DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-16,19-22 and 27 are pending. Claims 7-12 are withdrawn. The
Claims 1,4-6,13-16,19-22 and 27 are for examination.
Applicants’ argument submitted on 7/28/2026 is considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/24/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the IDS statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-6,13-16,19-22 and 27 are rejected 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bartholomew et al. ( application no. 17/699,790, US 2022/0348770A1, priority US63171704, 2021/04/07 ).
Applicants argument against the rejection under USC 102(a)(2) of Claims 1,4-6,13-16,19-22 and 27 as being anticipated by Bartholomew et al. ( application no. 17/699,790, US 2022/0348770A1, priority US63171704, 2021/04/07 ) is considered but found unpersuasive. Because Bartholomew et al. ( application no. 17/699,790, US 2022/0348770A1 teach, as shown in the rejection below, fluorophores having an absorption maximum ranging from 525 nm to 540 nm.
Bartholomew et al. disclosed Water-soluble dipyrromethene-based dyes of formula I (see claim 6 of Bartholomew et al.) (reads on claim 6, 21).
The water-soluble dye is a dipyrromethene-boron dye. Embodiments of the subject water-soluble dipyrromethene-based dyes have a narrow absorption maxima in the green yellow green range close to 525-550 at maximum at around the 540 nm (see B559, FIG 2) laser line,
and are suitable for use in tandem dye systems. Embodiments of the subject dyes efficiently transfer energy to an acceptor chromophore while a second dipyrromethene-based dye of the same or different chemical structure is within energy-receiving proximity therewith ( reads on claim 1). (see abstract, para 0044). Bartholomew et al. teach on applicants claims 1-2, 4-6. Bartholomew et al. also teach said tandem dye comprises water soluble groups ( para 0058-0059), therefore Bartholomew et al. teach applicants claims 13-14 and also teach said group is PEG, (teach claims 15-16). Bartholomew et al. also teach tandem dye comprise more donor fluorophores than that of acceptor fluorophores ( see para 0284, teach claims 19-20). Bartholomew et al. also teach tandem dye link via polymeric backbone to peptide ( see para 0289-, 0294-0295, reads on applicants claims 22, 27).
Claims 1,5-6, 15-16, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartholomew et al.(US 2020/0002540 also US10844228).
Applicants argument against the rejection of Claims 1-2,5-6,15-16,22 as being anticipated by Bartholomew et al. (US 2020/0002540) is considered but found unpersuasive. Because Bartholomew et al. US 2020/0002540 ) teach, as shown in the rejection below, green range close to 450-540 at maximum at around the 500-525 nm .
US 2020/0002540 discloses dipyrromethene-boron based fluorophore, biomolecule, and water solubilizing group ([0206-[0414]). : US10844228 disclose at claim 14:
And the water-soluble dye is a dipyrromethene-boron dye. Embodiments of the subject water-soluble dipyrromethene-based dyes have a narrow absorption maxima in the green yellow green range close to 450-540 at maximum at around 500 nm (see B559, FI 2)
FIG. 5A shows absorption and emission spectra for the BODIPY donor pendant group
that was used to prepare the multichromophore of FIG. 4. ( see specification page 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-6,13-16,19-22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholomew (US 2020/0048469).
Bartholomew teaches tandem dyes which are water soluble (paragraph 0099) and have absorbance maximums of 500nm to 540 nm (FIG 5A).
Bartholomew teaches the dyes of formula (I) paragraph 0032, wherein
Y1 and Y2 can be the ++species attached to the B paragraph 0092 where q is 6-20, also see the figures on the right column of page 10, with q=11 or 16, in particular the last formula on the right column of page 10. Q can be 11 or 16 as any value between 6-20 is taught. R2 and R7 can be substituted or unsubstituted aryl (phenyl, paragraph 0035) wherein the substituent is 2-20 polyethylene glycol units and polyethers of (CH2CH2O)pR (paragraph 0129-0131).
Bartholomew does not teach al the claimed embodiments in a single compound but selection from the claimed substituents allows one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed compounds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the instantly claimed dyes as Bartholomew teaches these dyes with the same base structure and selection of the claimed substituents allows for the production of water soluble dyes with the absorbance maximums in the 550 to 600 nm range for the benefit of use in a variety of biological applications particularly diagnostic kits with parameters of interest of the dyes such as excitation and emission wavelengths , stokes shifts and fluorescence quantum yield being selected by selection of the claimed substituents. These tandem dyes have the benefit of narrow emission fluorophores. Substitution of the functionally equivalent substituents listed to arrive at the claimed structures and desired water solubility and absorbance maximum can be done through routine experimentation.
Argument
Applicants’ argument is considered but found to be not persuasive. Because as shown in the rejection above Bartholomew (US 2020/0048469) teach green range close to 500-540 at absorption maximum at around the 525-540 nm .
Double Patenting Rejection
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The instant Claims are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-19 of US PAT10844228. An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim not is patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The at least claims 1-19 of US PAT 10844228, as for example claim 14
are directed to The Instant claims also are directed to a tandem dye comprising: a non-conjugated polymeric backbone; one or more green excitable donor fluorophores linked to the non-conjugated polymeric backbone; and one or more acceptor fluorophores linked to the non-conjugated polymeric backbone, wherein the donor and acceptor fluorophores are in energy transfer relationship. The specification that teach tandem dye of that patent can also teach in different embodiment the tandem dye in the instant claims of the instant application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select this specific embodiment of the genera of tandem dye that practiced for the claims of that patent to use for the tandem dye of instant claims. Therefore claims of instant application are obvious over at least claims 1-19 US PAT10844228.
US pat 11,702547 and US PAT 12497516 are CON of US10844228. Therefore TDS are required to overcome the ODP rejection over US PAT10844228. US pat 11,702547 and US PAT 12497516.
The instant Claims are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-2 of application no. 17/699,790. An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim not is patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
At least claim 1 application no. 17/699,790, as for example claim 1
application no. 17/699,790 teach
Claims of instant application teach a tandem dye comprising: a non-conjugated polymeric backbone; one or more green excitable donor fluorophores linked to the non-conjugated polymeric backbone; and one or more acceptor fluorophores linked to the non-conjugated polymeric backbone, wherein the donor and acceptor fluorophores are in energy transfer relationship. The specification that teach tandem dye of that patent application can also teach in different embodiment the tandem dye in the instant claims of the instant application. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select this specific embodiment of the genera of tandem dye that practiced for the claims of that patent to use for the tandem dye of instant claims. Therefore claims of instant application are obvious over at least claims 1-2 US application 17/699790.
Therefore TDS are required to overcome the ODP rejection over US PAT appl no. 17/699790 and any subsequent pat applications raised from US PAT appl no. 17/699790.
The ODP rejections remained.
TDS are required.
Argument
Applicants’ argument is considered but found to be not persuasive. AS explain in the 102 and 103 rejection above references of the odp rejection teach applicant amended claim 1 directed to fluorophore having absorption maximum ranging from 525 nm to 540 nm.
Conclusion
Claims 1,4-6,13-16,19-22 and 27 are rejected and no claim is allowable.
examiner should be directed to Mohammad Meah whose telephone number is 571-272-
1261. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30-5PM.
supervisor, Robert Mondesi can be reached on 4089187584. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system.
/MOHAMMAD Y MEAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1652