Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 3A & 3B should state “start” at the beginning of the flowcharts and not “star”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: In lines 3 & 4 the recitation “connection ports of remaining of the battery modules” is confusing and should be rewritten for clearer interpretation of the intended limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
next-stage device
1, 2, 4, 12, & 15
Server, electric power supply system, electric power supply system, or device requiring battery backup (¶0027)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7-14, & 17-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-10, & 16-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,589,269 B2 in view of Xie et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2022/228540 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the table below:
Instant Application 18/202,288
U.S. Patent No. 12,589,269
12. A control method of suppressing spread of battery fire, applied to an energy storage device, and the energy storage device comprising a plurality of battery modules; the battery modules respectively comprising a plurality of battery packs arranged in an accommodation space, a plurality of temperature sensors dispersedly arranged in the accommodation space, and the control method comprising:
determining whether an ambient temperature detected by one of the temperature sensors being greater than or equal to a first specific temperature range, and providing a first control signal to enter an energy transfer mode when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first specific temperature range, and the energy transfer mode comprising a step of:
transferring a battery capacity of a battery module that provides the first control signal to a backup energy storage module, wherein the backup energy storage module comprises at least one battery module other than the battery module, or the next-stage device.
17. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 12, wherein the energy transfer mode further comprises steps of:
(b) determining whether a parameter corresponding to the battery module satisfies a specific condition, and
(c) stop transferring the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module to exit the energy transfer mode when the parameter satisfies the specific condition.
18. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 17, wherein the parameter is set to be the ambient temperature, the specific condition is set to be a second specific temperature range, and the energy transfer mode further comprises steps of:
(b1-1) determining whether the temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is less than or equal to a second temperature difference threshold when the second specific temperature range is the second temperature difference threshold, and
(b1-2) determining the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the temperature difference is less than or equal to the second temperature difference threshold, or
(b2-1) determining whether the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is less than or equal to a second temperature threshold when the second specific temperature range is the second temperature threshold, and
(b2-2) determining the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the second temperature threshold, or
(b3-1) determining whether the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to a third temperature threshold when the second specific temperature range is the third temperature threshold, and
(b3-2) determining the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the ambient temperature is greater than or equal to the third temperature threshold.
1. A control method of suppressing spread of battery fire, applied to a battery module comprising a case, and the battery module further comprises a plurality of battery packs connected in series or in parallel, a plurality of temperature sensors dispersedly configured to an accommodation space of the case, an energy consumption module, and the control method comprising:
determining whether an ambient temperature detected by one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to a first specific temperature range, and activating the energy consumption module to enter an energy consumption mode when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first specific temperature range, and the energy consumption mode comprises steps of:
(a) controlling the energy consumption module to consume the battery capacity of at least one battery pack around one of the temperature sensors,
(b) determining whether a parameter corresponding to the at least one battery pack satisfy a specific condition, and
(c) controlling the energy consumption module to stop consuming the battery capacity of the at least one battery pack to exit the energy consumption mode when the parameter satisfies the specific condition,
wherein the parameter is set to be the ambient temperature, the specific condition is set to be a second specific temperature range, and the energy consumption mode further comprises:
(b1-1) determining whether the temperature difference of the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is less than or equal to a second temperature difference threshold when the second specific temperature range is the second temperature difference threshold, and
(b1-2) determining the parameter satisfy the specific condition when the temperature difference is less than or equal to the second temperature difference threshold, or
(b2-1) determining whether the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is less than or equal to a second temperature threshold when the second specific temperature range is the second temperature threshold, and
(b2-2) determining the parameter satisfy the specific condition when the ambient temperature is less than or equal to the second temperature threshold, or
(b3-1) determining whether the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to a third temperature threshold when the second specific temperature range is the third temperature threshold, and
(b3-2) determining the parameter satisfy the specific condition when the ambient temperature is greater than or equal to the third temperature threshold.
13. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature difference threshold, and the control method further comprising:
determining whether a temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold, and
entering the energy transfer mode when the temperature difference is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold.
2. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature difference threshold, and the control method further comprises:
determining whether a temperature difference of the ambient temperature detecting by the temperature sensor and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold, and
entering the energy consumption mode when the temperature difference is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold.
14. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature threshold, and the control method further comprising:
determining whether the ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold, and
entering the energy transfer mode when the ambient temperature is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold.
3. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature threshold, and the control method further comprises:
determining whether the ambient temperature detecting by the temperature sensor is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold, and
entering the energy consumption mode when the ambient temperature is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold.
19. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 17, wherein the parameter is set to be battery voltages, and the specific condition is set to be a voltage threshold, and the energy transfer mode further comprises steps of:
(b4-1) determining whether the battery voltages of the battery packs are less than or equal to the voltage threshold, and
(b4-2) determining the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the battery voltages are less than or equal to the voltage threshold.
8. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 1, wherein the parameter is set to be a battery voltage, the specific condition is set to be a voltage threshold, and the energy consumption mode further comprises:
(b4-1) determining whether the battery voltage of the at least one battery pack is less than or equal to the voltage threshold, and
(b4-2) determining the parameter satisfy the specific condition when the battery voltage is less than or equal to the voltage threshold.
20. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 17, wherein the parameter is set to be a transfer time, and the specific condition is set to be a time threshold, and the energy transfer mode further comprises steps of:
(b5-1) determining whether the transfer time of the battery capacity of the battery module is greater than or equal to the time threshold, and
(b5-2) determining the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the transfer time is greater than or equal to the time threshold.
9. The control method of suppressing spread of battery fire as claimed in claim 1, wherein the parameter is set be to an energy consumption time, the specific condition is set to be a time threshold, and the energy consumption mode further comprises:
(b5-1) determining whether the energy consumption time of the energy consumption module for the at least one battery pack is greater than or equal to the time threshold, and
(b5-2) determining the parameter satisfy the specific condition when the energy consumption time is greater than or equal to the time threshold.
1. An energy storage device for suppressing spread of battery fire coupled to a next-stage device, the energy storage device comprising:
a control module coupled to the next-stage device, and
a plurality of battery modules respectively coupled to the control module and the next-stage device,
the control module configured to control the battery modules to supply power to the next-stage device,
the battery modules respectively comprising:
an accommodation space,
a plurality of battery packs arranged in the accommodation space,
a plurality of temperature sensors dispersedly arranged in the accommodation space, and
the temperature sensors configured to respectively detect an ambient temperature around the temperature sensors, and
a controller coupled to the temperature sensors, and the controller configured to provide a first control signal to notify the control module when the ambient temperature detected by one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to a first specific temperature range,
wherein the control module is configured to transfer a battery capacity of a battery module providing the first control signal to a backup energy storage module, and the backup energy storage module comprises at least one battery module other than the battery module sending the first control signal, or the next-stage device.
10. A battery module capable of suppressing spread of battery fire and configured to perform the control method of claim 1, the battery module comprising:
a case forming an accommodation space,
a plurality of battery packs accommodated in the accommodation space,
a plurality of temperature sensors dispersedly arranged in the accommodation space, and
the temperature sensors configured to respectively detect an ambient temperature around arrangement locations, an energy consumption module, and
a controller coupled to the temperature sensors, the controller configured to control the energy consumption module to consume a battery capacity of at least one battery pack around one of the temperature sensors when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to a first specific temperature range.
7. The energy storage device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature difference threshold, the controller is configured to provide the first control signal based on a temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors being greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold, or
wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to provide the first control signal when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold.
16. The battery module as claimed in claim 10,
wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature difference threshold, the controller is configured to control the energy consumption module to consume the battery capacity of the at least one battery pack when a temperature difference of the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold, or
wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to control the energy consumption module to consume the battery capacity of the at least one battery pack based on the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors being greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold.
8. The energy storage device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to provide a fourth control signal to notify the control module when the controller determines that a parameter corresponding to the battery module satisfies a specific condition, and
the control module is configured to stop transferring the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module based on the fourth control signal.
17. The battery module as claimed in claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to control the at least one battery pack to be disconnected from the energy consumption module when the controller determines that a parameter corresponding to the at least one battery pack satisfies a specific condition.
9. The energy storage device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the parameter is the ambient temperature, and the specific condition is a second specific temperature range,
wherein the second specific temperature range is a second temperature difference threshold, the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on a temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors being less than or equal to the second temperature difference threshold,
wherein the second specific temperature range is a second temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors being less than or equal to the second temperature threshold, or
wherein the second specific temperature range is a third temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors being greater than or equal to the third temperature threshold.
18. The battery module as claimed in claim 17, wherein the parameter is the ambient temperature, and the specific condition is a second specific temperature range,
wherein the second specific temperature range is a second temperature difference threshold, the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition when a temperature difference of the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is less than or equal to the second temperature difference threshold,
wherein the second specific temperature range is a second temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is less than or equal to the second temperature threshold, or
wherein the second specific temperature range is a third temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the third temperature threshold.
10. The energy storage device as claimed in claim 8, the battery modules further respectively comprise:
a plurality of voltage sensors respectively coupled to the battery packs and the controller, configured to respectively detect battery voltages of the battery packs,
wherein the parameter is the battery voltages, and
the specific condition is a voltage threshold,
the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the battery voltages of the battery packs being less than or equal to the voltage threshold.
19. The battery module as claimed in claim 17, further comprising:
a plurality of voltage sensors respectively coupled to the battery packs and the controller, configured to respectively detect a battery voltage of the battery packs,
wherein the parameter is the battery voltage, and
the specific condition is a voltage threshold,
the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the battery voltage of the at least one battery pack is less than or equal to the voltage threshold.
11. The energy storage device as claimed in claim 8,
wherein the parameter is a transfer time, and
the specific condition is a time threshold,
the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the transfer time of the battery capacity of the battery module being transferred is greater than or equal to the time threshold.
20. The battery module as claimed in claim 10,
wherein the parameter is an energy consumption time, and
the specific condition is a time threshold,
the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition when the energy consumption time for the at least one battery pack by the energy consumption module is greater than or equal to the time threshold.
The conflicting claims of Instant Application 12/202,288 differ from those of U.S. Patent No. 12,589,269 in that Claims 1 & 12 of the Instant Application includes a plurality of battery modules, a control module, and a next-stage device, where the energy consumption mode is a transfer of energy to either another battery module or the next-stage device, whereas U.S. Patent No. 12,589,269 is a single battery module with an energy consumer for consuming energy in the energy consumption mode.
However, Xie (Fig.2) teaches an energy storage device (10) for suppressing spread of battery fire coupled to a next-stage device (20; ¶0166: load circuit may be a server or electrical device), the energy storage device comprising:
a control module (130) coupled to the next-stage device (¶0045: battery management device/130 transfers charge to load circuit/20 indicating communication between the load and battery management device), and
a plurality of battery modules (110) respectively coupled to the control module and the next-stage device, the control module configured to control the battery modules to supply power to the next-stage device (¶0045: target cell group powers the load),
wherein the control module is configured to transfer a battery capacity of a battery module (¶0153/0154: cell A experienced thermal runaway, determine target battery cell group) providing the first control signal to a backup energy storage module, and the backup energy storage module comprises at least one battery module other than the battery module sending the first control signal, or the next-stage device (¶0155: target cell group is discharged to the load circuit or other cells in the battery system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 12,589,269 to provide an energy storage device comprising a plurality of battery modules, a control module, and a next-stage device, where the energy consumption mode is a transfer of energy to either another battery module or the next-stage device. Doing so allows for a larger energy storage system for a device which requires stored energy, which conserves energy by either storing it in another battery module or providing it to a system requiring energy, instead of discharging it through an energy consumer.
Furthermore, the invention of U.S. Patent No. 12,589,269 in view of Xie teaches the claimed invention except for the control module of the energy storage device, taught by Xie, determines the parameters satisfy specific conditions and the ambient temperature detected is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold, rather than the battery module controllers performing these determinations, as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to move the determination steps from the control module to the controllers since it was known in the art that moving a determination process from the control module to the controller reduces the processing demand on the control module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 & 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2022/228540 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 & 12, Xie (Fig.2) teaches an energy storage device (10) for suppressing spread of battery fire coupled to a next-stage device (20; ¶0166: load circuit may be a server or electrical device), the energy storage device comprising:
a control module (130) coupled to the next-stage device (¶0045: battery management device/130 transfers charge to load circuit/20 indicating communication between the load and battery management device), and
a plurality of battery modules (110) respectively coupled to the control module and the next-stage device, the control module configured to control the battery modules to supply power to the next-stage device (¶0045: target cell group powers the load), the battery modules respectively comprising:
an accommodation space (¶0103: battery module includes at least two cells, indicating the presence of an accommodation space),
a plurality of battery packs (¶0103: at least two cells in series) arranged in the accommodation space,
a plurality of temperature sensors (¶0143: thermal runaway index monitoring values of cell A, indicating per cell monitoring, which includes monitoring of temperature) dispersedly arranged in the accommodation space, and the temperature sensors configured to respectively detect an ambient temperature (¶0129: ambient temperature) around the temperature sensors, and
a controller (120; ¶0140: battery detection sub-modules) coupled to the temperature sensors,
wherein the control module is configured to transfer a battery capacity of a battery module (¶0153/0154: cell A experienced thermal runaway, determine target battery cell group) providing the first control signal to a backup energy storage module, and the backup energy storage module comprises at least one battery module other than the battery module sending the first control signal, or the next-stage device (¶0155: target cell group is discharged to the load circuit or other cells in the battery system).
Xie fails to explicitly teach the controller configured to provide a first control signal to notify the control module when the ambient temperature detected by one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to a first specific temperature range, but does teach the control module performing this determination (¶0143: battery management device 130 receives the monitoring values and then when the monitoring value of the thermal runaway index is greater than or equal to a preset threshold a determination of thermal runaway is made)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to move the determination from the control module to the controller since it was known in the art that moving a determination process from the control module to the controller reduces the processing demand on the control module.
Regarding Claim 2, Xie further teaches wherein the battery modules further respectively comprise:
a connection port coupled to the next-stage device and connection ports of remaining of the battery modules through a power bus (Fig.2, connection between modules 110 and load 20),
a discharge circuit (Fig.10, DCDC1; ¶0166: voltage converter) coupled to the battery packs and the connection port, and configured to convert an energy storage power provided by the battery packs into a DC power supply, so as to provide the DC power to the power bus through the connection port (¶0166: voltage converter transfers energy from cells to the load circuit), and
a charge circuit (Fig.10, 140/DCDC2s) coupled to the battery packs and the connection port, and configured to convert the DC power into the energy storage power to charge the battery packs (¶0178: bidirectional DC-DC transformers; ¶0182: charge transferred from one cell group to other cells in the system).
Xie fails to explicitly teach the control module is configured to provide a second control signal to the controller of the battery module based on the first control signal, and the controller of the battery module is configured to control the discharge circuit of the battery module to convert the energy storage power into the DC power based on the second control signal, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module.
Xie discloses the claimed invention except for the control module is configured to control the discharge circuit of the battery module to convert the energy storage power into the DC power, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module based on the first control signal, instead of sending a second control signal to the controller of the battery module which controls the discharge circuit of the battery module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to have the control module send a second signal to the controller which is configured to control the discharge circuit of the battery module since it was known in the art that moving a control process from the control module to the controller reduces the processing demand on the control module.
Regarding Claim 3, Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the control module is configured to provide a third control signal to the controller of the at least one battery module based on the first control signal, and the controller of the at least one battery module is configured to control the charge circuit of the at least one battery module to convert the DC power into the energy storage power based on the third control signal, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the at least one battery module.
Xie discloses the claimed invention except for the control module is configured to control the charge circuit of the at least one battery module to convert the DC power into the energy storage power, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the at least one battery module based on the first control signal, instead of sending a third control signal to the controller of the battery module which controls the charge circuit of the at least one battery module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to have the control module send a third signal to the controller which is configured to control the charge circuit of the at least one battery module since it was known in the art that moving a control process from the control module to the controller reduces the processing demand on the control module.
Regarding Claim 4, Xie teaches wherein the controller of the battery module is configured to control the discharge circuit of the battery module to provide the DC power to the next-stage device based on the second control signal, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the next-stage device (as disclosed in the rejection of claims 1 & 2 above, controller of the battery module controls the discharge of the battery module cells, claim 2 rejection, and discharging power is provided to the load, claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 5, Xie further teaches wherein the controller is configured to transfer the battery capacity by increasing an output voltage of the DC power output by the discharge circuit (current flows from higher potential/voltage to lower potential/voltage and therefore for a battery cell to discharge to another cell in the system, or to the load, the DC power output would need to be increased).
Regarding Claim 6, Xie further teaches wherein the controller is configured to transfer the battery capacity by respectively controlling the discharge circuit and the charge circuit to be enabled or disabled (as disclosed in the rejection of claims 2 & 3, the controller controls the discharge and charge circuits, including enabling or disabling them).
Regarding Claims 7 & 14, Xie further teaches wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature difference threshold, the controller is configured to provide the first control signal based on a temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors being greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold, or
wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to provide the first control signal when the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold (¶0143: when the monitoring value of the thermal runaway index is greater than or equal to a preset threshold a determination of thermal runaway is made; ¶0143: thermal runaway index monitoring values of cell A which includes monitoring of temperature).
Regarding Claims 8 & 17, Xie further teaches the control module is configured to stop transferring the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module (¶0198: spread of thermal runaway is suppressed, e.g. discharging is no longer needed for the target cells needing to discharge, when the target SOC is reached).
Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to provide a fourth control signal to notify the control module when the controller determines that a parameter corresponding to the battery module satisfies a specific condition, and the control module is configured to stop transferring the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module based on the fourth control signal.
Xie discloses the claimed invention except for the control module is configured to determine that a parameter corresponding to the battery module satisfies a specific condition, instead of the controller making the determination and sending a fourth control signal to the control module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to have the controller send a fourth signal to the control module when the controller determines a parameter of the battery module satisfies a specific condition since it was known in the art that moving a control process from the control module to the controller reduces the processing demand on the control module.
Regarding Claims 9 & 18, Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the parameter is the ambient temperature, and the specific condition is a second specific temperature range,
wherein the second specific temperature range is a second temperature difference threshold, the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on a temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors being less than or equal to the second temperature difference threshold,
wherein the second specific temperature range is a second temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors being less than or equal to the second temperature threshold, or
wherein the second specific temperature range is a third temperature threshold, and the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors being greater than or equal to the third temperature threshold.
However, Xie uses the measured ambient temperature as a parameter and specific temperature threshold as a condition for determining thermal runaway is occurring (¶0148).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Xie to use the ambient temperature of as the parameter and the second temperature range/second temperature threshold as the specific condition for determining when the temperature is less than or equal to the second temperature threshold. Doing so would provide the indication that thermal runaway has subsided in the battery module, thus the risk of thermal runaway has subsided, and the remaining battery modules can return to their normal control method for supplying power to the load rather than prioritized as discharge targets for the battery module that experienced thermal runaway.
Regarding Claims 10 & 19, Xie further teaches the battery modules further respectively comprise: a plurality of voltage sensors respectively coupled to the battery packs and the controller (¶0009: battery management device determines voltage change of cells, indicating voltage sensors for battery packs and connection), configured to respectively detect battery voltages of the battery packs.
Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the parameter is the battery voltages, and the specific condition is a voltage threshold, the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the battery voltages of the battery packs being less than or equal to the voltage threshold.
Xie teaches the claimed invention except that it uses SOC values for the parameter and the specific condition is an SOC threshold and not voltage values and a voltage threshold. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use voltage values and a voltage threshold, instead of SOC, since it was known in the art that SOC calculations may require additional measurements or calculations to be accurate and a voltage value measured directly would provide a faster determination by avoiding the time needed for the SOC calculation.
Regarding Claims 11 & 20, Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the parameter is a transfer time, and the specific condition is a time threshold, the controller is configured to determine that the parameter satisfies the specific condition based on the transfer time of the battery capacity of the battery module being transferred is greater than or equal to the time threshold.
However, Xie teaches that a time threshold is determined based on the amount of electricity needing to be discharged (¶0196/0197: transfer time of transferring 10Ah of electricity is 180s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Xie to measure a discharging time of the battery cells being discharged until the discharging time exceeds the time threshold. Doing so would be functionally equivalent to the SOC measurement method described by Xie since the discharging time required is equivalent to the SOC reduction desired, and would avoid the processing delay of waiting on a measurement value.
Regarding Claim 15, Xie further teaches wherein the battery modules further comprise a discharge circuit and a charge circuit respectively (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2), and the control method of suppressing spread of battery fire further comprises steps of:
converting an energy storage power provided by the battery packs into a DC power supply, so as to provide the DC power to the next-stage device through a power bus (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12), and
converting the DC power into the energy storage power to charge the battery packs (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12),
wherein the energy transfer mode comprises steps of:
(a1) controlling the discharge circuit of the battery module to convert the energy storage power into the DC power supply, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the backup energy storage module (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12),
(a2) controlling the charge circuit of the at least one battery module to convert the DC power into the energy storage power, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the at least one battery module (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3); or
(a3) controlling the discharge circuit of the battery module to provide the DC power to the next-stage device, so as to transfer the battery capacity of the battery module to the next-stage device (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Xie further teaches wherein steps (a1) to (a3) further comprise steps of:
(a') transferring the battery capacity by increasing an output voltage of the DC power output by the discharge circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 5); or
(a") transferring the battery capacity by respectively controlling the discharge circuit and the charge circuit to be enabled or disabled (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 6).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, in view of Patey et al. (European Publication EP 3254884 A1 – published 2017).
Regarding Claim 13, Xie teaches wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature threshold, where it is determined that the ambient temperature detected by the one of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold (¶0143: when the monitoring value of the thermal runaway index is greater than or equal to a preset threshold a determination of thermal runaway is made; ¶0143: thermal runaway index monitoring values of cell A which includes monitoring of temperature).
Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the first specific temperature range is a first temperature difference threshold, and the control method further comprising:
determining whether a temperature difference between the ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and an ambient temperature detected by one of remaining of the temperature sensors is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold, and
entering the energy transfer mode when the temperature difference is greater than or equal to the first temperature difference threshold.
However, Patey teaches that it is known in the art that temperature differences within a battery may lead to thermal runaway (¶0073: temperature difference within the battery may result in significant disadvantages, which may lead to the danger of thermal runaways).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Xie with Patey to include a determination of thermal runaway occurring using a temperature difference threshold and ambient temperature difference compared with the threshold. Doing so would provide an additional metric to the control system for determining a battery is at risk or currently in a thermal runaway state, to improve the reliability of the battery system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gittleson (WIPO Publication 2020/244761 A1) teaches an energy storage device which reduces the impact of thermal runaway by reducing the state of charge of a battery and providing the power to a powered load.
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859