Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 26th, 2023 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 14, drawn to a display device structure, in the reply filed on 09/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of making a display device structure, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/08/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 – 5, 9, and 11 – 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
These claims include multiple instance of grammatical errors and misspelled words, e.g., “conntact”, “achiving”, “opverlapping”, and “the the first openging”. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20170243898 A1).
Regarding independent claim 8, Kim teaches a display device comprising:
an oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 2; semiconductor layer SM and [0068] – [0069]);
a gate electrode (Fig. 2; gate electrode GE) facing the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 2);
a gate insulating layer (Fig. 2; second insulating layer 140) between the oxide semiconductor layer and the gate electrode (Fig. 2);
a light-shielding layer (Fig. 2; light blocking pattern 120) overlapping part of the oxide semiconductor layer in a plan view (Fig. 1);
a first insulating layer (Fig. 2; third insulating layer 150) covering the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 2), the gate electrode (Fig. 2), the first insulating layer including a first opening (Fig. 2; opening wherein connection electrode CNE is disposed) overlapping the light- shielding layer in a plan view (Figs. 1, 2, and 7); and
a transparent conductive layer (Fig. 2; connection electrode CNE. See [0081]) arranged above the first insulating layer and connected to the oxide semiconductor layer via the first opening (Fig. 2), wherein
the transparent conductive layer extends in a first direction from an area overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view beyond an end portion of the light-shielding layer and is separated from the end portion of the light-shielding layer (Figs. 1, 2, and 7), and
an end portion of the first opening is positioned from the end portion of the light-shielding layer in the first direction side with respect to an end portion of the transparent conductive layer in a plan view (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 8, wherein
the first opening overlaps the light-shielding layer in an area larger than half of the first opening in a plan view (Kim: Fig. 7).
Regarding dependent claim 14, teaches the display device according to claim 8, wherein
the light-shielding layer protrudes in the first direction in an area overlapping the first opening in a plan view (Kim: Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 9, and 12 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim et al. (US 20170243898 A1), further in view of Na et al. (US 20140138772 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches a display device comprising:
an oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 2; semiconductor layer SM and [0068] – [0069]);
a gate electrode (Fig. 2; gate electrode GE) facing the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 2);
a gate insulating layer (Fig. 2; second insulating layer 140) between the oxide semiconductor layer and the gate electrode (Fig. 2);
a light-shielding layer (Fig. 2; light blocking pattern 120) overlapping part of the oxide semiconductor layer in a plan view (Fig. 1);
a first insulating layer (Fig. 2; third insulating layer 150) covering the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 2), the gate electrode (Fig. 2), and the gate insulating layer (Fig. 2), the first insulating layer including a first opening (Fig. 2; opening wherein connection electrode CNE is disposed) including a first side wall overlapping the light-shielding layer and …
a transparent conductive layer (Fig. 2; connection electrode CNE. See [0081]) arranged above the first insulating layer and connected to the oxide semiconductor layer via the first opening (Fig. 2), wherein the transparent conductive layer is arranged in an area overlapping the first side wall in a plan view (Fig. 2), and
the transparent conductive layer is not arranged in at least part in an area overlapping the second side wall in a plan view (Fig. 2).
However, Kim remains silent regarding the display device wherein the first insulating layer includes:
… a second side wall not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view; and …
However, in the same field of endeavor, Na teaches a drain electrode 174 connected to a pixel electrode, similar to the instant transparent conductive layer and Kim’s connection electrode CNE. Further, Na teaches that the contact hole 168, wherein Na’s drain electrode 174 is disposed, includes a sidewall overlapping the light blocking member 124 (Fig. 1; light blocking member 124 and [0038]. Examiner is considering the light blocking member 124 to be analogous to the instant light-shielding layer), and a sidewalls not overlapping the light blocking member 124 (Fig. 1). Thus, examiner asserts that it would be trivial to modify Kim’s display device in a way such that Na’s feature wherein the first opening including a second side wall not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view may be implemented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kim’s transistor structure to include Na’s structure of a via including a second side wall not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kim’s opening is comparable to Na’s opening because they both permit a transparent electrode to connect a pixel electrode to a transistor structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s transistor structure to include Na’s structure of a via including a second side wall not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view with the predictable result of having the opening only partially overlap the light shielding structure.
As an additional comment, examiner understands the meaning of “cover” to include the meaning of either over a top portion, a bottom portion, and/or a side portion.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 1; further comprising
… the transparent conductive layer is in connect with the first side wall (Fig. 2), …
However, Kim remains silent regarding the display device further comprising:
a second insulating layer covering a top surface of the first insulating layer and the first opening, wherein …
and the second insulating layer covers the transparent conductive layer and the second side wall.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Na teaches upper gate insulation film 146 (analogous to Kim’s third insulating layer 150); wherein Na teaches a second insulating layer (Na: Fig. 1; passivation film 164) covering a top surface of the first insulating layer (Na: Fig. 1) and the first opening (Na: Fig. 1) and the second insulating layer covers the transparent conductive layer (Na: Fig. 1) and the second side wall (Na: Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kim’s display structure to include Na’s second insulation layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s display structure as modified by Na’s second insulation layer can yield a predictable result of providing a passivation layer, as disclosed by Na, since passivation layers are known structures in the art to protect semiconductor devices from damage by providing a durable insulation layer. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 2, further comprising
a pixel electrode (Kim: Fig. 2; pixel electrode PE) arranged above the second insulating layer (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na), wherein
the second insulating layer has a second opening (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na) achiving the transparent conductive layer (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na), and
the pixel electrode is connected to the transparent conductive layer via the second opening (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 1, wherein
the first opening overlaps the light-shielding layer in an area larger than half of the first opening in a plan view (Kim: Fig. 7).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 1, wherein
the light-shielding layer protrudes in a direction from the first side wall toward the second side wall in an area overlapping the first opening in a plan view (yielded through the combination of Kim and Na. See Fig. 1 of Na).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Kim, further in view of Na, to include the structure wherein the light-shielding layer protrudes in a direction from the first side wall toward the second side wall in an area overlapping the first opening in a plan view, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, the light shielding layer’s placement relative to the transistor structure in Na’s disclosure is comparable to Kim’s light shielding layer’s placement relative to the transistor structure because the via connecting the pixel electrode and transistor, which overlaps the light shielding layer. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim, further in view of Na, to include the structure wherein the light-shielding layer protrudes in a direction from the first side wall toward the second side wall in an area overlapping the first opening in a plan view with the predictable result of having the light shielding layer cover other portions of the transistor.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 8, further comprising
… the transparent conductive layer is in contact with a side wall of the first opening in an area opverlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view (Figs. 1, 2, and 7), …
However, Kim remains silent regarding the display device including:
a second insulating layer covering a top surface of the first insulating layer and the the first openging, wherein … and
the second insulating layer covers the transparent conductive layer in an area overlapping the light-shielding layer and covers the side wall of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Na teaches upper gate insulation film 146 (analogous to Kim’s third insulating layer 150); wherein Na teaches a second insulating layer (Na: Fig. 1; passivation film 164) covering a top surface of the first insulating layer (Na: Fig. 1) and the first opening (Na: Fig. 1) and the second insulating layer covers the transparent conductive layer in an area overlapping the light-shielding layer (Na: Fig. 1) and covers the side wall of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view (Na: Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kim’s display structure to include Na’s second insulation layer, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kim’s display structure as modified by Na’s second insulation layer can yield a predictable result of providing a passivation layer, as disclosed by Na, since passivation layers are known structures in the art to protect semiconductor devices from damage by providing a durable insulation layer. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 9, further comprising
a pixel electrode (Kim: Fig. 2; pixel electrode PE) arranged above the second insulating layer (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na), wherein
the second insulating layer has a second opening (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na) achiving the transparent conductive layer (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na), and
the pixel electrode is connected to the transparent conductive layer via the second opening (Yielded through the combination of Kim and Na).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim et al. (US 20170243898 A1), further in view of Na et al. (US 20140138772 A1), and Kim et al. (US 6407782 B1).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 1; however, Kim remains silent wherein
the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a thin film transistor structure wherein active layer 207 extends past the light shielding layer 203 such that connection electrodes may be in contact with the active layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view. This thin film transistor structure (TFT) may be readily used to modify the display structure of Kim, further in view of Na, to yield the display device wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kim’s transistor structure wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kim’s transistor structure is comparable to the transistor structure yielded through the combination of Kim and Na because both disclose a connective via for a transistor structure opening at the active layer wherein the opening partially overlaps a light shielding layer below the transistor structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kim’s transistor structure wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view with the predictable result of forming the light shielding layer only partially covering the active layer of the transistor structure.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim et al. (US 20170243898 A1), further in view of Na et al. (US 20140138772 A1), and Kawabuchi et al. (US 20170329176 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 2, wherein …
the transparent conductive layer is in conntact with the first side wall ( Kim: Fig. 2), …
However, Na remains silent wherein the second insulating layer comprises:
a barrier layer having a moisture barrier property; and a resin insulating layer arranged above the barrier layer, …
and the barrier layer covers the transparent conductive layer and the second side wall
However, Na does disclose their second insulating layer to be a passivation layer; wherein passivation layers are known in the art to help aid in the prevention of corrosion, oxidation, and material breakdown due to exposure to an outside environment.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Kawabuchi teaches a similar transistor structure for a display device wherein Kawabuchi teaches a second insulating layer (Fig. 1; insulating film 20). Kawabuchi teaches their insulating film 20 including a protective insulating film 5 and a flattening film 6. Kawabuchi’s protective insulating film 5is taught to protect against moisture ([0044]), and the flattening film is made from a resin material ([0045]). It would have been obvious to modify the second insulating layer of Kim, further in view of Na, to form the second insulating layer such that the second insulating layer further comprises a barrier layer having a moisture barrier property (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5; protective insulating film 5); and a resin insulating layer (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5; flattening film 6) arranged above the barrier layer (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5), and the barrier layer covers the transparent conductive layer and the second side wall (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the second insulating layer of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kawabuchi’s barrier and resin layer structure, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kawabuchi’s barrier and resin layer structure is comparable to Na’s second insulating layer because of the relative placement of Na’s second insulating layer and Kawabuchi’s second insulating layer; and further, Na’s passivation layer is implied, by name, to have the same function as Kawabuchi’s second insulating layer. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second insulating layer of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kawabuchi’s barrier and resin layer structure with the predictable result of insulating the display device from moisture.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kim, further in view of Na, teach the display device according to claim 9, wherein …
the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the side wall of the first openging in the area overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view (Kim: Fig. 2), …
However, Na remain silent wherein the second insulating layer comprises:
a barrier layer having a moisture barrier property; and
a resin insulating layer arranged above the barrier layer, …
the barrier layer covers the transparent conductive layer in the area overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view, and covers the side wall of the first opening in the area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view.
However, Na does disclose their second insulating layer to be a passivation layer; wherein passivation layers are known in the art to help aid in the prevention of corrosion, oxidation, and material breakdown due to exposure to an outside environment.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Kawabuchi teaches a similar transistor structure for a display device wherein Kawabuchi teaches a second insulating layer (Fig. 1; insulating film 20). Kawabuchi teaches their insulating film 20 including a protective insulating film 5 and a flattening film 6. Kawabuchi’s protective insulating film 5is taught to protect against moisture ([0044]), and the flattening film is made from a resin material ([0045]). It would have been obvious to modify the second insulating layer of Kim, further in view of Na, to form the second insulating layer such that the second insulating layer further comprises a barrier layer having a moisture barrier property (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5; protective insulating film 5); and a resin insulating layer (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5; flattening film 6) arranged above the barrier layer (Kawabuchi: Fig. 5), the barrier layer covers the transparent conductive layer in the area overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view (yielded through the combination of Kim, Na, and Kawabuchi) , and covers the side wall of the first opening in the area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view (yielded through the combination of Kim, Na, and Kawabuchi. Also see Kawabuchi’s Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the second insulating layer of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kawabuchi’s barrier and resin layer structure, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kawabuchi’s barrier and resin layer structure is comparable to Na’s second insulating layer because of the relative placement of Na’s second insulating layer and Kawabuchi’s second insulating layer; and further, Na’s passivation layer is implied, by name, to have the same function as Kawabuchi’s second insulating layer. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second insulating layer of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kawabuchi’s barrier and resin layer structure with the predictable result of insulating the display device from moisture.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kim et al. (US 20170243898 A1), further in view of Kim et al. (US 6407782 B1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 8; however, Kim remains silent wherein
the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a thin film transistor structure wherein active layer 207 extends past the light shielding layer 203 such that connection electrodes may be in contact with the active layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view. This thin film transistor structure (TFT) may be readily used to modify the display structure of Kim to yield the display device wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display device of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kim’s transistor structure wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kim’s transistor structure is comparable to the transistor structure yielded through the combination of Kim and Na because both disclose a connective via for a transistor structure opening at the active layer wherein the opening partially overlaps a light shielding layer below the transistor structure. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim, further in view of Na, to include Kim’s transistor structure wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with the oxide semiconductor layer exposed in a bottom portion of the first opening in an area not overlapping the light-shielding layer in a plan view with the predictable result of forming the light shielding layer only partially covering the active layer of the transistor structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230168550 A1 teaches a similar transistor (Fig. 6B) for a display device.
US 20230161210 A1 teaches similar transistor structure embodiments for a display device (Figs. 3, 15, 17, and 19. Also see [0159]).
US 20140061632 A1 teaches a similar opening wherein a sidewall only partially overlaps a light blocking layer.
US 20140042429 A1 teaches a similar opening wherein a sidewall only partially overlaps a light blocking layer.
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897