DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9-22-2025 have been fully considered.
With respect to the applicant’s argument that the prior art doesn’t “redirect radar waves” and “increase wave scattering interactions”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Ding discloses in para. 72 and 73 that the structure can be adjusted to provide for increased scattering of multipath signals. The examiner notes that multipath signals are still radar signals and so the arrangement of Ding provides for the redirection and scattering of radar waves with the radome and absorber.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on 6-1-2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0268693, published September 15, 2016.
As per claims 1 and 15, Ding discloses a radar sensor comprising:
at least one antenna having a field of view; at least one RF absorber (Ding, Fig. 7B, items 208 and 306 and ¶72);
and a radome covering the at least one antenna and the at least one RF absorber (Ding, Fig. 4, 108 and ¶55),
wherein the at least one RF absorber is provided with a top surface comprising at least one scattering structure configured to redirect radar waves out of the field of view and to increase radar wave scattering interactions with the radome and the at least one RF absorber (Ding, ¶72 and Fig. 7B, 318 where multipath signals are radar signals).
As per claim 3, Ding further discloses the radar sensor according to claim 1, wherein scattering structure comprises at least one structure being a recess and/or a protrusion (Ding, Fig. 7B, 318).
As per claim 7, Ding further discloses the radar sensor according to claim, wherein an inside surface of the recess and/or an outside surface of the protrusion comprises a predefined surface texture roughness or indentation (Ding, ¶10).
As per claim 9, Ding further discloses the radar sensor according to claim 3, wherein the scattering structure comprises a plurality of structures, wherein some of the plurality of structures have different shapes and/or different dimensions (Ding, ¶10).
As per claims 13 and 20, Ding further discloses the radar sensor according to claim 1, wherein the RF absorber is placed outside the field of view of the at least one antenna (Ding, Fig. 7B).
As per the limitations of claim 16, please see the rejection and rationale of claims 1 and 3 above.
As per the limitations of claim 18, please see the rejection and rationale of claims 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding.
As per claims 4-6, Ding discloses the sensor of claim 3 but fails to expressly disclose omnidirectional, concave, convex recesses.
Ding teaches multiple shapes and reflection angles (¶10 and ¶13).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to create the recesses as described as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Ding. Examiner notes that the applicant’s specification also supports various shapes and dimensions.
As per claim 8, Ding further discloses the radar sensor according to claim 7, wherein the predefined surface texture roughness or indentation is of a scale smaller than or equal to 1/10 of a wavelength of the radar wave emitted by the at least one antenna (Ding, ¶73).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the wavelength limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 2, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Kowalewski, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0243465, filed May 19, 2021.
As per claims 2, 14 and 17, Ding discloses the radar sensor but fails to disclose the absorber being embedded or interfacing with the radome.
Kowalewski teaches an absorber embedded in a radome (¶24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to embed the absorber material in order to gain the benefit of saving space. It is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine a preferred location for the absorber.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding in view of Buzinkai, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0403713, published December 30, 2021.
As per claims 10-12 and 19, Ding discloses the sensor of claim 1 but fails to disclose the radome variable thickness and placement in relation the absorber and antenna.
Buzinkai teaches variable radome thickness based on location of the sensor (¶217).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust thickness in order to gain the benefit of variable transmissibility as taught by Buzinkai.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646