DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 06/18/2026, wherein claims 1-83 are cancelled, claim 84, 87 and 112 are amended, new claim 113 is added. Accordingly, rejection of claims 1, 5, 41, 52, 67, 77, 81, 83 and 87 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn. Rejection of claim 1, 4-5, 41, 52 and 87 under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being anticipated by Webster et al. (US 2012/0172393 A1) is withdrawn.
Election/Restriction
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I invention and compound species having following structure (i.e. compound 28, See Example 30 , [0508]), in the reply filed on 11/10/2025.
The elected compound species is a compound of Formula (I)
The elected species, (4-fluoro-4-(2-fluoro-4-(trifluoromethyl)benzyl)piperidin-1-yl)(2-(pyrimidin-4-yl)pyridin-3-yl)methanone (CAS# 2778168-45-7, entered into STN database on 06/24/2022) is free of anticipatory prior art. Claim 1-83 are cancelled. Claim 84 and 112 are amended to remove the species rejected in previous office action dated 02/18/2026. The examiner has expanded the search/ examination to non-elected species of claim 84 and 112, e.g.
which are rejected under following 35 USC§ 103 rejection and on the ground of non-statutory double patenting.
Other non-elected species are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species. It should be noted that prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Claims 84-87 and 112-113 are rejected and the action made final.
Status of Claims
Claims 84, 87, and 112-113 are pending and currently under examination in this office action.
Priority
This application 18/201, 885 filed on 05/25/2023, is a continuation of PCT/US2021/060844 filed 11/24/2021 which claims priority to U.S. provisional patent Application No. 63/118,291 filed on 11/25/2020.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks .The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior office action.
Claims 1-83 are cancelled. Accordingly, rejection of claims 1, 5, 41, 52, 67, 77, 81, 83 and 87 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn. Rejection of claim 1, 4-5, 41, 52 and 87 under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being anticipated by Webster et al. (US 2012/0172393 A1) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument regarding rejection over Koike’034 in view of Meanwell under 35 U.S.C. §103 is fully considered, but NOT persuasive.
Applicant argues Koike does not teach or suggest compounds comprising a fluorine substituent on their central piperidine ring, let alone that the specific compounds as recited in the instant claims would have CYP46A1 inhibitory activity... Meanwell is merely a general reference that describes fluorine bioisosterism. Nowhere in Meanwell is there any teaching or suggestion that replacing a hydroxy group on any of the Koike compounds would produce a compound having activity against CYP46A1.
Examiner’s Response: Koike’034 disclosed compound of Formula I or a salt thereof as cholesterol 24-hydroxylase (CH24H) inhibitors that are very similar to instant compounds (e.g. cpd 105) for treatment of neurodegenerative disease (e.g. Alzheimer's disease). The main difference between Koike’034 compounds and instant claimed compounds is OH versus fluorine on the piperidine ring, wherein OH and fluorine are commonly known bioisosteres in the pharmaceutical industry as taught by Meanwell. Meanwell teaches fluorine is versatile bioisosteric replacement of H, OH, CN, etc. where electronegativity of fluorine is closer to that of oxygen and significantly more lipophilic than OH. A skilled artisan would be motivated to replace OH with fluorine in searching for compound with enhanced lipophilicity that could pass blood-brain barrier for treating neurodegenerative disease (e.g. Alzheimer's disease) since Meanwell teaches fluorine is significantly more lipophilic than OH. A skilled artisan would reasonably expect modified compounds comprising fluorine on the piperidine ring have inhibitory activity on CYP 46A1 (i.e. cholesterol 24-hydroxylase) for treating neurodegenerative disease (e.g. Alzheimer's disease). For example, Compound 105 taught by Koike’034 could have been modified by replacing the OH with fluorine and arrived at instant non-elected species recited in amended claim 84 and 112 (See page 4 and 17 of claim set dated 06/18/2026).
Instant specification discloses CYP46A1 assay for about 57 compounds (See Table 2) while some are inactive, for example compounds 2, 3, 8, 45, etc. Claims 84 and 112 recite about 98 compounds that are similar to Koike’034, but not tested for CYP46A1 activity or inactive, for example,
. During the interview on 08/03/2026, 08/07/2026 and 08/11/2026, the examiner and the attorney on the record, Marcus J. Jellen, discussed the scope of claim 84 and 112, but no agreement was reached for the amendment. Claims 84, 87 and 112 remain rejected as obvious over Koike’034 in view of Meanwell. Applicant is advised to further amend claim 84 and 112 to recite disclosed compound species that exhibit super property/unexpected result to overcome the obviousness rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 84, 87, and 112-113 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike et al. (US20130090341, hereafter “Koike’034”), in view of Meanwell (J. Med. Chem. 2018, 61, 5822-5880, DOI: 10.1021/acs.jmedchem.7b01788, Fluorine and Fluorinated Motifs in the Design and Application of Bioisosteres for Drug Design) (newly reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Koike’034 disclosed heterocyclic compound of Formula I or a salt thereof as cholesterol 24-hydroxylase (CH24H) inhibitors and composition comprising aforementioned compounds for the prophylaxis or treatment of neurodegenerative disease (e.g. Alzheimer's disease) ( See abstract, [0045], [0047]-[0071], Tables 1-7, claims 1-23). Koike’034 teaches Cyp46 (same as “cholesterol 24-hydroxylase (CH24H)), a cholesterol oxidase specifically expressed in the brain, is associated with variety of neurodegenerative disease ( See [0003]-[0004]).
Koike’034 teaches compounds of formula (I), with variables as defined (See [0047]-[0071], claims 1-8, etc.).
Regarding instant claims 5 and 41, Koike’034 teaches R1 is
Koike’034 teaches embodiments wherein ring B is benzene, thiazole, isoxazole, pyrazole, pyridine or pyrazine, etc. (See [0051], claims 5, 6)
Koike’034 teaches embodiments wherein R3 is 5- or 6-membered nitrogen-containing aromatic heterocyclic group optionally substituted by 1 to 3 halogen atoms (See [0258])
Koike’034 teaches compound species that are very similar to instant claimed compounds (See Table 1-12 , Examples, claims 1-12), For example,
The difference between Koike’034 compounds and instant claimed compounds is OH versus fluorine. According to MPEP 2144.09 (I), A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
Hydroxy group and fluorine are commonly known bioisosteres in the pharmaceutical industry. Meanwell teaches fluorine and fluorinated motifs in the design and application of bioisosteres for drug design, wherein fluorine is a versatile bioisosteric substitute for lone pairs of electrons, hydrogen, methyl group while also acting as a functional mimetic of the carbonyl, carbinol, and nitrile moieties(See whole article, page 5822). Meanwell teaches the electronegativity of fluorine is closer to that of oxygen, fluorine is modestly more lipophilic than a hydrogen atom and significantly more lipophilic than OH, C=O, CN, and fluorine does not engage in halogen bonding and is nonpolarizable as versatile bioisostere of the hydrogen atom, carbonyl, the carbinol moiety, and the nitrile (See page 5823, left column). Meanwell also teaches fluorine as a nitrile bioisostere, and example of bioisosteric relationship between fluorine and the nitrile moiety(See page 5864, right column).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Koike’034 and Meanwell, to have replaced the hydroxyl group of Koike’034 compounds with a fluorine as taught by Meanwell and general knowledge of structure similarity/ bioisosteric modification for SAR study , and arrive at instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. For example, Compound 105 taught by Koike’034 could have been modified by replacing the OH with fluorine and arrived at instant non-elected species (See page 4 of claim set dated 06/18/2026).
A skilled artisan would be motivated to replace OH with fluorine atom in searching for compound with enhanced lipophilicity that could pass blood-brain barrier for treating neurodegenerative disease (e.g., Alzheimer's disease) since Meanwell teaches fluorine is a versatile bioisostere and significantly more lipophilic than OH. Further exploration/optimization of Koike’034 compounds based on the combined teachings of prior art, together with general knowledge of structure similarity/ bioisosteric modification of SAR would provide alternative heterocyclic compounds that are expected to have inhibitory activity on CYP 46A1 (i.e. cholesterol 24-hydroxylase) for treating neurodegenerative disease (e.g., Alzheimer's disease).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing instant claimed invention based on the combined teaching of prior art, together with general knowledge of structure similarity/ bioisosteric modification for SAR study. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 84, 87, and 112-113 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 93-104 of copending Application No. 17/613,870 in view of Meanwell (J. Med. Chem. 2018, 61, 5822-5880, DOI: 10.1021/acs.jmedchem.7b01788, Fluorine and Fluorinated Motifs in the Design and Application of Bioisosteres for Drug Design) (newly reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection, because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Reference claims are drawn to compound of Formula I-a that are similar to instant claimed compounds with variables as defined in reference claims and 93.
Reference claim 100 recite compounds species that are similar to species recited in instant claims 84 and 112.
versus
The main difference of reference compounds and instant compounds are nitrile group versus fluorine attached to the piperidinyl ring.
According to MPEP 2144.09 (I), A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
The collective teachings of Meanwell is elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Meanwell teaches fluorine is versatile bioisostere of hydrogen and nitrile.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further explore more heterocyclic compounds based on the combined teachings of reference claims and Meanwell, together with general knowledge of structure similarity/ bioisosteric modification of SAR. A skilled artisan would be motivated to replace nitrile with fluorine in searching for alternative compound with enhanced lipophilicity for treating neurodegenerative disease (e.g. Alzheimer's disease) since Meanwell teaches fluorine is a versatile bioisostere and significantly more lipophilic than nitrile.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference application. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference application thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628