DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a Continuation of PCT/IB2021/061008 (filed 11/26/2021), which claims priority to application PCTIB2020001006 (filed 11/26/2020) and PCTIB2021000078 (filed 01/18/2021).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Leng et al. (US 20220046566 A1, hereinafter Leng).
Regarding claim 1,
Leng teaches a method of wireless communication for user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Leng, in general, see figures 12-13, in view of or along with fig. 7-8, and their respective paragraphs):
obtaining, by the UE from a base station, a second information, wherein the second information includes a satellite ephemeris data and a reference point status (Leng, see at least para. 123 along with para. 104, “...at operation 1202, a UE receives satellite ephemeris and/or configuration information including the cell-specific residual common TA, and/or the scalar of common TA, and/or one or more compensated frequency offset values,...”, note that “...The frequency offset can denote the pre-compensated Doppler value of DL transmissions at the BS...”),
wherein the reference point status comprises one or more reference point velocity, and one or more reference times corresponding to the one or more reference point velocity (Leng, see at least para. 123 along with para. 96 and TABLE 2, e.g. velocity and reference time for ephemeris or configuration information);
and
using, by the UE, the second information for a downlink reception comprising: compensating, by the UE, [(i)] a first frequency offset or [(ii)] a first Doppler offset for the downlink reception (Leng, see at least para. 124, “...At operation 1204, the UE determines the full TA, and/or common TA, and/or Doppler, based on the received satellite ephemeris, and/or the configuration information, ... [the UE] is able to be determine the full TA and Doppler shift based on the satellite coordinate and velocity included in the ephemeris information...”),
wherein the first frequency offset is derived from a third frequency offset, and the third frequency offset is derived by the UE from the satellite ephemeris data and the reference point status,
and
[for (i)] wherein the first Doppler offset is derived from a third Doppler offset, and the third Doppler offset is derived by the UE from the satellite ephemeris data and the reference point status (Leng, see at least para. 124 in view of para. 123 and 104, note that operation 1204 the UE determines Doppler shift, also note that para. 123 discloses “...at operation 1202, a UE receives satellite ephemeris and/or configuration information including ... one or more compensated frequency offset values,...”, and para. 104 discloses “...The frequency offset can denote the pre-compensated Doppler value of DL transmissions at the BS...”).
Regarding claim 2, Leng teaches claim 1.
Leng further teaches obtaining, by the UE from the base station, a first information, and using, by the UE, the first information and the second information for the downlink reception (Leng, for one non-limiting example of fig. 12, see at least para. 123-124, “...at operation 1202, a UE receives satellite ephemeris and/or configuration information including the cell-specific residual common TA, and/or the scalar of common TA, and/or one or more compensated frequency offset values,...”, note that steps of fig. 13 may also be applied);
wherein the first information and the second information are relevant to a frequency domain synchronization, and the frequency domain synchronization comprises at least one of the followings: one or more frequency offsets; or one or more Doppler offsets (Leng, for one non-limiting example of fig. 12, see at least para. 123-124, “...at operation 1202, a UE receives satellite ephemeris and/or configuration information including the cell-specific residual common TA, and/or the scalar of common TA, and/or one or more compensated frequency offset values,... At operation 1204, the UE determines the full TA, and/or common TA, and/or Doppler, based on the received satellite ephemeris, and/or the configuration information, and UE's positioning information...”, note that steps of fig. 13 may also be applied),
wherein at least one of the frequency offset or the Doppler offset is at least on one of the followings: a service link; or a feeder link, and wherein at least one of the frequency offset or the Doppler offset is amount of offset experienced on the service link or on the feeder link (Leng, see at least para. 104, “...The compensated frequency offset at the BS can be indicated in system information, e.g., MIB, SIB1, other SIBs and/or a new SIB. The frequency offset can denote the pre-compensated Doppler value of DL transmissions at the BS...”).
Regarding claim 3, Leng teaches claim 1.
Leng further teaches wherein the satellite ephemeris data comprises at least one of the followings:
[(i)] one or more satellite positions;
[(ii)] one or more satellite velocity (Leng, for at least [(ii)], see at least para. 124 along with para. 94-96, “...At operation 1204, the UE determines the full TA, and/or common TA, and/or Doppler, based on the received satellite ephemeris, and/or the configuration information, and UE's positioning information by GNSS capability of the UE. Specifically, the GNSS-capable UE has the knowledge of the position of the UE and is able to be determine the full TA and Doppler shift based on the satellite coordinate and velocity included in the ephemeris information...”, note that “...the satellite ephemeris information can include the velocity (VX, VY, VZ)...”);
[(iii)] one or more reference times corresponding to at least one of the one or more satellites positions or the one or more satellite velocity
and
the reference point status further comprises at least one of the followings:
[(iv)] one or more reference point positions (Leng, for at least [(iv)], see at least para. 124 along with para. 94-96, “...At operation 1204, the UE determines the full TA, and/or common TA, and/or Doppler, based on the received satellite ephemeris, and/or the configuration information, and UE's positioning information by GNSS capability of the UE. Specifically, the GNSS-capable UE has the knowledge of the position of the UE and is able to be determine the full TA and Doppler shift based on the satellite coordinate and velocity included in the ephemeris information...”, note that “...the satellite ephemeris information can include the coordinate (X, Y, Z)...”);
or
[(v)] one or more reference times corresponding to the one or more reference point positions.
Regarding claim 4, Leng teaches claim 2.
Leng further teaches wherein the first information and the second information are transmitted in at least one of the followings:
[(i)] a radio resource control (RRC) message;
or
[(ii)] a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Leng, see at least para. 129-130 of fig. 13, for at least [(ii)], “...At operation 1306, the BS transmits the TA, and/or frequency offset value, and/or TA variation rate in TAC, and/or a new MAC CE,...”, note that “...FIG. 13 illustrates a flowchart of a method 1300 of BS for TA and frequency synchronization for a connected UE access...”),
[belong to (i)] wherein the RRC message comprises at least one of the followings: a cell-specific RRC message; or a UE-specific RRC message, and the RRC message comprises an RRC information element (IE) for at least one of an intra-frequency measurement or an inter-frequency measurement, wherein at least one of the intra-frequency measurement or the inter-frequency measurement is based on at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), and the RRC IE comprises MeasObjectNR.
Regarding claim 5, Leng teaches claim 2.
Leng further teaches wherein the first frequency offset is further derived from a second frequency offset; and the second frequency offset is obtained from the first information (Leng, see at least para. 130 and 132, e.g. step 1406 in view of step 1302, “...At operation
1406, the UE adjusts TA and pre-compensates the frequency offset for an uplink transmission based on the indication...”, note that “...at operation 1302, a BS transmits satellite ephemeris and configuration information that enables the UE to compensate TA and frequency offset for UL transmissions in random access procedure...”),
and
wherein the first Doppler offset is further derived from a second Doppler offset; and the second Doppler offset is obtained from the first information (Leng, in general, see sections including paragraphs at least 128-135, in particular, see para. 130 along with para. 134, “...In one embodiment of operation 1306 as illustrated in 1306, the TA variation rate and the Doppler shift can be jointly indicated ... Based on the above equations for TA variation rate and Doppler shift, the UE can determine the Doppler shift if the TA variation rate is indicated. Alternatively, the UE can determine the TA variation rate if the Doppler value is given. The UE can also determine both the TA variation rate and the Doppler value based on the received satellite ephemeris information if the value of ω or cos ω is provided...).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1 except this claim is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, Leng also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor, transceiver, and memory (Leng, see at least fig. 3), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Regarding claims 11, 13, and 14, in view of claim 10 above, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 2, 3, and 4, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leng, in view of CHENG et al. (US 20220046498 A1, hereinafter CHENG).
Regarding claim 12, Leng teaches claim 11.
Leng further teaches at least one of the frequency offset or the Doppler offset on the service link comprises a frequency shift on a link between a satellite and the UE, and at least one of the frequency offset or the Doppler offset on the feeder link comprises a frequency shift on a link between a satellite and the base station (Leng, for one non-limiting example of fig. 12, see at least para. 123-124 along with para. 89 and 102, “...at operation 1202, a UE receives satellite ephemeris and/or configuration information including the cell-specific residual common TA, and/or the scalar of common TA, and/or one or more compensated frequency offset values,... At operation 1204, the UE determines the full TA, and/or common TA, and/or Doppler, based on the received satellite ephemeris, and/or the configuration information, and UE's positioning information...”, note that steps of fig. 13 may also be applied).
Leng does not specifically teach the link between the satellite and the UE comprises at least one of a link from the satellite to the UE or a link from the UE to the satellite, and the link between the satellite and the base station comprises at least one of a link from the satellite to the base station or a link from the base station to the satellite.
CHENG teaches teach the link between the satellite and the UE comprises at least one of a link from the satellite to the UE or a link from the UE to the satellite, and the link between the satellite and the base station comprises at least one of a link from the satellite to the base station or a link from the base station to the satellite. (CHENG, see at least fig. 1 and para. 5, “...In the figure, feeder link 130 may include a radio link between satellite 110 and the base station (e.g., gNB 140). Service link 150, on the other hand, may refer to a radio link between satellite 110 and UE 160...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate CHENG into the method of Leng to substantially improve the capability and efficiency in Non-Terrestrial Networks.
Regarding claim 15, Leng teaches claim 14.
Leng does not specifically teach wherein the first information and the second information are associated with at least one of
[(i)] one or more beam indexes
or
[(ii)] one or more frequencies,
[belong to (ii)] wherein the one or more frequencies comprise at least one of the followings: SSB frequency; or reference frequency for the CSI-RS, and the one or more frequencies comprises a first point which is used for mapping of the CSI-RS to physical resources, wherein the SSB frequency is associated with the MeasObjectNR,
[belong to (i)] wherein the one or more beam indexes comprises at least one of the followings: an SSB index; a CSI-RS resource index; or a CSI-RS resource set index, the one or more beam indexes are configured in the MeasObjectNR.
CHENG teaches wherein the first information and the second information are associated with at least one of
[(i)] one or more beam indexes
or
[(ii)] one or more frequencies,
[belong to (ii)] wherein the one or more frequencies comprise at least one of the followings: SSB frequency; or reference frequency for the CSI-RS, and the one or more frequencies comprises a first point which is used for mapping of the CSI-RS to physical resources, wherein the SSB frequency is associated with the MeasObjectNR (CHENG, see at least para. 61-62, “...As shown in FIG. 2, base station 204 may send, at 210, a measurement object (e.g., an information element, such as the measObjectNR) to UE 202, for example, to configure a measurement procedure. The measObjectNR information element (IE) may include, in some implementations, at least two SMTCs... The second SMTC (SMTC2) may include a secondary measurement timing configuration for the SS/PBCH blocks corresponding to the Physical Cell ID (PCI) (e.g., listed in a pci-List parameter). When SMTC2 is present, for cells that are indicated in the pci-List parameter in SMTC2 (e.g., of the same MeasObjectNR), the UE may set up an additional SMTC. In some implementations, a pci-List parameter may include a list of physical cell identities, which may be used for different purposes. ssbFrequency is another parameter included in SMTC2 which indicates the frequency of the SSB associated with the MeasObjectNR carrying the second SMTC...”),
[belong to (i)] wherein the one or more beam indexes comprises at least one of the followings: an SSB index; a CSI-RS resource index; or a CSI-RS resource set index, the one or more beam indexes are configured in the MeasObjectNR.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate CHENG into the method of Leng to substantially improve the capability and efficiency in Non-Terrestrial Networks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1 and 10, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465