DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-11 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 4/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should be amended to -wherein disposing [[an]] the annealing fluid in [[a]] the closed chamber includes coating the base with the-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should be amended to - wherein allowing the annealing fluid to reach [[a]] the liquid-gas equilibrium within the chamber includes partially-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should be amended to - allowing the annealing fluid to reach [[a]] the liquid-gas equilibrium within the chamber includes partially evaporating-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended to - wherein disposing [[a]] the drug coated medical device within the closed chamber includes disposing the drug coated-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 should be amended to - wherein disposing [[a]] the drug coated medical device within the closed-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended to - after disposing [[a]] the drug coated medical device within the closed chamber-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended to -wherein disposing [[a]] the everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 should be amended to - wherein disposing [[a]] the everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber includes disposing the everolimus coated balloon-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3:
The claim recites the limitation "the closed container" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4-6, 8-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2009158276 A2 to Clarke et al. (Clarke).
Clarke discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
A method for treating a medical device (see the method outlined in ¶0143), the method comprising:
disposing an annealing fluid (“a pool of solvent in an air- filled chamber”, ¶0143) in a closed chamber (“sealed chamber containing a solvent containing atmosphere”, ¶0143);
allowing the annealing fluid to reach a liquid-gas equilibrium within the chamber (“allowing a pool of solvent in an air- filled chamber to come to equilibrium (saturation) at a given temperature”, ¶0143); and
disposing a drug coated medical device within the closed chamber (“Upon introduction of the device to the chamber, the solvent may wet the drug particles, leading to drug dissolution and flow”, ¶0143).
Regarding claim 3:
The method of claim 1, wherein the closed container (“sealed chamber”, ¶0143) has a base (inherent, sealed chamber must have a base) and wherein disposing an annealing fluid (“a pool of solvent”, ¶0143) in a closed chamber (“sealed chamber”, ¶0143) includes coating the base with the annealing fluid (“a pool of solvent in an air- filled chamber”, ¶0143).
Regarding claim 4:
The method of claim 3, wherein coating the base with the annealing fluid includes coating the base to form a layer of the annealing fluid that is 1-10 millimeters thick (interpreted as intended use and the chamber disclosed in ¶0143 is capable of this function since it a sealed and enclosed chamber).
Regarding claim 5:
The method of claim 1, wherein allowing the annealing fluid to reach a liquid-gas equilibrium within the chamber includes partially evaporating the annealing fluid (“Such an atmosphere may be formed, for example, by allowing a pool of solvent in an air- filled chamber to come to equilibrium (saturation) at a given temperature (e.g., room temperature or above)”, ¶0143).
Regarding claim 6:
The method of claim 1, wherein allowing the annealing fluid to reach a liquid-gas equilibrium within the chamber includes partially evaporating the annealing fluid for at least two hours (interpreted as intended use and the chamber disclosed in ¶0143 is capable of this function in order to reach steady state).
Regarding claim 8:
The method of claim 1, wherein the drug coated medical device includes a drug coating (“Upon introduction of the device to the chamber, the solvent may wet the drug particles, leading to drug dissolution and flow”, ¶0143), and wherein disposing a drug coated medical device within the closed chamber includes vapor annealing the drug coating (“A simple system for solvent annealing may include a sealed chamber containing a solvent containing atmosphere”, ¶0143).
Regarding claim 9:
The method of claim 8, wherein the drug coating includes everolimus (“Therapeutic agents also include … everolimus”, ¶0036).
Regarding claim 10:
The method of claim 1, wherein the drug coated medical device includes a drug coated balloon (“Examples of medical devices benefiting from the various aspects of the present invention vary widely and include implantable or insertable medical devices, for example, … catheters (e.g., urological catheters or vascular catheters such as balloon catheters”, ¶0024).
Regarding claim 17:
A method for treating a medical device, the method comprising:
forming a vapor annealing chamber (“sealed chamber containing a solvent containing atmosphere”, ¶0143) by disposing a layer of isopropyl alcohol within a container (“allowing a pool of solvent in an air- filled chamber to come to equilibrium (saturation) at a given temperature”, ¶0143) and allowing the layer of isopropyl alcohol to partially evaporate and reach a liquid- gas equilibrium (“Such an atmosphere may be formed, for example, by allowing a pool of solvent in an air- filled chamber to come to equilibrium (saturation) at a given temperature (e.g., room temperature or above)”, ¶0143);
disposing an everolimus (“Therapeutic agents also include … everolimus”, ¶0036) coated balloon (“Examples of medical devices benefiting from the various aspects of the present invention vary widely and include implantable or insertable medical devices, for example, … catheters (e.g., urological catheters or vascular catheters such as balloon catheters”, ¶0024) within the vapor annealing chamber (“sealed chamber containing a solvent containing atmosphere”, ¶0143);
vapor annealing the everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber; (“A simple system for solvent annealing may include a sealed chamber containing a solvent containing atmosphere”, ¶0143) and
removing the vapor annealed everolimus coated balloon from the vapor annealing chamber (“The device is removed from the chamber after a desired period of exposure to the chamber atmosphere”, ¶0143).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009158276 A2 to Clarke et al. (Clarke) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20200230373 A1 to Stankus et al. (Stankus).
Regarding claim 2:
Clarke fails to disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the annealing fluid comprises isopropyl alcohol.
Stankus teaches:
An annealing method that includes solvent vapor annealing (¶0134) that uses isopropyl alcohol as the annealing fluid (¶0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clarke to further include isopropyl alcohol as the annealing fluid as taught by Stankus. This is a simple substitution of one known element (annealing fluid of Clarke) for another (isopropyl alcohol annealing fluid as taught by Stankus) to obtain predictable results (to anneal a medical device).
Claim(s) 7, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009158276 A2 to Clarke et al. (Clarke) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of US 20100272773 A1 to Kangas et al. (Kangas).
Regarding claim 7:
Clarke fails to disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein disposing a drug coated medical device within the closed chamber includes disposing the drug coated medical device within the closed chamber for at least two hours.
Kangas teaches:
A coated medical device method that includes annealing (¶0099). The annealing process can take 4 hours (¶0099). Further, the coating process of the medical device can be performed folded or expanded (¶0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clarke to further include the annealing process taking 4 hours (at least 2 hours) as taught by Kangas in order for the annealing process to change the coating from an amorphous to crystalline structure (¶0096).
Regarding claim 18:
Clarke fails to disclose:
The method of claim 17, wherein disposing an everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber includes disposing the everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber while the everolimus coated balloon is in a folded configuration.
Kangas teaches:
A coated medical device method that includes annealing (¶0099). The annealing process can take 4 hours (¶0099). Further, the coating process of the medical device can be performed folded or expanded (¶0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clarke to further include the annealing process taking place with the balloon catheter folded as taught by Kangas in order for the annealing process to change the coating from an amorphous to crystalline structure (¶0096).
Regarding claim 19:
Clarke fails to disclose:
The method of claim 17, wherein disposing an everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber includes disposing the everolimus coated balloon within the vapor annealing chamber while the everolimus coated balloon is in an inflated configuration.
Kangas teaches:
A coated medical device method that includes annealing (¶0099). The annealing process can take 4 hours (¶0099). Further, the coating process of the medical device can be performed folded or expanded (¶0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clarke to further include the annealing process taking place with the balloon catheter inflated/expanded as taught by Kangas in order for the annealing process to change the coating from an amorphous to crystalline structure (¶0096).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009158276 A2 to Clarke et al. (Clarke) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of US 20160213890 A1 to Kaufman et al. (Kaufman).
Regarding claim 11:
Clarke fails to disclose:.
The method of claim 1, after disposing a drug coated medical device within the closed chamber, removing the drug coated medical device from the chamber and sterilizing the drug coated medical device.
Kaufman teaches:
A method that includes solvent vapor annealing (¶0112) that further includes a sterilizing process by electron beam irradiation after the annealing process (¶0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clarke to further include an electron beam irradiation process after the annealing process as taught by Kaufman in order to sterilize the medical device (Kaufman, ¶0112).
Regarding claim 20:
Clarke fails to disclose:
The method of claim 17, after removing the vapor annealed everolimus coated balloon from the vapor annealing chamber, sterilizing the vapor annealed everolimus coated balloon.
Kaufman teaches:
A method that includes solvent vapor annealing (¶0112) that further includes a sterilizing process by electron beam irradiation after the annealing process (¶0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clarke to further include an electron beam irradiation process after the annealing process as taught by Kaufman in order to sterilize the medical device (Kaufman, ¶0112).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following is pertinent prior art:
US-20130053947-A1
Kangas
Vapor annealing process as indicated in ¶0013
US-20110015664-A1
Kangas
Vapor annealing process for a balloon catheter ¶0008
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783