DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Newby et al. (4,376,397 “Newby”) in view of Chen (8,056,242).
Newby meets all of the limitations of claim 1 i.e., a multipurpose utility knife handle accessory system at least capable for use with a utility knife handle with a housing that has a slot that is configured to accommodate cutting blade, the system comprising:
a body 50 having a function portion 30 (female socket means 20 reversed for male socket means 30, per disclosure 03:28-32 resulting in female socket 20 at the function end of body 50 opposite handle having the male tool connection means 30) that transitions transition from 20 to body 50 to a tang portion body 50 that is configured to fit into the housing 60 such that the housing holds the tang Fig. 1, the tang portion having at least one notch,72, a first thickness at 20 (replacing 30, Fig. 1) or transition to 20 a second thickness defined by rectangular cross-section and a transition between the first thickness and the second thickness @the neck;
a first connection port drive aperture 22 at the function portion; and
a tool body having a second connection port a driven tool not shown that transitions to a tool head not shown, the second connection port tool connection port not shown configured to detachably couple to the first connection port 22 of socket 20; except for explicitly disclosing the use of system for cutting blades.
Chen teaches a multi-use handle tool having an integrally formed a body 14 with a function end 15 and a connection port 141 that is detachably coupled to a verity of tools, e.g., blade 50, 50’ and screwdriver 60. Each tool, e.g., 50 defines a second connection port 31 that transits to tool body tang and the blade, the second connection port 31 configured to detachably couple to the first connection port 141, Fig. 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Newby with the cutting detachable blades connecting ports as taught by Chen in adapting the tool for different applications, e.g., cutting or fastening.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art, Newby modified by Chen) meets the limitations, i.e., the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, wherein the transition is chamfered or radiused curved/radiused 20 replacing 30 to an increased thickness Fig. 1 partially shown here.
Regarding claim 3, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, wherein the function portion 20 has a forward end wherein the connection port has a hole 22 partially extending from the forward end toward the tang portion partial Fig. 1, shown above.
Regarding claim 4, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, wherein the tool body defined by 31, Fig. 3 Chan is a plurality of tools selected from the group comprising a Phillips-head screwdriver Fig. 7, a flat-head driver, a driver socket, a paint can lid opener, a wire trimmer, a scrapper Fig. 3, a wide scrapper, a hex nut wrench, a scriber, a right/left scrapper, and a saw blade.
Regarding claim 5, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, wherein the second connection port defined by the tool, 31 transitions to the tool body @the blade at a second transition and wherein the second transition is a radius or chamfer radiused at 323, Fig. 3 Chen.
Regarding claim 6, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, except for a thickness of the tang portion to be between 0.005 and 1.25 inches. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention with regards to dimension or desired size, e.g., a thick tang, e.g., having 1” thickness in adapting the tool for a particular application requiring such strength and/or to adapt for corresponding sized handle slot, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, wherein the utility knife handle has an angled end and wherein the transition is angled to match the angled end of the utility knife handle hexagonal configurations, Fig. 2 Chen.
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one notch is four notches Fig. 1, Newby.
Regarding claim 9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the multipurpose utility knife system according to claim 1, tang portion has an aft edge that is shaped to conform to the shape of the slot Fig. 1, Newby.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Augus 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that it is unclear how the combination of references could possibly serve as a basis for rejection under § 102. No single reference was shown to teach all of the elements of the claims under any interpretation of the prior art. Examiner, respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the pervious Office action, claim 1 was under indefiniteness rejection and claim 1 was rejected as being anticipated by Newby. However, due to ambiguity and in order to expedite the prosecution, the claim, alternatively was rejected under obviousness, since the handle body 60 anticipated the claim and in the alternative was modified for a tool for removably engaging the socket engaging means.
Applicant further argues that Newby does not contemplate use with a utility knife, and does nothing to teach or suggest, at least, a body having a function portion that transitions to a tang portion that is configured to fit into the slot of the housing of a utility knife handle as provided in independent claim 1. Examiner, respectfully disagrees, claims recite for a multipurpose knife handle accessory system for use…Claim 1 does not recite for a utility knife or any structure defining a knife.
Applicant further argues that no combination of Newby and Chen teaches or suggests a body having a function portion that transitions to a tang portion that is configured to fit into the housing such that the housing holds the tang, much less a tang portion having a notch, a first thickness, a second thickness, and a transition between the first thickness and the second thickness as required by independent claim 1. Examiner, respectfully disagrees, since as described above, the combination meets every limitations recited in claim 1. It appear Applicant is reading more in the terminologies used in the claim than the structure recited. The combination discloses a tool handle capable of receiving different types of tools with a socket engaging end tang received in the socket/housing of the tool handle.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Although this action is final, Examiner is available for further discussion, if the applicant so wishes.
/Hadi Shakeri/
November 15, 2025 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723