Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, and 18-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/16/2026 regarding claims 13-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a utilitarian element removably coupled to the decoration attachment member (as recited in claim 4) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
"Substantially permanently" is defined in the instant application specification as the connector assembly staying in the user's hair such that it can be washed, remain during styling, and remain in the hair as it grows(page 7 line 31 to page 8 line 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the decoration attachment member includes a loop for coupling to a removable decorative member.” In light of the amendment to Claim 1 and in view of the specification, it is unclear if “a loop” is the same as “a second opening” of claim 1, or if they are different elements. For the sake of examination, they will be considered to be the same element.
The amended claim 1 recites the connector as including an elongated male member that cooperates with a female member of the decoration attachment member. However, claim 8, which is dependent on claim 1, recites a variety of other connector types, several of which are not compatible with the male member requirement of claim 1. Therefore it is unclear if some of the possible connector types should have been removed following the amendment of claim 1 or if some other arrangement is intended. For the sake of examination, only the male member options listed in claim 8 will be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3722108 (foreign patent and machine translation provided with previous office action) in view of Hochi (JP H0681205 A).
Regarding Claim 1, DE 3722108 teaches a connector assembly for installing on a filament (Figure 9; translation page 2 2nd-4th paragraphs and translation page 6), such as hair (hair strand 23), comprising:
a crimping member (seal-like extension 24) for crimping around a filament (translation page 6 3rd paragraph);
a connector (plug element 28 with plug 31; claim 8 (mislabeled in translation at claim 6) states “the head hair element is a plug or socket element and the foreign hair element is a complementary […] element” therefore DE 3722108 teaches the connector linked to the crimping member as being either a plug or socket) linked to the crimping member (Figure 9; translation page 6 3rd to 6th paragraph; claim 8); and
a decoration attachment member (socket element 25 with socket 26; claim 8 teaches the socket and plug being on either member as explained above) coupled to the connector (Figure 9; translation page 6 3rd to 6th paragraph; claim 8),
wherein the connector assembly is substantially permanently attached to the filament (translation page 6 3rd to 6th paragraph); the connector includes an elongated male member (plug 31), and the decoration attachment member is a female member (socket element 25 with socket 26) that is sized and shaped for receiving the male member in an opening defined in the female member (socket 26; translation page 6 4th to 6th paragraph), with the male and female members being separable from one another (translation page 6, 6th paragraph).
DE 3722108 does not explicitly teach the female member having a second opening, but the last paragraph on translation page 6 does state that forms of attachment of the decorative members, in the form of foreign hairs, can be other than the gluing described in the embodiment of Figure 9.
Hochi, in the related field of endeavor of detachable hair decorating elements with a plug and socket connection (abstract, Figure 1), teaches a connector assembly (hook 8) comprising a male connector (convex member 7 with projecting portion 7a) and a female decoration attachment member (concave member 3 with receiving portion 3a) wherein the female member (which is the decoration attachment member) has a second opening (holes portions 3b). Hochi teaches the female decoration attachment member having a first opening for receiving the male member (receiving portion 3a) and a second opening (hole portion 3b) for attaching the decorative member (wig 1 is sewn onto the concave member 3 using thread 4 through hole portions 3b, see Figure 1 and “Detailed Description of Preferred Embodiment”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 to include the decoration attachment member having a second opening as taught by Hochi in order to allow for decoration members to be sewn on. DE 3722108 teaches that other means of attaching the decoration members are known in the art and Hochi teaches such a known means of attachment via sewing through holes in the attachment member, therefore this modification would be a simple substitution of a solid attachment member that allows for gluing on of the decoration for one with at least one hole that allows for sewing on of a decoration. One would be motivated to make this change to allow the connection assembly to utilized with addition additional decorations or foreign hair elements, as many are available that may not come readily attached to the decoration attachment member or that are not able to be glued to such.
Regarding Claim 2, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. The combination further comprises one or more decorative members (foreign hair part 27 as taught by DE 3722108 or wig 1 as taught by Hochi) received in the second opening of the female member (sewn on as taught by Hochi Figure 1; a hair weft for an extension is a portion of a wig and can be sewn on) for removably coupling to the connector (DE3722108 teaches the decorative member in the form of foreign hair part 27 is removably coupled to the connector that is attached to the hair in Figure 9 and translation page 6).
Regarding Claim 3, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. Both DE 3722108 and Hochi teach one or more decorative members coupled to the decoration attachment member (DE 3722108 – foreign hair part 27; Hochi – wig 1). While DE 3722108 teaches the foreign hair part being glued to the attachment member, it also teaches the decorative members, in the form of foreign hairs, can be other than the gluing described in the embodiment of Figure 9. Hochi teaches the decorative member being sewn onto the decoration attachment member, which coupling can easily be removed by cutting the thread.
Even if the coupling as taught by Hochi is not considered removable, making components separable or removable has been found by the courts to be obvious See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C). In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). In the case of the instant application, one would be motivated to make the decorative members removably couple to the decoration attachment member to allow the connection assembly to utilized with addition additional decorations, as many are available that may not come readily attached to the decoration attachment member or that are not able to be glued to such, including jewelry, which DE 3722108 suggests may be of interest at the bottom of page 6.
Regarding Claim 6, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. Hochi further teaches wherein the decoration attachment member includes a loop (hole portions 3b) for coupling to a removable decorative member (the hole portions 3b are for coupling to a decorative member and are fully capable of being used with a removable decorative member).
Regarding Claim 11, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1.
DE 3722108 teaches a method for attaching decorative elements to a filament utilizing a connector assembly (Figure 9; translation page 6) comprising:
installing the crimping member around the filament (translation page 6 3rd paragraph and 6th paragraph both describe seal-like extension 24 being crimped around the head hair);
crimping the crimping member so that it is substantially permanently coupled to the filament (translation page 6 3rd and 6th paragraphs).
Hochi further teaches attaching a decorative element to the decoration attachment member (Figure 1; sewing the decorative element onto the decoration attachment member).
Regarding Claim 12, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the method of claim 11, as presented above. DE 3722108 further teaches wherein the filament is strands of hair (Figure 9 with hair strands 23).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3722108 and Hochi (JP H0681205 A) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Styll (US 1,368,858)
Regarding Claim 4, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. They does not explicitly disclose the assembly further comprising a utilitarian element removably coupled to the decoration attachment member.
However, Styll, in the same field of endeavor of accessories for the hair (title), teaches a utilitarian element (eyeglass chain) coupled to a hairpin (lines 9-14). Styll teaches a utilitarian element in the form of a chain connected to eyeglasses in order to prevent the loss of the glasses (lines 9-14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 and Hochi to be removably connected to a utilitarian element in the form of an eyeglass chain as taught by Styll in order to prevent the loss of the glasses (lines 9-14).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3722108 and Hochi (JP H0681205 A) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Tokko (US 20100059079).
Regarding Claim 7, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. DE 3722108 teaches that the connector is a post (plug element 28 with plug 31; claim 8 (mislabeled in translation at claim 6)) and the decorative member is coupled to the post in a removable manner (translation page 6, 5th paragraph). DE 3722108 teaches the crimping member is crimped onto the filament, but teaching it having tabs rather than being a crimp bead. DE 3722108 does not explicitly describe how the crimping member is connected to the connector.
However, Tokko, in the same field of endeavor of connector assemblies for installing on hair (abstract), teaches a connector assembly (Figure 8B) wherein the crimping member is a crimp bead (tube 20, ¶ 0030) and the connector is a post that extends inside the crimp bead (string 112, which is described in ¶ 0057 as being flexible or not being flexible and an inflexible short string is a post), and a decorative attachment member (tip portion 34 of hair bundle 22) is coupled to the post in a permanent manner (Figure 8B; ¶ 0057), and the crimp bead is crimped down onto a filament and the post to trap the posit in position around the filament (tube 20 is described in ¶ 0030 as being installed by crimping it onto the hair (or filament) and therefore the crimp bead is crimped down onto the hair and the string 112 running through the center as shown in Figure 8B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 and Hochi to make the crimping member be a crimp bead and the connector post extending inside the crimp bead such that the crimp bead is crimped on the post as taught by Tokko. This is a simple substitution of a well-known crimp bead for the tabbed- crimping member taught by DE 3722108. Furthermore, DE 3722108 is not explicit about how the plug or socket are connected to the crimping member, so crimping around the post of the plug element as taught by Tokko is a simple substitution of a known mechanism to connect the elements.
Regarding Claim 10, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. DE 3722108 does not explicitly describe how the crimping member is connected to the connector.
However, Tokko, in the same field of endeavor of connector assemblies for installing on hair (abstract), teaches a connector assembly (Figure 8B) wherein the connector (string 112, which is described in ¶ 0057 as being flexible or not being flexible) is an element that is positioned at least in part inside the crimping member (Figure 8B; ¶ 0057). The connector is positioned inside the crimping member to connect it to the crimping member using glue (¶ 0057) and furthering the connection by crimping the crimping member onto the connector (¶ 0030).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 and Hochi to make the connector be positioned at least in part inside the crimping member as taught by Tokko. DE 3722108 is not explicit about how the plug or socket are connected to the crimping member, so crimping around the post of the plug element as taught by Tokko is a simple substitution of a known mechanism to connect the elements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3722108 and Hochi (JP H0681205 A) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kim (KR20060097541), hereinafter Kim-2006.
Regarding Claim 8, DE 3722108 and Hochi teach the connector assembly of claim 1, as presented above. DE 3722108 teaches the male and female members being a plug and socket configuration, but does not teach further details of the exact shapes.
However, Kim-2006, in the same field of endeavor of removable hair extensions (abstract), teaches a removable hair extension (Figure 5, extension hair 130; Figure 6, extension hair 230) where the removable extension is connected to the crimping member (hair extension fixing member) through the interaction of a post having a bead positioned at an end thereof (connection member 137 is wider at end to form bead and narrower at body 138; Figure 5) or a male member having extending prongs for coupling with a female member (connection member 237; Figure 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 and Hochi to include the connector being of one of the male shapes as taught by Kim-2006. These are simple substitutions of known arrangements and shapes for those that are not explicitly described or presented in DE 3722108.
Claims 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tokko (US 20100059079) in view of Kim (KR20060097541), hereinafter Kim-2006.
Regarding Claim 13, Tokko teaches a connector assembly for installing on a filament, such as hair, (extension hair piece 10, as shown in embodiments in Figures 8B-C) comprising:
a crimping member for crimping around a filament (tube 20; ¶ 30);
a connector linked to the crimping member (string 112 or 122, which ¶ 57 states “may be or may not be flexible”) ; and
a decoration attachment member coupled to the connector (tip portion 34 of hair bundle 22),
wherein the connector assembly is substantially permanently attached to the filament (¶ 30),
the connector is a post (string 112 or 122 could be considered a post, especially if made not flexible as provided for in ¶ 57) that is coupled at one end thereof to the crimping member so that when the crimping member is crimped on a filament, the post is substantially permanently coupled to the filament (string 112 and 122 are inside the tube 20 so when tube 20 is crimped the string is also substantially permanently coupled to the tube and the hair),
with the decoration attachment member including an opening for connection of a decorative member (bottom tip portion 34 where the plurality of extension hair strands extend from, with the hair strands being the decorative member; ¶ 31 provides for this tip portion being a clipping device).
Tokko does not explicitly teach the decoration attachment member is a female member that clips onto the post.
However, Kim-2006, in the same field of endeavor of hair extensions (abstract), teaches a removable hair extension (Figure 5, extension hair 130) where the removable extension is connected to the crimping member (hair extension fixing member) through the interaction of a post (connection member 137) and a female member that clips onto the post (connection hole 125). Kim-2006 teaches making the hair extension removable so the extension can be removed for sleep or washing or to change the look, such as for a new color (translation page 4 second paragraph).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by Tokko to make the decorative portion removable as taught by Kim-2006 in order to be able to remove the extension for sleep, cleaning, or changing the look (Kim-2006 translation page 4 second paragraph). Since the connection taught by Kim-2006 includes a post and a female member, it would be obvious to make the connector taught by Tokko that extends through the crimping member be the post of the connection and then the decoration attachment member is a female member that clips onto the post via a connection hole taught by Kim-2006.
Regarding Claim 16, Tokko and Kim-2006 teach the connector assembly of claim 13, as presented above. Tokko further teaches wherein the post is positioned inside the crimping member (string 112, 122 made not flexible as taught by ¶ 57, shown in Figures 8B-C as being inside tube 20).
Regarding Claim 17, Tokko and Kim-2006 teach the connector assembly of claim 13, as presented above. Kim further teaches wherein the female member has an opening in an upper end thereof for attaching to a bottom end of the post along the longitudinal axis of the post (connector hole 127 is the female member and it is an opening that attaches along the longitudinal axis of the post because it is pressed onto the post; translation page 4 last paragraph). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to put this female member at the upper end of the decoration attachment member so the hair extension is hung in one direction with as much length as possible.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokko (US 20100059079) in view of Kim (KR20060097541), hereinafter Kim-2006, and alternatively in further in view of Wilson (US 20090056730).
Regarding Claim 14, Tokko and Kim-2006 teach the connector assembly of claim 13, as presented above. Kim-2006 further teaches the post has a bead positioned at the bottom end thereof, with the bead having a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the post (connection member 137 is wider at end to form bead and narrower at body 138), and the decoration attachment member is a cuff (connection hole 125 wraps around the post, therefore acting as a cuff on the post by surrounding the post), and the cuff has a press-fit when installed on the post (connection member 137 is press-fit into connection hole 125 to install it).
Kim-2006 teaches the post having a wider spherical end and a body the approximate size of the connection hole so that the post can securely couple to the hole, or female member (translation page 4, bottom half of page with description of Figure 5), therefore it would be obvious to include that feature on the post in order to make the connection between the connector and decoration attachment member secure.
However, if the hole as taught by Kim-2006 is not considered to be an inner indentation for accepting the bead, Wilson, in the same field of endeavor of hair extensions (abstract), teaches a removable hair extension (Figure 3) with a post with a bead on the end (universal mount 70) and a decoration attachment member with cuff (base 64’ surrounds the narrow part of the post behind the bead of universal mount 70 therefore it is a cuff) that has an inner indentation (recess 65) fir accepting the bead (Figure 3), and the cuff has a press-fit when install on the post (¶ 25).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by Tokko and Kim-2006 to include the decoration attachment member having an indentation rather than a hole as taught by Wilson. This is a simple substitution of a cup or recess for a hole; one may be motivated to make such a modification to avoid a void in the portion of the decoration attachment member that connects to the connector or post, which may strengthen the piece.
Regarding Claim 15, Tokko, Kim-2006, and Wilson, teach the connector assembly of claim 14, as presented above.
Tokko further teaches parts of the connector assembly being made of a plastic material, and that “skilled artisan in the relevant technology would appreciate various characteristics of materials and would be able to choose proper materials” (¶ 44), therefore it would be obvious to try a plastic material for the post and decorative attachment member.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3722108 (foreign patent and machine translation provided with previous office action) in view of Kim (KR20060097541), hereinafter Kim-2006.
Regarding Claim 18, DE 3722108 teaches a connector assembly for installing on a filament (Figure 9; translation page 2 2nd-4th paragraphs and translation page 6), such as hair (hair strand 23), comprising:
a crimping member (seal-like extension 24) for crimping around a filament (translation page 6 3rd paragraph);
a connector (plug element 28 with plug 31; claim 8 (mislabeled in translation at claim 6) states “the head hair element is a plug or socket element and the foreign hair element is a complementary […] element” therefore DE 3722108 teaches the connector linked to the crimping member as being either a plug or socket) formed with the crimping member (Figure 9; translation page 6 3rd to 6th paragraph; claim 8) and being an elongated male member (plug 31); and
a decoration attachment member (socket element 25 with socket 26; claim 8 teaches the socket and plug being on either member as explained above) coupled to the connector (Figure 9; translation page 6 3rd to 6th paragraph; claim 8) via an opening disposed in the decoration attachment member (socket 26), with the male member being sized and shaped to be retained inside the opening disposed in the decoration attachment member in a removable manner (translation page 6, 5th paragraph),
wherein the connector assembly is substantially permanently attached to the filament (translation page 6 3rd to 6th paragraph).
DE 3722108 teaches the male and female members being a plug and socket configuration, but does not teach further details of the exact shapes and therefore does not teach the male member having a bulbous end. DE 3722108 also is not explicit about how the connector and crimping member are attached to each other, therefore it does not explicitly teach them being integrally formed.
However, Kim-2006, in the same field of endeavor of removable hair extensions (abstract), teaches a removable hair extension (Figure 5, extension hair 130) where the removable extension is connected to the crimping member (hair extension fixing member) through the interaction of an elongated male member having a bulbous end opposite where it is attached (connection member 137 is wider at end to form bead and narrower at body 138) and a female member that couples to the bulbous end of the connector via an opening disposed in the decoration attachment member (connection hole 125). Additionally, the portion of the connecting interacting members that is attached to the crimping member in Kim-2006 is integrally formed with the crimping member (Figure 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 to include the connector being integrally formed with the crimping member and the plug that is the connector being an elongated male member with a bulbous end, both as taught by Kim-2006. These are simple substitutions of known arrangements and shapes for those that are not explicitly described or presented in DE 3722108.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3722108 and Kim (KR20060097541), hereinafter Kim-2006, as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Hochi (JP H0681205 A).
Regarding Claim 19, DE 3722108 and Kim-2006 teach the connector assembly of claim 18, as presented above. Both DE 3722108 and Kim-2006 teach the decoration attachment member being directly attached to a decorative member, but do not explicitly teach the decoration attachment member including a loop that permit coupling.
However, Hochi, in the related field of endeavor of detachable hair decorating elements with a plug and socket connection (abstract, Figure 1), teaches a connector assembly (hook 8) comprising a male connector with a bulbous end (convex member 7 with projecting portion 7a) and a female decoration attachment member (concave member 3 with receiving portion 3a) wherein the decoration attachment member (concave member 3 with receiving portion 3a and hole portion 3b) includes a loop (loops created by thread 4 wrapped around hole portions 3b and through wig 1) that permits coupling to a decorative member (thread 4 couples wig 1 onto concave member 3 by forming loops through the wig), wherein the loop is a wire, a ring, or a string (thread 4). Hochi teaches the female decoration attachment member having loops (formed by thread 4 through hole portion 3b) for coupling the decorative member (wig 1 is sewn onto the concave member 3 using thread 4 through hole portions 3b, see Figure 1 and “Detailed Description of Preferred Embodiment”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as taught by DE 3722108 and Kim-2006 to include the decoration attachment member having loops formed by the thread coupling on the decorative member as taught by Hochi. DE 3722108 teaches that other means of attaching the decoration members are known in the art and Hochi teaches such a known means of attachment via sewing through holes in the attachment member and therefore creating loops. This modification would be a simple substitution of a solid attachment member that allows for gluing on of the decoration for one with loops for sewing on of a decoration. One would be motivated to make this change to allow the connection assembly to utilized with addition additional decorations or foreign hair elements, as many are available that may not come readily attached to the decoration attachment member or that are not able to be glued to such.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER P CONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772