DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority from foreign application DE 102022113756.2, filed 05/31/2022.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 and 12-19 are pending.
Claims 10-11 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,603,197 B2 (hereinafter, "Marmur") in view of US 2025/0099716 A1 (hereinafter, "Parikh") .
In regards to claim 1, Marmur discloses a system for delivery of an endoluminal prosthesis (Fig. 1, deployment system, 10, col. 28 lines 7-15, described as being used to deliver a stent to the lumen of a human body), the system comprising:
a delivery catheter (see below, annotated Fig. 1, DS1, col. 28 lines 12-15) and
a prosthesis (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29) to be delivered,
the delivery catheter comprising a catheter tip (Fig. 2, distal tip, 32, col. 28 lines 33-37), a catheter shaft (Fig. 2, delivery shaft, 30, col. 28, lines 12-21) and a handle (see below, annotated Fig. 1, H1; col. 28 lines 12-15; see also Fig. 14B, control handle, 20 and col. 46, lines 47-49) for deployment of the prosthesis,
the prosthesis comprising a hollow-cylindrical main body (see below, annotated Fig. 7C, CB1, col. 37 lines 56-62) having a side wall (see below, annotated Fig. 7C, SW1, col. 37 lines 56-62), a proximal opening (see below, annotated Fig. 13I, PO1) and a distal opening (see below, annotated Fig. 13I, DO1) and a main lumen extending there between (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 42 lines 20-42),
the system further comprising a wire (Fig. 1, guidewire, 100, col. 35 lines 64 - col. 36 line 4) extending through at least a portion of the main lumen of the prosthesis in a preloaded configuration (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 42 lines 20-42), the wire extending in distal direction (see below, annotated Fig. 13I, DW1, inner shaft and inner cannula containing guidewires are shown in figure) to a position in proximity to the distal opening of the prosthesis and the wire extending in proximal direction proximal (see below, annotated Fig. 13I, directional markers) of the proximal opening of the prosthesis along the catheter shaft (Fig. 2, delivery shaft, 30, col. 28, lines 12-21)
up to the handle (Fig. 14B, control handle, 20, col. 46 lines 47-49),
wherein the handle comprises at least one spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) to receive the proximal end of the preloaded wire (Fig. 15A, restraining wire, 460, col. 48 lines 14-26) with a proximal portion of the preloaded wire being coiled onto the spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, in combination with restraining wire, 460, col. 48 lines 14-26), and
wherein the spool (spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) is attached to the handle (see above, annotated Fig. 1, H1, col. 28 lines 12-15 see also Fig. 14B, control handle, 20, col. 46 lines 47-49) via a retainer (Fig. 15B, proximal portion, 472A, col. 43 lines 59-66).
However, Marmur does not explicitly disclose that the spool and retainer is detachable from the handle.
Parikh which teaches a guide catheter (Fig. 1, guide catheter, 100, para 0040) discloses a spool (Fig. 32A-B, spool, 4208, para 0107) which is detachable (Fig. 32A, spool, 4208, para 0107, states the spool can be disposable and there includes that the spool can be dethatched and removed) from the handle (Fig. 13-16, handle, teaches that the illustrated handles can be used with any of the guide catheters disclosed, see also Fig. 18A-H, catheter control system, 1800, para 0083).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spool of Marmur to be detachable from the spool and/or retainer to so that the spool can be replaced with a sterile new spool or repurposed for an additional surgery.
In regards to claim 2, Marmur further disclose wherein the prosthesis (Fig. 14, prosthesis, 100, para 0085)
is a stent, a graft, a stent graft (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29; see also, stent graft, 140, col. 7 lines 46-51) or any combination thereof.
In regards to claim 3, Marmur further discloses wherein the prosthesis (Fig. 14, prosthesis, 100, para 0085) comprises at least one fenestration (Fig. 7A-7C, fenestrations, 180 and 182, col. 37, lines 56-62) in the side wall (see above, annotated Fig. 7C, SW1, col. 37 lines 56-62) of the hollow-cylindrical main body (see above, annotated Fig. 7C, CB1, col. 37 lines 56-62).
In regards to claim 4, Marmur further discloses wherein the prosthesis comprises at least one side branch (Fig. 13I, branching stent grafts, 690A-C, col. 46 lines 23-28), the side branch comprising a hollow-cylindrical side branch body (see below, annotated Fig. 13J, SB1, see also branching stent grafts, 690A-C, col. 46 lines 35-40) having a side wall (see below, annotated Fig. 13J, SBW1, col. 37 lines 56-62),
a proximal opening (see below, annotated Fig. 13J, PO1) and a distal opening (see below, annotated Fig. 13J, DO1) and a side branch lumen extending there between (Fig. 13I, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, col. 46 lines 23-28, where lumen is defined as an opening), wherein the side branch lumen (Fig. 13I, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, col. 46 lines 22-30, where lumen is defined as an opening) is in fluid communication (Fig. 13J, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, connected to second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 43 lines 15-47) with the main lumen (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 42 lines 20-42).
In regards to claims 5 and 17, Marmur further discloses wherein the preloaded wire (Fig. 15B, restraining wire, 460, col. 47 lines 46-55) extends from the spool (Fig, 15B, spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) at the proximal end of the catheter (Fig. 1 and Fig. 15B, control handle, 20, in combination with spool, 820, and restraining wire, 460, col. 46 lines 47-54) to a position outside the main lumen (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 41 lines 24-37) of the prosthesis in a proximal region of the prosthesis (Fig.6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29), extending through the fenestration (Fig. 7A-7C, fenestrations, 180 and 182, col. 37, lines 56-62) in the side wall of the hollow-cylindrical main body (Fig. 13I, longitudinal portion, 570, col. 41 lines 24-37) into the lumen of the prosthesis (Fig. 13I, first longitudinal portion, 470, col. 42 lines 20-42), and extending further inside the lumen of the main body (Fig. 13I, first longitudinal portion, 470, col. 41 lines 24-37) to a position in proximity to the distal end (see below, annotated Fig. 13I, DO1 and DW1, col. 3 lines 44-51), extending from the distal portion) of the prosthesis.
In regards to claims 6 and 18, Marmur further discloses wherein the preloaded wire (Fig. 15B, restraining wire, 460, col. 47 lines 46-55) extends from the spool (Fig. 15B, restraining wire, 460, in combination with spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) at the proximal end of the catheter (see below, annotated Fig. 1, DS1 and directional markers, col.28 lines 7-15, see also col. 49 lines 27-35 ) to a position outside the main lumen (Fig. 13J, first longitudinal portion, 470, col. 41 lines 24-37) of the prosthesis in a proximal region of the prosthesis (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29) and further extending into the side branch lumen (Fig. 13I, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, in combination with guidewires, 680A-C, col. 46 lines 22-30, where lumen is defined as an opening).
In regards to claims 7 and 19, Marmur further discloses wherein the preloaded wire (Fig. 12A-C, restraining wire, 460, col. 47 lines 46-55) extends from the spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) at the proximal end of the catheter (see below, annotated Fig. 1, directional markers, DS1 in combination with control handle, 20, col. 46 lines 47-49) to a position outside the main lumen of the prosthesis (Fig. 13I, first longitudinal portion, 470, col. 41 lines 24-37) in a proximal region of the prosthesis (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29), extending into the side branch lumen (Fig. 13I, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, where lumen is defined as an opening), and extending further inside the side branch lumen (Fig. 12A, first conduit, 450A-B, col. 42 lines 11-19) into the main lumen (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 41 lines 24-37) of the prosthesis to a position in proximity to the distal end of the prosthesis (see above, annotated Fig. 13I, DO1).
In regards to claim 9, Marmur further discloses wherein the delivery catheter (see below, annotated Fig. 1, DS1, col. 28 lines 12-15) further comprises a guidewire lumen (Fig . 4A, inner shaft, 36, in combination with guidewire bore, 102, col. 36 lines 2-13) to receive a guidewire (Fig. 4A, guidewire, 100, col. 36 lines 2-13).
In regards to claim 12, Marmur further discloses wherein the spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) is attached to the retainer (Fig. 15B, proximal portion, 472A, col. 43 lines 59-66).
However, Marmur does not explicitly state that the retainer is connected to the spool by a releasable connector. Parikh furthers teaches that the spool (Fig. 32A, spool, 4208, para 0107) is attached to a retainer (Fig. 36A, ratchet, 4506, in combination with ratchet wheel, 4514, para 0111) by a releasable connector ( Fig. 36B, release button, 4510, para 0111).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spool of Marmur to be releasable connector of Parikh in order to disengage the spool, adjust wire wrapping or replace the spool as needed (Parikh, para 0111).
In regards to claim 15, Marmur further discloses wherein the handle (Fig. 14B, control handle, 20, col. 46 lines 47-49) and a preloaded wire accommodated in the system (Fig. 1, deployment system, 10, col. 28 lines 7-15, described as being used to deliver a stent to the lumen of a human bod).
However, Marmur does not explicitly disclose wherein the handle comprises at least one seal per preloaded wire. Parikh further discloses that the spool mechanism (Fig. 8C-D, spool mechanism, 802, in combination with wire, 804, para 0068) comprises at least one seal. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spool of Marmur to include the seal of Parikh to prevent fluid from entering the spool mechanism (Parikh, para 0068).
In regards to claim 17, Marmur discloses a system for delivery of an endoluminal prosthesis (Fig. 1, deployment system, 10, col. 28 lines 7-15, described as being used to deliver a stent to the lumen of a human body), the system comprising:
a delivery catheter (see below, annotated Fig. 1, DS1, col. 28 lines 12-15) and
a prosthesis (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29),
the delivery catheter comprising a catheter tip (Fig. 2, distal tip, 32, col. 28 lines 33-37), a catheter shaft (Fig. 2, delivery shaft, 30, col. 28, lines 12-21) and a handle (see below, annotated Fig. 1, H1; col. 28 lines 12-15; see also Fig. 14B, control handle, 20 and col. 46, lines 47-49) configured for deployment of the prosthesis,
the prosthesis comprising a hollow-cylindrical main body (see above, annotated Fig. 7C, CB1, col. 37 lines 56-62) having a side wall (see above, annotated Fig. 7C, SW1, col. 37 lines 56-62), a proximal opening (see above, annotated Fig. 13I, PO1) and a distal opening (see above, annotated Fig. 13I, DO1) and a main lumen extending between the proximal opening and the distal opening (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 42 lines 20-42),
a wire (Fig. 1, guidewire, 100, col. 35 lines 64 - col. 36 line 4) extending through at least a portion of the main lumen of the prosthesis in a preloaded configuration (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 42 lines 20-42), the wire extending in distal direction (see above, annotated Fig. 13I, DW1, inner shaft and inner cannula containing guidewires are shown in figure) to a position in proximity to the distal opening of the prosthesis and the wire also extending in proximal direction proximal (see above, annotated Fig. 13I, directional markers) of the proximal opening of the prosthesis along the catheter shaft (Fig. 2, delivery shaft, 30, col. 28, lines 12-21) up to the handle (Fig. 14B, control handle, 20, col. 46 lines 47-49),
wherein the handle comprises at least one spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) configured to receive the proximal end of the preloaded wire (Fig. 15A, restraining wire, 460, col. 48 lines 14-26) with a proximal portion of the preloaded wire being coiled onto the spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, in combination with restraining wire, 460, col. 48 lines 14-26), and the spool (spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-21) is attached to the handle (see above, annotated Fig. 1, H1, col. 28 lines 12-15 see also Fig. 14B, control handle, 20, col. 46 lines 47-49) via a retainer (Fig. 15B, proximal portion, 472A, col. 43 lines 59-66) wherein at least one of the spool and retainer is detachable from the handle (see 103 rejection with respect to claim 1 above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,603,197 B2 (hereinafter, "Marmur") and US 2025/0099716 A1 (hereinafter, "Parikh") as applied to claims 1-7, 9-12, and 15-19 above, and further in view of US 9,149,382 B2 (hereinafter, "Greenberg") .
In regards to claim 8, Marmur discloses the system according to claim 1 (Fig. 1, deployment system, 10, col. 28 lines 7-15, described as being used to deliver a stent to the lumen of a human body), wherein the prosthesis (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29) comprises side branches (Fig. 13E, lateral fenestrations, 180, 182, and 184, col. 45 lines 37-42), each side branch having a side branch lumen (Fig. 13I, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, where lumen is defined as an opening), each side branch lumen being in fluid communication (Fig. 13J, branch stent grafts, 690A-C, connected to second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 43 lines 15-47) with the main lumen (Fig. 13J, second longitudinal portion, 570, col. 42 lines 20-42) and each side branch lumen receiving a preloaded wire (Fig. 13I, guidewires, 680A-C, col. 46 lines 22-30).
However, Marmur does not explicitly disclose the prosthesis has four side branches.
Greenberg teaches an endoluminal prosthesis (Fig. 8, prosthesis, 210, col. 12 lines 16-25) comprising four side branches (Fig. 8, branches, 240, 250, 260, and 270, col. 12 lines 16-54) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of accommodating and providing support in additional side vessels.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prosthesis of Marmur to include the four side branches of Greenberg in order to accommodate and provide support in additional side vessels.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,603,197 B2 (hereinafter, "Marmur") and US 2025/0099716 A1 (hereinafter, "Parikh") as applied to claims 1-7, 9-12, and 15-19 above, and further in view of US 9,149,382 B2 (hereinafter, "Greenberg") and US 2025/0099716 A1 (hereinafter, "Parikh").
In regards to claim 13, Marmur discloses the system (Fig. 1, deployment system, 10, col. 28 lines 7-15, described as being used to deliver a stent to the lumen of a human body) wherein the endoluminal prosthesis (Fig. 6C, stent-graft, 40, col. 28 lines 21-29, see also stent graft, 140, col. 7 lines 46-51) comprises side branches (Fig. 13I, branching stent grafts, 690A-C, col. 46 lines 23-28), each side branch receiving a preloaded wire (Fig. 15B, restraining wire, 460, col. 47 lines 46-55) and wherein the handle comprises spools (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, in combination with control handle, 20, col. 48 lines 14-21), each spool (Fig. 15B, spool, 820, col. 48 lines 14-26)
receiving one preloaded wire (Fig. 15B, restraining wire, 460, col. 47 lines 46-55).
However, Marmur does not explicitly disclose the prosthesis has four side branches, wherein the handle comprises four spools.
Greenberg teaches an endoluminal prosthesis (Fig. 8, prosthesis, 210, col. 12 lines 16-25) comprising four side branches (Fig. 8, branches, 240, 250, 260, and 270, col. 12 lines 16-54). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prosthesis of Marmur to include the four side branches of Greenberg since doing so merely involves combining prior art elements according to know methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143).
However, Marmur in view of Greenberg does not explicitly disclose four spools with each receiving one preloaded wire.
Parikh teaches a guide extensions catheter (Fig. 2A, guide extension catheter, 212, para 0045) that comprises four spools (Fig. 33, spool mechanisms, 4200, in combination with spool 4208, para 0108) receiving one preloaded wire (Fig. 32, wire, 4202, para 0107). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prosthesis of Marmur in view of Greenberg to include the four spools of Parikh to combine multiple spool mechanisms to support each side branch structure independently.
In regards to claim 14, Marmur further discloses wherein two spools (Fig. 15B, spools, 820 and 840, col. 48 lines 14-26) at a time are coupled (Fig. 15B, proximal portion, 472B, col. 43 lines 59-66) to the handle via one retainer (Fig. 15B, proximal portion, 472A, col. 43 lines 59-66), while each spool can be operated separately (col. 48 lines 26- 31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the language of previous claims 10 and 11 are not disclosed by any of the prior art references. This is not persuasive because as explained above and in the previous office action, these features are disclosed by the combination of Marmur and Parikh. Furthermore, while the device of Marmur does not specifically state the spool and retainer are removable, it appears that they may be removable in their original state. The office action only relied on the teachings of Parikh for completeness. However the spools appear to be readily able to be pulled off for disassembly because they are not unitary or fused to the handle.
The applicant then argues for several paragraphs about the different intended uses for the prior art and their invention. These arguments are moot because the claims are directed at the structures, not a method of using them. No limitations within the current claims prevents the wires of the prior art from reading upon them. The wires of the prior art disclose all the claimed components and therefore anticipate the claims regardless of the applicant’s intended uses.
Then the applicant argues that a Phosita would not look to the types of wires and winding mechanisms of the prior art to manage a preloaded access wire for a prosthesis. This argument is also moot because it is also focused on the applicant’s own intended use for their device. Additionally, the applicant states that the mechanical handling criteria would be completely different for a preloaded access wire for an endoluminal prosthesis. This argument is misplaced because the wire of Marmur is a preloaded wire that accesses the implant site and is used in combination with an endoluminal prosthesis. Therefore it inherently is capable of handling the mechanical criteria it is normally subjected to. Finally, the claims fail to define any of these criteria.
Then the applicant argues that the spool of Marmur is permanently integrated into the handle. As an initial note there are no actual recitations of the term permanent or permanently anywhere within Marmur. Second, the figure identified by the applicant (Marmur Figure 14C) appears to show that the spool is modular and removable. Figure 14C shows pins and clips that allow for disassembly and reassembly.
Then the applicant argues that the spool of Parikh is housed permanently within the catheter control center. Again, there are no actual recitations of the term permanent or permanently anywhere within Marmur. Second, in [0107] Parikh specifically states:
“Advantageously, the housing 4206 can be opened and closed for case of loading a new spool 4208 and removing an old spool 4208. In some configurations, the spool 4208 can be reusable.”
This is a clear teaching of the spool not being permanently attached and that it is desirable to be replaceable or reusable. Therefore the detachable spool of the present application does not achieve a critical non-obvious advantage over the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774