Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 6th, 2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The rejections based over Oh et al. are maintained.
The double patenting rejection over 18/204,971 has been withdrawn.
New rejections follow.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/204,917 in view of Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1). In regards to the single layer coating directly on the substrate that includes SiN or SiON (claim 5), Oh et al. teaches a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiNx or SiON(Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 2, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected from a group comprising silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 3, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected form a group that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 4, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer on the substrate that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layers include a multi-layered structure that comprises two or more layers selected from silicon nitride and titanium oxide);
a single layered coating layer on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined).
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined that includes a silicon oxynitride layer).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 5, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiON (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 6, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 5. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected from a group comprising silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 7, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 5. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected form a group that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 8, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiON (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layers include a multi-layered structure that comprises two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride and titanium oxide);
a single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined).
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx that is on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined that includes a silicon oxynitride layer).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 9, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer on the substrate that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the single layered coating layer that includes SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 10, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected from a group comprising silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 11, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected form a group that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 12, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Oh et al. teaches that the anti-reflection layer can comprise a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies there can be a third layer present. Oh et al. teaches that the multi-layered anti-reflection layer is selected from titanium oxide, silicon nitride, and silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results of specific layers directly on one or the other would have been predictable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1) in view of Kuo et al. (US 2023/0327036 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be a graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiNX; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 2, Oh et al. and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected from a group comprising silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiNX; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 3, Oh et al. and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected form a group that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiNX; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 4, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer on the substrate that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layers include a multi-layered structure that comprises two or more layers selected from silicon nitride and titanium oxide);
a single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined).
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer that includes SiNx that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined that includes a silicon oxynitride layer).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 5, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiON (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “an anti-reflection coating on the substrate, the anti-reflection coating comprising: a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the substrate; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiON; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 6, Oh et al. and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 5. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected from a group comprising silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiNX” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 7, Oh et al. and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 5. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 is selected form a group that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 8, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate that includes SiON (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layers include a multi-layered structure that comprises two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride and titanium oxide);
a single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined).
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx that is on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer is a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined that includes a silicon oxynitride layer).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expe