DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claim 2 remains withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the longitudinal single weaving lines" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear whether applicant refers “the longitudinal single weaving lines” to multiple single weaving lines extending in a first longitudinal weaving direction, in lines 3-4.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner in which “the longitudinal single weaving lines” in lines 8-9 refers to “multiple single weaving lines extending in a first longitudinal weaving direction” in lines 4-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li G et al. (CN 113566626A). Regarding claim 1, Li discloses (figure 1 and paragraph 2, background) a capillary mesh woven structure applied to and disposed in a two-phase fluid heat dissipation unit, the capillary woven mesh structure is formed of multiple single weaving lines (1) extending in a first longitudinal weaving direction and cooperative latitudinal line sets, each line set (3,4) being composed of multiple weaving lines (3,4) arranged in parallel contact with each other (see figure A, the term parallel contact is interpreted to be contact lines have parallel section), and extending in a second latitudinal weaving direction other, the longitudinal single weaving lines and the latitudinal line sets sequentially repeatedly intersecting and overlapping with each other, forming at least two flow guiding micro-passages at each intersection therebetween (see figure A), and being collocated and woven with each other to form the capillary woven mesh structure and enhance the capillary attraction and water collection ability thereof ( metal wires of different diameter to form multi-scale mesh, which effectively improve the capillary porosity and water content of the capillary absorbent core, paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses (figure 1 and figure A) that at least one of the latitudinal weaving lines of the latitudinal line sets has a circular cross section.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses that the longitudinal single weaving line (1) each have has a circular cross section. (first metal wire 1 has a diameter 10-100 microns).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Li discloses (figure 1 and figure A) that the latitudinal weaving lines of the latitudinal line sets respectively have different line diameters (line 3 and line 4 are different in diameter).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses (paragraph 20) that the longitudinal single weaving line and the latitudinal weavings lines of the latitudinal line sets are made of metal material.
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 1 with limitations shown.
Claims 1,3-5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu Hui-Qun (CN 2784857Y). Regarding claim 1, Xu-Hui Qun discloses (figures 2, 3 and background) a capillary mesh woven structure applied to and disposed in a two-phase fluid heat dissipation unit, the capillary woven mesh structure is formed of multiple single weaving lines (111) extending in a first longitudinal weaving direction and cooperative latitudinal line sets, each line set (110) being composed of multiple weaving lines (1100) arranged in parallel contact with each other (see figure 3), and extending in a second latitudinal weaving direction other, the longitudinal single weaving lines (111) and the latitudinal line sets (110) sequentially repeatedly intersecting and overlapping with each other, forming at least two flow guiding micro-passages at each intersection therebetween (the space or flow, see figure B), and being collocated and woven with each other to form the capillary woven mesh structure and enhance the capillary attraction and water collection ability thereof.
Regarding the term “longitudinal” or “latitudinal”, the terms can be used interchangeably depending on the orientation of the mesh. The orientation of the mesh does not change the operation of the mesh wicking structure. In this case, the examiner has interpreted the line 111 as a longitudinal line and line 1100 as latitudinal line, as they can be interpreted interchangeably depending on the orientation of the mesh.
Regarding claim 3, Xu Hui-Qun discloses (figure 4 or 5) that at least one of the latitudinal weaving lines of the latitudinal line sets has a circular cross section.
Regarding claim 4, Xu Hui-Qun discloses (figures 4-5) that the longitudinal single weaving line (111) each have has a circular cross section. (metal thread 111)
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Xu-Hui-Qun discloses (figure 1 and figure A) that the latitudinal weaving lines of the latitudinal line sets respectively have different line diameters. (lines 1110 can be composed of at least two kinds of different wire diameters, paragraph 23)
Regarding claim 7, Xu-Hui Qun discloses that the longitudinal single weaving line and the latitudinal weavings lines (111, 110) of the latitudinal line sets are made of metal material. (paragraph 21).
Figure B: the modified figure corresponds to figure 3 with limitation shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li G et al. (CN 113566626A) in view of Hirata K et al. (US 20110088877A1). Li G substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the capillary mesh woven structure is disposed in a two phase fluid heat dissipation unit, the two phase fluid heat dissipation unit including an upper plate and a lower plate, the upper plate being mated with the lower plate to together define a chamber, in which a working fluid is filled, the capillary mesh woven structure being disposed on an inner side of the lower plate of chamber (clam 8) and the heat dissipation unit is a vapor chamber (claim 9). Hirata K et al. discloses (figure 4 and paragraphs 98 and 121) that a mesh wick structure (7,8) is used to be placed in a heat dissipation unit (100) such as a vapor chamber (6), wherein the heat dissipation unit includes an upper plate (4) and a lower plate (3), the upper plate being mated with the lower plate to together define a chamber (6), in which a working fluid is filled, the capillary mesh woven structure being disposed on an inner side of the lower plate (3) of chamber for a purpose of enhancing the circulation of the working fluid from a condensation portion (C) to the evaporation portion (E) of the heat dissipation unit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hirata’s teaching in Li G’s device for a purpose of using a capillary mesh woven structure to enhance the circulation of the working fluid from a condensation portion to the evaporation portion of the heat dissipation unit. (figure 4 and paragraph 98)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Hui Qun in view of Hirata K et al. (US 20110088877A1). Xu, Hui-Qui substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the capillary mesh woven structure is disposed in a two phase fluid heat dissipation unit, the two phase fluid heat dissipation unit including an upper plate and a lower plate, the upper plate being mated with the lower plate to together define a chamber, in which a working fluid is filled, the capillary mesh woven structure being disposed on an inner side of the lower plate of chamber (clam 8) and the heat dissipation unit is a vapor chamber (claim 9). Hirata K et al. discloses (figure 4 and paragraphs 98 and 121) that a mesh wick structure (7,8) is used to be placed in a heat dissipation unit (100) such as a vapor chamber (6), wherein the heat dissipation unit includes an upper plate (4) and a lower plate (3), the upper plate being mated with the lower plate to together define a chamber (6), in which a working fluid is filled, the capillary mesh woven structure being disposed on an inner side of the lower plate (3) of chamber for a purpose of enhancing the circulation of the working fluid from a condensation portion (C) to the evaporation portion (E) of the heat dissipation unit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hirata’s teaching in Xu Hui-Qun’s device for a purpose of using a capillary mesh woven structure to enhance the circulation of the working fluid from a condensation portion to the evaporation portion of the heat dissipation unit. (figure 4 and paragraph 98)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li G et al. (CN 113566626A). Li G discloses substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that the line of the longitudinal single weaving line has a line diameter, which is greater than a sum of line diameters of the latitudinal weaving lines of the latitudinal line set. However, Li G discloses (paragraph 21-25) that the single weaving line (1) has a diameter of 10-100 microns; and the weaving lines (3,4) of the line set (2) are 10-20 microns and 20-100 microns, which can yield the sum of 30 microns to 120 microns (sum of the two) Since applicant has not disclosed any criticality or unexpected result for having the size of the single line is larger than the sum of the weaving lines, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a finite number of a diameter within the given range of the first single line between 10-100 such as 100 microns, and the sum of 80 microns (within the range 30 -120), so that the single line has a line diameter, which is larger than the sum of the line diameter of the weaving lines of the line set to obtain a wicking power of the mesh structure as desired (discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Conclusion
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763