DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nittoli et al (WO2014/145090, reference of the IDS filed 8/18/2023).
Nittoli et al disclose the drug-linkers of (V)(b,) (V)(d) and (V)(e);
which meet the limitations of claim 1, wherein R1 is a substituted alkyloxy carbonyl, claim 2 wherein R2 is a substituted acyl. Drug-linker (V)(b)meets the limitations of claim 3 wherein R3 is a substituted acyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nittoli et al (WO2014/145090) in view of Doronina et al (WO2005/081711) and Chari et al (Angew. Chem, Int. Ed. 2014, Vol. 53, pp. 3796-3827).
Nittoli et al (‘396) teach drug-linker:
.
Nittoli et al do no teach the macrolide joined to the linker
Doronina et al teach compound 17:
wherein the identical linker is joined to a auristatin.
Chari et al teach that lysine residues of an antibody can react with an activated ester of a heterobifunctional linker to provide a conjugate (page 3805, lines 5-7 under the heading “Preparation of ADCs with Maytansinoids”).
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time prior to the effective filing date to substitute
for the
in the linker-drug of Nittoli et al. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the linker with the active ester terminus is an art recognized alternative for the maleimide terminus of Nittoli et al. Doing this would produce the drug linker having the structure as indicated in claim 6, the drug-linker of claims 4 and 5 wherein R4 is succinimidyloxy, and n=3 in claim 4.
Claim 10 is included with this rejection because it is a product-by-process claims. Section 2113 of the MPEP states:
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE
MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE
IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process,
determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-16 and 30-32 of U.S. Patent No.12,545,735. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 13 and 30 of ‘735 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl. Claims 16 and 33 anticipate instant claims 1 and 2, wherein R1 in claim 1 is a substituted acyl, R2 in claim 2 is substituted alkyloxy carbonyl, R3 in claim 3 is a substituted acyl..
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-16 and 30-32 of U.S. Patent No.11,142,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 7of ‘578 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl. Claims 9 and 19 anticipate instant claims 1 and 2, wherein R1 in claim 1 is a substituted acyl, R2 in claim 2 is substituted alkyloxy carbonyl, R3 in claim 3 is a substituted acyl..
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent No.12,583,939. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 11-12 of ‘939 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl. Claims 13 and 14 anticipate instant claims 1 and 2, wherein R1 in claim 1 is a substituted acyl, R2 in claim 2 is alkyloxy carbonyl, R3 in claim 3 is a substituted acyl..
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent No.11,958,910. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 11-12 of ‘910 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl. Claims 13 and 14 anticipate instant claims 1 and 2, wherein R1 in claim 1 is a substituted acyl, R2 in claim 2 is substituted alkyloxy carbonyl, R3 in claim 3 is a substituted acyl..
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No.12,378,258. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 1 and 4 of ‘258 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl; claims 2, wherein, R2 in claim 2 is H.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No.11,345,715. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 1-5 of ‘715 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl; and claim 2, wherein, R2 in claim 2 is a substituted acyl. Claim 4 of ‘715 anticipates instant claim 2 wherein R is H..
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No.10,752,690. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 12 of ‘715 anticipate instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl; claim 14 of ‘690 anticipates instant claim 2, wherein, R2 in claim 2 is a substituted alkyloxy carbonyl. Claim 15 of ‘690 anticipates instant claim 3 wherein R3 is substituted acyl.
. Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16, 26 and 44 of U.S. Patent No.9,951,141 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims. Claims 16 and 44 of ‘141 anticipates instant claim 1 wherein R1 is a substituted acyl; claim 26 of ‘141 anticipates instant claim 1, wherein R1 is substituted acyl; instant claim 2, wherein R2 is substituted alkyloxy carbonyl; and instant claim 3 wherein R3 is subtitled alkyloxy carbonyl.
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 48-51, and 58-61 of copending Application No. 19/255,790 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application anticipate the instant claims. Claims 48-51 and 58-61 anticipate instant claims 1 and 2, wherein R1 is substituted acyl, and R2 is substituted alkoxy carbonyl.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are allowed.
KAREN A. CANELLA
Examiner
Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643