DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohisa et al. (WO 202003812).
Regarding claim 1, Tomohisa et al. teaches an optical laminate comprising an ultraviolet-absorbing adhesive layer, wherein the ultraviolet-absorbing layer comprises a base polymer, an ultraviolet absorber (See Abstract), and radical polymerization initiator (pages 6-7), wherein the base polymer include (meth)acrylic polymers (page 5). The ultraviolet absorbing adhesive layer has an average transmittance of 5% or less at a wavelength of 300 nm to 400 nm and an average transmittance of 30% or less at a wavelength of 400 nm to 430 nm (page 4).
Given the overlap between the adhesive of Tomohisa et al. and that presently claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive that is both disclosed by Tomohisa et al. and encompassed by the present claims and thereby arrive that the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Tomohisa et al. teaches the (meth) acrylic polymer may contain a polyfunctional monomer (page 6).
Regarding claim 4, Tomohisa et al. teaches the UV absorber includes a benzophenone-based ultraviolet absorber (page 7).
Regarding claim 6, Tomohisa et al. teaches the (meth) acrylic polymer may include a monomer having a polymerizable functional group having an unsaturated double bond in a side chain (page 5).
Regarding claim 7, Tomohisa et al. teaches the photopolymerization initiator (A) includes 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl-diphenyl-phosphine oxide (pages 6-7) which is identical to a photocleavage-type radical photopolymerization initiator used in the present invention.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohisa et al. (WO 202003812) in view of Yamamoto et al. (JP 2016155981).
Tomohisa et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 3, Tomohisa et al. fails to disclose a content of the ultraviolet absorber.
However, Yamamoto et al. teaches an ultraviolet-curable acrylic adhesive composition comprising an alkyl (meth)acrylate-containing monomer component and/or partial polymer of the monomer component, an ultraviolet absorber, and a photopolymerization initiator (paragraph [0012]), wherein a content of the ultraviolet absorber (B) is 0.1 to 5 parts by mass or more relative to 100 parts by mass of the (meth)acrylic polymer (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a content including that presently claimed for the ultraviolet absorber of Tomohisa et al. in order to provide sufficient UV absorbing function (Yamamoto et al., paragraph [0057]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohisa et al. (WO 202003812) in view of Mitsubishi Chemical Group (ShikohTM product data sheet).
Tomohisa et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 5, Tomohisa et al. teaches wherein the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate includes urethane acrylate (paragraph [0047]) fails to teach wherein the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate has a molecular weight as claimed.
However, Mitsubishi Chemical Group teaches UV curable urethane acrylate oligomer resins such as UV-3310B, UV-3500BA, UV-3700B, etc. having a molecular weight range of between 5000-38000 (See pages 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a urethane acrylate oligomer having a molecular weight including that presently claimed for the polyfunctional (meth)acrylate of Tomohisa et al. in order to provide a variety of desired characteristics such as soft and high elongation, good elasticity, and toughness (Mitsubishi Chemical Group, page 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended claim 1 to recite transmittance of less than 30% and cancelled claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787