of the holder) as the portable article (110) is transitioning towards the display position, See Zaloom, Fig. 25. Trinh teaches, the L-shaped arms (left and right 142) bounding first and second of the U-shaped receptacles (left and right 222 U-shaped receptacles) in conjunction with the flat surface (102), See Trinh Fig. 2 and 7, and blocking the article (12) from being drawn away from the flat surface (102) as the portable article (12) is transitioning towards the display position, See Trinh, Fig. 1.
Consider claim 29, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 28 wherein the plurality of L-shaped arms have a fixed position on the frame, See Zaloom Fig. 31 and Floersch Fig. 9 and 10.
Consider claim 30, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 28 wherein the U-shaped envelope has at all times a fixed size and shape, See Zaloom Fig. 31.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floersch (US 2015/0292669 A1), in view of Zaloom (US 2014/0347814 A1), in view of Trinh (US 20130301216 A1), and further in view of Fawcett (US 2013/0241731 A1).
Consider claim 18, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 15 wherein a power source is provided for the portable article that is operatively connected to the connector, in an analogous art, Fawcett teaches, “a merchandise security device for displaying and protecting an item of merchandise from theft.” See ¶ 0008. “security device further includes an alarming power cable routed through the strain relief block and extending between an external source of electrical power and the power input port. In addition, the security device includes an alarm module disposed along the alarming power cable between the external source of electrical power and the strain relief block.” See ¶ 0010. See Fig. 1 and 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify the combination of Floersch-Zaloom-Trinh and have “the means for electrically connecting the power cable with the power adapter cord, may likewise be eliminated by combining the conventional power cable and the conventional power adapter cord into a single, continuous alarming power cable 40” as suggested by Fawcett. Thus, providing a single cord that accomplishes two functions and thereby reducing the overall cost of the merchandise security device.
Consider claim 19, the method of displaying a portable article according to claim 15 further comprising the step of operatively connecting an alarm system to the connector, the alarm system configured to generate a detectable alarm signal in the event that either: a) the portable article is separated from the frame; or b) the frame is moved beyond a predetermined distance from a display location, Fawcett teaches, “[a]larming power cable 40 electrically connects the electronic item of merchandise M to the external source of electrical power and activates an audible and/or visible alarm in the event that the cable is cut, severed or removed (i.e. unplugged) from the electronic item of merchandise M. As such, alarming power cable 40 may comprise a plurality of conductors disposed within a protective outer sheath 41 in a conventional manner. At least one of the conductors conducts an electrical power signal between the external source of electrical power and a power input port P provided on the electronic item of merchandise M.” See ¶ 0019.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Omer S Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686